DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on Sept. 17, 2026 and Sept. 22, 2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on Sept. 17, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 12,128,228 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed Sept. 17, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-21, and 23 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 19, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections:
Applicant amended claims and addressed all previous objections and the objections have been withdrawn.
Double Patenting:
Applicant amended claims and filed a terminal disclaimer and all previous double patenting rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112:
Applicant amended claims and successfully overcomes the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103:
Applicant's arguments filed Sept. 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that the claim requires two distinct routes past the occluding material and that Lee does not teach the claimed language. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As presented, examiner disagrees that the claim requires two separate routes. As show in the below annotated Fig. 1, Lee’s invention contains all of the structural requirements of the claim. Specifically, the material inherently defines a blood-outlet opening since the blood travels through the tubing within the occluding material (see below). The blood-flow pathway further has an inlet and an outlet at the claimed locations.
On pg. 10-11, applicant continues to argue that Lee does not describe a separate route by which upstream venous blood reaches the downstream side of the material without being pumped by the pump. In response to applicant's argument, a recitation of the intended use and functional language of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The claim does not currently require two separate pathways and contains all of the structural requirements on the claim and therefore anticipates the claimed language. Further, the claim does not show that the blood pump needs to work at the same time as the blood flow through the tubing without a pump. Therefore, the device can be capable of blood flowing past the blood pump during situations with and without the pump pumping.
On pg. 12-13 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that Delgado does not teach a material that extends from the impeller housing to the blood-pump support frame so as to occlude the region of the blood vessel that surrounds the impeller. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, Delgado is teaching the support structure frame that aligns the impeller with the blood vessel. Lee’s device already has a material that extends to the blood vessel wall. When combined with Lee, Delgado’s support frame and the material of Lee would both terminate at the vessel wall and together keep the impeller centrally located while occluding the vessel. Further, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) states “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to arrange the parts in different locations as they will still provide the same benefits as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 7-11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rowe (US 10245363 B1, published Apr. 2, 2019, filed June 17, 2015, hereinafter referred to as Rowe).
Regarding claim 1, Rowe teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1 system 100 in Col. 4 ln. 61) for use with a venous system of a subject that includes one or more tributary vessels that flow into a vein at junctions between the vein and the one or more tributary vessels (Fig. 1 inferior vena cava 101 and renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 62-65), the apparatus comprising: a blood-pump-catheter (Fig. 1 catheter-based pump 103 in Col. 4 ln. 63) comprising: a material configured to be placed at a downstream location that is downstream of the junctions and to at least partially occlude blood flow through the vein at the downstream location (Fig. 1 variable obstructor 105 that is positioned downstream of a renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 65-66 and “variable obstructor 105 that can be inflated to occlude inferior vena cava 101.” Col. 5 ln. 12), the material defining a blood-outlet opening (the blood is passing through tubing in the material; therefore it contains entry and outlet opening); a blood pump (Fig. 1 “Catheter-based pump 103 can be an impeller pump configured to pump blood” Col. 6 ln. 47-48) configured to pump blood from a region of the vein that is adjacent to the junctions (Fig. 1 upstream region 109 in Col. 4 ln. 62-67), and through the blood-outlet opening defined by the material (fluid line 113 in Col. 5 ln. 2); a blood-flow pathway that passes between (a) a pathway-inlet opening disposed at an upstream location that is upstream of the junctions (Fig. 1 intake valve 119 in Col. 5 ln. 55) and (b) a pathway-outlet opening that opens to a downstream side of the material (Fig. 1 discharge location 117 in Col. 5 ln. 3), the blood-flow pathway being configured to direct upstream venous blood flow from the upstream location to downstream of the material, without the upstream venous blood flow being pumped by the pump (“Variable obstructor 105 is sized and dimensioned to compartmentalize inferior vena cava 101 into an upstream region 109 and a downstream region 111 of inferior vena cava 101. Catheter-based pump 103 is used to pump blood from upstream region 109 to a fluid line 113 that discharges the blood to a discharge location 117 in the downstream region 111.” In Col. 4 ln. 65- Col. 5 ln. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Rowe teaches wherein the blood pump (Fig. 1 “Catheter-based pump 103 can be an impeller pump configured to pump blood” Col. 6 ln. 47-48) comprises an elongate blood-pump tube (Fig. 1 fluid line 113 Col. 5 ln. 54), the elongate blood-pump tube defining a blood-inlet area which is disposed within an upstream portion of the elongate blood-pump tube (Fig. 1 intake valve 119 col. 5 ln. 55), a blood-outlet area that is that is disposed within a downstream portion of the elongate blood-pump tube (Fig. 1 discharge location 117 in Col. 5, ln. 57), and an impeller (Fig. 1 “Catheter-based pump 103 can be an impeller pump configured to pump blood” Col. 6 ln. 47-48) configured to pump blood into the blood-inlet area, through the elongate blood-pump tube, and out of the blood-outlet area (“FIG. 1 shows that blood can be drawn through an intake valve 119 where it travels through the catheter-based pump 103 into a fluid line 113 and the blood is discharged at a discharge location 117 to bypass variable obstructor 105.” In Col. 5 ln. 54-57).
Regarding claim 4, Rowe teaches wherein the blood-pump catheter is configured for use with one or more vessels that flow into a vein (Fig. 1 inferior vena cava 101 and renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 62-65), and wherein the blood-pump catheter is configured to be placed within the vein (Fig. 1), such that: the material is placed at a downstream location that is downstream of junctions of the vein with the one or more vessels and such as to at least partially occlude blood flow through the vein at the downstream location (Fig. 1 variable obstructor 105 that is positioned downstream of a renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 65-66 and “variable obstructor 105 that can be inflated to occlude inferior vena cava 101.” Col. 5 ln. 12), the blood pump is configured to pump blood from a region of the vein that is adjacent to the junctions of the vein with the one or more vessels (Fig. 1 upstream region 109 in Col. 4 ln. 62-67), and through the blood-outlet opening defined by the material (fluid line 113 in Col. 5 ln. 2), and the blood-flow pathway passes between (a) the pathway-inlet opening, the pathway-inlet opening being disposed at an upstream location that is upstream of the region of the vein that is adjacent to the junctions of the vein and the one or more vessels (Fig. 1 intake valve 119 in Col. 5 ln. 55) and (b) the pathway-outlet opening, the pathway-outlet opening to the downstream side of the material (Fig. 1 discharge location 117 in Col. 5 ln. 3), the blood-flow pathway being configured to direct upstream venous blood flow from the upstream location to the downstream side of the material, without the upstream venous blood flow being pumped by the pump (“Variable obstructor 105 is sized and dimensioned to compartmentalize inferior vena cava 101 into an upstream region 109 and a downstream region 111 of inferior vena cava 101. Catheter-based pump 103 is used to pump blood from upstream region 109 to a fluid line 113 that discharges the blood to a discharge location 117 in the downstream region 111.” In Col. 4 ln. 65- Col. 5 ln. 4).
Regarding the limitation of the one or more vessels being lymphatic vessels, the recitation of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional language, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device of Rowe contains all of the structural components of the claim and is capable of being used in the lymphatic vessels; see MPEP 2114(I) and In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2s at 1432.
Regarding claim 5, Rowe teaches wherein the blood-pump catheter (Fig. 1 catheter-based pump 103 in Col. 4 ln. 63) is configured to be placed within a vena cava of the subject (Fig. 1 inferior vena cava 101 and renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 62-65), such that: the material is placed at a downstream location that is downstream of junctions of the vena cava with one or more renal veins of the subject and such as to at least partially occlude blood flow through the vena cava at the downstream location (Fig. 1 variable obstructor 105 that is positioned downstream of a renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 65-66 and “variable obstructor 105 that can be inflated to occlude inferior vena cava 101.” Col. 5 ln. 12), the blood pump is configured to pump blood from a region of the vena cava that is adjacent to the junctions of the vena cava with the one or more renal veins through the blood-outlet opening defined by the material (“Catheter-based pump 103 is used to pump blood from upstream region 109 to a fluid line 113 that discharges the blood to a discharge location 117 in the downstream region 111.” In Col. 4 ln. 65- Col. 5 ln. 4), and the blood-flow pathway passes between (a) the pathway-inlet opening, the pathway-inlet opening being disposed at an upstream location that is upstream of junctions of the vena cava and the one or more renal veins (Fig. 1 intake valve 119 in Col. 5 ln. 55) and (b) the pathway-outlet opening, the pathway-outlet opening opening to the downstream side of the material (Fig. 1 discharge location 117 in Col. 5 ln. 3), the blood-flow pathway being configured to direct blood flow from an infrarenal vena-caval bloodstream to downstream of the material, without the infrarenal vena-caval bloodstream being pumped by the pump (“Variable obstructor 105 is sized and dimensioned to compartmentalize inferior vena cava 101 into an upstream region 109 and a downstream region 111 of inferior vena cava 101. Catheter-based pump 103 is used to pump blood from upstream region 109 to a fluid line 113 that discharges the blood to a discharge location 117 in the downstream region 111.” In Col. 4 ln. 65- Col. 5 ln. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Rowe teaches wherein the blood pump (Fig. 1 “Catheter-based pump 103 can be an impeller pump configured to pump blood” Col. 6 ln. 47-48) comprises an elongate blood-pump tube (Fig. 1 fluid line 113 Col. 5 ln. 54), the elongate blood-pump tube defining a blood-inlet area which is disposed within an upstream portion of the elongate blood-pump tube (Fig. 1 intake valve 119 col. 5 ln. 55), a blood-outlet area that is that is disposed within a downstream portion of the elongate blood-pump tube (Fig. 1 discharge location 117 in Col. 5, ln. 57), and an impeller (Fig. 1 “Catheter-based pump 103 can be an impeller pump configured to pump blood” Col. 6 ln. 47-48) configured to pump blood into the blood-inlet area, through the elongate blood-pump tube, and out of a blood-outlet area (“FIG. 1 shows that blood can be drawn through an intake valve 119 where it travels through the catheter-based pump 103 into a fluid line 113 and the blood is discharged at a discharge location 117 to bypass variable obstructor 105.” In Col. 5 ln. 54-57).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Rowe discloses wherein the elongate blood-pump tube is configured to be disposed such that the blood-outlet area is disposed within a pulmonary artery of the subject and is configured to pump blood into the subject's pulmonary artery via the elongate tube (in Fig. 3, Rowe shows an embodiment of the system where the catheter discharges the blood within the right atrium of the heart to improve renal perfusion (Col. 7 ln. 20-30); the device is capable of being disposed such that the blood-outlet area is disposed within the pulmonary artery and pump blood into the pulmonary artery).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Rowe teaches the apparatus further comprising an elongate tube that extends downstream from the material (Fig. 1 fluid line 113 Col. 5 ln. 54), and the elongate blood-pump tube is configured to pump blood from a suprarenal vena-caval bloodstream into the subject's pulmonary artery (in Fig. 3, Rowe shows an embodiment of the system where the catheter discharges the blood within the right atrium of the heart to improve renal perfusion (Col. 7 ln. 20-30); the device is capable of being disposed such that the blood-outlet area is disposed within the pulmonary artery and pumps blood into the pulmonary artery from the suprarenal vena-caval bloodstream).
Regarding the limitation of the elongate tube defines suprarenal blood-inlet openings that are configured to be disposed within a suprarenal vena cava of the subject, wherein the blood-inlet area of the elongate blood-pump tube is configured to be disposed downstream of the suprarenal blood-inlet openings, the recitation of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional language, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device of Rowe contains all of the structural components of the claim and is capable of being disposed in the locations mentioned above; see MPEP 2114(I) and In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2s at 1432.
Regarding claim 20, Rowe teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1 system 100 in Col. 4 ln. 61) comprising: a blood-pump-catheter (Fig. 1 catheter-based pump 103 in Col. 4 ln. 63) comprising: a material disposed upon the blood-pump catheter and configured to at least partially occlude blood flow through a vein (Fig. 1 variable obstructor 105 that is positioned downstream of a renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 65-66 and “variable obstructor 105 that can be inflated to occlude inferior vena cava 101.” Col. 5 ln. 12), the material defining a blood-outlet opening (the blood is passing through the tubing in the material); a blood pump configured to pump blood through the blood-outlet opening defined by the material (Fig. 1 “Catheter-based pump 103 can be an impeller pump configured to pump blood” Col. 6 ln. 47-48; fluid line 113 in Col. 5 ln. 2); a blood-flow pathway that passes between (a) a pathway-inlet opening disposed at a location that is proximal with respect to the material (Fig. 1 intake valve 119 in Col. 5 ln. 55) and (b) a pathway-outlet opening that opens to a location that is distal with respect to the material (Fig. 1 discharge location 117 in Col. 5 ln. 3), the blood-flow pathway being configured to direct blood flow from the pathway-inlet opening to the pathway-outlet opening, without the blood flow being pumped by the pump (“FIG. 1 shows that blood can be drawn through an intake valve 119 where it travels through the catheter-based pump 103 into a fluid line 113 and the blood is discharged at a discharge location 117 to bypass variable obstructor 105.” In Col. 5 ln. 54-57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe in view of RenalFellow.org (LVAD for the Nephrologist, published Jan. 31, 2018, hereinafter referred to as “Renal Fellow”).
Regarding claim 6, Rowe teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Rowe does not disclose the apparatus further comprising a percutaneous left-ventricular assist device configured to assist with left-ventricular functioning of the subject.
Renal Fellow teaches that a left ventricular assist device (LVAD) is a mechanical circulatory support for patients with advanced heart failure. Previously considered only as a bridge to transplant, these are becoming more common as a ‘destination’, and used in patients with end stage heart disease patients who are not heart transplant candidates. Of interest to us, this poor cardiac function in heart failure is often complicated by renal dysfunction, the so-called ‘cardio-renal syndrome’. LVAD consists of an inflow cannula that connects to the left ventricular apex and outflow cannula that connects to the aorta, ascending or descending. A pump connects these two cannulas. An external device, a systemcontroller displays all the LVAD parameters and helps in adjusting the device settings. The pump connects to the controller via a drive-line/percutaneous lead that tunnels subcutaneously and exits the abdominal wall. As a greater number of patients with heart failure have renal dysfunction, LVAD use has implications for the nephrologist as well (Renal Fellow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a percutaneous LVAD as taught by Renal Fellow in the apparatus of Rowe since many patients with kidney dysfunction also have heart failure.
Claims 12-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe in view of Tuval et al. (WO 2018061002 A1, published Apr. 5, 2018, hereinafter referred to as “Tuval”).
Regarding claim 12, Rowe teaches the apparatus of claim 5.
Rowe does not disclose wherein diameters of one or more portions of the blood-flow pathway are modulable, such that flow from the infrarenal vena-caval bloodstream to a right atrium of the subject is modulable.
Tuval’s invention relates to apparatus and methods associated with placing a passive medical device in a subject’s vena cava (pg. 1 ln. 8). Tuval teaches in the configurations shown in Figs. 3 and 4, nozzle 50 and/or nozzle 52 may be controllable such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated (pg. 17, ln. 8-10). For some such applications, nozzle 50 is controllable by a control unit, such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated. For example, the control unit may modulate the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle responsively to blood pressure measurements that are measured by blood pressure sensor 68, 70, and/or 72 (pg. 17, ln. 18-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modulate the blood-flow pathway by adjusting the diameters as taught by Tuval in the apparatus of Rowe in order to adjust the blood pressure in the system.
Regarding claim 13, Rowe teaches further comprising a blood pressure sensor configured to detect blood pressure of the subject (Fig. 1 “Pressure monitor 104 can be configured to measure blood pressure within the upstream region 109 of inferior vena cava 101” Col. 6 ln. 16-18), and a computer processor configured to receive the subject's blood pressure and to automatically modulate the diameters (Fig. 1 “A controller can be used in conjunction with pressure monitor 104 to control various aspects of system 100. For example, the controller can co-operate with pressure monitor 104 to operate catheter-based pump 103 to maintain pressure in inferior vena cava 101 between 5 and 15 mmHg.” Col. 6 ln. 29-35).
Rowe does not teach modulating the diameters of the one or more portions of the blood-flow pathway, in response to the detected blood pressure.
Tuval teaches in the configurations shown in Figs. 3 and 4, nozzle 50 and/or nozzle 52 may be controllable such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated (pg. 17, ln. 8-10). For some such applications, nozzle 50 is controllable by a control unit, such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated. For example, the control unit may modulate the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle responsively to blood pressure measurements that are measured by blood pressure sensor 68, 70, and/or 72 (pg. 17, ln. 18-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modulate the blood-flow pathway by adjusting the diameters in response to the detected blood pressure as taught by Tuval in the apparatus of Rowe in order to adjust the blood pressure in the system to maintain pressure between 5 and 15 mmHg.
Regarding claim 14, Rowe does not disclose wherein the diameters of the one or more portions of the blood-flow pathway are configured to be modulated in response to an input.
Tuval teaches in the configurations shown in Figs. 3 and 4, nozzle 50 and/or nozzle 52 may be controllable such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated (pg. 17, ln. 8-10). For some such applications, nozzle 50 is controllable by a control unit, such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated. For example, the control unit may modulate the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle responsively to blood pressure measurements that are measured by blood pressure sensor 68, 70, and/or 72 (pg. 17, ln. 18-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modulate the blood-flow pathway by adjusting the diameters in response to the detected blood pressure as taught by Tuval in the apparatus of Rowe in order to adjust the blood pressure in the system to maintain pressure between 5 and 15 mmHg.
Regarding claim 17, Rowe teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Rowe does not disclose wherein diameters of one or more portions of the blood-flow pathway are modulable, such that flow through the blood-flow pathway is modulable.
Tuval teaches in the configurations shown in Figs. 3 and 4, nozzle 50 and/or nozzle 52 may be controllable such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated (pg. 17, ln. 8-10). For some such applications, nozzle 50 is controllable by a control unit, such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated. For example, the control unit may modulate the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle responsively to blood pressure measurements that are measured by blood pressure sensor 68, 70, and/or 72 (pg. 17, ln. 18-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modulate the blood-flow pathway by adjusting the diameters as taught by Tuval in the apparatus of Rowe in order to adjust the blood pressure in the system.
Regarding claim 18, Rowe teaches further comprising a blood pressure sensor configured to detect blood pressure of the subject (Fig. 1 “Pressure monitor 104 can be configured to measure blood pressure within the upstream region 109 of inferior vena cava 101” Col. 6 ln. 16-18), and a computer processor configured to receive the subject's blood pressure and to automatically modulate the diameters (Fig. 1 “A controller can be used in conjunction with pressure monitor 104 to control various aspects of system 100. For example, the controller can co-operate with pressure monitor 104 to operate catheter-based pump 103 to maintain pressure in inferior vena cava 101 between 5 and 15 mmHg.” Col. 6 ln. 29-35).
Rowe does not teach modulating the diameters of the one or more portions of the blood-flow pathway, in response to the detected blood pressure.
Tuval teaches in the configurations shown in Figs. 3 and 4, nozzle 50 and/or nozzle 52 may be controllable such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated (pg. 17, ln. 8-10). For some such applications, nozzle 50 is controllable by a control unit, such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated. For example, the control unit may modulate the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle responsively to blood pressure measurements that are measured by blood pressure sensor 68, 70, and/or 72 (pg. 17, ln. 18-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modulate the blood-flow pathway by adjusting the diameters in response to the detected blood pressure as taught by Tuval in the apparatus of Rowe in order to adjust the blood pressure in the system to maintain pressure between 5 and 15 mmHg.
Regarding claim 19, Rowe does not disclose wherein the diameters of the one or more portions of the blood-flow pathway are configured to be modulated in response to an input.
Tuval teaches in the configurations shown in Figs. 3 and 4, nozzle 50 and/or nozzle 52 may be controllable such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated (pg. 17, ln. 8-10). For some such applications, nozzle 50 is controllable by a control unit, such that the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle may be modulated. For example, the control unit may modulate the diameter of the opening defined by the nozzle responsively to blood pressure measurements that are measured by blood pressure sensor 68, 70, and/or 72 (pg. 17, ln. 18-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modulate the blood-flow pathway by adjusting the diameters in response to the detected blood pressure as taught by Tuval in the apparatus of Rowe in order to adjust the blood pressure in the system to maintain pressure between 5 and 15 mmHg.
Claims 15-16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe in view of Siess (US 20080103591 A1, published May 1, 2008, hereinafter referred to as “Siess”).
Regarding claims 15-16, Rowe teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Rowe does not disclose wherein the blood-flow pathway comprises a funnel having a wide end and a narrow end, and one or more tubes, wherein the wide end of the funnel defines the pathway-inlet opening, and the narrow end of the funnel passes into the one or more tubes, and wherein the funnel and the one or more tubes comprise a single continuous blood-flow pathway.
Siess’s invention relates to a foldable intravascularly insertable blood pump comprising a rotor provided with vanes, a flexible shaft extending through a catheter and adapted to drive the impeller, and an envelope enclosing the impeller (¶[0002]). As shown in Fig. 30, the essentially funnel-shaped bulge 30 (funnel having a wide end and a narrow end) directs the blood accelerated by the impeller 20 into the cylindrical extension 36 (tube) of the envelope 24 (¶[0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a funnel with a wide and narrow end at the inlet location connected to a tube and forming a single continuous blood-flow pathway of the blood pump as taught by Siess in the apparatus of Rowe in order to direct blood accelerated by the impeller into the tubing.
Regarding claim 21, Rowe teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1 system 100 in Col. 4 ln. 61) for use with a blood vessel (Fig. 1 inferior vena cava 101 and renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 62-65), the apparatus comprising: a blood-pump-catheter (Fig. 1 catheter-based pump 103 in Col. 4 ln. 63) comprising: a material configured to be placed at a downstream location that is downstream of the junctions between the main vessel with the branching vessels and to at least partially occlude blood flow through the main vessel at the downstream location (Fig. 1 variable obstructor 105 that is positioned downstream of a renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 65-66 and “variable obstructor 105 that can be inflated to occlude inferior vena cava 101.” Col. 5 ln. 12), the material defining a blood-inlet opening (the blood is passing through tubing in the material); a blood pump (Fig. 1 “Catheter-based pump 103 can be an impeller pump configured to pump blood” Col. 6 ln. 47-48) configured to pump blood from the main vessel toward the branching vessels, through the blood-inlet opening (Fig. 1 upstream region 109 in Col. 4 ln. 62-67); and a blood-flow pathway that passes between (a) a pathway-inlet opening disposed at an upstream location that is upstream of junctions of the main vessel with the branching vessels (Fig. 1 intake valve 119 in Col. 5 ln. 55) and (b) a pathway-outlet opening that opens to a downstream side of the material (Fig. 1 discharge location 117 in Col. 5 ln. 3), the blood-flow pathway being configured to direct upstream main vessel blood flow from the upstream location to downstream of the material, without the upstream main vessel blood flow being pumped by the pump(“Variable obstructor 105 is sized and dimensioned to compartmentalize inferior vena cava 101 into an upstream region 109 and a downstream region 111 of inferior vena cava 101. Catheter-based pump 103 is used to pump blood from upstream region 109 to a fluid line 113 that discharges the blood to a discharge location 117 in the downstream region 111.” In Col. 4 ln. 65- Col. 5 ln. 4).
Regarding the limitation of wherein the vessel is an arterial system of a subject that includes a main artery and one or more branching arteries that branch from the main artery at junctions between the main artery and the one or more branching arteries, the recitation of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional language, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device of Rowe contains all of the structural components of the claim and is capable of being used in an arterial system of a subject including a main artery and branching arteries; see MPEP 2114(I) and In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2s at 1432.
Rowe does not disclose a funnel configured to be disposed at an upstream location that is upstream of junctions of the main vessel with the branching vessels.
Siess’s invention relates to a foldable intravascularly insertable blood pump comprising a rotor provided with vanes, a flexible shaft extending through a catheter and adapted to drive the impeller, and an envelope enclosing the impeller (¶[0002]). As shown in Fig. 30, the essentially funnel-shaped bulge 30 directs the blood accelerated by the impeller 20 into the cylindrical extension 36 of the envelope 24 (¶[0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a funnel at the inlet location of the blood pump as taught by Siess in the apparatus of Rowe in order to direct blood accelerated by the impeller into the tubing.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe as evidenced by Maimonides Health in view of Delgado.
Regarding claim 23, Rowe teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1 system 100 in Col. 4 ln. 61) comprising: a blood-pump catheter (Fig. 1 catheter-based pump 103 in Col. 4 ln. 63) configured to be placed inside a blood vessel of a subject (Fig. 1 inferior vena cava 101 and renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 62-65), the blood-pump catheter comprising: an impeller (Fig. 1 “Catheter-based pump 103 can be an impeller pump (e.g., Impella® pump)” Col. 6 ln. 47-48) configured to pump blood by rotating (see 35 USC 102 rejection for claim 3 above); an impeller housing that is configured to be disposed around the impeller (see 35 USC 102 rejection for claim 3 above); a material configured to contact the vessel wall and to occlude the blood vessel in the region of the blood vessel that surrounds the impeller location (Fig. 1 variable obstructor 105 that is positioned downstream of a renal vein ostium 107 in Col. 4 ln. 65-66 and “variable obstructor 105 that can be inflated to occlude inferior vena cava 101.” Col. 5 ln. 12; and “Variable obstructor 105 is sized and dimensioned to compartmentalize inferior vena cava 101 into an upstream region 109 and a downstream region 111 of inferior vena cava 101” Col. 4 ln. 65), the material defining a blood-outlet opening (the blood is passing through the tubing in the material), the impeller being configured to pump blood through the blood-outlet opening (“Catheter-based pump 103 is used to pump blood from upstream region 109 to a fluid line 113 that discharges the blood to a discharge location 117 in the downstream region 111.” In Col. 4 ln. 65- Col. 5 ln. 4).
Rowe does not disclose a blood-pump-support frame configured to be disposed upstream of the impeller housing, and to at least partially align a longitudinal axis of the impeller housing with a local longitudinal axis of the blood vessel, by contacting the inner wall of the blood vessel; and a material configured to extend from the impeller housing to the blood-pump-support frame.
Delgado’s invention relates to a method and apparatus for long-term assisting the left ventricle of a heart to pump blood. A left ventricle assist device and associated methods are disclosed (¶[0003]). In Fig.’s 3-4, a support structure 120 of left ventricle assist device 80 includes a plurality of support members 121 associated with pump 110, which are preferably associated with housing 114. Support structure 120 supports pump 110 within the descending aorta 98, preferably in a generally, centrally spaced relationship from the interior wall surface 98' of descending aorta 98. At least two support members, or struts, 121 are disposed toward the upper end 112 of pump 110 and toward the lower end 113 of pump 110. Preferably, at least three support members, or struts 121, are substantially equidistantly disposed around each of the upper and lower ends 112, 113 of pump 110. As shown in FIG. 3, the support structure 120, or plurality of support members 121 are disposed in a first configuration for percutaneous transluminal delivery to the desired portion of the descending aorta 98, as will be hereinafter described. In the first configuration, support members 121 are disposed substantially adjacent the outer wall surface 116 of housing 114, and are disposed substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis 119 of housing 114. In this first configuration, the overall diameter of pump 110, housing 114, and support structure 120 is reduced to permit the percutaneous transluminal delivery of the left ventricle assist device 80 through the femoral or iliac artery 10 of the patient to the desired location within the descending aorta 98 (¶[0034]). Upon the left ventricle assist device 80 being positioned within the desired portion of the descending aorta 98, the support members, or struts, 121, have a second, expanded configuration wherein the outer ends 122 of the support members 121 contact the inner wall surface 98' of descending aorta 98 (¶[0036]). Other devices and structures could be utilized for support structure 120, provided they permit the percutaneous transluminal delivery of the left ventricle assist device 80, and that after such delivery, the support structure 120 permits the disposition of the left ventricle assist device within the descending aorta for long-term use, as shown in FIG. 4. For example, a self-expanding stent 200, or stents, as are known in the art could be used for supportive structure 120, to support pump 110 in a substantially, centrally spaced relationship from the interior wall surface 98' of aorta 98, as shown in FIGS. 11 and 12 (¶[0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a blood-pump-support frame that at least partially aligns a longitudinal axis of the impeller housing with a local longitudinal axis of the blood vessel by contacting the inner wall of the blood vessel as taught by Delgado in the apparatus of ‘228 in order to permit delivery of the device as the device and maintain a spaced relationship with the walls of the vessel for long term use.
Further, the location of the material and the frame in relation to the impeller are design choices and are not critical according to the instant disclosure (pg. 17). MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) states: In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). Therefore, the placement of these components will not change their benefits.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.N.C./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796