Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 March 2025 acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner. See attached copy of PTO-1449.
Status of Application
2. The instant application is a continuation of Application 17/225,218 (currently abandoned) filed 8 April 2021. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined on the merits within.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
4. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
5. Claim 20 recites the limitation "the user" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
7. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traynor et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0000693) in view of Kacher et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,340,492).
Regarding instant claim 1, Traynor et al. teach a composition comprising one or more silicon dioxide based particles comprising one or more active agents. See abstract. The composition additionally comprises anionic surfactants including sodium stearate, sodium palmitate or sodium myristate (crystallizing agent). See paragraph [0227]. The composition can additionally comprise xanthan gum (suspension agent). See Example 9. The composition comprises water. See Example 2.
Regarding instant claim 3, the surfactant (crystallizing agent) may be present in amounts of 0.1 to 1%. See paragraph [0219].
Regarding instant claims 4-5, the composition can additionally comprise xanthan gum (suspension agent). See Example 9.
Regarding instant claim 6, Example 9 comprises 0.03% xanthan gum.
Regarding instant claims 7-8, the composition includes plants oils of menthol crystals. See paragraph [0089].
Regarding instant claim 9, active agents may be present in amounts of about 1 to about 20%. See paragraph [0134].
Regarding instant claims 10-14, the composition may comprise a film former in amounts of 0.5 to 10%. See paragraph [0150]. Examples of film formers including petrolatum. See paragraphs [0143 and 0148].
Regarding instant claim 16, the composition can be in the form of a stick. See paragraph [0184].
Regarding instant claim 17, Traynor et al. teach a composition comprising one or more silicon dioxide based particles comprising one or more active agents. See abstract. The composition additionally comprises anionic surfactants including sodium stearate, sodium palmitate or sodium myristate (crystallizing agent). See paragraph [0227]. The composition can additionally comprise xanthan gum (suspension agent). See Example 9. The composition comprises water. See Example 2. The composition may comprise a film former in amounts of 0.5 to 10%. See paragraph [0150]. Examples of film formers including petrolatum. See paragraphs [0143 and 0148]. The composition may comprise sodium chloride. See paragraph [0190]. Moisturizing agents include glycerin. See paragraph [0083].
Regarding instant claim 20, the active agent may be a decongestant. See paragraph [0122].
Traynor et al. do not teach crystalline mesh.
Kacher et al. teach a shaped solid three-dimensional skeleton structure comprising interlocking mesh of crystalline carboxylic acid, preferably sodium soap fibers. See abstract. The interlocking mesh of fibers imparts strength to the structure. See column 3, lines 37-44. The compositions include sodium soap, water and polysaccharides. See column 7, lines 15-55.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to use a crystallizing agent that provides fiber like crystalline particles to impart strength to the formulation. One would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Kacher et al. teach the strength imparted in soap formulations comprising crystallizing agents, polysaccharides, and water, and Traynor et al. teach similar formulations can be made into soap. The prior art makes obvious the claimed combination of ingredients and thus it would have been expected to have the same properties, i.e., firmness, thermal stability, liquid expression and/or phase stability.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending U.S. Patent No. 12,582,583.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and U.S. Patent No. 12,582,583 are directed to rheological solid compositions comprising a crystallizing agent, a suspension agent, an active agent and an aqueous phase. U.S. Patent No. 12,582,583 is further directed to an oral care product and describes the crystallizing agent as forming a mesh. Thus, the invention of U.S. Patent No. 12,582,583 is in effect a "species” of the "generic" invention of the instant application. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus the two are not patentably distinct. The dependent claims are included in this rejection as further describing the same types of crystallizing agents and amounts thereof, suspension agents and amounts thereof, and properties of the composition.
10. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,138,333.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and U.S. Patent No. 12,138,333 are directed to rheological solid compositions comprising a crystallizing agent and an aqueous phase. The instant application further includes a suspension agent and an active agent which are also taught as components in Example 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,138,333. Thus the two are not patentably distinct. The dependent claims are included in this rejection as further describing the same types of crystallizing agents, amounts of components, and properties of the composition.
11. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/909342 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and Application No. 18/909342 are directed to rheological solid compositions comprising a crystallizing agent, an aqueous phase, and a benefit agent. The instant application further includes a suspension agent and active agent which are also taught as components in Example 8 of Application No. 18/909342. Thus the two are not patentably distinct. The dependent claims are included in this rejection as further describing the same types of crystallizing agents, amounts of components, and properties of the composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
12. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-16, and 22-23 of copending Application No. 17/225151 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and Application No. 17/225151 are directed to rheological solid compositions comprising a crystallizing agent, a suspension agent, an active agent and an aqueous phase. Application No. 17/225151 is further directed to a shave care composition. Thus, the invention of Application No. 17/225151 is in effect a "species of the "generic" invention of the instant application. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus the two are not patentably distinct. The dependent claims are included in this rejection as further describing the same types of crystallizing agents and amounts thereof, suspension agents and amounts thereof, and properties of the composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
13. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,138,328.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and U.S. Patent No. 12,138,328 are directed to rheological solid compositions comprising a crystallizing agent and an aqueous phase,. The instant application further includes a suspension agent and active agent which are also taught as components in Example 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,138,328. Thus the two are not patentably distinct. The dependent claims are included in this rejection as further describing the same types of crystallizing agents, amounts of components, and properties of the composition.
Conclusion
14. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615