DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 9/18/2024.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 1-18 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/18/2024, 1/27/2025 and 6/9/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,9-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amiri et al. (US Pub. 2023/0318725)(A1 hereafter) in view of Sethi et al. (WO 2024/246710)(S1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, A1 teaches a system [refer Fig. 1] comprising:
a communication interface (base stations and UE’s communicate between one another via interfaces)[paragraph 0046] to receive data associated with a wireless network operational area (determine an estimated location of UE and/or provide data (e.g., “assistance data”) to UE to facilitate location measurement and/or location determination by UE)[paragraph 0036], the data including one or more signal characteristic measurement values associated with signals transmitted (estimated location of UE may be based on measurements of RF signals sent from and/or received by the UE, in particular, these measurements can provide information regarding the relative distance and/or angle of the UE)[paragraph 0038] in accordance with a first radio access technology (RAT)(access nodes configured to communicate according to 5G NR, LTE, and Wi-Fi communication protocols, respectively, access nodes configured to communicate according to other communication protocols may be used)[paragraph 0050]; and
a controller to: train a machine learning model, based at least partially on the data (data corresponding to locations in the wireless environment (measured, e.g., by a wireless device at the location) may be used as training data for training a machine learning model)[paragraph 0070], and build a signal propagation for signals transmitted (training output may contain any other wireless measurement, e.g., ToF. The process of producing an output from the input may be referred to as forward propagation)[paragraph 0087] in accordance with a second RAT in the wireless network operational area (access nodes providing the functionality described herein may additionally or alternatively include entities enabling communications to any of a variety of RATs)[paragraph 0049].
However, A1 fails to disclose building a signal propagation model for signals transmitted in accordance with a second RAT in the wireless network operational area, the signal propagation model built using the trained machine learning model.
S1 discloses performing deployment optimization [refer Abstract] using a ML training iteration procedure in which a ML is trained using parameters [paragraph 0394], the model is used to optimize wireless signal reflection and/or transmission patterns by determining an optimal configuration for wireless signal propagations towards a receiver [paragraph 0403], using a wave propagation model, based on the layout of the environment, wave transmission parameters and the respective material characteristics of the set of objects and possible propagation paths of the EM signals [paragraph 0441]. S1 further discloses that positions of receivers may be determined based on the protocol used in the communication system (e.g., WiFi, LTE, and 5G)(i.e. first and/or second RATs), the signals transmitted by receivers to the transmitters (e.g., APs/BSs) are analyzed to determine their positions by analyzing the signal characteristics and the timing of signal arrival [paragraph 0377].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of A1 for wireless optimization using a machine learning model [refer A1; Abstract] to incorporate the use of a wave propagation model to simulate an environment and determine propagation paths as taught by S1. One would be motivated to do so to provide an improvement for network coverage and quality of service [refer S1; paragraph 0034].
Regarding claims 2 and 11, A1 teaches the first RAT and the second RAT are different radio access technologies (the network can utilize one or more wireless communication technologies)[paragraph 0032].
Regarding claims 3 and 12, A1 teaches the first RAT is a Wi-Fi protocol (i.e. Wi-Fi) and the second RAT is a cellular protocol (i.e. LTE, 5G, or NR)[paragraph 0032].
Regarding claims 4 and 13, A1 teaches the first RAT and the second RAT are a same radio access technology (i.e. cellular)[paragraph 0032], the signals transmitted in accordance with the first RAT being transmitted over a first frequency band and the signals transmitted in accordance with the second RAT being transmitted over a second frequency band different than the first frequency band (LTE and 5G are two cellular protocols that inherently operate at different frequency bands in accordance to their specifications)[paragraph 0032].
Regarding claims 5 and 14, A1 teaches a measurement device (i.e. access node or base station) comprising a plurality of receivers [paragraph 0142] to receive the signals transmitted in accordance with the first RAT (an access node is configured to obtain or receive location measurements of uplink and/or downlink signals from a UE, the access nodes communicate according to communication protocols such as Wi-Fi and 5G)[paragraph 0050], two or more of the plurality of receivers to receive the signals on different frequencies [paragraph 0134], the measurement device to include one or more signal characteristic measurement values of the signals received on the different frequencies in the data transmitted to the communication interface [paragraph 0050].
Regarding claims 6 and 15, A1 teaches the controller comprises frequency switching logic (i.e. communication interface) which dynamically controls the frequencies on which the plurality of receivers (i.e. antenna) receive the signals [paragraph 0142].
Regarding claims 9 and 18, A1 teaches the controller further configures a structure of a wireless network that operates in accordance with the second RAT in the wireless network operational area (update a position of the VAP, or provide at least one of the one or more wireless measurements to a server entity for use in positioning of the UE)[paragraph 0116], based on the signal propagation model built for signals transmitted in accordance with the second RAT (newly estimated position of the VAP may be determined based on the training dataset (e.g., whether the position of the VAP is within an expected threshold range), or a heatmap generated by the machine learning model)[paragraph 0116].
Claims 7,8,16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A1 in view of S1, as applied to claims 1 and 10, in further view of Mitra et al. (US Pub. 2025/0048415)(M1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, A1 fails to disclose the controller further maps a first signal strength indicator associated with the signals transmitted in accordance with the first RAT to a second signal strength indicator associated with the signals transmitted in accordance with the second RAT.
M1 discloses using a reported reference signal received power (RSRP), or received signal strength indicator (RSSI), for relevant RATs for connection and filtering by discarding the RATs that do not meet a required threshold for coverage [paragraph 0050], minimum RSRP/RSSI levels of each RAT for selection can be used to determine whether a UE can be scheduled on a given RAT [paragraph 0053], identifying a subset of the respective radio access technologies for which a signal strength criterion is satisfied so that a sufficient RSRP or RSSI that the user equipment can connect [paragraph 0090].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of A1 for UE assisted positioning using RSSI and RSRP [refer A1; paragraph 0057] to incorporate the association of RSSI and RSRP for particular radio access technologies for selection as taught by M1. One would be motivated to do so to provide an improvement for network energy saving (NES) for multi-RAT networks [refer M1; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claims 8 and 17, A1 fails to disclose the first signal strength indicator is a Wi-Fi Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) and the second signal strength indicator is a cellular Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP).
M1, in the field of operating multiple RATs, including Wi-Fi and 5G [paragraph 0021], discloses using a reported reference signal received power (RSRP), or received signal strength indicator (RSSI), for relevant RATs for connection and filtering by discarding the RATs that do not meet a required threshold for coverage [paragraph 0050], minimum RSRP/RSSI levels of each RAT for selection can be used to determine whether a UE can be scheduled on a given RAT [paragraph 0053], identifying a subset of the respective radio access technologies for which a signal strength criterion is satisfied so that a sufficient RSRP or RSSI that the user equipment can connect [paragraph 0090].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of A1 for UE assisted positioning using RSSI and RSRP [refer A1; paragraph 0057] to incorporate the association of RSSI and RSRP for particular radio access technologies for selection as taught by M1. One would be motivated to do so to provide an improvement for network energy saving (NES) for multi-RAT networks [refer M1; paragraph 0025].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anchala et al. (US Pub. 2024/0048256) discloses tuning a wireless network propagation model of a coverage area using collected geographical data and network equipment information [refer Abstract].
Vandikas et al. (US Pub. 2021/0345138) discloses enabling predictions of future operational conditions for at least one site that comprises of a RAT of a cellular network by selecting a machine learning model [refer Abstract], a single site can have several radio network nodes supporting different RATs [paragraph 0002].
Ryan Kavleski
/R. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412