DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The amended claim language of independent claims 1 & 11 requires “a reactive passive circuit element,” an element that is not disclosed in the specification. Nowhere in the specification does the expression “reactive passive circuit element” appear explicitly. Examiner notes that a “reactive passive circuit” is defined as “an electrical system built entirely with passive components like resistors, capacitors, and inductors that do not need an external power source to function.” See Area51Electronics and Google AI search definition. This specific terminology “reactive passive circuit” is not addressed in applicant’s and it does have a definition that could be known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Because applicant does not address this very specific type of circuit element, Examiner cannot assume what applicant actually wants. Applicant clearly defines the reactive circuit elements but defines neither passive circuit elements nor reactive passive circuit elements. Therefore, the Examiner cannot make any assumptions over what is actually meant by applicant and, as such, Examiner considers this to be new matter that does not have support in the specification. Examiner does not understand what element this limitation is either from the specification or the drawings. Independent claims 1 & 11 are thus rejected as are all subsequent dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The amended claim language of claims 1 & 11 requires “a reactive passive circuit element” but does not disclose what that element is and does not address the possibly conflicting words of that new limitation. Examiner notes that being passive, in the art of electronics, is “an electrical network built entirely of components that cannot generate, inject, or amplify electrical power.” See Google AI Overview and IEEE Technology navigator. Examiner notes that a “reactive passive circuit” is defined as “an electrical system built entirely with passive components like resistors, capacitors, and inductors that do not need an external power source to function.” See Area51Electronics and Google AI search definition. Given the lack of context from the specification, it is unknown whether or not the plain meaning of passive or the electrical meaning of passive is required. If the plain meaning is to be used, the meaning of passive is to be “accepting or allowing what happens without trying to fight back, change it, or take an active part.” How can a circuit element be both reactive and passive simultaneously? This passive component would necessarily contradict one being reactive. The specification does not disclose any explicit “reactive passive circuit element.” Therefore, Examiner cannot assume any intention of applicant on the meaning of a circuit element being simultaneously reactive and passive. If the definition of the “reactive passive circuit element” is to be “an electrical system built entirely with passive components like resistors, capacitors, and inductors that do not need an external power source to function,” Examiner would expect a clear indication within the specification addressing this considering applicant clearly defined the reactive elements. Neither “passive” nor “reactive passive” has been adequately defined for the Examiner to clear understanding of what is claimed by Applicant. Clarification is required. Independent claims 1 & 11 are thus rejected as are all subsequent dependent claims.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 1 & 11, Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the reference to Riesch does not teach the amended claim language requiring “a reactive passive circuit element.” As Examiner noted above, it is not clear what that “reactive capacitive element” is supposed to be because it is undefined new matter. The specification defines a reactive element as an inductor or as a capacitor or any combination thereof. Therefore, the cited capacitor and other inductors and capacitors in the circuit meet the limitation as seen in the rejection below. The amended claims will be addressed in the rejection below.
Regarding amended claim 5, Examiner considers the claim to presently contain allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 2, Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 07/16/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejection of claim 2 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9-12, 15-16, & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riesch et al (STEFAN HG RIESCH ET AL: "Initial tests of a 4-channel building block for a local 32- channel Rx-only body coil at 7T", INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY FOR MAGNETIC RESONANCE IN MEDICINE, ISMRM, 2030 ADDISON STREET, 7TH FLOOR, BERKELEY, CA 94704 USA, no. 4325, 7 April 2017 (2017-04-07), XP040691893.).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Riesch teaches:
A radio frequency (RF) receive circuit for use in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner, the RF circuit comprising:
an antenna including multiple reactive impedance elements electrically coupled in a loop configuration (See Fig. 2A wherein there are capacitors in the loop. See also Fig. 1A-1B.);
an amplifier input impedance (See Fig. 2A wherein the preamplifier is shown on the right-hand side. See the reference to "Low input impedance preamplifiers" in the section "Material and Methods".);
a first transmission line electrically coupled in parallel with at least one reactive impedance element (See Fig. 2A wherein the Coax line can be identified as the “first transmission line.” It is in parallel with Ct.);
a second transmission line electrically coupled in parallel with the amplifier input impedance (See Fig. 2A wherein the rightmost line λ/4 line can be identified as the “second transmission line.” It is in parallel with Cp.);
a first reactive impedance circuit electrically coupled to the first transmission line and to the second transmission line, between the first transmission line and the second transmission line (See Fig. 2A wherein the leftmost capacitor 1nF and the transmission line λ/4 to the right meet the metes and bounds of the claim language.), wherein the first reactive impedance circuit includes a reactive passive circuit element coupled between a signal conductor and a reference potential level (See Fig. 2A wherein the leftmost capacitor 1nF and the transmission line λ/4 to the right meet the metes and bounds of the claim language. Any inductor or capacitor in the circuit meets the claim limitation language.);
an RF switch circuit electrically coupled between a first combined impedance, that includes the first transmission line and the first reactive impedance circuit, and a second combined impedance, that includes the second transmission line and the amplifier input impedance (See Fig. 2A wherein the Schottky diodes in between the Coax & λ/4 lines and all of the other impedance elements.);
wherein the RF switch circuit is operable to electrically isolate the second combined impedance from the first combined impedance when the RF switch is closed and to electrically couple the second combined impedance to the first combined impedance when the RF switch is open (See materials and methods section wherein it is disclosed that the “detuning of the coil can be achieved by transforming the short provided by the PIN diodes to an open at the coil element's tuning/matching circuit via the coaxial cable” which “implies that “when the RF switch is closed, the first combined impedance transforms impedance of the RF switch circuit to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element.””);
wherein, when the RF switch is closed, the first combined impedance transforms impedance of the RF switch circuit to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element (See materials and methods section wherein it is disclosed that the “cable length then also enables preamplifier decoupling during receive” which “implies that “when the RF switch is open, the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance together transform the amplifier input impedance to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element.”” ); and wherein, when the RF switch is open, the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance together transform the amplifier input impedance to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element (See materials and methods section wherein it is disclosed that the “cable length then also enables preamplifier decoupling during receive” which “implies that “when the RF switch is open, the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance together transform the amplifier input impedance to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element.”” ).
Regarding claim 6, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch teaches the RF switch circuit includes first and second cross-coupled diodes (Fig. 2A Element Schottky diode.).
Regarding claim 9, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch teaches a first transmission line includes a first coaxial cable (See Fig. 2A wherein the Coax line can be identified as the “first transmission line.” It is in parallel with Ct.); and wherein the second transmission line includes a second coaxial cable (See Fig. 2A wherein the rightmost line λ/4 line can be identified as the “second transmission line.”).
Regarding claim 10, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch teaches a first transmission line includes a first coaxial cable (See Fig. 2A wherein the Coax line can be identified as the “first transmission line.” It is in parallel with Ct.); wherein the second transmission line includes a second coaxial cable (See Fig. 2A wherein the rightmost line λ/4 line can be identified as the “second transmission line.”); and wherein the switch circuit includes at least one diode electrically coupled between a signal line of the first coaxial transmission line and ground (Fig. 2A Element Schottky diode.).
Regarding Independent claim 11, Riesch teaches:
A radio frequency (RF) receive circuit for use in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner, the RF circuit comprising:
an antenna including multiple reactive impedance elements electrically coupled in a loop configuration (See Fig. 2A wherein there are capacitors in the loop. See also Fig. 1A-1B.);
an amplifier input impedance (See Fig. 2A wherein the preamplifier is shown on the right-hand side. See the reference to "Low input impedance preamplifiers" in the section "Material and Methods".);
a first transmission line including a first end portion and a second end portion (See Fig. 2A wherein the Coax line can be identified as the “first transmission line.” It is in parallel with Ct.), wherein at least one reactive impedance element is electrically coupled in parallel with the first transmission line at the first end portion of the first transmission line (See Fig. 2A wherein the Coax line can be identified as the “first transmission line.” It is in parallel with Ct.);
a second transmission line including a first end portion and including a second end portion electrically (See Fig. 2A wherein the rightmost line λ/4 line can be identified as the “second transmission line.” It is in parallel with Cp.), wherein the amplifier input impedance is electrically coupled in parallel with the second transmission line at the second end portion of the second transmission line (See Fig. 2A wherein the rightmost line λ/4 line can be identified as the “second transmission line.” It is in parallel with Cp.);
a first reactive impedance circuit electrically coupled to the first transmission line and with the second transmission line, between the second end portion of the first transmission line and the first end portion of the second transmission line (See Fig. 2A wherein the leftmost capacitor 1nF and the transmission line λ/4 to the right meet the metes and bounds of the claim language.), wherein the first reactive impedance circuit includes a reactive passive circuit element coupled between a signal conductor and a reference potential level (See Fig. 2A wherein the leftmost capacitor 1nF and the transmission line λ/4 to the right meet the metes and bounds of the claim language. Any inductor or capacitor in the circuit meets the claim limitation language.);
an RF switch circuit electrically coupled in parallel with the first transmission line and the second transmission line (See Fig. 2A wherein the Schottky diodes in between the Coax & λ/4 lines and all of the other impedance elements.), between a first combined impedance (See Fig. 2A wherein the Schottky diodes in between the Coax & λ/4 lines and all of the other impedance elements.), that includes the first transmission line and the first reactive impedance circuit, and a second combined impedance, that includes the second transmission line and the amplifier input impedance (See Fig. 2A wherein the Schottky diodes in between the Coax & λ/4 lines and all of the other impedance elements.);
wherein the RF switch circuit is operable to electrically isolate the second combined impedance from the first combined impedance when the RF switch is closed and to electrically couple the second combined impedance to the first combined impedance when the RF switch is open (See materials and methods section wherein it is disclosed that the “detuning of the coil can be achieved by transforming the short provided by the PIN diodes to an open at the coil element's tuning/matching circuit via the coaxial cable” which “implies that “when the RF switch is closed, the first combined impedance transforms impedance of the RF switch circuit to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element.””);
wherein, when the RF switch is closed, the first combined impedance transforms impedance of the RF switch circuit seen at the first end portion of the first transmission line to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element (See materials and methods section wherein it is disclosed that the “cable length then also enables preamplifier decoupling during receive” which “implies that “when the RF switch is open, the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance together transform the amplifier input impedance to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element.”” ); and
wherein, when the RF switch is open, the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance together transform of the amplifier input impedance seen at the first end portion of the first transmission line to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element (See materials and methods section wherein it is disclosed that the “cable length then also enables preamplifier decoupling during receive” which “implies that “when the RF switch is open, the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance together transform the amplifier input impedance to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element.”” ).
Regarding claim 12, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch teaches a matching impedance circuit electrically coupled to the first reactive impedance and the second transmission line (Fig. 2A the right-most capacitor referred to as “1nF” which can be identified with the “matching impedance circuit.”), located between the RF switch circuit and the first end portion of the second transmission line (Fig. 2A the right-most capacitor referred to as “1nF” which can be identified with the “matching impedance circuit.”); wherein, when the RF switch is open, the matching impedance is operable to match the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance to prevent reflection of transmission line signals (Fig. 2A the right-most capacitor referred to as “1nF” which can be identified with the “matching impedance circuit.”).
Regarding claim 15, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch teaches the RF switch circuit includes at least one diode (Fig. 2A Element Schottky diode.).
Regarding claim 16, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch teaches the RF switch circuit includes first and second cross-coupled diodes (Fig. 2A Element Schottky diode.).
Regarding claim 19, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch teaches a first transmission line includes a first coaxial cable (See Fig. 2A wherein the Coax line can be identified as the “first transmission line.” It is in parallel with Ct.); and wherein the second transmission line includes a second coaxial cable (See Fig. 2A wherein the rightmost line λ/4 line can be identified as the “second transmission line.”).
Regarding claim 20, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch teaches a first transmission line includes a first coaxial cable (See Fig. 2A wherein the Coax line can be identified as the “first transmission line.” It is in parallel with Ct.); wherein the second transmission line includes a second coaxial cable (See Fig. 2A wherein the rightmost line λ/4 line can be identified as the “second transmission line.”); and wherein the switch circuit includes at least one diode electrically coupled between a signal line of the first coaxial transmission line and ground (Fig. 2A Element Schottky diode.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 13-14, & 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant. The structural requirements of the claimed circuit elements listed below would require impermissible hindsight to make any combination obvious, even if the limitations were to be found.
Regarding claim 2, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch does not explicitly teach a matching impedance circuit electrically coupled to the first reactive impedance and the second transmission line, located between the RF switch circuit and the second transmission line; wherein, when the RF switch is open, the matching impedance is operable to match the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance to prevent reflection of transmission line signals.
Regarding claim 3, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch does not explicitly teach the second combined impedance includes a second reactive impedance circuit electrically coupled to the second transmission line, between the second transmission line and the amplifier input impedance; and wherein, when the RF switch is open, the second reactive impedance circuit imparts a phase length such that collective phase lengths of the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance transform the amplifier input impedance to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element.
Regarding claim 4,
The circuit of claim 1, a matching impedance circuit electrically coupled to the first reactive impedance and the second transmission line, between the RF switch circuit and the second transmission line; and a second reactive impedance circuit electrically coupled to the second transmission line, between the second transmission line and the amplifier input impedance; and wherein the second combined impedance includes the second reactive impedance circuit; wherein, when the RF switch is open, the matching impedance is operable to match the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance to prevent reflection of transmission line signals; and wherein, when the RF switch is open, the second reactive impedance circuit impedance imparts a phase length such that collective phase lengths of the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance transform the amplifier input impedance to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element.
Regarding claim 5, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch does not explicitly teach an RF switch control circuit, including an input node configured to receive an MRI mode indication input signal, and including an output node configured to provide, based on the MRI mode indication input signal, a control signal to the RF switch circuit such that the RF switch circuit is operable to electrically decouple the second combined impedance from the first combined impedance when the RF switch is closed in response to the control signal received from the RF switch control circuit and to electrically couple the second combined impedance to the first combined impedance when the RF switch is open in response to the control signal received from the RF switch control circuit; and the RF switch circuit includes at least one diode.
Regarding claim 7, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch does not explicitly teach the RF switch is configured to close automatically in response to an RF signal received at the antenna having a threshold value; and wherein the RF switch is configured to open automatically in response to an RF signal received at the antenna having below a threshold value.
Regarding claim 8, Riesch teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Riesch does not explicitly teach the RF switch is configured to close in response to a control signal during excitation mode operation of an MRI system; and wherein the RF switch is configured to open in response to a control signal during receive mode operation of the MRI system.
Regarding claim 13,
The circuit of claim 11, wherein the second combined impedance includes a second reactive impedance circuit electrically coupled to the second transmission line, between the second end portion of the second transmission line and the amplifier input impedance; and wherein, when the RF switch is open, the second reactive impedance circuit impedance imparts a phase length such that collective phase lengths of the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance transform the amplifier input impedance seen at the first end portion of the first transmission line to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element.
Regarding claim 14,
The circuit of claim 11, a matching impedance circuit electrically coupled between the first reactive impedance and the second transmission line, between the RF switch circuit and the first end portion of the second transmission line; and a second reactive impedance circuit electrically coupled to the second transmission line, between the second end portion of the second transmission line and the amplifier input impedance; and wherein the second combined impedance includes the second reactive impedance circuit; wherein, when the RF switch is open, the matching impedance is operable to match the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance to prevent reflection of transmission line signals; and wherein, when the RF switch is open, the second reactive impedance circuit impedance imparts a phase length such that collective phase lengths of the first combined impedance and the second combined impedance transform the amplifier input impedance seen at the first end portion of the first transmission line to be in resonance with the at least one antenna impedance element.
Regarding claim 17,
The circuit of claim 11, wherein the RF switch is configured to close automatically in response to an RF signal received at the antenna having a threshold value; and wherein the RF switch is configured to open automatically in response to an RF signal received at the antenna having below a threshold value.
Regarding claim 18,
The circuit of claim 11, wherein the RF switch is configured to close in response to a control signal during excitation mode operation of an MRI system; and wherein the RF switch is configured to open in response to a control signal during receive mode operation of the MRI system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858