Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9 & 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), because the specification, while being enabling for a plurality of sensors in the sensor unit include a piezoelectric transducer, a pressure sensor, an angle sensor, a force sensor, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a temperature sensor, the disclosure does not provide support for all possible sensor technologies presently available and available in the future. Claims 1, 3-9 & 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the scope of enablement requirement. In Applicant's case the breadth of the claims extends beyond the disclosure of a plurality of sensors in the sensor unit include a piezoelectric transducer, a pressure sensor, an angle sensor, a force sensor, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a temperature sensor [0009].
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue.” In this case, the relevant Wand factors Examiner has considered are :
2164.01(a) Undue Experimentation Factors [R-01.2024]
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The disclosure does not provide additional working examples or indication of any other type of sensor other than a plurality of sensors in the sensor unit include a piezoelectric transducer, a pressure sensor, an angle sensor, a force sensor, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a temperature sensor. The inventor has reduced to practice sensors measuring force, pressure, acceleration, angular movement and temperature.. Absence of disclosure all sensors elements [i.e.. full electromagnetic spectrum or chemical analysis] cable of identifying all possible properties of a tire places on the public the entire quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the full scope of Claims 1, 3-9 & 12-17 overreaches the disclosed concept.
Consistent with office policy, Examiner has weighed all the evidence for and against enablement of this invention and has concluded based on guidance provided by the MPEP and case law (including the Wands factors) that there is not enough evidence in favor of the scope of the enablement of this invention.
Applicant may submit factual affidavits under 37 CFR 1.132 or cite references to show what one skilled in the art knew at the time of filing the application. A declaration or affidavit is, itself, evidence that must be considered. The weight to give a declaration or affidavit will depend upon the amount of factual evidence the declaration or affidavit contains to support the conclusion of enablement. In re Buchner, 929 F.2d 660, 661, 18 USPQ2d 1331, 1332 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (“expert' s opinion on the ultimate legal conclusion must be supported by something more than a conclusory statement”); cf. In re Alton, 76 F.3d 1168, 1174, 37 USPQ2d 1578, 1583 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (declarations relating to the written description requirement should have been considered)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 & 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over George (WO 2020174490: “George”) in view of Wilson (US 20030058118: “Wilson”).
Claim 1. George discloses a system (Fig. 1b: 108) for monitoring condition of vehicle tires (102)[Abstract], the system (108) comprising: a sensor unit (104) placed within a tire (102)[0019], wherein the sensor unit (104) includes: a plurality of sensors [0019: a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, and an acceleration sensor]; a processing unit (110) [0025] for receiving the digital data from the plurality of sensors (104)[0026] and to determine the revolutions per minute (RPM) of the tire (102) [0042: trough to peak is one revolution] using data pulses (Figs. 4a & b) characteristic of a revolution count [0042: trough to peak is one revolution] or a vehicle safety condition with reference to a predetermined threshold [0012: If the tyre pressure drops below a threshold of tyre pressure, the TPMS may generate a notification, indicating the presence of a fault. However, an early fix may not always be available amounting to a downtime of the vehicle]; a communication unit [0021: the sensor assembly 104 may include a transceiver] for facilitating communication between the sensor unit (104) and a sensor hub (108)[0051]; a sensor hub (108) configured to receive sensor data (128) to wirelessly communicate the data to a network (106)[0026] & [0051], wherein the sensor hub (108) is configured to receive and process (110) the sensor data (128)[0035-0037] from the tires (102) and provide one or more of a tire revolution count [0042] or a condition of a tire (132) [0012] & [0048]; and generate a warning (132) to a user in case of unsafe tire [0049].
an analog front end to receive analog signals from the plurality of sensors and convert the analog signals to digital data and a sensor hub configured to receive sensor data from a plurality of tires and to wirelessly communicate the data to a network and a power management unit for providing power to the sensor unit.
Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches a sensor unit (Fig. 3: 50) connected to an analog front end (Fig. 10: 102) to receive analog signals from the plurality of sensors (92 & 96) and convert the analog signals to digital data [0104] and a sensor hub (Fig. 3: 56) configured to receive sensor data from a plurality of tires (Fig. 3: 36 two of four shown connected to 56) [0131] and to wirelessly communicate the data (68) to a network (70)[0270] and a power management unit(134 & power processing) for providing power to the sensor unit (50)[0090] & [0098-0099].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s support equipment of analog sensor processing, central tire sensor data processing and power processing with George’s tire monitoring system because the supporting equipment improves reliability and efficient use of supplied power with power loading processing, central processing location for all the vehicles tires and pre-processing analog signals to filter error inducing noise [Wilson 0086 noise] [Wilson 0098 power] [Wilson 0131 central hub].
Claim 2. Dependent on the system a claimed in claim 1. George further discloses the plurality of sensors in the sensor unit (104) include a pressure sensor, an accelerometer or a temperature sensor [0019].
Claim 3. Dependent on the system as claimed in claim 1. George does not explicitly disclose:
the analog front end includes one or more of a filter, a comparator, a limiter, an analog to digital converter, or a multiplexer.
Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches the analog front end (Fig. 10: 108) includes one or more of a filter (104)[0086], a comparator (114)[0086] an analog to digital converter [0104] & [0120].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s analog front end processing (e.g. filter, comparator and A/D converter) with George’s, as modified, tire monitoring processing because pre-processing of analog data improves accuracy of the sensor measurements by filtering and further eliminating error inducing noise and identifying decluttered peak values in the signal prior to peak focused digital processing [Wilson 0086].
Claim 4. Dependent on the system as claimed in claim 3. George, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the analog front end includes an adaptive threshold generation circuit to generate the predetermined threshold as a percentage of a peak signal
Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches the analog front end (108) includes an adaptive threshold generation circuit (102) to generate the predetermined threshold as a percentage of a peak signal [0086: a voltage divider and peak detector bleed circuit 112 to set the threshold at half of the peak value].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s analog front end processing of an adaptive threshold generation circuit with George’s, as modified, tire monitoring processing because pre-processing of analog data improves accuracy of the sensor measurements by filtering and further eliminating error inducing noise and identifying decluttered peak values at threshold levels in the signal prior to peak focused digital processing [Wilson 0086].
Claim 5. Dependent on the system as claimed in claim 1. George, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the power management unit includes a battery, a vibration energy harvester or a combination thereof, for powering the sensor unit, and a processor for optimizing power supply to the sensor unit using maximum power point tracking or other criteria.
Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches the power management unit includes a battery (134), for powering the sensor unit (50), and a processor (136) for optimizing power supply to the sensor unit (50) using maximum power point tracking or other criteria [0129: The periodicity lengthens as the reported period between contact regions indicates the vehicle is not moving, or moving too slowly, and shortens as the reported period shortens indicating the vehicle is moving] & [0135].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s power management processing with George’s, as modified, tire monitoring system because a battery provides steady power the power management increases battery efficiency and battery life by delivering power only as needed over consumptive constant powered-on use [Wilson 0098-0099].
Claim 6. Dependent on the system as claimed in claim 1. George further discloses a server (114) [0029] to store and analyze historical data of one or more vehicles and generate an alert relating to tire life [0017], replacement schedule thereof [0014] to a user [0048-0049].
Claim 7. George further discloses a method (Fig. 1b: 108) for monitoring the condition of vehicle tires (102)[Abstract], the method comprising: receiving sensor data (128) from a plurality of sensors of a sensor unit (104) [0019] receiving and processing [110] the digital data [0026] at a processing unit (110) to generate time-stamped data pulses (Figs. 4a&b) characteristic of a revolution count [0042: trough to peak is one revolution] or a road condition or a tire safety condition [0012: change of pressure in the tyre and monitors if the measured tyre pressure is within a predefined range. If the tyre pressure drops below a threshold of tyre pressure, the TPMS may generate a notification, indicating the presence of a fault. However, an early fix may not always be available amounting to a downtime of the vehicle]; determining a vehicle speed [0036-0037] or both; communicating the digital data from the sensing unit (104) to a sensor hub (108)[0012] & [0051]; generating a warning to the user in case of unsafe tire [0049]; and providing digital data from the sensor hub (108) to a computing device over a network & [0048-0049]. George further teaches the use of a revolution of the tire as a cycle time for comparing measured signals to reference signals over one revolution of the tire [0042] & [0047-0048]. George does not explicitly disclose:
1) an analog front end as analog signals; converting the analog signals to digital data at the analog front end.
2) eliminating errors in RPM count.
With regard to 1) Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches a sensor unit (Fig. 3: 50) connected to an analog front end (Fig. 10: 102) to receive analog signals from the plurality of sensors (92 & 96) and convert the analog signals to digital data [0104] & [0120].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s analog front end processing with an A/D converter with George’s tire monitoring processing because pre-processing of analog data improves accuracy of the sensor measurements by filtering and further eliminating error inducing noise and identifying decluttered peak values in the signal prior to peak focused digital processing [Wilson 0086].
With regard to 2) Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches obtaining a rotation of the tire used to determine RPM extracted from accelerometer data (Fig. 5 rotation of tire)[0028: determining the rotational period of the tire based on the time between the occurrences of sequential acceleration variations at said leading edge or at said trailing edge; and computing the tire deformation based on the ratio of said elapsed time to said rotational period and the known geometric parameters of the tire] & [0070]. Wilson further teaches RPM error (Fig. 6a) [0071] and RPM error correction of the RPM count performed by filtering out road noise (Fig. 6b) [0071] and adaptive compared to an adaptive threshold (Fig. 6c)[0071] & [0086].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s processing of accelerometer data to determine a rotation cycle or RPM as a cycle unit and correction of noise to set George’s, as modified, rotation cycle measurements because the corrected RPM cycle time improves analysis by removing error offsets to align with reference data for accurate fault analysis.
Claim 8. Dependent on the method as claimed in claim 7. George , as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the pulses characteristic of a revolution count or a road condition are determined with reference to an adaptively generated signal threshold.
Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches obtaining a rotation of the tire used to determine RPM extracted from accelerometer data (Fig. 5 rotation of tire)[0028: determining the rotational period of the tire based on the time between the occurrences of sequential acceleration variations at said leading edge or at said trailing edge; and computing the tire deformation based on the ratio of said elapsed time to said rotational period and the known geometric parameters of the tire] & [0070]. Wilson further teaches the pulses characteristic of a revolution count condition are determined with reference to an adaptively generated signal threshold (Fig. 6c)[0071: As shown in FIG. 6A, the radial acceleration signal is corrupted by road noise that can be substantially reduced, as seen in FIG. 6B, by low-pass filtering to remove high frequencies. The filtered result is compared to an adaptive threshold (FIG. 6C) to detect the contact region acceleration, and the comparison result is timed to yield the duration of the contact region (contactTime) and the period of the tire rotation (rotationPeriod)] & [0086: peak detector 106 to track the peak AC acceleration (peakToPeakAcceleration), a voltage divider and peak detector bleed circuit 112 to set the threshold at half of the peak value, and a comparator 114 to determine the presence of the contact region 40].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s processing of accelerometer data to determine a rotation cycle or RPM as a cycle unit and correction of noise using adaptively generated thresholding to set George’s, as modified, rotation cycle measurements because the corrected RPM cycle time improves analysis by removing error offsets to align with reference data for accurate fault analysis [Wilson 0027].
Claim 9. Dependent on the method as claimed in claim 8. George, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the threshold is dynamically set to a percentage of the peak sensor signal amplitude.
Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches obtaining a rotation of the tire used to determine RPM extracted from accelerometer data (Fig. 5 rotation of tire)[0028: determining the rotational period of the tire based on the time between the occurrences of sequential acceleration variations at said leading edge or at said trailing edge; and computing the tire deformation based on the ratio of said elapsed time to said rotational period and the known geometric parameters of the tire] & [0070]. Wilson further teaches the threshold is dynamically set to a percentage [0086: e.g. 50%] of the peak sensor signal amplitude (Fig. 6c)[0071: As shown in FIG. 6A, the radial acceleration signal is corrupted by road noise that can be substantially reduced, as seen in FIG. 6B, by low-pass filtering to remove high frequencies. The filtered result is compared to an adaptive threshold (FIG. 6C) to detect the contact region acceleration, and the comparison result is timed to yield the duration of the contact region (contactTime) and the period of the tire rotation (rotationPeriod)] & [0086: peak detector 106 to track the peak AC acceleration (peakToPeakAcceleration), a voltage divider and peak detector bleed circuit 112 to set the threshold at half of the peak value [e.g. 50%], and a comparator 114 to determine the presence of the contact region 40].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s processing of accelerometer data to determine a rotation cycle or RPM as a cycle unit and correction of noise using adaptively generated thresholding to set George’s, as modified, rotation cycle measurements because the corrected RPM cycle time improves analysis by removing error offsets to align with reference data for accurate fault analysis.
Claim 10. Dependent on the method as claimed in claim 7. George further discloses
the sensor data (128) includes one or more of a pressure sensor signal, an accelerometer sensor signal and a temperature sensor signal [0019].
Claim 11. Dependent on the method as claimed in claim 10. George, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the eliminating errors includes using a second sensor signal to correct RPM count obtained using a first sensor signal, wherein the first or the second sensor signal is a piezoelectric sensor signal, a pressure sensor signal, an angle sensor signal, a force sensor signal, an accelerometer sensor signal, or a gyroscope sensor signal.
Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches obtaining a rotation of the tire used to determine RPM extracted from accelerometer data (Fig. 5 rotation of tire)[0028: determining the rotational period of the tire based on the time between the occurrences of sequential acceleration variations at said leading edge or at said trailing edge; and computing the tire deformation based on the ratio of said elapsed time to said rotational period and the known geometric parameters of the tire] & [0070]. Wilson further teaches the eliminating errors [0111] includes using a second sensor signal (92) to correct RPM count obtained using a first sensor signal (accelerometers (96) [0108], wherein the first or the second sensor signal is an accelerometer sensor signal [0111].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s comparative processing of accelerometer data to eliminate RPM error counts as George’s, as modified, rotation cycle measurements because the corrected RPM cycle time improves analysis by removing error offsets to align with reference data for accurate fault analysis.
Claim 12. Dependent on the method as claimed in claim 7. George, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
estimating the eliminating errors includes: determining a sudden change in time between two revolutions; determining if time between two revolutions is greater than maximum speed of the vehicle; or determining random time difference between two adjacent revolutions; and discarding the RPM count if above is true; else incrementing the RPM count.
Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches obtaining a rotation of the tire used to determine RPM extracted from accelerometer data (Fig. 5 rotation of tire)[0028: determining the rotational period of the tire based on the time between the occurrences of sequential acceleration variations at said leading edge or at said trailing edge; and computing the tire deformation based on the ratio of said elapsed time to said rotational period and the known geometric parameters of the tire] & [0070]. Wilson’s eliminating errors includes: determining a sudden change in time between two revolutions; determining if time between two revolutions is greater than maximum speed of the vehicle [0086: The circuit 102 comprises a high-pass filter 104 to reject the static off-contact and low frequency gravity and vehicle acceleration [e.g. Acceleration is a rate of change or derivative of the speed and is filtered out which discards the RPM count for the data]] & [0082]; or determining random time difference between two adjacent revolutions [0117]; and discarding the RPM count if above is true [0111]; else incrementing the RPM count signals
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s filtering of rapid acceleration data to determine a rotation cycle or RPM count to set George’s, as modified as modified, rotation cycle counts because the corrected RPM cycle time improves analysis by removing error offsets to align with reference data for accurate fault analysis.
Claim 14. Dependent on the method as claimed in claim 7. George, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
eliminating errors in RPM includes determining a derivative of a sensor signal.
Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches obtaining a rotation of the tire used to determine RPM extracted from accelerometer data (Fig. 5 rotation of tire)[0028: determining the rotational period of the tire based on the time between the occurrences of sequential acceleration variations at said leading edge or at said trailing edge; and computing the tire deformation based on the ratio of said elapsed time to said rotational period and the known geometric parameters of the tire] & [0070]. Wilson’s eliminating errors in RPM includes determining a derivative of a sensor signal [0086: The circuit 102 comprises a high-pass filter 104 to reject the static off-contact and low frequency gravity and vehicle acceleration [e.g. Acceleration is a rate of change or derivative of the speed and is filtered out which discards the RPM count for the data]] & [0082].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s filtering of rapid acceleration data to determine a rotation cycle or RPM count to set George’s, as modified rotation cycle counts because the corrected RPM cycle time improves analysis by removing error offsets to align with reference data for accurate fault analysis.
Claim 15. Dependent on the method as claimed in claim 7. George further discloses generating a warning to the user [0049] in case of unsafe vehicle [0048-0049] comprises: determining the tire pressure [0012] or temperature or both; comparing the tire pressure or temperature with predefined threshold values [0012]; and generating a warning to the user indicating unsafe tire conditions [0048-0049].
Claim 16. Dependent on the method as claimed in claim 7. George does not explicitly disclose:
the sensor unit enters stand-by mode when the vehicle is stationary and resumes active mode on movement of the vehicle.
Wilson teaches a vehicle tire monitoring system [Abstract]. Wilson further teaches the power management unit includes a battery (134), the sensor unit enters stand-by mode when the vehicle is stationary and resumes active mode on movement of the vehicle [0129: The periodicity lengthens as the reported period between contact regions indicates the vehicle is not moving, or moving too slowly, and shortens as the reported period shortens indicating the vehicle is moving] & [0135].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wilson’s power management processing of vehicle movement with George’s, as modified, tire monitoring system because a battery provides steady power the power management increases battery efficiency and battery life by delivering power only as needed over consumptive constant powered-on use [Wilson 0098-0099].
Claim 17. Dependent on the method as claimed in claim 7. George further discloses tracking any or all of: a physical condition [0018] & [0050] of a tire (102) an environmental condition including operating temperature [0050] thereby providing enhanced predictive analytics for tire performance and maintenance [0050].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over George in view of Wilson and in further view of Kikuchi (US 20100238007: ‘Kikuchi”).
Claim 13. Dependent on the method as claimed in claim 7. George, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting anomalies such as potholes, bumps, or rough road, to the sensor hub.
Kikuchi teaches evaluates tire wear properly even in a road condition that tires easily slip or lock up [Abstract]. Kikuchi further teaches transmitting anomalies (8 road surface detector) [0011-0012] such as potholes, bumps, or rough road, [e.g. resulting In slipping or locking of the wheel] to the sensor hub (111)[0124: The tire wear evaluation system 109 receives detected payload data from the payload detector 6, road surface condition information from the road surface condition detector 8, …sends to a tire condition data transmitter 111 ].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kikuchi’s road surface detector to determine and remove spurious slipping and locking data of the tires with George’s, as modified, tire monitoring because removing spurious error inducing slipping and locking measured by RPM (rotations per minute) improves accuracy of tire fault analysis by removing the erroneous rotations which skew essential data needed to identify tire faults [Kikuchi 0021-0023].
Prior Art Considered but not Utilized
The prior art made of record and not relied upon and is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is provided in the following table:
Prior Art Document Identifier
Inventor
Comment
IN-202011043553
BHURAT S et al.
Internal tire monitoring but with different technology IR and Ultrasonic
US-20220080789-
ALFF; DENIS
Details of RPM counting
US-20060006991
Tyndall; Patrick A.
Integrated Self-powered Tire Revolution Counter
Conclusion
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855