DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant argues on pages 5 - 6 (paragraph spanning) that Liu’s calculation “does not disclose a sign-determination mechanism associated with Liu' s radiopaque marker and calculation.”
This is not persuasive because the Office Action does not rely on Liu for the contested limitation. In contrast, the Office Action cites to Kwak to teach an incline that includes a sign. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument on page 6 (1st full paragraph) that Kwak’s “teaching is tied to Kwak's own marker structure, reference-line/apex analysis, and side-length-ratio approach. It is not a teaching that Liu's radiopaque marker segment, analyzed by Liu's arccos projected-length calculation, can determine or be modified to determine the sign of an incline”, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Kwak teaches that instrument pose information that is acquired based on imaged markers can provide signed incline information, as taught by Kwak ([0111]). The combined teachings of the references would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art that it would have been obvious to have modified the combined invention of Liu and Camarillo to have the incline include a sign of the incline, as taught by Kwak, in order to distinguish between positive and negative pitch as suggested by Kwak ([0111]).
Applicant argues on page 6 (2nd full paragraph) that the Office Action motivation statement “identifies the desired result of the modification, not why a person of ordinary skill would have modified Liu's particular radiopaque marker and arccos-based pitch calculation using Kwak's side-length-ratio marker scheme.”
In response, examiner notes that the suggestion to distinguish between positive and negative pitch is taken directly from Kwak ([0111]). Those of ordinary skill in the art understand the value of the distinction. In response to applicant’s specific comments regarding the “arccos-based pitch calculation”, the claims do not recite such calculations; and the rejection does not propose modifying Liu to rely on such calculations. In contrast, the rejection proposes only modifying the combined invention of Liu and Camarillo to have the incline include a sign of the incline, as taught by Kwak.
In response to applicant's arguments on pages 6 - 7 against Camarillo individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references.
Double Patenting
Applicant’s comments are acknowledged. The rejections are deemed proper and are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 - 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,690,683. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed towards systems and methods involving analyzing a medical image that depicts a medical instrument that includes fiducials, to determine information about an incline of the distal portion of the medical instrument, based on a two-dimensional appearance of the fiducials, generating motor commands configured to cause a robotic system coupled to the medical instrument to move the medical instrument, and causing the robotic system to move the medical instrument based on the more motor commands. In general, the instant claims are broader than the reference claims, in that they are directed towards use of a determined “incline” to generate the motor commands, whereas the reference claims require both the “incline” and a “roll angle”. In detail:
Instant claim 21 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claims 22 - 23 are suggested by reference claims 2 - 3, respectively.
Instant claim 24 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claims 25 - 27 are suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claims 28 - 29 are suggested by reference claims 4 - 5, respectively.
Instant claims 30 - 31 are suggested by reference claims 6 - 7, respectively.
Instant claims 32 - 33 are suggested by reference claims 8 - 9, respectively.
Instant claim 34 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claim 35 is suggested by reference claim 10.
Instant claims 36 - 37 are suggested by reference claims 11 - 12, respectively.
Instant claim 38 is suggested by reference claim 13.
Claims 21 - 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,707,332. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed towards systems and methods involving analyzing a medical image that depicts a medical instrument that includes fiducials, to determine information about an incline of the distal portion of the medical instrument, based on a two-dimensional appearance of the fiducials. In particular:
All of the features of instant claims 21 and 38 are included in or suggested by reference claim 11.
Instant claims 22 - 23 are suggested by reference claim 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the detection of the appearance be based on a computer vision algorithm or neural network, in order to facilitate the detection using conventional algorithms.
Instant claim 24 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claims 25 - 27 are suggested by reference claim 1 and/or 6.
Instant claims 28 - 29 are suggested by reference claim 11 and/or 13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the tip be detected in the manner recited, in order to effectively determine the position of the tip in a robust and repeatable manner.
Instant claims 30 - 31 are suggested by reference claim 13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the heading be determined in the manner recited, in order to effectively determine the position of the heading in a robust and repeatable manner.
Instant claims 32 - 33 are not patentably distinct from the reference claims because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the medical instrument be endoluminal or comprise a catheter, in order to implement conventional image guided surgical procedures using imaging guidance that is routine in the art to thereby treat a patient in need.
Instant claim 34 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claim 35 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claim 36 is suggested by reference claim 12.
Instant claim 37 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Claims 21 - 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,307. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed towards systems and methods involving analyzing a medical image that depicts a medical instrument that includes fiducials, to determine information about the distal portion of the medical instrument, based on a two-dimensional appearance of the fiducials. In particular:
Instant claims 21 and 38 are suggested by reference claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to include determining the incline of the distal portion with respect to the image plane, the incline comprising a sign, in order to control the robot properly to position the instrument relative to the patient’s body as needed for the medical procedure.
Instant claims 22 - 23 are suggested by reference claims 2 - 3, respectively.
Instant claim 24 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claims 25 - 27 are suggested by reference claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the appearance be distinguishable for the recited roll angles, in order to accurately detect the instrument’s current roll angle.
Instant claims 28 - 29 are suggested by reference claims 4 - 5, respectively.
Instant claims 30 - 31 are suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claims 32 - 33 are suggested by reference claims 6 - 7, respectively.
Instant claim 34 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claim 35 is suggested by reference claim 1.
Instant claims 36 - 37 are suggested by reference claims 9 - 10, respectively.
Claims 21 - 38 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 - 40 of copending Application No. 18/352491 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed towards systems and methods involving analyzing a medical image that depicts a medical instrument that includes fiducials, to determine information about the distal portion of the medical instrument, based on a two-dimensional appearance of the fiducials. In particular:
Instant claims 21 and 38 are suggested by reference claim 31.
Instant claims 22 - 23 are suggested by reference claim 24. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the detection of the appearance be based on a computer vision algorithm or neural network, in order to facilitate the detection using conventional algorithms.
Instant claims 25 - 27 are suggested by reference claim 35. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the appearance be distinguishable for the recited roll angles, in order to accurately detect the instrument’s current roll angle.
Instant claims 28 - 29 are suggested by reference claim 31. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the tip be detected in the manner recited, in order to effectively determine the position of the tip in a robust and repeatable manner.
Instant claims 30 - 31 are suggested by reference claim 32. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the heading be determined in the manner recited, in order to effectively determine the position of the heading in a robust and repeatable manner.
Instant claims 32 - 33 are not patentably distinct from the reference claims because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the medical instrument be endoluminal or comprise a catheter, in order to implement conventional image guided surgical procedures using imaging guidance that is routine in the art to thereby treat a patient in need.
Instant claim 34 is suggested by reference claim 21.
Instant claim 35 is suggested by reference claim 21.
Instant claim 36 is suggested by reference claim 31.
Instant claim 37 is suggested by reference claim 21.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 - 35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0405397, of record) in view of Camarillo et al. (US 2020/0297444, of record) and Kwak et al. (US 2014/0316252, of record).
Regarding claims 21 and 38, Liu shows a computer-implemented system (computer, [0025]) comprising a processor and electronic storage medium storing instructions that cause the processor to implement a method comprising:
receiving, from a medical imaging device (fluoroscopic imaging device, [0037]) a two-dimensional medical image (2D images, [0037]) including a view of a distal portion of a medical instrument (catheter 200, [0039]), the distal portion including a fiducial positioned thereon (“radiopaque marker 202 … coupled toward the distal tip of the catheter 200,” [0041] and figs. 2A - 2B), the fiducial being radio-opaque and visible in the medical image;
detecting, within the medical image, a two-dimensional appearance of the fiducial (“when imaged with a 2D imaging system … marker 202 is projected onto a 2D image plane … measure the segments of the radiopaque marker 202 in the image plane …” [0041]); and
based on the appearance, determine an incline of the distal portion with respect to an image plane of the image (“… out-of-plane angle … determine the pitch angle 302 of the catheter 200,” [0042] and figs. 2A, 3A).
Liu fails to show, based on the incline, generating a motor command configured to cause a robotic system coupled to the medical instrument to move the medical instrument; and causing the robotic system to move the medical instrument based on the motor command. In addition, Liu fails to show that the incline includes a sign of the incline.
Camarillo discloses medical robotics ([0002]). Camarillo teaches, based on an incline (“command data instructing the instrument tip … pitch…”, [0150]; estimated state includes pitch, [0152]), generating a motor command configured to cause a robotic system coupled to a medical instrument to move the medical instrument (commands from the robotic system, [0048]; “… navigation controller 360 … receives data from the state estimator 342… determine a next movement … for the instrument to advance along the navigation path,” [0155] and fig. 22); and causing the robotic system to move the medical instrument based on the motor command (navigating a medical instrument, abstract; “ …insert the steerable endoscope 13 into the patient robotically, manually, or a combination thereof,” [0047]; [0150]; navigation controller 360 can automatically control the instrument, [0155]).
Kwak discloses a marker shaped to facilitate detection of rotation information and surgical instrument pose ([0003]). Kwak teaches an incline that includes a sign of the incline (“… pitch-direction rotation angle … positive … negative value …”, [0021]; “…distinction between the two cases, the pitch-direction rotation angle … positive value … negative value …”, [0111] - [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Liu to include, based on the incline, generating a motor command configured to cause a robotic system coupled to the medical instrument to move the medical instrument; and causing the robotic system to move the medical instrument based on the motor command, as taught by Camarillo, in order to provide the physician with the ability to perform the procedure from an ergonomic position without the need for awkward arm motions and positions and/or provide the physician with the ability to perform the procedure with improved ease of use such that one or more of the instruments of the system can be controlled by a single user, as discussed by Camarillo ([0044]).
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined invention of Liu and Camarillo to have the incline include a sign of the incline, as taught by Kwak, in order to distinguish between positive and negative pitch as suggested by Kwak ([0111]). Those of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the ability to distinguish between positive and negative pitch would improve navigation and/or visualization of the medical instrument.
Regarding claim 22, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Liu further shows that computer vision is used to detect the two-dimensional appearance of the fiducial (“segmentation engine 114 to segment …,” [0024]; “… computer vision to identify and segment objects from the image data sets 134,” [0028]).
Regarding claim 23, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Liu further shows that a neural network detects the two-dimensional appearance of the fiducial (“segmentation engine 114 to segment …,” [0024]; “… convolutional neural network to identify the objects in the image data sets 134,” [0028]).
Regarding claim 24, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Liu further shows that both the roll (roll, [0043] and fig. 4B), and incline (pitch angle 302, [0042] and figs. 3A) are determined.
Regarding claim 25, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Liu further shows that the fiducial is configured such that the two-dimensional appearance of the fiducial within the medical image is visually distinguishable for different roll angles and different inclines of the medical instrument, as the appearance of the fiducial is used to calculate the roll angle and incline ([0042] - [0043]).
Regarding claims 26 - 27, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Further, the two-dimensional appearance of the fiducial is at least physically capable of being visually distinguished for different roll angles and different inclines of the medical instrument for incremental changes of less than or about 40 degrees and therefore meets the claims, as the appearance of the fiducial is used to calculate the roll angle and incline in individual degrees ([0042] - [0043]).
Regarding claim 28, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Liu further shows detecting, within the medical image, a distal tip of the medical instrument (“detecting the medical device … the end of the catheter 702,” [0054]); and based on the detected tip, determining a two-dimensional position of the distal tip within a plane of the medical image (2D image that illustrates the real-time position of the medical device, [0032]).
Regarding claim 29, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Liu further shows that detecting the tip comprises determining, based on the medical image, a centerline of the distal portion of the medical instrument, and determining an endpoint for the centerline (“segmentation engine … generate a center line … until the region of interest 704 reaches the end of the catheter 702,” [0054] and center line 710 in figs. 7A - 7F).
Regarding claim 30, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Liu further shows detecting, within the medical image, the distal portion of the medical instrument (“detecting the medical device … the end of the catheter 702,” [0054]); and based on the detected distal portion, determining a heading of the medical instrument within a plane of the medical image (calculation of the yaw angle 312, [0044] and figs. 2A, 3C).
Regarding claims 32 - 33, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Liu further shows that the medical instrument comprises an endoluminal (heart/vasculature, [0027]) catheter (catheter 200, [0039]).
Regarding claim 34, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Liu further shows that the medical imaging device comprises an X- ray device (fluoroscopic imaging device, [0037]).
Regarding claim 35, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above.
Liu fails to show that the motor control is based on user input.
Camarillo teaches that the motor controls are determined based on user input (user-guided navigation, [0159]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the invention of Liu have the motor controls be determined based on user input, as taught by Camarillo, in order to facilitate user-guided navigation, as suggested by Camarillo ([0155]).
Claims 36 - 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Onishi et al. (US 2012/0287238, of record).
Regarding claims 36 - 37, the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above.
Liu fails to show displaying the roll angle or incline and the medical image.
Onishi discloses an endoluminal medical device ([0003]). Onishi teaches displaying a roll angle and a medical image (“… superimposed image PW1D having the axial image PA … display the roll angle of the distal end portion 2C…,” [0090] and fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined invention of Liu, Camarillo, and Kwak to include displaying the roll angle and the medical image, as taught by Onishi, in order to inform a user of the calculated roll angle and help the user visualize the orientation of the instrument relative to the patient’s anatomy.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMELIE R DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798