DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/05/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the at least one handle axis”. Lacks antecedent basis appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the housing body portion”. Lacks antecedent basis appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onose (U.S. 2006/0269377).
In regards to claims 1. Onose discloses A power tool (101) comprising:
a housing (130);
at least one handle (130E) mountable to the housing;
a motor (131) mounted in the housing and electrically connected to a power source (101A at least paragraph 129);
at least one component (130I) comprises at least one electrical connection electrically connected with the power source (see at least paragraph 133 and 136);
wherein the at least one handle comprises an internal cavity and the at least one component is mountable within the internal cavity (at least paragraph 133 and fig. 24); and
wherein the at least one handle comprises a handle slot (element 130m see at least fig. 24 and 25) configured to receive the at least one electrical connection (175) when the at least one component is mounted within the at least one handle (see at least paragraph 136).
In regards to claims 2. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 1, wherein the handle slot is configured to receive the at least one electrical connection when the at least one handle is mounted to the housing (see at least fig. 24 and paragraph 136 and 140).
In regards to claims 3. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 1, wherein a handle slot insert (130F) is configured to engage the handle slot and fill the slot (see at least fig. 24,26, and 27).
In regards to claims 4. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 3, wherein the handle slot insert comprises at least one projecting lip (130i) configured to engage an internal shoulder (130J) portion of the at least one handle (see at least fig. 28).
In regards to claims 5. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 1, wherein the handle slot extends at least partially around a periphery of the at least one handle (illustrated in at least fig. 26 and 27).
In regards to claims 6. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 3, wherein a portion of the handle slot extends in a direction parallel with at least one handle axis (see at least fig. 26 and 27).
In regards to claims 7. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 6, wherein the handle slot insert is configured to slide into engagement with the handle slot in a direction parallel with the at least one handle axis (illustrated fig. 26 and 27).
In regards to claims 8. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 3, wherein the at least one handle comprises a handle body portion (130H) mountable to the housing and a cap portion mountable (at least elements 130F and 174) on the handle body portion.
In regards to claims 9. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 8, wherein the cap portion is configured to be mounted to the handle body portion and prevent the handle slot insert sliding out of the handle slot (see at least fig. 26 and fig. 28).
In regards to claims 10. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 8, wherein the handle slot extends along the entire side of the handle body portion (fig. 26 and 27).
In regards to claims 11. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 8, wherein the cap portion seals an end of the housing body portion when mounted to the housing body portion (fig. 27).
In regards to claims 12. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 3, wherein the handle slot insert seals the handle slot when in engagement with the handle slot (fig. 27).
In regards to claims 13. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 1, wherein the at least one electrical connection is a plurality of wires (see at least fig. 28 at least 3 wires are illustrated also see fig. 24).
In regards to claims 14. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 1, wherein the at least one component is a trigger switch (130I ).
In regards to claims 15. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 1, wherein the at least one handle comprises a “T” shape (illustrated in at least fig. 26).
In regards to claims 16. Onose further discloses The power tool according to claim 1, wherein the power tool is a router (101 fig. 1).
In regards to claims 17. The power tool according to claim 1, Onose further discloses wherein the at least one electrical connection is connected via at least one folded electrical tab (illustrated in at least fig. 24).
In regards to claims 18. Onose discloses A handle (130H) mountable on a housing (130) of a power tool (101) having a motor (131) mounted in the housing and electrically connected to a power source (101A), the handle comprising:
an internal cavity (fig. 24) configured to receive at least one component (130I) having at least one electrical connection (at least elements 175) electrically connected with the power source and mountable within the internal cavity (see at least paragraphs 136, 138, 139, 140); and
a handle slot (at least elements 130j) configured to receive the at least one electrical connection when the at least one component is mounted within the handle (illustrated in at least fig. 24, 26 and 28).
Conclusion
/Lucas E. A. Palmer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731