Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni et al. US Poublication No.: US publication no.: US 2024/0007035 A1 in view of Chen et al. US publication no.: US 2024/0132330 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kulkarni et al. teach, A method for optimizing operating accuracy of a brushless motor, the method comprising: obtaining a basic parameter of the winch motor building a motor model based on the basic parameter of the winch motor (see the equations presented in paragraphs 26-28, wherein, the equations utilized define the motor model or characteristics including the resistance and inductance which are inherently derived), and building a flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model based on the motor model (speed and position estimator 260, figure 2; paragraphs 26-28, which includes motor parameters into the equations such as the inductance and resistance) ; obtaining a winch motor startup signal at startup of the motor (during startup, the auto-hand off controller configures the controller for open or closed loop control; as seen in figure 2, the control system generates d-axis current Id which is essentially based on the speed and position estimator 260 and the motor model values such as inductance and resistance; see paragraphs 22-35; figure 2), outputting a d-axis reference current and a rotor position according to the motor startup signal using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model (see figure 2, where the three-phase current is converter to Id and a rotor position), and adjusting a winch motor startup parameter based on the d-axis reference current and the rotor position (auto-handoff controller 229, figure 2; adjusts operations of the motor based on the estimated values); monitoring an operating parameter of the motor in real time, and obtaining a real-time rotational speed and a real-time winding/unwinding position according to the operating parameter of the winch motor using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model (estimator 260 computes speed and position, figure 2); and obtaining a second offset between the real-time rotational speed of the winch motor and a preset rotational speed; performing closed-loop control of the operating parameter with the second offset as feedback parameter; and adjusting the operating parameter to optimize operating accuracy of the motor (see figure 2, where the speed is corrected) .
Kulkarni et al. is silent on specifically teaching: winch motor; and obtaining a first offset between the real-time winding/unwinding position of the winch motor and a preset position; performing closed-loop control of the operating parameter with the first offset as feedback parameters; monitoring an operating parameter of the winch motor in real time; and obtaining a real-time rotational speed and a real-time winding/unwinding position of the winch motor
Chen et al. teach: winch motor; and obtaining a first offset between the real-time winding/unwinding position of the winch motor and a preset position (see offset of position feedback signal, figure 6) ; performing closed-loop control of the operating parameter with the first offset as feedback parameters (further as seen in figure 6, the feedback control is provided for position); monitoring an operating parameter of the winch motor in real time; and obtaining a real-time rotational speed and a real-time winding/unwinding position of the winch motor (see figure 6, where a winch/hoist motor is provided and a feedback control is provided in which position/speed is corrected).
In view of Chen et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Kulkarni et al. as modified to include; building a basic parameter timing variation model of the winch motor based on historical basic parameter data of the winch motor, and outputting the basic parameter of the winch motor based on present timing and the basic parameter timing variation model of the winch motor, for the purpose of improving the accuracy of the motor drive system in a variant motor type.
Regarding claim 2, Kulkarni et al. teach, the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining a winch motor startup signal at startup of the winch motor, outputting a d-axis reference current and a rotor position according to the winch motor startup signal using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model (during startup, the auto-hand off controller configures the controller for open or closed loop control; as seen in figure 2, the control system generates d-axis current Id which is essentially based on the speed and position estimator 260 and the motor model values such as inductance and resistance; see paragraphs 22-35; figure 2), and adjusting a winch motor startup parameter based on the d-axis reference current and the rotor position further comprises: converting a winch motor startup current via Clark transformation to a current parameter in a two-phase stationary coordinate system (see figures 2-3 and paragraphs 23-25); converting the current parameter in the two-phase stationary coordinate system via Park transformation to a current parameter in a two-phase rotational coordinate system (see paragraph 22; for a park transform 220); and outputting the d-axis reference current and the rotor position according to the current parameter in the two-phase rotational coordinate system and a preset operating parameter of the winch motor using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model (see id and rotor position outputs in figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kulkarni et al. teach, the method according to claim 2, wherein the outputting the d-axis reference current and the rotor position according to the current parameter in the two-phase rotational coordinate system and a preset operating parameter of the winch motor using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model further comprises: outputting a q-axis flux linkage using the current parameter in the two-phase rotational coordinate system as an input to the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model; outputting the rotor position based on a change rate of the q-axis flux linkage; and outputting the d-axis reference current based on the preset operating parameter of the winch motor and the motor model (as seen in figure 2 and paragraphs 22-35 that a flux component iq is factored into computing the d-axis current and rotor position).
Regarding claim 5, Kulkarni et al. teach, the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining a real-time rotational speed and a real-time winding/unwinding position of the winch motor according to the operating parameter of the winch motor using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model further comprises: outputting an angular velocity according to the operating parameter of the winch motor using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model, and calculating the real-time rotational speed and the real-time winding/unwinding position according to the angular velocity (see output of 281, figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kulkarni et al. teach, the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining a winch motor startup signal at startup of the winch motor, outputting a d-axis reference current and a rotor position according to the winch motor startup signal using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model, and adjusting a winch motor startup parameter based on the d-axis reference current and the rotor position further comprises: outputting the preset position and the preset rotational speed according to the winch motor startup signal using the motor model (see figure 2 and paragraphs 22-35).
Regarding claim 7, Chen et al. teach, the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining a first offset between the real-time winding/unwinding position of the winch motor and a preset position and a second offset between the real-time rotational speed of the winch motor and a preset rotational speed, performing closed-loop control of the operating parameter with the first offset and the second offset as feedback parameters, and adjusting the operating parameter to optimize operating accuracy of the winch motor further comprises: calculating, based on the first offset, a compensating value for the second offset, performing closed-loop control of the operating parameter with the second offset and the compensating value for the second offset as feedback parameters, and adjusting the operating parameter to optimize operating accuracy of the winch motor (see position feedback correction followed by a speed feedback correction, figure 6).
Regarding claim 8, Chen et al. teach, the method according to claim 1, further comprising before the obtaining a basic parameter of the winch motor, building a motor model based on the basic parameter of the winch motor, and building a flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model based on the motor model: obtaining a relevance function between a rope travel length of the winch motor and a rotor angle of the winch motor (see paragraph 45 and 76).
Regarding claim 9, Chen et al. teach, the method according to claim 8, wherein the monitoring an operating parameter of the winch motor in real time, and obtaining a real-time rotational speed and a real-time winding/unwinding position of the winch motor according to the operating parameter of the winch motor using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model further comprises: obtaining a corresponding relevance function between the rope travel length of the winch motor and the rotor angle of the winch motor based on winch parameters, and outputting the real-time winding/unwinding position based on the relevance function and a mechanical angle of the winch motor (see figure 2 and paragraphs 42-54).
Examiner notes* Kulkarni et al. teach the feature of the rotor angle.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni et al. US Publication No.: US publication no.: US 2024/0007035 A1 in view of Chen et al. US publication no.: US 2024/0132330 A1 and further in view of Li et al. Us publication no.: US 2020/0266743 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Kulkarni et al. as modified is silent on specifically teaching, the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining a basic parameter of the winch motor, building a motor model based on the basic parameter of the winch motor, and building a flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model based on the motor model further comprises: building a basic parameter timing variation model of the winch motor based on historical basic parameter data of the winch motor, and outputting the basic parameter of the winch motor based on present timing and the basic parameter timing variation model of the winch motor.
However, Li et al. is in the same field of art and teach: building a basic parameter timing variation model of the winch motor based on historical basic parameter data of the winch motor, and outputting the basic parameter of the winch motor based on present timing and the basic parameter timing variation model of the winch motor (see paragraph 59-61, where a motor model is adjustable based on a historical data on the look up table).
In view of Li et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Kulkarni et al. as modified to include; building a basic parameter timing variation model of the winch motor based on historical basic parameter data of the winch motor, and outputting the basic parameter of the winch motor based on present timing and the basic parameter timing variation model of the winch motor, for the purpose of improving the accuracy of the motor drive system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni et al. US Publication No.: US publication no.: US 2024/0007035 A1 in view of Chen et al. US publication no.: US 2024/0132330 A1 and further in view of Lobo et al. US publication no.: US 2022/0144605 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Kulkarni et al. as modified’s teachings can be seen above, however, it is silent on specifically teaching, the method according to claim 1, wherein the monitoring an operating parameter of the winch motor in real time, and obtaining a real-time rotational speed and a real-time winding/unwinding position of the winch motor according to the operating parameter of the winch motor using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model further comprises: monitoring the operating parameter of the winch motor in real time, outputting real-time current of the winch motor according to the operating parameter of the winch motor using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model, and when the real-time current of the winch motor exceeds a preset current threshold, controlling the motor to stop.
However, Lobo et al. is in the same field of art and teach: monitoring the operating parameter of the winch motor in real time, outputting real-time current of the winch motor according to the operating parameter of the winch motor using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model, and when the real-time current of the winch motor exceeds a preset current threshold, controlling the motor to stop (see paragraph 32 and figure 1).
In view of Li et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Kulkarni et al. as modified to include; monitoring the operating parameter of the winch motor in real time, outputting real-time current of the winch motor according to the operating parameter of the winch motor using the flux linkage observer-based sensorless observer model and the motor model, and when the real-time current of the winch motor exceeds a preset current threshold, controlling the motor to stop., for the purpose of improving the accuracy of the motor drive system.
Conclusion
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2837