Status of the Application
Claims 1-22 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and addressed below. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed on 02/23/2026.
Claims 1-11, 13-14, and 16-20 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-13 and 16-22 are drawn to a machine. Claims 14-15 are drawn to a process. As such, claims 1-22 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether it/they recite(s) a judicial exception.
Independent Claim 1: A medical data processing apparatus, comprising:
a first storage device configured to store image data for a plurality of medical images, each of the plurality of medical images having an associated time stamp;
a second storage device configured to store at least one medical report for a corresponding medical image stored in the first storage device, the at least one medical report including at least one documentation element for an image element in the corresponding medical image;
an input device configured to receive a first selection of at least one of a first medical image or a first medical report for the first medical image, and receive a second selection of a second medical image;
a mapping device configured to calculate a first mapping between first pixel positions in the first medical image and corresponding second pixel positions in the second medical image;
and a processing device configured to determine at least one image element in the second medical image for which a corresponding first documentation element is included in the first medical report, using the first mapping the processing device including a documentation module configured to automatically generate a second documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element, the second documentation element corresponding to the second medical image.
Independent Claim 14: A method of processing medical data, the method comprising:
storing image data for a plurality of medical images, each of the plurality of medical images having an associated time stamp;
storing at least one medical report for a corresponding stored medical image, the at least one medical report including at least one documentation element for each image element in the corresponding stored medical image;
receiving a selection of at least one of a first medical image or a first medical report for the first medical image;
receiving a selection of a second medical image; calculating a mapping between pixel positions in the first medical image and corresponding pixel positions in the second medical image;
determining an image element in the second medical image for which a corresponding first documentation element is included in the first medical report determining at least one of a position, a size or a shape of the image element in the second medical image using the mapping;
and generating a draft second medical report for the second medical image including automatically generating a second documentation element for the draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element.
(Examiner notes: The above claim terms underlined are additional elements that fall under Step 2A - Prong Two analysis section detailed below)
These steps amount to methods of organizing human activity which includes functions relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing relationships or transactions between people, social activities, and human behavior; satisfying or avoiding a legal obligation; advertising, marketing, and sales activities or behaviors; and managing human mental activity (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) citing the abstract idea grouping for methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people). Therefore, receive a first selection of a medical image or medical report for the medical image, receive a second selection of a second medical image, calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the medical images, determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element is included in the first medical report using the first mapping, generate a second documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element are directed to managing personal interactions or personal behavior.
The dependent claim 2 is directed to receive user input for a third selection of at least one of an image element in output medical images or a documentation element in output medical report, identify an image element corresponding to the third selection in each of the first medical image and the second medical image to obtain identified image elements, and to identify a documentation element corresponding to one of the first medical report or the draft second medical report to obtain identified documentation elements, and highlight the identified image elements in the first medical image and the second medical image and the identified documentation elements in the first medical report and the draft second medical report.
The dependent claim 3 is directed to receive an adjustment for a second mapping of a first image element in the first medical image and a second image element in the second medical image and adjust the second mapping based on the adjustment.
The dependent claim 5 is directed to determine at least one property of the at least one image element in the second medical image and generate the draft second medical report using the at least one property.
The dependent claim 6 is directed to determine the at least one property using a semantic analysis of the corresponding first documentation element in the first medical report.
The dependent claim 7 is directed to identify a related image element in each of the plurality of medical images and a respective property of the related image element in each of the plurality of medical images, determine a progression of the respective property of the related image element as a function of the associated time stamp of each of the plurality of medical images.
The dependent claim 8 is directed to generate a respective second documentation element in the draft second medical report for at least one of (i) each image element in the first medical image or (ii) each first documentation element in the first medical report.
The dependent claim 9 is directed to receive image data.
The dependent claim 10 is directed to provide data of a third medical image and a corresponding third medical report or receive information for an image element of the third medical image or for a third documentation element of a third medical report to obtain received information, and automatically add the received information to at least one of the third medical image or the third medical report.
The dependent claim 11 is directed to identify at least one first documentation element in the first medical report using a semantic analysis of the first medical report to obtain at least one identified documentation element and determine a corresponding image element in the first medical image for each of the at least one identified documentation element.
The dependent claim 13 is directed to the first mapping between the first medical image and the second medical image includes a mapping of two-dimensional or three-dimensional coordinates.
The dependent claim 16 is directed to identify at least one first documentation element in the first medical report using a semantic analysis of the first medical report to obtain at least one identified documentation element, and determine a corresponding image element in the first medical image for each of the at least one identified documentation element.
The dependent claim 17 is directed to receive an adjustment got a mapping of a first image element in the first medical image and a second medical image element in the second medical image, and adjust the second mapping based on the adjustment.
The dependent claim 18 is directed to determine at least one property of the at least one image element in the second medical image and generate the draft second medical report using the at least one property.
The dependent claim 19 is directed to identify a related image element in each of the plurality of medical images and a respective property of the related image element in each of the plurality of medical images, and determine a progression of the respective property of the related image element as a function of the associated time stamps of each of the plurality of medical images.
The dependent claim 20 is directed to identify at least one first documentation element in the first medical report using a semantic analysis of the first medical report to obtain at least one identified documentation element, and determine a corresponding image element in the first medical image for each of the at least one identified documentation element.
The dependent claim 21 is directed to the first mapping corresponds to a transformation between the first pixel positions in a coordinate system of the first medical image and the corresponding second pixel positions in a coordinate system of the second medical image.
The dependent claim 22 is directed to the first medical image includes a first image element and the second medical image includes a second image element, the second image element corresponding to the first image element and apply the first mapping to the first image element and the second image element to map the first image element to the second image element.
Each of these steps of the preceding dependent claims 2-13 and 15-22 only serve to further limit or specify the features of independent claims 1 and 14 accordingly, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as the independent claim and utilize the additional elements analyzed below in the expected manner.
As such, the Examiner concludes that the preceding claims recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Claims 1-2 recite the use of a medical data processing apparatus, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1 and 9 recite the use of a first storage device configured to store image data for a plurality of medical images, each of the plurality of medical images having an associated time stamp, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 1 recites the use of a second storage device configured to store at least one medical report for a corresponding medical image stored in the first storage device, the at least one medical report including at least one documentation element for an image element in the corresponding medical image. The claims also recites the use of a mapping device, in this case to calculate a first mapping between first pixel positions in the first medical image and corresponding second pixel positions in the second medical image. The second storage device configured to store at least one medical report for a corresponding medical image stored in the first storage device, the at least one medical report including at least one documentation element for an image element in the corresponding medical image and the mapping device are only recited as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1-3, 5, and 17-18 recite the use of a processing device, in this case to determine at least one image element in the second medical image for which a corresponding first documentation element is included in the first medical report, adjust the second mapping based on the adjustment, only recites the processing device as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1, 5, 8, and 18 recite the use of a documentation module, in this case to generate a second documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element, the second documentation element corresponding to second medical image, generate the draft second medical report using the at least one property, generate a respective second documentation element in the draft second medical report for at least one of (i) each image element in the first medical image or (ii) each first documentation element in the first medical report., only recites the documentation module as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 2 recites the use of a output device configured to output the first medical image, the first medical report for the first medical image, the second medical image and the draft second medical report, in this case to highlight the identified image elements in the first medical image and the second medical image and the identified documentation elements in the first medical report and the draft second medical report. The claim further recites the use of a processing module, in this case to identify an image element corresponding to the third selection in each of the first medical image and the second medical image to obtain identified image elements, and to identify a documentation element corresponding to one of the first medical report or the draft second medical report to obtain identified documentation elements. The output device and processing module are only recited as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 4 recites the use of a third storage configured to store the first mapping, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 5-6 and 18 recite the use of a analysis module, in this case to determine at least one property of the at least one image element in the second medical image, determine the at least one property using a semantic analysis of the corresponding first documentation element in the first medical report, only recites the analysis module as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 7 and 19 recite the use of an evaluation device, in this case to identify a related image element in each of the plurality of medical images and a respective property of the related image element in each of the plurality of medical images, and determine a progression of the respective property of the related image element as a function of the associated time stamps of each of the plurality of medical images, only recites the evaluation device as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 9 recites the use of a first data interface configured to be coupled to a medical diagnostic imaging system, in this case to receive the image data, only recites the first data interface configured to be coupled to a medical diagnostic imaging system as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 10 recites the use of a second data interface, in this case to provide data of a third medical image and a corresponding third medical report or receive information for an image element of the third medical image or for a third documentation element of a third medical report to obtain received information, and automatically add the received information to at least one of the third medical image or the third medical report. The claim also recites the use of an external processing device. The second data interface and external processing device are only recited as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 11, 16, and 20 recite the use of a collation device, in this case to identify at least one first documentation element in the first medical report using a semantic analysis of the first medical report to obtain at least one identified documentation element and determine a corresponding image element in the first medical image for each of the at least one identified documentation element, only recites the collation device as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 12 recites the use of at least one of a plurality of image elements are positioned within the first medical image or the second medical image at a related embedded location, or the plurality of image elements include an indication of at least one of a location, an organ, a lesion or a size indicator, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 14 recites the use of a storing image data for a plurality of medical images, each of the plurality of medical images having an associated time stamp and storing at least one medical report for a corresponding stored medical image, the at least one medical report including at least one documentation element for each image element in the corresponding stored medical image, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 15 recites the use of a non-transitory computer program product including a computer program having program code sections for causing a control device to execute the method, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements, such as the medical data processing apparatus, first storage device configured to store image data for a plurality of medical images, each of the plurality of medical images having an associated time stamp, second storage device configured to store at least one medical report for a corresponding medical image stored in the first storage device, the at least one medical report including at least one documentation element for an image element in the corresponding medical image, input device, mapping device, processing device, documentation module, output device configured to output the first medical image, the first medical report for the first medical image, the second medical image and the draft second medical report, processing module, third storage configured to store the first mapping, analysis module, evaluation device, first data interface configured to be coupled to a medical diagnostic imaging system, second data interface, external processing device, collation device, at least one of a plurality of image elements are positioned within the first medical image or the second medical image at a related embedded location, or the plurality of image elements include an indication of at least one of a location, an organ, a lesion or a size indicator, storing image data for a plurality of medical images, each of the plurality of medical images having an associated time stamp and storing at least one medical report for a corresponding stored medical image, the at least one medical report including at least one documentation element for each image element in the corresponding stored medical image, and non-transitory computer program product including a computer program having program code sections for causing a control device to execute the method in independent claims 1 and 14 and dependent claims 2-13 and 15-22 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer. Each of these elements is only recited as a tool for performing steps of the abstract idea, such as the use of the computer and data processing devices to apply the algorithm. These additional elements therefore only amount to mere instructions to perform the abstract idea using a computer and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2016.05(f) see for additional guidance on the “mere instructions to apply an exception”). Each additional element under Step 2A, Prong 2 is analyzed in light of the specification’s explanation of the additional element’s structure. The claimed invention’s additional elements are directed to generic computer component and functions being used to perform the abstract idea.
Applicant’s own disclosure in paragraphs [0010], [0042], [0044], [0046], and [0048-0049] acknowledges that the “The medical data processing apparatus comprises a first storage device, a second storage device, an input device, a mapping device and a processing device…and…the apparatus comprises an analysis module…and… the apparatus comprises an evaluation device…and… the apparatus comprises a first data interface…and… the apparatus comprises a second data interface…and…the apparatus further comprises a collation device”. Paragraph [00125] in the summary and [0041] discloses “one or more storage devices may be tangible or non-transitory computer-readable storage media, such as random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), a permanent mass storage device (such as a disk drive), solid state (e.g., NAND flash) device, and/or any other like data storage mechanism capable of storing and recording data. The one or more storage devices may be configured to store computer programs, program code, instructions, or some combination thereof, for one or more operating systems and/or for implementing the example embodiments described herein. The computer programs, program code, instructions, or some combination thereof, may also be loaded from a separate computer readable storage medium into the one or more storage devices and/or one or more computer processing devices using a drive mechanism. Such separate computer readable storage medium may include a Universal Serial Bus (USB) flash drive, a memory stick, a Blu-ray/DVD/CD-ROM drive, a memory card, and/or other like computer readable storage media. The computer programs, program code, instructions, or some combination thereof, may be loaded into the one or more storage devices and/or the one or more computer processing devices from a remote data storage device via a network interface, rather than via a local computer readable storage medium. Additionally, the computer programs, program code, instructions, or some combination thereof, may be loaded into the one or more storage devices and/or the one or more processors from a remote computing system that is configured to transfer and/or distribute the computer programs, program code, instructions, or some combination thereof, over a network…and… the first, second and/or third storage may be implemented in one common storage or platform or may be provided separately". The disclosure acknowledges in paragraph [0031] “an input device may be, for example, any appropriate device which is in the position to receive the required input from the user. Especially, a graphical user interface or the like may be used". Additionally, paragraph [00115] in the summary, [0037], [0093], and [0097] discloses “processing circuity such as, but not limited to, a processor, Central Processing Unit (CPU), a controller, an arithmetic logic unit (ALU), a digital signal processor, a microcomputer, a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a System-on-Chip (SoC), a programmable logic unit, a microprocessor, or any other device capable of responding to and executing instructions in a defined manner…and…The mapping device and/or the processing device may be implemented, for example, by any kind of appropriate computing device. For example, the mapping device and/or the processing device may comprise a processor and a related memory storing program instructions in order to perform the desired operations…and… processing device 20 may comprise a collation device 25…and…even though mapping device 30 and evaluation device 60 are described as devices separate from processing device 20, it may be also possible to include the mapping device 30 and/or the evaluation device 60 into processing device 20. For example, the processing device 20 may be a computing device with a processor and a memory for storing instructions which are executed by the processor. Hence, the memory may provide instructions for causing the processor to perform the above-described operations. In this connection, processing device 20 may, communicatively coupled with the first, second and third memory 11, 12, 13, output device 40 and input device 50 via appropriate interfaces”. Paragraph [00117] in the summary discloses “the term ‘module’ or the term ‘controller’ may be replaced with the term ‘circuit.’ The term ‘module’ may refer to, be part of, or include processor hardware (shared, dedicated, or group) that executes code and memory hardware (shared, dedicated, or group) that stores code executed by the processor hardware”. Furthermore, paragraph [0038] acknowledges that “the apparatus further comprises an output device…The output device may be, for example, a display such as an OLED or TFT screen. However, any other appropriate device for displaying the required information, in particular the representations of the medical images and the medical report, may be possible, too. In particular, the output device may be part of a system for providing a graphical user interface (GUI). For example, the output device may comprise a touch screen for displaying information and receiving user input”. Paragraph [0073] discloses “any kind of further external processing device. Such a further external device may be, for example, a remote storage device, a cloud service or the like. Furthermore, a further external device may be a further device of a medical infrastructure, e.g. a device providing further medical information such as blood values, a pathological diagnosis, etc.". Paragraphs [00134] in the summary and [0012] discloses that the “term computer-readable medium, as used herein, does not encompass transitory electrical or electromagnetic signals propagating through a medium (such as on a carrier wave); the term computer-readable medium is therefore considered tangible and non-transitory. Non-limiting examples of the non-transitory computer-readable medium include, but are not limited to, rewriteable non-volatile memory devices (including, for example flash memory devices, erasable programmable read-only memory devices, or a mask read-only memory devices); volatile memory devices (including, for example static random access memory devices or a dynamic random access memory devices); magnetic storage media (including, for example an analog or digital magnetic tape or a hard disk drive); and optical storage media (including, for example a CD, a DVD, or a Blu-ray Disc). Examples of the media with a built-in rewriteable non-volatile memory, include but are not limited to memory cards; and media with a built-in ROM, including but not limited to ROM cassettes; etc.…and… a non-transitory computer program product is provided. The computer program product comprises a computer program being loadable into a memory unit of a control device”. Paragraph [0071] discloses “a medical diagnostic imaging system may comprise, for example the above-mentioned computer tomograph, positron emission tomography, magnetic resonance tomograph or ultrasonic device. Any other appropriate medical imaging system may be possible, too”.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-22 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 12-15, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moehrle et al. (US-20140219500-A1)[hereinafter Moehrle], in view of Rao et al. (US-20220253592-A1)[hereinafter Rao].
As per Claim 1, Moehrle discloses a medical data processing apparatus in paragraphs [0049-0050] (image reporting device), comprising: an input device configured to receive a first selection of at least one of a first medical image or a first medical report for the first medical image, and receive a second selection of a second medical image in paragraphs [0021] and [0053] and [0056] (an input device to receive a selection of a medical image and a selection of a plurality of medical image (Examiner notes that the selection of the a medical image meets the "or" limitation)); a mapping device configured to calculate a first mapping between first pixel positions in the first medical image and corresponding second pixel positions in the second medical image in paragraphs [0021] and [0056-0058] and [0061] and [0066-0067] (an algorithm (synonymous to a mapping device) using image registration techniques (Examiner notes that image registration indicates calculating a first mapping between first pixel positions in the first image and corresponding second pixel positions in the second image. Additionally, examiner notes that the applicant specification discloses that mapping is done by an algorithm)); and a processing device configured to determine at least one image element in the second medical image for which a corresponding first documentation element is included in the first medical report using the first mapping in paragraphs [0066-0067] and [0077] and [0080] (a microprocessor determine an abnormality (synonymous to at least one image element) in the second image for which prior statements (synonymous to a corresponding first documentation element) in the previous report (synonymous to the first medical report), using the image registration techniques), the processing device including a documentation module configured to automatically generate a second documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element, the second documentation element corresponding to the second medical image in paragraphs [0066-0067] and [0074-0077] and [0079-0080] and [0085-0086] (the microprocessor including a report engine automatically generate natural language statements (synonymous to a second documentation element) for a report (synonymous to a draft second medical report), using the prior statements, the natural language statement corresponding to the second image).
Moehrle does not disclose the following limitations. However, Rao discloses a first storage device configured to store image data for a plurality of medical images, each of the plurality of medical images having an associated time stamp in paragraphs [0049], [0072], [0074], and [0175] (a medical scan database (synonymous to a first storage device) to store image data for a plurality of medical scans (synonymous to medical images), each of the plurality of medical scans associated with metadata, wherein the metadata includes the scan data and time (synonymous to a time stamp)); a second storage device configured to store at least one medical report for a corresponding medical image stored in the first storage device, the at least one medical report including at least one documentation element for an image element in the corresponding medical image in paragraphs [0049], [0054], [0057-0058], [0072], [0091], and [0309] (the medical report database (synonymous to a second storage device) to store at least one medical report corresponding to the medical scan, the medical report includes text (synonymous to at least one document element) for an abnormality (synonymous to an image element) in the medical scan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the medical data processing apparatus including an input device to receive a selection of a first medical image or first medical report, a selection of a second medical image, a mapping device to calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the first and second medical images, a processing device to determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element included in the first medical report, and the processing device including a documentation module to automatically generate a documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element corresponding to the second medical image of Moehrle with the first storage device and a second storage device as taught by Rao since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a medical data processing apparatus that includes a first storage device to store image data with an associated time stamp and second storage device to store a medical report including a documentation element corresponding to medical image.
As per Claim 3, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1, Moehrle also discloses wherein the input device is configured to receive an adjustment for a second mapping of a first image element in the first medical image and a second image element in the second medical image in paragraphs [0049] and [0062-0064] (the input receive an input to adjust for the second coordinate mapping of the abnormality in the first medical image and an abnormality in the second medical image), and the processing device is configured to adjust the second mapping based on the adjustment in paragraphs [0062-0064] (adjusts the second coordinate mapping based on the adjustment).
As per Claim 4, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: Moehrle also discloses a third storage device configured to store the first mapping in paragraphs [0050] and claim 15 (storage device to store the coordinate mapping).
As per Claim 7, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Moehrle does not disclose the following limitations. However, Rao discloses further comprising: an evaluation device in paragraphs [0272] (a lesion tracking system (synonymous to an evaluation device)) configured to identify a related image element in each of the plurality of medical images and a respective property of the related image element in each of the plurality of medical images in paragraph [0272] (identify a legion (synonymous to a related image element) in each of the plurality of scans and a respective characteristic of the lesion in each of the plurality of scans), and determine a progression of the respective property of the related image element as a function of the associated time stamps of each of the plurality of medical images in paragraphs [0272] (track the changes of the respective characteristics of the lesion over time of each of the plurality of scans).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the medical data processing apparatus including an input device to receive a selection of a first medical image or first medical report, a selection of a second medical image, a mapping device to calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the first and second medical images, a processing device to determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element included in the first medical report, and the processing device including a documentation module to automatically generate a documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element corresponding to the second medical image of Moehrle with the evaluation device as taught by Rao since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a medical data processing apparatus that includes an evaluation device to identify a related image element in each of the medical images and a respective property of the related image element in each of the medical images and determine a progression of the respective property of the related image element as a function of the associated time stamp of each the plurality of medical images.
As per Claim 8, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1, Moehrle also discloses wherein the documentation module is configured to generate a respective second documentation element in the draft second medical report for at least one of (i) each image element in the first medical image or (ii) each first documentation element in the first medical report in paragraphs [0066-0067] and [0074-0077] and [0079-0080] and [0086] and [0088] (the report engine generates natural language statements in the report for each natural language statement in the previous medical report).
As per Claim 9, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Moehrle does not disclose the following limitations. However, Rao discloses further comprising: a first data interface configured to be coupled to a medical diagnostic imaging system to receive the image data for storage in the first storage device in paragraphs [0170] and [0173-0174] and [0222] (an interface of the medical picture archive system (synonymous to a first data interface) coupled to a modality machine (synonymous to a medical diagnostic imaging system) to receive image data for storage in the medical scan database).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the medical data processing apparatus including an input device to receive a selection of a first medical image or first medical report, a selection of a second medical image, a mapping device to calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the first and second medical images, a processing device to determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element included in the first medical report, and the processing device including a documentation module to automatically generate a documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element corresponding to the second medical image of Moehrle with the first data interface as taught by Rao since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a medical data processing apparatus that includes first data interface to be coupled to a medical diagnostic imaging system to receive the image data for storage in the first storage device.
As per Claim 10, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Moehrle does not disclose the following limitations. However, Rao discloses further comprising: a second data interface in paragraphs [0051] and [0054] (an interactive interface (synonymous to a second data interface)) configured to at least one of provide data of a third medical image and a corresponding third medical report to an external processing device, or receive information for an image element of the third medical image or for a third documentation element of a third medical report to obtain received information, and automatically add the received information to at least one of the third medical image or the third medical report in paragraphs [0053-0054] and [0059] and [0069] and [0307] (transmit sets of one or more medical scans and the corresponding medical report to a client device (synonymous to an external processing device) (Examiner notes transmitting sets of one or more medical scans and corresponding medical report indicates providing a third medical image and a corresponding the medical report. Furthermore, that providing data of a medical image and corresponding medical report to an external processing device meets the "at least one of" limitation)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the medical data processing apparatus including an input device to receive a selection of a first medical image or first medical report, a selection of a second medical image, a mapping device to calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the first and second medical images, a processing device to determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element included in the first medical report, and the processing device including a documentation module to automatically generate a documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element corresponding to the second medical image of Moehrle with the second data interface as taught by Rao since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a medical data processing apparatus that includes second data interface to provide data of a third medical image and a corresponding third medical report to an external processing device.
As per Claim 12, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1, Moehrle also discloses wherein at least one of a plurality of image elements are positioned within the first medical image or the second medical image at a related embedded location, or the plurality of image elements include an indication of at least one of a location, an organ, a lesion or a size indicator in paragraphs [0061] and [0064] (a plurality of abnormalities (synonymous to one of a plurality of image elements) include an indication of a location (Examiner notes that the indication of a location meets the "or" and "at least one of" limitations)).
As per Claim 13, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1, Moehrle also discloses wherein the first mapping between the first medical image and the second medical image includes a mapping of two-dimensional or three-dimensional coordinates in paragraphs [0056-0058] (image registration techniques includes two-dimensional and three-dimensional coordinates).
As per Claim 14, Moehrle discloses a method of processing medical data in paragraphs [0009] and [0049-0050] (a method for image reporting), the method comprising: storing image data for a plurality of medical images, each of the plurality of medical images having an associated time stamp; storing at least one medical report for a corresponding stored medical image, the at least one medical report including at least one documentation element for each image element in the corresponding stored medical image; receiving a selection of at least one of a first medical image or a first medical report for the first medical image and receiving a selection of a second medical image in paragraphs [0021] and [0053] and [0056] (receive a selection of a medical image and a selection of a plurality of medical image (Examiner notes that the selection of the a medical image meets the "or" limitation)); calculating a mapping between pixel positions in the first medical image and corresponding pixel positions in the second medical image in paragraphs [0021] and [0056-0058] and [0061] and [0066-0067] (an algorithm (synonymous to a mapping device) using image registration techniques (Examiner notes that image registration indicates calculating a first mapping between first pixel positions in the first image and corresponding second pixel positions in the second image. Additionally, examiner notes that the applicant specification discloses that mapping is done by an algorithm)); determining an image element in the second medical image for which a corresponding first documentation element is included in the first medical report in paragraphs [0066-0067] and [0077] and [0080] (determine an abnormality (synonymous to at least one image element) in the second image for which prior statements (synonymous to a corresponding first documentation element) in the previous report (synonymous to the first medical report)); determining at least one of a position, a size or a shape of the image element in the second medical image using the mapping in paragraphs [0061] and [0064] (determining the position of the abnormality in the second image using the image registration techniques (Examiner notes that determining the position meets the "at least one of" limitation)); and generating a draft second medical report for the second medical image including automatically generating a second documentation element for the draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element in paragraphs [0066-0067] and [0074-0077] and [0079-0080] (generating a report (synonymous to a draft second medical report) for the second image, including automatically generating natural language statements (synonymous to a second documentation element) for the report, using the prior statements).
Moehrle does not disclose the following limitations. However, Rao discloses storing image data for a plurality of medical images, each of the plurality of medical images having an associated time stamp in paragraphs [0049] and [0072] and [0074] and [0175] (storing image data for a plurality of medical scans (synonymous to medical images), each of the plurality of medical scans associated with metadata, wherein the metadata includes the scan data and time (synonymous to a time stamp)); storing at least one medical report for a corresponding stored medical image, the at least one medical report including at least one documentation element for each image element in the corresponding stored medical image in paragraphs [0049] and [0054] and [0057-0058] and [0072] and [0091] and [0309] (storing at least one medical report corresponding to the medical scan, the medical report includes text (synonymous to at least one document element) for an abnormality (synonymous to an image element) in the medical scan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the method of processing medical data to receive a selection of a first medical image or first medical report, a selection of a second medical image, calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the first and second medical images, determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element included in the first medical report, and automatically generate a documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element corresponding to the second medical image of Moehrle with the storing image data with a time stamp for a plurality of medical images and storing a medical report for the corresponding medical image as taught by Rao since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a method of processing medical data that stores image data with an associated time stamp and stores a medical report including a documentation element corresponding to medical image.
As per Claim 15, Moehrle and Rao disclose the method of claim 14, Moehrle also discloses a non-transitory computer program product including a computer program having program code sections for causing a control device to execute the method according to claim 14 when the computer program is executed at the control device in paragraph [0050] (a removable computer-readable program product (synonymous to a non-transitory computer program product) including program codes (synonymous to a computer program having program code sections) for a microprocessor (synonymous to a control device) to execute the method).
As per Claim 21, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1, Moehrle also discloses wherein the first mapping corresponds to a transformation between the first pixel positions in a coordinate system of the first medical image and the corresponding second pixel positions in a coordinate system of the second medical image in paragraphs [0021] and [0056-0058] and [0061] and [0063] (image registration techniques includes a transformation between the point in a coordinate system of the first image and the corresponding point in a coordinate system of the second image).
As per Claim 22, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1, Moehrle also discloses wherein the first medical image includes a first image element and the second medical image includes a second image element, the second image element corresponding to the first image element in paragraphs [0066-0067] (the first image includes an abnormality or region of interest and the second image includes a region of interest corresponding to the region of interest in the first image); and the mapping device is configured to apply the first mapping to the first image element and the second image element to map the first image element to the second image element in paragraphs [0066-0067] (the algorithm uses image registration techniques to map the region of interests in the first and second images).
Claims 2, 5-6, 11, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moehrle et al. (US-20140219500-A1)[hereinafter Moehrle], in view of Rao et al. (US-20220253592-A1)[hereinafter Rao], in view of Bernard et al. (US-20210118552-A1)[hereinafter Bernard].
As per Claim 2, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1, Moehrle also discloses wherein the medical data processing apparatus includes the input device is configured to receive user input for a third selection of at least one of an image element in output medical images or a documentation element in output medical reports in paragraphs [0049] and [0061] and [0065] (the input device receives a user input for a selection of an abnormality in the medical images (Examiner notes that the selection of the abnormality in the medical images meets the "at least one" limitation)), the processing device includes a processing module configured to identify an image element corresponding to the third selection in each of the first medical image and the second medical image to obtain identified image elements in paragraphs [0061] and [0064] (determining the abnormality corresponding to the selection in the first and second medical images to obtain the identified abnormalities), and to identify a documentation element corresponding to one of the first medical report or the draft second medical report to obtain identified documentation elements in paragraphs [0075-0076] and [0079] (identify a natural language statement corresponding to the report to obtain the identified natural language statements).
The combination of Moehrle and Rao does not disclose the following limitations. However, Bernard discloses an output device configured to output the first medical image, the first medical report, the second medical image and the draft second medical report in paragraphs [0046] and [0108] and [0137] and [0293] and [0308] (the client display device (synonymous to an output device) outputs the past medical scan, the first medical report, the medical scan, and the second medical report); and the output device is configured to highlight the identified image elements in the first medical image and the second medical image and the identified documentation elements in the first medical report and the draft second medical report in paragraphs [0046] and [0108] and [0147-0149] and [0240-0241] and [0293] and [0308] (the client display device circles the detected nodule (synonymous to the identified image elements) in the past medical scan and the medical scan and the text (synonymous to the identified documentation elements) in the first medical report and the second medical report).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical data processing apparatus, as disclosed by Moehrle and Rao, to be combined with a output device that outputs the first and second medical images, the first medical report, and the draft second medical report, and highlight the identified image elements in the first medical image and the second medical image and the identified documentation elements in the first medical report and the draft second medical report, as disclosed by Bernard, for the purpose of properly identifying medical scans with abnormalities [0051].
As per Claim 5, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1.
The combination of Moehrle and Rao does not disclose the following limitations. However, Bernard discloses wherein the processing device in paragraph [0041] (a medical scan processing system) comprises: an analysis module configured to determine at least one property of the at least one image element in the second medical image in paragraphs [0048] and [0052] and [0253] (a medical scan analysis function (synonymous to an analysis module) to determine the characteristic of the abnormality in medical image), the documentation module being configured to generate the draft second medical report using the at least one property in paragraphs [0052] and [0101] and [0136-0137] and [0150-0151] and [0153] (medical report generation function (synonymous to the documentation module) to generate the second medical report using the characteristic of the abnormality).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical data processing apparatus, as disclosed by Moehrle and Rao, to be combined with an analysis module to determine a property of an image element in the second medical image and a documentation module to generate the draft second medical report using the property, as disclosed by Bernard, for the purpose of properly identifying medical scans with abnormalities [0051].
As per Claim 6, Moehrle, Rao, and Bernard disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 5.
The combination of Moehrle and Rao does not disclose the following limitations. However, Bernard discloses wherein the analysis module is configured to determine the at least one property using a semantic analysis of the corresponding first documentation element in the first medical report in paragraphs [0052] and [0136] and [0253] and [0290-0293] (the medical scan analysis function to determine the characteristic using a medical scan natural language analysis function (synonymous to a semantic analysis) of the corresponding text in the first medical report).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical data processing apparatus, as disclosed by Moehrle and Rao, to be combined with the analysis module determining the property using a semantic analysis of the corresponding first documentation element in the first medical report, as disclosed by Bernard, for the purpose of properly identifying medical scans with abnormalities [0051].
As per Claim 11, Moehrle and Rao disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 1.
The combination of Moehrle and Rao does not disclose the following limitations. However, Bernard discloses further comprising: a collation device in paragraph [0061] (a medical scan natural language analysis system (synonymous to a collation device)) configured to identify at least one first documentation element in the first medical report using a semantic analysis of the first medical report to obtain at least one identified documentation element in paragraphs [0061] and [0136] and [0165] and [0167] (identify natural language text data (synonymous to the first documentation element) in the first medical report using a medical scan natural language analysis function of the first medical report to obtain the natural language text data), and determine a corresponding image element in the first medical image for each of the at least one identified documentation element in paragraphs [0061] and [0136] and [0165] (determining a corresponding abnormality in the past medical scan for each of the natural language text data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical data processing apparatus, as disclosed by Moehrle and Rao, to be combined with collation device to identify a first documentation element in the first medical report using semantic analysis of the first medical report to obtain an identified documentation element and determine a corresponding image element in the first medical image for each of the identified documentation element, as disclosed by Bernard, for the purpose of properly identifying medical scans with abnormalities [0051].
As per Claim 16, Moehrle, Rao, and Bernard disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 2.
The combination of Moehrle and Rao does not disclose the following limitations. However, Bernard discloses further comprising: a collation device in paragraph [0061] (a medical scan natural language analysis system (synonymous to a collation device)) configured to identify at least one first documentation element in the first medical report using a semantic analysis of the first medical report to obtain at least one identified documentation element in paragraphs [0061] and [0136] and [0165] and [0167] (identify natural language text data (synonymous to the first documentation element) in the first medical report using a medical scan natural language analysis function of the first medical report to obtain the natural language text data), and determine a corresponding image element in the first medical image for each of the at least one identified documentation element in paragraphs [0061] and [0136] and [0165] (determining a corresponding abnormality in the past medical scan for each of the natural language text data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical data processing apparatus, as disclosed by Moehrle and Rao, to be combined with collation device to identify a first documentation element in the first medical report using semantic analysis of the first medical report to obtain an identified documentation element and determine a corresponding image element in the first medical image for each of the identified documentation element, as disclosed by Bernard, for the purpose of properly identifying medical scans with abnormalities [0051].
As per Claim 17, Moehrle, Rao, and Bernard disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 2, Moehrle also discloses wherein the input device is configured to receive an adjustment for a second mapping of a first image element in the first medical image and a second image element in the second medical image in paragraphs [0049] and [0062-0064] (the input receive an input to adjust for the second coordinate mapping of the abnormality in the first medical image and an abnormality in the second medical image), and the processing device is configured to adjust the second mapping based on the adjustment in paragraphs [0062-0064] (adjusts the second coordinate mapping based on the adjustment).
As per Claim 18, Moehrle, Rao, and Bernard disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 2.
The combination of Moehrle and Rao does not disclose the following limitations. However, Bernard discloses wherein the processing device comprises: an analysis module configured to determine at least one property of the at least one image element in the second medical image in paragraphs [0048] and [0052] and [0253] (a medical scan analysis function (synonymous to an analysis module) to determine the characteristic of the abnormality in medical image), the documentation module being configured to generate the draft second medical report using the at least one property.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical data processing apparatus, as disclosed by Moehrle and Rao, to be combined with an analysis module to determine a property of an image element in the second medical image and a documentation module to generate the draft second medical report using the property, as disclosed by Bernard, for the purpose of properly identifying medical scans with abnormalities [0051].
As per Claim 19, Moehrle, Rao, and Bernard disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 2.
Moehrle does not disclose the following limitations. However, Rao discloses further comprising: an evaluation device in paragraph [0272] (a lesion tracking system (synonymous to an evaluation device)) configured to identify a related image element in each of the plurality of medical images and a respective property of the related image element in each of the plurality of medical images in paragraph [0272] (identify a legion (synonymous to a related image element) in each of the plurality of scans and a respective characteristic of the lesion in each of the plurality of scans), and determine a progression of the respective property of the related image element as a function of the associated time stamps of each of the plurality of medical images in paragraph [0272] (track the changes of the respective characteristics of the lesion over time of each of the plurality of scans).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the medical data processing apparatus including an input device to receive a selection of a first medical image or first medical report, a selection of a second medical image, a mapping device to calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the first and second medical images, a processing device to determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element included in the first medical report, and the processing device including a documentation module to automatically generate a documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element corresponding to the second medical image of Moehrle with the evaluation device as taught by Rao since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a medical data processing apparatus that includes an evaluation device to identify a related image element in each of the medical images and a respective property of the related image element in each of the medical images and determine a progression of the respective property of the related image element as a function of the associated time stamp of each the plurality of medical images.
As per Claim 20, Moehrle, Rao, and Bernard disclose the medical data processing apparatus according to claim 6.
The combination of Moehrle and Rao does not disclose the following limitations. However, Bernard discloses further comprising: a collation device in paragraph [0061] (a medical scan natural language analysis system (synonymous to a collation device)) configured to identify at least one first documentation element in the first medical report using a semantic analysis of the first medical report to obtain at least one identified documentation element in paragraphs [0061] and [0136] and [0165] and [0167] (identify natural language text data (synonymous to the first documentation element) in the first medical report using a medical scan natural language analysis function of the first medical report to obtain the natural language text data), and determine a corresponding image element in the first medical image for each of the at least one identified documentation element in paragraphs [0061] and [0136] and [0165] (determining a corresponding abnormality in the past medical scan for each of the natural language text data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical data processing apparatus, as disclosed by Moehrle and Rao, to be combined with collation device to identify a first documentation element in the first medical report using semantic analysis of the first medical report to obtain an identified documentation element and determine a corresponding image element in the first medical image for each of the identified documentation element, as disclosed by Bernard, for the purpose of properly identifying medical scans with abnormalities [0051].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 12-16, filed 02/23/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended claims are not directed to an abstract idea. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended claims are directed to receiving images to calculate a mapping between the pixel positions of the medical images, using the mapping to determine an image element in the medical image, and generating a documentation element. The limitations merely recite receive a first selection of a medical image or medical report for the medical image, receive a second selection of a second medical image, calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the medical images, determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element is included in the first medical report using the first mapping, generate a second documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element, which are activities performed by medical staff, which falls into the abstract grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity because it is the business relations of medical staff and patients. Additionally, the claim limitations involve managing personal behaviors or interactions between people.
Applicant argues that the amended claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application by reciting an improvement to correlating relevant observations across medical reports. Applicant further argues that similar to Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., at 1335-36; and McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the pending claims provide an improvement to technology. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims in Enfish were directed to the operation of databases and data organizations; therefore, the claims were an improvement to the technology of how databases operate and organize data. Additionally, McRO was only eligible because of automatic lip synchronization and facial expression animation using computer-implemented rules that were not directed to an abstract idea but directed to an improvement in computer animation, therefore reciting an improvement to the technological process. The claims do not recite an improvement to devices and methods that reduce the error, loss of relevant information, delay and difficulty involved in correlating relevant observation across medical reports. The claims merely recite receive a first selection of a medical image or medical report for the medical image, receive a second selection of a second medical image, calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the medical images, determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element is included in the first medical report using the first mapping, generate a second documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element, which are a part of the abstract idea. An improvement to the abstract ideas of receive a first selection of a medical image or medical report for the medical image, receive a second selection of a second medical image, calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the medical images, determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element is included in the first medical report using the first mapping, generate a second documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element does not amount to an improvement to technology or a technical field (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II) stating “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology."). The courts indicated in TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48, that gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and providing the output is not sufficient to show an improvement to technology. The claim language and instant application fails to provide details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Here, the improvement is to receive a first selection of a medical image or medical report for the medical image, receive a second selection of a second medical image, calculate a first mapping between pixel positions of the medical images, determine an image element in the second medical image corresponding to a first documentation element is included in the first medical report using the first mapping, generate a second documentation element for a draft second medical report using the corresponding first documentation element. There is no indication in the disclosure that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology for the outlined problem statement. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 16-24, filed 02/23/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered. With regards to claims 1-20, Applicant argues that Rao, Terai, and Bernard do not disclose the amended limitations of the claims. Examiner finds this persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of 10/21/2025 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration a new grounds of rejection is made over Moehrle in view of Rao.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakaura T, Preliminary assessment of automated radiology report generation with generative pre-trained transformers: comparing results to radiologist-generated reports (2023) teaches on generating radiology report from imaging findings.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682