DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 21 is listed as “Currently Amended”, however the claim does not appear to be amended. Claim 21 is being interpreted as it is currently written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14, 17-19, 22-25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerasari (US 3043464) in view of Sirota (US 2011/0155684).
Regarding Claim 11
Cerasari teaches an aroma container (below – Fig. 1 and 2) for a drinking device which is attachable to a drinking device (1), the aroma container (9) comprising: an aroma chamber including a carrier substance (15) that contains a fluid with an aromatizing substance; wherein the aroma chamber is enclosed by a wall which comprises an interior circumferential surface (shown at 10), an exterior circumferential surface (11’), a top side (11) and a lower side (shown at 6 – Fig. 2); wherein the interior circumferential surface (shown at 10) has a cross-section that is complimentary to the portion of the drinking device where it is attached; at least one first opening (12) for air to flow in; and at least one second opening (12) for air to flow out (Col. 1, Ln. 20 – Col. 2, Ln. 29).
Cerasari does not teach the interior circumferential surface has a non-circular cross-section.
Sirota teaches a drinking device (below – Fig. 1), having a neck portion and a complimentarily shaped collar (90). Sirota further teaches that the neck portion (15) may be circular or have a square or polygonal shape (Paragraph [0023]).
Cerasari and Sirota are analogous inventions in the field of beverage containers with attached portions. Because both teach a beverage container having an opening with attachments at the neck portion, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the neck and attached portion (i.e. aroma container) with the teachings of the square or polygonal shape of Sirota as a square/polygonal shape is known in the art. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Further with the square/polygonal shaped neck, the interior circumferential surface of the aroma container would have a non-circular cross-section.
Regarding Claim 12
Cerasari in view of Sirota (hereinafter “modified Cerasari”) teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Cerasari further teaches the aromatizing substance (15) is provided in liquid form which is applied to the carrier substance.
Regarding Claim 13
Modified Cerasari teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Sirota further teaches the space surrounded by the interior circumferential surface may have several different shapes. Modified Cerasari does not specifically teach it has a drop-shaped cross-section. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have the space surrounded by the interior circumferential surface have a drop-shaped cross-section, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). Further, As such, the claim of the space surrounded by the interior circumferential surface having a drop-shaped cross-section does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Cerasari teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Modified Cerasari (via Sirota) further teaches the aroma container has a prismatic geometry.
Regarding Claim 17
Modified Cerasari teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Cerasari further teaches the aroma container comprises a plurality of second openings (12).
Regarding Claim 18
Modified Cerasari teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Cerasari further teaches the first and second openings are spaced apart. However, Cerasari does not teach a single first opening and a single second opening are provided, and the first opening and the second opening are spaced apart.
At the time of filing, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a single first opening and a single second opening provided, such that if the aroma in the aroma container were very strong it would not overwhelm the user. Applicant has not disclosed that a single first opening and a single second opening being provided, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of a single first opening and a single second opening being provided does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 19
Modified Cerasari teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Cerasari further teaches the aroma container is configured to attach to a head part (6) of the drinking device that is arranged at an angle in relation to a longitudinal axis of a storage container of the drinking device (e.g. perpendicular).
Regarding Claim 22
Modified Cerasari teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Cerasari further teaches the top side (11) is at least partially flat.
Regarding Claim 23
Modified Cerasari teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Cerasari further teaches a step (shown at 5) between the interior circumferential surface (shown at 10) and the top side (11).
Regarding Claims 24 and 25
Modified Cerasari teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Cerasari does not specifically teach the aroma container is marked corresponding to the aromatizing substance, or the aroma container is colored corresponding to the aromatizing substance. However, the use of both of these methods are exceptionally well known in the art as labeling methods for indicating the contents of the container.
As such, at the time of filing, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the aroma container marked corresponding to the aromatizing substance, or the aroma container colored corresponding to the aromatizing substance. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). As such, the claim of the aroma container marked corresponding to the aromatizing substance, or the aroma container colored corresponding to the aromatizing substance does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 27
Modified Cerasari teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Cerasari further teaches the interior circumferential wall (10) is arranged perpendicular to the top side (11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Claim 15, 16, 20, 21, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 1 teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the closest prior art Jager – previously cited – does not teach the exchangeable aroma container comprises a step located between an interior wall of the exchangeable aroma container and a top side of the exchangeable aroma container, and in an operating position, the step of the exchangeable aroma container abuts the stop at the head part.
Claims 15, 16, 20, and 26 were previously indicated as allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026, with regards to claim 11, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Cerasari does not teach “the aroma chamber is enclosed by a wall which comprises an interior circumferential surface, an exterior circumferential surface, a top side and a lower side”. The rejection above, has been updated to state that the interior circumferential surface is shown at reference number 10. As can be seen in Fig. 2, the aroma chamber clearly has an interior circumferential surface.
Applicant further argues that the simple substitution of the shape of Cerasari with the teachings of the non-circular cross-section of Sirota would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cerasari teaches a drinking container with an aroma chamber that encircles the neck and conforms to the shape of the neck, as well as holding the nipple of the bottle. Sirota teaches a drinking container with a neck ring that conforms to the shape of the neck, and that holds the nipple to the bottle. Sirota further teaches that the neck may have a non-circular cross-section (i.e. may be square or another polygonal shape). Because Sirota teaches the neck ring conforms to the shape of the neck, it would appear obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inner surface of the neck ring would have a corresponding non-circular cross-section. As such, it would be obvious to one of ordinary in the art to substitute the cylindrical neck and corresponding inner surface of the aroma chamber of Cerasari with the teachings of a neck and attachment item with a corresponding inner surface of non-circular cross-section of Sirota to achieve the predictable result of attaching the aroma container to the drinking container. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 9 June 2026