DETAILED ACTION
for
METHANE EMISSION LEAK ATTRIBUTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/28/2025 & 06/26/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 04/14/2026 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12-13, 15 and 19-20 and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the methane concentration" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the highest attribution" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the same miss angle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the extrusion" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the methane concentration" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the highest attribution" in line 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the same miss angle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the extrusion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the methane concentration" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the highest attribution" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the same miss angle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the same miss angle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bennett et al. (US 2019/0376890).
Regarding claim 1, Bennett discloses a method for attributing fugitive gas emissions receiving imaging data from a methane detection camera (¶0023, lines 2-9; Fig. 1); estimating a location of the fugitive gas emissions within a field of view of the camera based on the received imaging data (¶0023, lines 1-8) and an orientation of the camera (¶0034, lines 2-9); projecting a line-of-sight from the camera to the estimated location of the methane emissions (¶0020, lines 3-8), the line-of-sight is determined based on the orientation of the camera (¶0034, lines 16-19) and the distribution of the methane concentration within the field of view (¶0003 and ¶0020); determining the line-of-sight intersects with a predefined attribution subspaces representing equipment at the monitoring site (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); calculating an attribution confidence level for each attribution subspace (¶0038, lines 1-5) the calculation attributing the fugitive gas emissions to an equipment or group of equipment with the highest attribution confidence level (¶0027, lines 1-5 & ¶0039, lines 1-3).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Bennett discloses each attribution subspace being defined a 3D object created from a light detection and ranging (“LiDAR”) scan of the equipment (¶0021, lines 16-24).
Regarding claim 8, Bennett discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium containing instructions executed by a hardware-based processor (Step 604; ¶0035, lines 7-5) causes the processor to perform stages for attributing fugitive gas emissions, having receiving imaging data from a methane detection camera (¶0023, lines 2-9; Fig. 1); estimating a location of the fugitive gas emissions within a field of view of the camera (244) based on the received imaging data and an orientation of the camera (¶0034, lines 16-19); projecting a line-of-sight from the camera to the estimated location of the methane emissions (¶0020, lines 3-8), wherein the line-of-sight is determined based on the orientation of the camera and the distribution of the methane concentration within the field of view (¶0003 and ¶0020); determining whether the line-of-sight intersects with one or more predefined attribution subspaces representing equipment at the monitoring site (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); calculating an attribution confidence level for each attribution subspace (¶0038, lines 1-5), the calculation comprising; and attributing the fugitive gas emissions to an equipment or group of equipment with the highest attribution confidence level (¶0027, lines 1-5 & ¶0039, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, Bennett discloses A system for maintaining consistent results in an artificial intelligence (“AI”) pipeline having a memory storage (318) having a non-transitory, computer-readable medium having at least one hardware-based processor that executes the instructions to carry out stages (step 604): receiving imaging data from a methane detection camera (244); estimating a location of the fugitive gas emissions within a field of view of the camera based on the received imaging data and an orientation of the camera (¶0023, lines 2-9; Fig. 1); projecting a line-of-sight from the camera to the estimated location of the methane emissions (¶0020, lines 3-8), wherein the line-of-sight is determined based on the orientation of the camera (¶0034, lines 16-19) and the distribution of the methane concentration within the field of view (¶0003 and ¶0020); determining the line-of-sight intersects with one or more predefined attribution subspaces representing equipment at the monitoring site (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); calculating an attribution confidence level for each attribution subspace (¶0038, lines 1-5), the calculation comprising; and attributing the fugitive gas emissions to an equipment or group of equipment with the highest attribution confidence level (¶0027, lines 1-5 & ¶0039, lines 1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10-14 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Prior arts made available do not teach or fairly suggest, alone or in combination; method for attributing fugitive gas emissions involving estimating a location of fugitive gas emissions within a field of view of the camera based on the received imaging data and an orientation of the camera, the line of sight is projected from the camera to the estimated location of methane emissions, the line of sight is determined based on the orientation of the camera and the distribution of methane concentration in the field of view, determining the line of sight intersects one or more predefined attribution subspaces representing equipment at the monitoring site, the attribution confidence level for each attribution subspace is calculated, the calculating the attribution of fugitive gas emissions to a piece of equipment or group of equipment with the highest attribution confidence level and calculating the attribution confidence level for each attribution subspace identifying direct intersections between the line-of-sight and the attribution subspaces; identifying near misses between the line-of-sight and the attribution subspaces based on proximity; and applying a miss function to adjust the confidence level based on the angle of intersection or near miss.
Conclusion
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855