DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated June 30, 2026, claims 1-3, 5-8, and 11-13 were amended, and claim 9 was cancelled. Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are pending.
The amendment to the Abstract overcomes the specification objection.
The amendments to the claims overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, they raise several new issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (see rejections below).
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of the claims over Otsubo have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for these reasons:
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that “Otsubo merely discloses that the angle at which the fiber bundles FB are wound around the cylinder portion (21) (i.e., a low angle and a high angle) and the coverage are adjusted but fails to disclose that the thickness of the fiber bundles varies depending on the angle at which the fiber bundles are wound around the cylinder portion…In particular, Applicant respectfully submits that Otsubo does not explicitly disclose a configuration in which the thickness of the fiber bundles varies depending on the winding angle of the fiber bundles, nor can such a configuration be regarded as obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art because a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have been able to predict that adjusting the thickness of the helical layer according to the winding angle of the helical layer would minimize unnecessary increases in the thickness of the composite material and reduce stress concentration” (Remarks at p. 9), the examiner disagrees. Otsubo expressly teaches that thickness of the helical layers “are appropriately set according to a pressure resistance and a strength required for the high pressure tank” (para. [0026]). Otsubo further teaches that the winding of the helical layers can result in weight reduction and reducing strain in the composite material (paras. [0048]-[0050]). Thus, modifying thickness of the helical layers such that the first average value is greater would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art in view of the teachings of Otsubo.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that “In this structure, relationship between the thicknesses of the helical layers (i.e., the first average value and the second average value) varies depending on the relationship between the winding angles of the helical layers (i.e., the first angle and the second angle). For example, when the first angle is smaller than the second angle, the first average value may be smaller than the second average value. By virtue of this feature, the present invention can minimize unnecessary increases in the thickness of the composite material and reduce stress concentration” (Remarks at p. 10), the examiner disagrees. First, it is unclear how the “first average value” and “second average value” are defined by the claims (see 112(b) rejection below). Second, the claims do not require any particular relationship between the angle and the thickness, other than the angle defined by the first cylinder layer area is greater and the first average value is greater. Third, Otsubo expressly teaches that thickness of the helical layers “are appropriately set according to a pressure resistance and a strength required for the high pressure tank” (para. [0026]). Otsubo further teaches that the winding of the helical layers can result in weight reduction and reducing strain in the composite material (paras. [0048]-[0050]). Thus, modifying thickness of the helical layers such that the first average value is greater would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art in view of the teachings of Otsubo.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 12, line 2: “Wherein” should read “wherein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the plurality of first unit bands respectively define first cylinder layer areas” at line 28. Claim 1 also recites “the first unit bands include a first cylinder layer area” at line 19. It is unclear whether the first recitation of “a first cylinder layer area” extends across multiple first unit bands, or only one of the first unit bands. It is further unclear whether the respective “first cylinder layer areas” recited at line 28 include the first cylinder layer area recited at line 19, or whether they are separate first cylinder layer areas.
Claim 1 recites “a first average value is defined as an average value of thicknesses of the plurality of first areas in the radial direction” at lines 29-30. It is unclear whether the first average value is of all of the first areas within a single first cylinder layer area, or of all of the first areas at a single point along the longitudinal direction (i.e., one first area from each first cylinder layer area), or all of the first areas of all of the first cylinder layer areas total.
Claim 1 recites “a second average value is defined as an average value of thicknesses of the plurality of second areas in the radial direction” at lines 33-34. It is unclear whether the second average value is of all of the second areas within a single second cylinder layer area, or of all of the second areas at a single point along the longitudinal direction (i.e., one first area from each first cylinder layer area), or all of the second areas of all of the second cylinder layer areas total.
Claim 1 recites “the plurality of second unit bands respectively define second cylinder layer areas” at lines 31-32. Claim 1 also recites “the second unit bands include a second cylinder layer area” at lines 20-21. It is unclear whether the first recitation of “a second cylinder layer area” extends across multiple second unit bands, or only one of the second unit bands. It is further unclear whether the respective “second cylinder layer areas” recited at lines 31-32 include the second cylinder layer area recited at lines 20-21, or whether they are separate second cylinder layer areas.
Claim 1 recites “a size of an angle defined by the first cylinder layer area and the reference straight line” at lines 35-36. It is unclear whether this is different from the “a size of an angle defined by the first cylinder layer area and the reference straight line” recited at lines 22-23 or a different angle. It is further unclear what is meant by “the first cylinder layer area,” as the claim recites plural “first cylinder layer areas” at line 27. Does each of the first cylinder layer areas have an angle, or just one? Are all of the first cylinder layer areas defining a single angle?
Claim 1 recites “a size of an angle defined by the second cylinder layer area and the reference straight line” at lines 36-37. It is unclear whether this is different from the “a size of an angle defined by the second cylinder layer area and the reference straight line” recited at lines 23-24 or a different angle. It is further unclear what is meant by “the second cylinder layer area,” as the claim recites plural “second cylinder layer areas” at lines 31-32. Does each of the second cylinder layer areas have an angle, or just one? Are all of the second cylinder layer areas defining a single angle?
Claim 2 recites “each of the plurality of first unit bands defines a respective first cylinder layer area” at lines 2-3. It is unclear whether this is different from the “plurality of first unit bands respectively define first cylinder layer areas” already recited in claim 1 at lines 27-28 or not.
Claim 2 recites “a size of an angle defined by the respective first cylinder layer area and the reference straight line” at lines 3-5. It is unclear whether this angle is referring to the angle recited in claim 1 at line 22 or in claim 1 at line 35, or a different angle.
Claim 3 recites “a direction perpendicular to the reference straight line is defined as a radial direction” in lines 6-7. It is unclear whether this radial direction is the same as the radial direction already recited in claim 1 at lines 25-26, or something else.
Claim 5 recites “the dome portion” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “dome portions connected to opposite sides of the cylinder direction.” Thus, it is unclear whether claim 5 is reciting one of the dome portions, at least one of the dome portions, or both dome portions.
Claim 6 recites “a direction perpendicular to the reference straight line is defined as a radial direction” at lines 9-10. It is unclear whether this radial direction is the same as the radial direction already recited in claim 1 at lines 25-26, or something else.
Claim 6 recites “the size of the angle defined by the first cylinder layer area and the reference straight line is greater than the size of the angle defined by the second cylinder layer area and the reference straight line” at lines 11-13. It is unclear whether these angles are different from the “a size of an angle defined by the first cylinder layer area and the reference straight line is greater than a size of an angle defined by each of the second cylinder layer area and the reference straight line” recited in claim 1 at lines 35-37.
Claim 7 recites “a direction perpendicular to the reference straight line is defined as a radial direction” at lines 10-11. It is unclear whether this radial direction is the same as the radial direction already recited in claim 1 at lines 25-26, or something else.
Claim 7 recites “a first dome thickness is defined as a thickness, in the pressing direction, of an area of the first dome layer area having a maximum, a spacing distance, in the pressing direction, between one end portion of the first dome layer area in the pressing direction and the other end portion of the first dome layer area in the opposite pressing direction” in lines 5-9. It is unclear how the thickness and spacing distance are defined. Claim 5 recites “each of the first unit bands further includes a first dome layer area” at lines 2-3. Thus, there is more than one first dome layer area. Is the thickness defined as the larges thickness of all of the first dome layer areas? Are “one end portion in the pressing direction” and “the other end portion…in the opposite pressing direction” simply defining a radial distance/thickness?
Claim 8 recites “the dome portion” at line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “dome portions connected to opposite sides of the cylinder direction.” Thus, it is unclear whether claim 8 is reciting one of the dome portions, at least one of the dome portions, or both dome portions.
Claim 10 recites “one side of the dome portion” at line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “dome portions connected to opposite sides of the cylinder direction.” Thus, it is unclear whether claim 10 is reciting one of the dome portions, at least one of the dome portions, or both dome portions.
Claim 11 recites “a direction being perpendicular to the reference straight line is defined as a radial direction” in lines 1-2. It is unclear whether this radial direction is the same as the radial direction already recited in claim 1 at lines 25-26, or something else.
Claim 11 recites “an overlapping surface overlapping the first cylinder layer area” and “a non-overlapping surface not overlapping the first cylinder layer area” in lines 4-6. However, claim 1 recites that “the plurality of first unit bands respectively define first cylinder layer areas” at line 27. Thus, it is unclear which of the first cylinder layer areas is referred to in claim 11.
Claim 12 recites “the first unit band and the second unit band define a plurality of non-overlapping surfaces” in lines 2-3. It is unclear whether the “plurality of non-overlapping surfaces” includes the “non-overlapping surface” already recited in claim 11 at line 6, or different non-overlapping surfaces.
Claims 2-8 and 10-13 are also rejected through their dependence on a rejected parent claim (details above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2020/0139610 to Otsubo (hereinafter, “Otsubo”).
Regarding claim 1, Otsubo discloses a pressure vessel (tank 10, Fig. 1) comprising: a liner (liner 20, Fig. 1) configured such that pressure is applied to an internal surface of the liner (para. [0021]); and a composite material (reinforcing layer 30, Fig. 1) surrounding an external surface of the liner (liner 20, see Fig. 1; para. [0023]), wherein the liner (liner 20) includes: a cylinder portion (cylinder portion 21, Fig. 1) defining a central area of the external surface of the liner (see Fig. 1); and dome portions (dome portions 22, 23, Fig. 1) connected to opposite sides of the cylinder portion (cylinder portion 21) in a longitudinal direction (direction along central axis AX, see Fig. 1; para. [0021]) of the pressure vessel (tank 10), wherein an imaginary straight line (central axis AX) passing through a center portion of the liner (central axis AX extends through a center of the liner) and extending in the longitudinal direction is defined as a reference straight line (central axis AX, see Fig. 1), wherein the composite material includes a plurality of helical layers (helical layers 34, Fig. 1; paras. [0029]-[0030]) including a plurality of unit bands (fiber bundles FB, Figs. 4-5) surrounding the cylinder portion (cylinder portion 21) and the dome portions (dome portions 22, 23), wherein two arbitrary ones (layers shown in Figs. 4 and 5) of the plurality of helical layers (helical layers 34) are defined as a first helical layer (high-angle helical winding layer shown in Fig. 5; para. [0033]) and a second helical layer (low-angle helical winding layer shown in Fig. 4; para. [0031]), respectively, and wherein the plurality of unit bands (fiber bundles FB) provided in the first helical layer (see Fig. 5) are defined as a plurality of first unit bands (see Fig. 5) and the plurality of unit bands (fiber bundles FB) provided in the second helical layer (see Fig. 4) are defined as a plurality of second unit bands (see Fig. 4), wherein the first unit bands include a first cylinder layer area (annotated Fig. 5 below) being an area surrounding the cylinder portion (cylinder portion 21), and the second unit bands include a second cylinder layer area (annotated Fig. 4 below) being an area surrounding the cylinder portion (cylinder portion 21), and wherein a size of an angle defined by the first cylinder layer area (winding angle β, see Fig. 5) and the reference straight line (central axis AX), differs from a size of an angle defined by the second cylinder layer area (winding angle α, see Fig. 4) and the reference straight line (central axis AX; Figs. 4-5; paras. [0031]-[0033]), wherein a direction perpendicular to the reference straight line (central axis AX) is defined as a radial direction (radial direction relative to central axis AX), wherein the plurality of first unit bands (fiber bundles FB in Fig. 5) respectively define first cylinder layer areas (annotated Fig. 5), each of the first cylinder layer areas (annotated Fig. 5) being divided into a plurality of first areas along the longitudinal direction (there are a plurality of first areas spaced along the longitudinal direction), and a first average value is defined as an average value of thicknesses of the plurality of first areas in the radial direction (see Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of second unit bands (fiber bundles FB in Fig. 4) respectively define second cylinder layer areas (annotated Fig. 4), each of the second cylinder layer areas being divided into a plurality of second areas along the longitudinal direction (there are a plurality of second areas spaced along the longitudinal direction), and a second average value is defined as an average value of thicknesses of the plurality of second areas in the radial direction (see Fig. 4), wherein a size of an angle defined by the first cylinder layer area (winding angle β) and the reference straight line (central axis AX) is greater (paras. [0031]-[0033]) than a size of an angle defined by each of the second cylinder layer area (winding angle α) and the reference straight line (central axis AX).
Otsubo Annotated Figures 4 and 5
Otsubo does not expressly disclose the first average value is greater than the second average value. Otsubo does teach that the thickness of the helical layer is “appropriately set according to a pressure resistance and a strength required for the high pressure tank” (para. [0026]). Further, Applicant’s specification explains that the different thicknesses are because of the different angles, which are disclosed in Otsubo (Otsubo at paras. [0031]-[003]; Applicant’s specification at para. [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressure vessel of Otsubo to form the first average value of first areas in the first cylinder layer areas to be greater than the second average value of second areas in the second cylinder layer for the purpose of appropriately setting the pressure resistance and strength of the tank, as recognized by Otsubo (para. [0026]), and because it has been held that changes in size or proportion do not patentably distinguish over the prior art where the claimed dimensions would not perform different than the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed arrangement (see Applicant’s specification at paras. [0063]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Otsubo further discloses each of the plurality of first unit bands (fiber bundles FB in Fig. 5) defines a respective first cylinder layer area (annotated Fig. 5), and a size of an angle (winding angle β) defined by the respective first cylinder layer area (annotated Fig. 5) and the reference straight line (central axis AX) is uniform among the respective first cylinder layer areas (para. [0033]), and wherein each of the plurality of second unit bands (fiber bundles FB in Fig. 4) defines a respective second cylinder layer area (annotated Fig. 4), and a size of an angle (winding angle α) defined by the respective second cylinder layer area (annotated Fig. 4) and the reference straight line is uniform among the respective second cylinder layer areas (para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Otsubo further discloses the first cylinder layer area of each of the plurality of first unit bands (annotated Fig. 5; fiber bundles FB in high-angle helical winding layers) includes: a first cross area (area where fiber bundle FB crosses over itself, see Fig. 5) formed where two different first unit bands cross each other (see Fig. 5), and wherein a direction perpendicular to the reference straight line (central axis AX) is defined as a radial direction (see Fig. 5), and wherein a total thickness of the first cylinder layer area (annotated Fig. 5) at the first cross area in the radial direction (see Fig. 5) is less than or equal to a sum of thicknesses of two different first unit bands (fiber bundles FB) of the first cross area in the radial direction (see Fig. 5; see also Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Otsubo further discloses a plurality of first cross areas (see Fig. 5; annotated Fig. 6 below) are provided, and wherein the first cylinder layer area (annotated Fig. 5) further includes: a first extension area (annotated Fig. 6) extending between first and second adjacent ones (annotated Fig. 6) of the plurality of first cross areas (annotated Fig. 6).
Otsubo Annotated Figure 6
Regarding claim 5, Otsubo further discloses each of the first unit bands (fiber bundles FB in high-angle helical winding layers) further includes: a first dome layer area (annotated Fig. 5) surrounding an external surface of the dome portion (dome portion 23), and wherein the first dome layer area (annotated Fig. 5) includes a first ring area (annotated Fig. 5), and wherein when one side of the dome portion (dome portion 23) in the longitudinal direction (direction of central axis AX) is viewed in parallel to the longitudinal direction (direction of central axis AX), the first ring area extends around the reference straight line (fiber bundle FB forms surrounds the central axis AX, see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Otsubo further discloses each of the second unit bands (fiber bundles FB in low-angle helical winding layers) further includes: a second dome layer area (annotated Fig. 4) surrounding an external surface of the dome portion (dome portion 23), and wherein the second dome layer area (annotated Fig. 4) includes: a second ring area (annotated Fig. 4) that when one side of the dome portion (dome portion 23) in the longitudinal direction (direction of central axis AX) is viewed in parallel to the longitudinal direction (direction of central axis AX), surrounds the reference straight line (see Fig. 4), wherein a direction perpendicular to the reference straight line is defined as a radial direction (radial direction relative to central axis AX), wherein the size of the angle defined by the first cylinder layer area (winding angle β) and the reference straight line (central axis AX) is greater (paras. [0031]-[0033]) than the size of the angle defined by the second cylinder layer area (winding angle α) and the reference straight line (central axis AX), and wherein a spacing distance between the first ring area (annotated Fig. 5) and the reference straight line (central axis AX) in the radial direction (see Fig. 5) is greater than a spacing distance between the second ring area (annotated Fig. 4) and the reference straight line (central axis AX) in the radial direction (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Otsubo further discloses a direction, in which a pressure is applied to an internal surface of the dome portion is defined as a pressing direction (outward direction relative to a center of the tank 10), and a direction opposite to the pressing direction is defined as an opposite pressing direction (inward direction relative to a center of the tank 10), wherein, a first dome thickness (see annotated Fig. 1 below) is defined as a thickness, in the pressing direction (outward direction), of an area of the first dome layer area (annotated Fig. 5) having a maximum a spacing distance, in the pressing direction, between one end portion of the first dome layer area in the pressing direction and the other end portion of the first dome layer area in the opposite pressing direction (see annotated Fig. 1), wherein a direction being perpendicular to the reference straight line is defined as a radial direction (radial direction relative to central axis AX), wherein a first cylinder thickness (annotated Fig. 1) is defined as a thickness, in the radial direction (radial direction relative to axis AX), of an area of the first cylinder layer area (annotated Fig. 5) having a maximum spacing distance, in the radial direction (radial direction relative to central axis AX), between one end portion of the first cylinder layer area in the radial direction, and the other end portion of the first cylinder layer area in a direction opposite to the radial direction (annotated Fig. 1), and wherein the first dome thickness is less than or equal to twice the first cylinder thickness (first dome thickness is less than twice the first cylinder thickness, see Fig. 1).
Otsubo Annotated Figure 1
To the extent it could be argued that Otsubo does not expressly disclose the first dome thickness is less than or equal to twice the first cylinder thickness, this would be obvious. Otsubo does teach that the thickness of the helical layer is “appropriately set according to a pressure resistance and a strength required for the high pressure tank” (para. [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressure vessel of Otsubo to have the first dome thickness be less than twice the first cylinder thickness for the purpose of appropriately setting the pressure resistance and strength of the tank, as recognized by Otsubo (para. [0026]), and because it has been held that changes in size or proportion do not patentably distinguish over the prior art where the claimed dimensions would not perform different than the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed arrangement (see Applicant’s specification at para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Otsubo further discloses the liner (liner 20) further includes: a connection portion (annotated Fig. 1 above) connecting the cylinder portion (cylinder portion 21) and the dome portion (dome portions 22, 23), and wherein when one side of the liner (liner 20) in the longitudinal direction is viewed in parallel to the longitudinal direction (direction of the central axis AX), the first ring area is arranged to surround the connection portion (see annotated Figs. 1, 5).
Regarding claim 10, Otsubo further discloses when one side of the dome portion (dome portions 22, 23) in the longitudinal direction is viewed parallel to the longitudinal direction (direction of the central axis AX), the plurality of helical layers (helical layers 34) have a shape that is rotationally symmetrical with respect to the reference straight line (see Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 11, Otsubo further discloses a direction being perpendicular to the reference straight line is defined as a radial direction (radial direction relative to central axis AX), wherein an external surface of the cylinder portion (cylinder portion 21) includes: an overlapping surface (annotated Fig. 6 above) overlapping the first cylinder layer area (see annotated Fig. 6) when the cylinder portion is viewed from an external side in the radial direction (radial direction relative to central axis AX); and a non-overlapping surface (annotated Fig. 6) not overlapping the first cylinder layer area (see annotated Fig. 6) when the cylinder portion is viewed from the external side in the radial direction (radial direction relative to central axis AX), and wherein the overlapping surface (annotated Fig. 6) has a shape surrounding the non-overlapping surface (see annotated Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Otsubo further discloses the first unit band and the second unit band define a plurality of non-overlapping surfaces (annotated Fig. 6), and wherein the plurality of non-overlapping surfaces (annotated Fig. 6) are arranged to be spaced apart from each other with the overlapping surfaces (annotated Fig. 6) being interposed therebetween (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Otsubo further discloses the first helical layer (high-angle helical winding layer shown in Fig. 5) and the second helical layer (low-angle helical winding layer shown in Fig. 4) define a single band-type base material extending continuously (see Figs. 4-5; paras. [0031]-[0033]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA E. PARKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733