DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(c), the Applicant's submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement has been received, entered into the record, and considered. See attached form PTO-1449.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koprowski et al., (US Patent No. 12439225 B2 and Koprowski hereinafter).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Koprowski teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, Figure 3, whole figure: infra
a payload that includes one or more values for a tracked object (Figure 15, whole figure) infra:
and a timestamp determining, by one or more processors, that the payload is received out of order based on the timestamp (i.e. coordinating beacon signal scanning of reader devices in a tracking system is provided. For instance, first information may be received from the first reader device of the tracking system, and second information may be received from a second reader device, of the tracking system. Based on the first information or the second information that one of the first reader devices or the second reader device has moved may be determined. In response to the determination that one of the first reader devices or the second reader device has moved, a first coordinated duty cycle for the first reader device and a second coordinated duty cycle for the second reader device may be determined. The first coordinated duty cycle may be provided to the first reader device, and the second coordinated duty cycle may be provided to the second reader device.) Col 8, lines 5-25); comparing, by the one or more processors, the one or more value of the payload to one or more conditions(i.e., if two reader devices each scan at a 50% duty cycle (or half of the time), these reader devices may coordinate in order to each scan at only a 25% duty cycle and still maintain the same overall visibility of the tracking tag for the system while at the same time reducing the overall battery consumption per reader device per duty cycle) (Col 14, lines 30-38); based on the comparison and the determination that the payload was received out of order (i.e., if two reader devices each scan at a 50% duty cycle (or half of the time), these reader devices may coordinate in order to each scan at only a 25% duty cycle and still maintain the same overall visibility of the tracking tag for the system while at the same time reducing the overall battery consumption per reader device per duty cycle) (Col 14, lines 30-38), determining, by the one or more processors, that an event associated with the one or more conditions has occurred (i.e., the sensed characteristic may be a temperature, a location, motion, battery conditions, trip conditions, and/or other detectable characteristics of the tracking devices or their environment) (Col 6, lines 44-52), and when the event is determined to have occurred (i.e., determine that some particular circumstance or event has occurred or is about to occur) Col 16, lines 46-67), generating, by one or more processors, an alert (i.e., tracking devices for one or more alerts based on a plurality of conditions. The plurality of conditions may include at least one condition for each characteristic, such as a minimum, a maximum, a threshold, a duration, or a geofence. The conditions may be predetermined or set based on user input. For example, a first alert may be set for when (1) a temperature is greater than, e.g., 0° C. to 10° C. for 30 minutes and (2) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate overheating of a cooled package or storage compartment. A second alert may be set for when (1) no motion is detected for 10 minutes, (2) 2 of 3 locations are in a geofence, and (3) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate that a package is out for delivery. A third alert may be set for when (1) a threshold amount of light is detected from inside a package and (2) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate unexpected opening of the package or tampering. A fourth alert may be set for when (1) a threshold amount of light is detected from inside a package and (2) 2 of 3 locations are in a destination geofence, which may indicate opening of the package after delivery or receipt. Many other alert conditions and tracking scenarios are possible, and the above examples are not intended to be limiting.) (Col 8, lines 25-48) identifying the tracked object as well as a timestamp identifying when the one or more conditions were met. (i.e., tracking tags 414 may correspond to tracking tags 102 or 104 when placed on a variety of objects (e.g., a case of supplies as shown in storage room 406 or a wheelchair shown in room 402A). In some instances, tracking tags may also be configured to emit beacon signals with information associated with the object on which the tracking tag is applied (e.g., temperature, motion information, object details, and/or other detectable characteristics of the tracking device or its environment). Reader devices 416 (which may be configured the same or similarly to reader device 106) may be found at various locations in the building, such as in a patient room, the storage room, the hallway or other location) Col 10, lines 4-20).
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, Koprowski teaches further comprising updating an entry in a table of conditions based on the comparison and the determination that the payload was received out of order (i.e., coordinating beacon signal scanning of reader devices in a tracking system is provided. For instance, first information may be received from the first reader device of the tracking system, and second information may be received from a second reader device, of the tracking system. Based on the first information or the second information that one of the first reader devices or the second reader device has moved may be determined. In response to the determination that one of the first reader devices or the second reader device has moved, a first coordinated duty cycle for the first reader device and a second coordinated duty cycle for the second reader device may be determined. The first coordinated duty cycle may be provided to the first reader device, and the second coordinated duty cycle may be provided to the second reader device.) Col 8, lines 5-25).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Koprowski teaches wherein updating the entry includes changing the timestamp of the entry to the timestamp of the payload (i.e., The data may be received in a series of payloads (e.g., data packets) either continually, at one or more set intervals, or ad hoc whenever the tracking tags transmit. Thus, when there are multiple tracking tags, the data is effectively received as a plurality of separate data streams. A given payload (which may comprise one or more data packets) may include measurements taken at one or more time intervals, each of which may have a corresponding timestamp) (Col 8, lines 5-24).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Koprowski teaches further comprising adding a new entry in a table of conditions based on the comparison and the determination that the payload was received out of order (i.e., data structure, the data may be stored in computing device registers, in a relational database as a table having a plurality of different fields and records, XML documents or flat files. The data may also be formatted in any computing device-readable format) (Col 7, lines 33-40).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Koprowski teaches further comprising: receiving a second payload with a second value for the tracked object and a second timestamp; and in response to the second payload, generating a second alert that indicates that the second value of the second payload has canceled the alert. (i.e., a first alert may be set for when (1) the temperature is greater than, e.g., 0° C. to 10° C. for 30 minutes and (2) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate overheating of a cooled package or storage compartment. A second alert may be set for when (1) no motion is detected for 10 minutes, (2) 2 of 3 locations are in a geofence, and (3) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate that a package is out for delivery. A third alert may be set for when (1) a threshold amount of light is detected from inside a package and (2) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate unexpected opening of the package or tampering. A fourth alert may be set for when (1) a threshold amount of light is detected from inside a package and (2) 2 of 3 locations are in a destination geofence, which may indicate opening of the package after delivery or receipt. Many other alert conditions and tracking scenarios are possible, and the above examples are not intended to be limiting.) Col 8, lines 25-48)
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Koprowski teaches further comprising updating an entry in a table of conditions based on the second timestamp of the second payload (i.e., status (e.g., activated and when), identifiers, last update, sensor data (e.g., temperature measurements), information about the object to which the tracking tag is attached (e.g., manufacturing data), and so on. In this regard, the information may be determined from received beacon signals provided to and updated at the storage system 250 by any of the one or more server computing devices 108 and/or client computing devices 220, 230, 240) (Col 7, lines 18-32).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Koprowski teaches wherein updating the entry includes changing the timestamp of the entry to the timestamp of the payload (i.e., status (e.g., activated and when), identifiers, last update, sensor data (e.g., temperature measurements), information about the object to which the tracking tag is attached (e.g., manufacturing data), and so on. In this regard, the information may be determined from received beacon signals provided to and updated at the storage system 250 by any of the one or more server computing devices 108 and/or client computing devices 220, 230, 240) (Col 7, lines 18-32).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Koprowski teaches wherein the one or more values includes a sensed characteristic of the tracked object (i.e., signal identifying which tracking tags are being received at that reader device. In this way, other reader devices nearby may determine if they are also receiving beacon signals from the same tracking tag. If so, these reader devices may communicate with one another in order to coordinate one or more of their duty cycles, scanning durations, and scanning times. Turning to FIG. 7, reader device 106A may broadcast a signal 730 identifying from which tracking tags the reader device 106A is receiving beacon signals. For instance, signal 730 may identify the tracking tag identifier for the tracking tag 102. In response, the reader devices 106A, 106B may coordinate the scheduling of duty cycles, scan durations and scanning times) Col 11, lines 5-29).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Koprowski teaches wherein the sensed characteristic includes temperature alert (i.e., tracking devices for one or more alerts based on a plurality of conditions. The plurality of conditions may include at least one condition for each characteristic, such as a minimum, a maximum, a threshold, a duration, or a geofence. The conditions may be predetermined or set based on user input. For example, a first alert may be set for when (1) a temperature is greater than, e.g., 0° C. to 10° C. for 30 minutes and (2) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate overheating of a cooled package or storage compartment. A second alert may be set for when (1) no motion is detected for 10 minutes, (2) 2 of 3 locations are in a geofence, and (3) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate that a package is out for delivery. A third alert may be set for when (1) a threshold amount of light is detected from inside a package and (2) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate unexpected opening of the package or tampering. A fourth alert may be set for when (1) a threshold amount of light is detected from inside a package and (2) 2 of 3 locations are in a destination geofence, which may indicate opening of the package after delivery or receipt. Many other alert conditions and tracking scenarios are possible, and the above examples are not intended to be limiting.) (Col 8, lines 25-48).
Regarding Claim 19, Koprowski teaches reader device (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 20, Koprowski teaches tracked objects (i.e., a first alert may be set for when (1) the temperature is greater than, e.g., 0° C. to 10° C. for 30 minutes and (2) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate overheating of a cooled package or storage compartment. A second alert may be set for when (1) no motion is detected for 10 minutes, (2) 2 of 3 locations are in a geofence, and (3) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate that a package is out for delivery. A third alert may be set for when (1) a threshold amount of light is detected from inside a package and (2) the tracking device is on a trip, which may indicate unexpected opening of the package or tampering. A fourth alert may be set for when (1) a threshold amount of light is detected from inside a package and (2) 2 of 3 locations are in a destination geofence, which may indicate opening of the package after delivery or receipt. Many other alert conditions and tracking scenarios are possible, and the above examples are not intended to be limiting.) Col 8, lines 25-48).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koprowski et al. (US Patent No. 12439225 B2), “Coordination of beacon signal scanning in an object tracking system” (October 7, 2025) discloses coordinating beacon signal scanning of reader devices in a tracking system is provided. For instance, first information may be received from a first reader device of the tracking system, and second information may be received from a second reader device, of the tracking system. Based on the first information or the second information that one of the first reader device or the second reader device has moved may be determined. In response to the determination that one of the first reader device or the second reader device has moved, a first coordinated duty cycle for the first reader device and a second coordinated duty cycle for the second reader device may be determined. The first coordinated duty cycle may be provided to the first reader device, and the second coordinated duty cycle may be provided to the second reader device.
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov