DETAILED ACTION
In response to the communication filed on 09/18/2024, responded in following.
On this Office Action, Claims 1-24, consisting of independent claims 1, 10, 19, and 21.
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claims 1-24 are rejected under the 35 USC § 103.
Claims 1-24 are Double Patent rejected.
Priority
The benefit of 17/352,568 filed on 06/21/2021 has been acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/21/2021. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 7 are objected as containing terms that lack proper antecedent basis. Specifically, the limitation “the document flow data structure” in claims 5 and 7 lacks antecedent basis because “a document flow data structure” is first introduced in claim 2, while claims 5 and 7 depend directly from claim 1 and do not otherwise introduce the data structure.
Claim 6 is objected to as depending from claim 5, which is objected as noted above. Claim 6 also recites “the document flow data structure” and thus inherits the same antecedent basis issue absent correction.
Claims 13 and 15 are objected as containing terms that lack proper antecedent basis. Specifically, the limitation “the document flow data structure” in claims 13 and 15 lacks antecedent basis because “a document flow data structure” is first introduced in claim 11, while claims 13 and 15 depend directly from claim 10 and do not otherwise introduce the data structure.
Claim 14 is objected to as depending from claim 5, which is objected as noted above. Claim 14 also recites “the document flow data structure” and thus inherits the same antecedent basis issue absent correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobata et al. (US 20030023695 A1 hereinafter “Kobata”) in view of Roturier et al. (US 10931670 B1 hereinafter “Roturier”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kobata discloses a computer implemented method, comprising (Kobata: [0054] an electronic parcel delivery system 100 may be used to deliver files electronically over a network 105. The system may deliver files of any size or type, such as, for example, text, documents, parcels, multimedia content (“document”)):
receiving, at a document linking system, a document creation request via a user selection of a graphical user interface (GUI) object integrated into an application managed by a document delivery system (Kobata: [0090] the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 run Web browsers 415, 420 to access the common-entry page 210 on the server system 125 (“receiving a document creation request via GUI managed by a document delivery system” as described the upload of a document from a user device in para. 0084 of Spec.). The Web server 400 (“document delivery system”) transmits graphical user interfaces 425 between the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 and the server system 125 (“document linking system”). The graphical user interfaces are displayed by the browsers 415, 420 (“a graphical user interface (GUI) object integrated into an application”)),
wherein the document linking system has provided instructions to the document delivery system to generate the GUI object (Kobata: [0090] The Web server 400 transmits graphical user interfaces 425 between the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 and the server system 125 (to access the common-entry page 210, “the document linking system provides instructions”). The graphical user interfaces are displayed by the browsers 415, 420 (“the GUI object”));
receiving, at the document linking system, a document ([0089] A parcel 405 passes directly from the sending system 110 to the server system 125 (“document is received by the document linking system”), and the server system 125 stores the parcel 405 in the storage system 155).
However, Kobata does not teach “creating, at the document linking system, a link corresponding to the document; and transmitting, from the document linking system to the document delivery system, the link to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document” even though it teaches the Web server 400 considered as the document delivery system.
In a same field of endeavor, Roturier discloses the computer implemented method, wherein creating, at the document linking system, a link corresponding to the document (Roturier: Col.6 ln.35-52, At action 216, entity A application 110-b (“document delivery system”) sends a request to the redirection module 106-b (“document linking system”) for the redirection module 106-b to generate a unique, opaque, and personalized link for the food delivery (including contact and financial information “link corresponding to the document” as also defined in Col.1 ln. 18-27), the request including both the original link and the generated site ID. At action 218, the redirection module 106-b (“document linking system”), as requested by the Entity A application 110-b, generates the opaque link given the original link (“creating a link corresponding to the document”) and the site ID); and
transmitting, from the document linking system to the document delivery system, the link to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document (Roturier: Col.6 ln.50-52, At action 218, the redirection module 106-b (“document linking system”), as requested by the Entity A application 110-b, generates the opaque link given the original link and the site ID; Col.7 ln.01-11, Thus, instead of sending a direct link to the third-party delivery service's link, for example, at action 226, entity A may send the communication with the opaque link generated by the redirection module 106-b (“transmitting, from the document linking system to the document delivery system, the link”, also See Fig. 2, action 218). At action 230, the client device 104-b may access the opaque link and is redirected to the original entity A webpage (“accessing the link provides access to the document”)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the server system disclosed by Kobata with the teachings of Roturier to create a link corresponding to the document and to transmit the link to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the URL redirection module may be a secure redirection application that enables a user to set up an account for generating security identifiers for specific entities. Entity may be configured to enable the collection of redirection links generated by the redirection module (Col.5 ln.65- Col.6, ln.06). Thus, the system may avoid a potential security risk, for example, a private user information which may be subject to security issues in transit, when the user shares private information with the entity.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 1 above. Kobata discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the document linking system, a request to access the document via a user selection of the link, wherein the request is associated with a user account (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“request is associated with a user account”). This authentication can include uniquely identifying the installations of the client software on the sending and receiving systems 110, 115; [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a request to access the document via a user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405); and
logging, at the document linking system, the request with one or more credentials corresponding to the user account in a document flow data structure tracking interactions with the document (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115 (“log the request with one or more credentials” as states in para. 0081 above), the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions with the document”); [0092] The sending system 110 can track the status of a parcel by sending a tracking request 440 to the Web server 400. The Web server 400 forwards the tracking request 440 to the server 125 (“tracking interactions”), which responds with a tracking report 445).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 2 above. Kobata discloses the computer implemented method of claim 2, wherein the one or more credentials are provided to the document linking system by the document delivery system (Kobata: [0070] Downloading the page 210 to the receiving system 115 can cause execution of a Common Gateway Interface (CGI) script. The script can require log-on authentication of the receiving system user and can prompt the user for log-on information 300, such as a username and a password (“credentials”); [0090] the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 run Web browsers 415, 420 to access the common-entry page 210 on the server system 125. The Web server 400 transmits graphical user interfaces 425 (“credentials are provided by the document delivery system”) between the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 and the server system 125 (“document linking system”)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 1 above. Kobata discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the document linking system, a first request to access the document via a first user selection of the link, wherein the first request is associated with a first user account that received the message from the application (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“request is associated with a user account”). This authentication can include uniquely identifying the installations of the client software on the sending and receiving systems 110, 115; [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a request to access the document via a user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405);
logging, at the document linking system, the first request with one or more credentials corresponding to the first user account in a document flow data structure tracking interactions with the document (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115 (“credentials corresponding to the first user account” as states in para. 0081 above), the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions”). Tracking information can include information concerning when the sending system 14 started transmitting the parcel 58 to the server system 26, … , and the status of the received parcel (“log the first request with one or more credentials”));
receiving, at the document linking system, a second request to access the document via a second user selection of the link, wherein the second request is associated with a second user account that received the link from the first user account (Kobata: [0091] The Web server 400 responds by presenting the user interface 425, which permits the receiving system 115 to obtain a uniform resource locator (“URL”) for use in accessing the parcel 405. The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a first request to access the document via a second user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405); and
logging, at the document linking system, the second request with one or more credentials corresponding to the second user account in the document flow data structure (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115 (“credentials corresponding to the second user account” as states in para. 0081 above), the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions”). Tracking information can include information concerning when the sending system 14 started transmitting the parcel 58 to the server system 26, … , and the status of the received parcel (“log the second request with one or more credentials”)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 5 above. Kobata discloses the computer implemented method of claim 5, further comprising:
receiving, at the document linking system, a designation of a permission restriction for the document for the second user account (Kobata: [0081] At another level, the delivery system 100 authenticates each delivery transaction. At another level (“receive a designation of a permission restriction”), in preparation for transmission, the client parcel software compresses and encrypts the parcel in real time. Also, the server system 125 may compress and encrypt the parcel (“permission restriction”) in real-time while transmitting the parcel to the receiving system);
modifying, at the document linking system, the document flow data structure to associate the permission restriction with the one or more credentials corresponding to the second user account (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“credentials corresponding to the second user account”). At another level, in preparation for transmission, the client parcel software compresses and encrypts the parcel in real time. Also, the server system 125 may compress and encrypt the parcel (“modify the document flow data structure”) in real-time while transmitting the parcel to the receiving system);
receiving, at the document linking system, a third request to access the document via selection of the link by the second user account (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“credentials corresponding to the second user account” as states in para. 0081 above); [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a third request to access the document via the second user account”), which responds by sending the parcel 405); and
transmitting, from the document linking system, the document to the second user account while restricting functionality based on the permission restriction designated in the document flow data structure (Kobata: [0081] the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115. the server system 125 may compress and encrypt the parcel in real-time (“restricting functionality based on the permission restriction”, See more details regarding the encryption in para. 0122) while transmitting the parcel to the receiving system).
Regarding independent claim 10, Kobata discloses a document linking system, comprising (Kobata: [0054] an electronic parcel delivery system 100 may be used to deliver files electronically over a network 105. The system may deliver files of any size or type, such as, for example, text, documents, parcels, multimedia content (“document”)):
a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (Kobata: [Fig. 7, 0232] server system 125 including computer-readable software programs embodied on or in one or more articles of manufacture (a hard disk, hard-disk drive and any standard or proprietary, programming or interpretive language can be used to produce the computer-readable software programs (“a memory; and at least one processor”))):
receive a document creation request via a user selection of a graphical user interface (GUI) object integrated into an application managed by a document delivery system (Kobata: [0090] the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 run Web browsers 415, 420 to access the common-entry page 210 on the server system 125 (“receive a document creation request via GUI managed by a document delivery system” as described the upload of a document from a user device in para. 0084 of Spec.). The Web server 400 (“document delivery system”) transmits graphical user interfaces 425 between the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 and the server system 125. The graphical user interfaces are displayed by the browsers 415, 420 (“a graphical user interface (GUI) object integrated into an application”)),
wherein the at least one processor has provided instructions to the document delivery system to generate the GUI object (Kobata: [0090] The Web server 400 transmits graphical user interfaces 425 between the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 and the server system 125 (to access the common-entry page 210, “the document linking system provides instructions”). The graphical user interfaces are displayed by the browsers 415, 420 (“the GUI object”));
receive a document (Kobata: [0089] A parcel 405 passes directly from the sending system 110 to the server system 125 (“document is received by the document linking system”), and the server system 125 stores the parcel 405 in the storage system 155);
However, Kobata does not teach “create a link corresponding to the document; transmit, to the document delivery system, the link to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document” even though it teaches the Web server 400 considered as the document delivery system.
In a same field of endeavor, Roturier discloses the document linking system, wherein create a link corresponding to the document (Roturier: Col.6 ln.35-52, At action 216, entity A application 110-b (“document delivery system”) sends a request to the redirection module 106-b (“document linking system”) for the redirection module 106-b to generate a unique, opaque, and personalized link for the food delivery (including contact and financial information “link corresponding to the document” as also defined in Col.1 ln. 18-27), the request including both the original link and the generated site ID. At action 218, the redirection module 106-b (“document linking system”), as requested by the Entity A application 110-b, generates the opaque link given the original link (“creating a link corresponding to the document”) and the site ID) and
transmit, to the document delivery system, the link to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document (Roturier: Col.6 ln.50-52, At action 218, the redirection module 106-b (“document linking system”), as requested by the Entity A application 110-b, generates the opaque link given the original link and the site ID; Col.7 ln.01-11, Thus, instead of sending a direct link to the third-party delivery service's link, for example, at action 226, entity A may send the communication with the opaque link generated by the redirection module 106-b (“transmitting, to the document delivery system, the link”, also See Fig. 2, action 218). At action 230, the client device 104-b may access the opaque link and is redirected to the original entity A webpage (“accessing the link provides access to the document”)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the server system disclosed by Kobata with the teachings of Roturier to create a link corresponding to the document and to transmit the link to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the URL redirection module may be a secure redirection application that enables a user to set up an account for generating security identifiers for specific entities. Entity may be configured to enable the collection of redirection links generated by the redirection module (Col.5 ln.65- Col.6, ln.06). Thus, the system may avoid a potential security risk, for example, a private user information which may be subject to security issues in transit, when the user shares private information with the entity.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 10 above. Kobata discloses the document linking system of claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive a request to access the document via a user selection of the link, wherein the request is associated with a user account (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“request is associated with a user account”). This authentication can include uniquely identifying the installations of the client software on the sending and receiving systems 110, 115; [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a request to access the document via a user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405); and
log the request with one or more credentials corresponding to the user account in a document flow data structure tracking interactions with the document (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115 (“log the request with one or more credentials” as states in para. 0081 above), the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions with the document”); [0092] The sending system 110 can track the status of a parcel by sending a tracking request 440 to the Web server 400. The Web server 400 forwards the tracking request 440 to the server 125 (“tracking interactions”), which responds with a tracking report 445).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 11 above. Kobata discloses the document linking system of claim 11, wherein the one or more credentials are provided to the document linking system by the document delivery system (Kobata: [0070] Downloading the page 210 to the receiving system 115 can cause execution of a Common Gateway Interface (CGI) script. The script can require log-on authentication of the receiving system user and can prompt the user for log-on information 300, such as a username and a password (“credentials”); [0090] the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 run Web browsers 415, 420 to access the common-entry page 210 on the server system 125. The Web server 400 transmits graphical user interfaces 425 (“credentials are provided by the document delivery system”) between the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 and the server system 125 (“document linking system”)).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 10 above. Kobata discloses the document linking system of claim 10,
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive a first request to access the document via a first user selection of the link, wherein the first request is associated with a first user account that received the message from the application (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“request is associated with a user account”). This authentication can include uniquely identifying the installations of the client software on the sending and receiving systems 110, 115; [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a request to access the document via a user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405);
log the first request with one or more credentials corresponding to the first user account in a document flow data structure tracking interactions with the document (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115 (“credentials corresponding to the first user account” as states in para. 0081 above), the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions”). Tracking information can include information concerning when the sending system 14 started transmitting the parcel 58 to the server system 26, … , and the status of the received parcel (“log the first request with one or more credentials”));
receive a second request to access the document via a second user selection of the link, wherein the second request is associated with a second user account that received the link from the first user account (Kobata: [0091] The Web server 400 responds by presenting the user interface 425, which permits the receiving system 115 to obtain a uniform resource locator (“URL”) for use in accessing the parcel 405. The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a first request to access the document via a second user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405); and
log the second request with one or more credentials corresponding to the second user account in the document flow data structure (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115 (“credentials corresponding to the second user account” as states in para. 0081 above), the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions”). Tracking information can include information concerning when the sending system 14 started transmitting the parcel 58 to the server system 26, … , and the status of the received parcel (“log the second request with one or more credentials”)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 13 above. Kobata discloses the document linking system of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
generate a graphical user interface displaying the interactions with the document from the document flow data structure (Kobata: [0090] The Web server 400 transmits graphical user interfaces 425 between the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 and the server system 125).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 13 above. Kobata discloses the document linking system of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive a designation of a permission restriction for the document for the second user account (Kobata: [0081] At another level, the delivery system 100 authenticates each delivery transaction. At another level (“receive a designation of a permission restriction”), in preparation for transmission, the client parcel software compresses and encrypts the parcel in real time. Also, the server system 125 may compress and encrypt the parcel (“permission restriction”) in real-time while transmitting the parcel to the receiving system);
modify the document flow data structure to associate the permission restriction with the one or more credentials corresponding to the second user account (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“credentials corresponding to the second user account”). At another level, in preparation for transmission, the client parcel software compresses and encrypts the parcel in real time. Also, the server system 125 may compress and encrypt the parcel (“modify the document flow data structure”) in real-time while transmitting the parcel to the receiving system);
receive a third request to access the document via selection of the link by the second user account (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“credentials corresponding to the second user account” as states in para. 0081 above); [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a third request to access the document via the second user account”), which responds by sending the parcel 405); and
transmit the document to the second user account while restricting functionality based on the permission restriction designated in the document flow data structure (Kobata: [0081] the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115. the server system 125 may compress and encrypt the parcel in real-time (“restricting functionality based on the permission restriction”, See more details regarding the encryption in para. 0122) while transmitting the parcel to the receiving system).
Regarding independent claim 19, Kobata discloses a non-transitory computer-readable device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising:
receiving, at a document linking system, a document creation request via a user selection of a graphical user interface (GUI) object integrated into an application managed by a document delivery system (Kobata: [0090] the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 run Web browsers 415, 420 to access the common-entry page 210 on the server system 125 (“receive a document creation request via GUI managed by a document delivery system” as described the upload of a document from a user device in para. 0084 of Spec.). The Web server 400 (“document delivery system”) transmits graphical user interfaces 425 between the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 and the server system 125 (“document linking system”). The graphical user interfaces are displayed by the browsers 415, 420 (“a graphical user interface (GUI) object integrated into an application”)),
wherein the document linking system has provided instructions to the document delivery system to generate the GUI object (Kobata: [0090] The Web server 400 transmits graphical user interfaces 425 between the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 and the server system 125 (to access the common-entry page 210, “the document linking system provides instructions”). The graphical user interfaces are displayed by the browsers 415, 420 (“the GUI object”));
receiving, at the document linking system, a document (Kobata: [0089] A parcel 405 passes directly from the sending system 110 to the server system 125 (“document is received by the document linking system”), and the server system 125 stores the parcel 405 in the storage system 155).
However, Kobata does not teach “creating, at the document linking system, a link corresponding to the document; and transmitting, from the document linking system to the document delivery system, the link to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document”
In a same field of endeavor, Roturier discloses the computing device to perform operations comprising: creating, at the document linking system, a link corresponding to the document (Roturier: Col.6 ln.35-52, At action 216, entity A application 110-b (“document delivery system”) sends a request to the redirection module 106-b (“document linking system”) for the redirection module 106-b to generate a unique, opaque, and personalized link for the food delivery (including contact and financial information “link corresponding to the document” as also defined in Col.1 ln. 18-27), the request including both the original link and the generated site ID. At action 218, the redirection module 106-b (“document linking system”), as requested by the Entity A application 110-b, generates the opaque link given the original link (“creating a link corresponding to the document”) and the site ID); and
transmitting, from the document linking system to the document delivery system, the link to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document (Roturier: Col.6 ln.50-52, the redirection module 106-b (“document linking system”), as requested by the Entity A application 110-b, generates the opaque link given the original link and the site ID; Col.7 ln.01-11, Thus, instead of sending a direct link to the third-party delivery service's link, for example, at action 226, entity A may send the communication with the opaque link generated by the redirection module 106-b (“transmitting, from the document linking system to the document delivery system, the link”, also See Fig. 2, action 218). At action 230, the client device 104-b may access the opaque link and is redirected to the original entity A webpage (“accessing the link provides access to the document”)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the server system disclosed by Kobata with the teachings of Roturier to create a link corresponding to the document and to transmit the link to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the URL redirection module may be a secure redirection application that enables a user to set up an account for generating security identifiers for specific entities. Entity may be configured to enable the collection of redirection links generated by the redirection module (Col.5 ln.65- Col.6, ln.06). Thus, the system may avoid a potential security risk, for example, a private user information which may be subject to security issues in transit, when the user shares private information with the entity.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 19 above. Kobata discloses the non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 19, the operations further comprising:
receiving, at the document linking system, a first request to access the document via a first user selection of the link, wherein the first request is associated with a first user account that received the message from the application (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“request is associated with a user account”). This authentication can include uniquely identifying the installations of the client software on the sending and receiving systems 110, 115; [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a request to access the document via a user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405);
logging, at the document linking system, the first request with one or more credentials corresponding to the first user account in a document flow data structure tracking interactions with the document (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115 (“credentials corresponding to the first user account” as states in para. 0081 above), the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions”). Tracking information can include information concerning when the sending system 14 started transmitting the parcel 58 to the server system 26, … , and the status of the received parcel (“log the first request with one or more credentials”));
receiving, at the document linking system, a second request to access the document via a second user selection of the link, wherein the second request is associated with a second user account that received the link from the first user account (Kobata: [0091] The Web server 400 responds by presenting the user interface 425, which permits the receiving system 115 to obtain a uniform resource locator (“URL”) for use in accessing the parcel 405. The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a first request to access the document via a second user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405); and
logging, at the document linking system, the second request with one or more credentials corresponding to the second user account in the document flow data structure (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115 (“credentials corresponding to the second user account” as states in para. 0081 above), the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions”). Tracking information can include information concerning when the sending system 14 started transmitting the parcel 58 to the server system 26, … , and the status of the received parcel (“log the second request with one or more credentials”)).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobata et al. (US 20030023695 A1 hereinafter “Kobata”) in view of Roturier et al. (US 10931670 B1 hereinafter “Roturier”) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Raina (US 11475230 B1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 2 above. However the combination does not teach “logging with the request one or more location coordinates corresponding to a location of a client device corresponding to the user account.”
In a same field of endeavor, Raina discloses the computer implemented method of claim 2, further comprising:
logging with the request one or more location coordinates corresponding to a location of a client device corresponding to the user account (Raina: Col.11 ln.57-61, At operation 406, the geofence comparison component 308 determines whether the geographic location of a client device 102, 104 used to scan a geofence based QR code is within the geographic region defined by the geofence data extracted from the geofence based QR code).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the server system disclosed by Kobata with the teachings of Raina to log with the request one or more location coordinates corresponding to a location of a client device corresponding to the user account. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the geofence comparison component may determine whether the geographic location of the client device 102, 104 falls within the geographic region in which the geofence based QR code may be used (Col.10 ln.52-56). Thus, it is possible to find or recognize the place where people or objects are situated.
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobata et al. (US 20030023695 A1 hereinafter “Kobata”) in view of Roturier et al. (US 10931670 B1 hereinafter “Roturier”) as applied to independent claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Smuda et al. (US 10628631 B1 hereinafter “Smuda”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 1 above. Kobata discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the document linking system, a request to access the document via a user selection of the link, wherein the request is associated with a user account (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“request is associated with a user account”). This authentication can include uniquely identifying the installations of the client software on the sending and receiving systems 110, 115; [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a request to access the document via a user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405);
transmitting, from the document linking system, the document to a client device corresponding to the user account (Kobata: [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125, which responds by sending the parcel 405);
logging, at the document linking system, the modification with one or more credentials corresponding to the user account in a document flow data structure tracking interactions with the document (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115, the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions”). The server system 26 can verify that the receiving system 18 has received the parcel 58 using a signature uniquely identifying the receiving system 18 user (“log the modification” as states in Claim 9) and, when the receiving system 18 executes client software to access the server system 26, a unique identifier associated with that client software)).
However, the combination does not teach “receiving, at the document linking system, a modification of a portion of the document.”
In a same field of endeavor, Smuda discloses the document linking system of claim 10, wherein receiving, at the document linking system, a modification of a portion of the document (Smuda: Col.21 ln.55-60, At 612, a revised document is created based on the first correction and the second correction (“receiving a modification of a portion”). In one implementation, the document 102 may be modified by the data thus implementing the first correction in the document 102).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the server system disclosed by Kobata with the teachings of Smuda to receive a modification of a portion of the document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because creating this two-way communication flow between an author and readers (or sender and receiver) of a document can give significant advantages and pre-publication insight to authors that develop a document using this system (Col.3 ln.14-17). Thus, it may improve team, sender and receiver, alignment and collaboration.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kobata, Roturier and Smuda teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 7 above. Smuda discloses the computer implemented method of claim 7, further comprising:
creating, at the document linking system, a second document token corresponding to the modification (Smuda: Col.22 ln.34-39, At 622, a comment to the document 102 may be received from the third document reading device. Thus, a first document reading device 116(1) is providing a correction and a third document reading device 116(N) is providing a comment. The comment may include text associated with an invariant location in the document 102 (“creating, at the document linking system, a second document token”)); and
updating, at the document linking system, an association for the link such that accessing the link corresponds to an access request for the modification (Smuda: Col.22 ln.47-52, the correction received at 606 and the comment received at 622 may both be stored in the same file that is linked to or the document 102 or is the same file containing the document 102 (“updating, at the document linking system, an association”). However, the correction and the comment may alternatively be stored in separate files from each other).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kobata, Roturier and Smuda teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 7 above. Smuda discloses the computer implemented method of claim 7, wherein the modification includes a signature applied to the document or an acknowledgement of receiving the document (Smuda: Col.23 ln.01-04, At 628, indication that the document 102 was modified to make the correction to the document 102 (“an acknowledgement of receiving the document”) or modified based on the comment may be sent to the first document reading device).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kobata and Roturier teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 10 above. Kobata discloses the document linking system of claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive a request to access the document via a user selection of the link, wherein the request is associated with a user account (Kobata: [0091] The Web server 400 responds by presenting the user interface 425, which permits the receiving system 115 to obtain a uniform resource locator (“URL”) for use in accessing the parcel 405. The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a first request to access the document via a user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405);
transmit the document to a client device corresponding to the user account (Kobata: [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125, which responds by sending the parcel 405);
log the modification with one or more credentials corresponding to the user account in a document flow data structure tracking interactions with the document (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115, the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions”). The server system 26 can verify that the receiving system 18 has received the parcel 58 using a signature uniquely identifying the receiving system 18 user (“log the modification” as states in Claim 18) and, when the receiving system 18 executes client software to access the server system 26, a unique identifier associated with that client software).
However, Kobata does not teach “receive a modification of a portion of the document.”
In a same field of endeavor, Smuda discloses the document linking system of claim 10, wherein receive a modification of a portion of the document (Smuda: Col.21 ln.55-60, At 612, a revised document is created based on the first correction and the second correction (“receiving a modification of a portion”). In one implementation, the document 102 may be modified by the data thus implementing the first correction in the document 102).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the server system disclosed by Kobata with the teachings of Smuda to receive a modification of a portion of the document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because creating this two-way communication flow between an author and readers (or sender and receiver) of a document can give significant advantages and pre-publication insight to authors that develop a document using this system (Col.3 ln.14-17). Thus, it may improve team, sender and receiver, alignment and collaboration.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kobata, Roturier and Smuda teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 16 above. Smuda discloses the document linking system of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
create a second document token corresponding to the modification (Smuda: Col.22 ln.34-39, At 622, a comment to the document 102 may be received from the third document reading device. Thus, a first document reading device 116(1) is providing a correction and a third document reading device 116(N) is providing a comment. The comment may include text associated with an invariant location in the document 102 (“creating, at the document linking system, a second document token”)); and
update an association for the link such that accessing the link corresponds to an access request for the modification (Smuda: Col.22 ln.47-52, the correction received at 606 and the comment received at 622 may both be stored in the same file that is linked to or the document 102 or is the same file containing the document 102 (“updating, at the document linking system, an association”). However, the correction and the comment may alternatively be stored in separate files from each other);
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kobata, Roturier and Smuda teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 16 above. Smuda discloses the document linking system of claim 16, wherein the modification includes a signature applied to the document or an acknowledgement of receiving the document (Smuda: Col.23 ln.01-04, At 628, indication that the document 102 was modified to make the correction to the document 102 (“an acknowledgement of receiving the document”) or modified based on the comment may be sent to the first document reading device).
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobata et al. (US 20030023695 A1 hereinafter “Kobata”) in view of Raina (US 11475230 B1).
Regarding independent claim 21, Kobata discloses a computer implemented method, comprising:
receiving, at a document linking system from a first user device, a document creation request via a user selection of a graphical user interface (GUI) object generated by the document linking system (Kobata: [0090] the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 run Web browsers 415, 420 to access the common-entry page 210 on the server system 125 (“receive a document creation request via GUI managed by a document delivery system” as described the upload of a document from a user device in para. 0084 of Spec.). The Web server 400 (“document delivery system”) transmits graphical user interfaces 425 between the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 and the server system 125 (“document linking system”). The graphical user interfaces are displayed by the browsers 415, 420 (“a graphical user interface (GUI) object integrated into an application”));
receiving, at the document linking system, a document from the user device (Kobata: [0089] A parcel 405 passes directly from the sending system 110 to the server system 125 (“document is received by the document linking system”), and the server system 125 stores the parcel 405 in the storage system 155);
logging, at the document linking system, the access request with one or more credentials corresponding to the second client device (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115 (“logging the access request”), the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions with the document”). The server system 26 can verify that the receiving system 18 has received the parcel 58 using a signature uniquely identifying the receiving system 18 user (“credentials corresponding to the second client device”)); and
transmitting, at the document linking system, the document to the second client device (Kobata: [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125, which responds by sending the parcel 405 (“transmitting the document to the second client device”)).
However, Kobata does not teach “creating, at the document linking system, a graphical link corresponding to the document; receiving, at the document linking system, an access request from a second client device via a scan of the graphical link using a camera on the second client device.”
Raina in a same field of endeavor discloses the computer implemented method, wherein creating, at the document linking system, a graphical link corresponding to the document (Raina: Col.4 ln.29-33, the QR code management system 108 enables customers to generate QR codes that are embedded with content links that allows for the access of specified digital content (“graphical link corresponding to the document”). The content link identifies a location at which the specified digital content may be accessed);
receiving, at the document linking system, an access request from a second client device via a scan of the graphical link using a camera on the second client device (Raina: Col.2 ln.62-67, multiple devices (i.e., client device 102, client device 104, customer system 106, and QR code management system 108) are connected to a communication network 110; Col.11 ln.30-34, At operation 402, the data extraction component 304 (included in the QR code management system 108) extracts geofence data and a content link embedded in a geofence based QR code (“graphical link”). For example, the data extraction component 304 accesses the image of the geofence based QR code captured by the scanning component 302 (“scan of the graphical link using a camera”, also see Col.9 ln.64-66)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the server system disclosed by Kobata with the teachings of Raina to create a graphical link corresponding to the document; receive an access request from a second client device via a scan of the graphical link using a camera on the second client device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because use of QR codes is advantageous as it allows for content to be distributed in a digital, rather than physical format, thereby eliminating the need to create physical copies of the content (Col.1 ln.17-20). Thus, it can provide more information about the product or service without a sweat, and the information quickly goes to the user's device.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Kobata and Raina teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 21 above. Raina discloses the computer implemented method of claim 21, wherein the graphical link is a two dimensional image (Raina: Col.9 ln.66- Col.10 ln.03, the scanning component 302 may utilize an optical sensor, such as a camera to capture an image of the geofence based QR code (“two dimensional image”). The scanning component 302 may provide the captured image to the other components of the QR code processing component 204).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Kobata and Raina teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 21 above. Raina discloses the computer implemented method of claim 21, wherein the graphical link is a QR code (Raina: Col.11 ln.30-33, At operation 402, the data extraction component 304 extracts geofence data and a content link embedded in a geofence based QR code).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Kobata and Raina teaches all elements of the current invention as stated in claim 21 above. Raina discloses the computer implemented method of claim 21, wherein the logging further comprising:
logging with the access request one or more location coordinates corresponding to a location of the second client device (Raina: Col.11 ln.57-61, At operation 406, the geofence comparison component 308 determines whether the geographic location of a client device 102, 104 used to scan a geofence based QR code is within the geographic region defined by the geofence data extracted from the geofence based QR code (“location coordinates corresponding to a location of the client device”)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-12, 14-15 and 17-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 12135808 B2 (hereinafter “Pat-808”).
As per independent claims 1, 10, 19, 21 and dependent claims 4, 7, 16, Pat-808’s claim 1 teaches all elements of the independent claims and dependent claims of the instant application. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example, claim 1 of Pat-808 contains every elements of the claims 1 and 4 of the instant application (See the table below).
Instant Application 18/888747
Pat-808
c1
A computer implemented method, comprising:
receiving, at a document linking system, a document creation request via a user selection of a graphical user interface (GUI) object integrated into an application managed by a document delivery system, wherein the document linking system has provided instructions to the document delivery system to generate the GUI object;
creating, at the document linking system, a link corresponding to the document;
receiving, at the document linking system, a document;
and
transmitting, from the document linking system to the document delivery system, the link to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document.
11
A computer implemented method, comprising:
receiving, at a document linking system, a document creation request via a user selection of a graphical user interface (GUI) object integrated into an application managed by a document delivery system, wherein the document linking system has provided instructions to the document delivery system to generate the GUI object;
receiving, at the document linking system, a document;
creating, at the document linking system, a first document token corresponding to the document, wherein the first document token is a hash of the document;
transmitting, from the document linking system to the document delivery system, a link corresponding to the first document token, to populate a message in the application, wherein accessing the link provides access to the document;
receiving, at the document linking system, a request to access the document via a user selection of the link, wherein the request is associated with the user account;
transmitting, from the document linking system, the document to a client device corresponding to the user account;
receiving, at the document linking system, a modification of a portion of the document;
logging with the request one or more location coordinates corresponding to a location of a client device corresponding to a user account with one or more credentials corresponding to the user account in a document flow data structure tracking interactions with the document, wherein the document flow data structure is stored on a blockchain;
44
logging with the request one or more location coordinates corresponding to a location of a client device corresponding to the user account.
As per claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-18 and 22-24, they are respectively identical to claims 2-7 and 18-20 of Pat-808.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. US 12135808 B2 (hereinafter “Pat-808”) in view of Raina (US 11475230 B1).
As per claim 4, Pat-808 does not disclose, however, Raina in a same field of endeavor discloses the computer implemented method of claim 2, further comprising:
logging with the request one or more location coordinates corresponding to a location of a client device corresponding to the user account (Raina: Col.11 ln.57-61, At operation 406, the geofence comparison component 308 determines whether the geographic location of a client device 102, 104 used to scan a geofence based QR code is within the geographic region defined by the geofence data extracted from the geofence based QR code).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system disclosed by Pat-808 with the teachings of Raina to log with the request one or more location coordinates corresponding to a location of a client device corresponding to the user account. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the geofence comparison component may determine whether the geographic location of the client device 102, 104 falls within the geographic region in which the geofence based QR code may be used (Col.10 ln.52-56). Thus, it is possible to find or recognize the place where people or objects are situated.
As per claim 13, the claim corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. US 12135808 B2 (hereinafter “Pat-808”) in view of Kobata et al. (US 20030023695 A1 hereinafter “Kobata”) in view of Smuda et al. (US 10628631 B1 hereinafter “Smuda”).
As per claim 7, Pat-808 does not disclose, however, Kobata in a same field of endeavor discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the document linking system, a request to access the document via a user selection of the link, wherein the request is associated with a user account (Kobata: [0081] The delivery system 100 provides security at various levels. At one level, the server system 125 can authenticate the user identities of the sending and receiving systems 110, 115 (“request is associated with a user account”). This authentication can include uniquely identifying the installations of the client software on the sending and receiving systems 110, 115; [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125 (“receive a request to access the document via a user selection of the link”), which responds by sending the parcel 405);
transmitting, from the document linking system, the document to a client device corresponding to the user account (Kobata: [0091] The receiving system 115 then sends a request 435 containing the URL to the server system 125, which responds by sending the parcel 405);
logging, at the document linking system, the modification with one or more credentials corresponding to the user account in a document flow data structure tracking interactions with the document (Kobata: [0084] After the sending system 110 initiates transmission of the parcel 200 to the receiving system 115, the sending system 14 can track the real-time progress of the parcel 58 through the network 30 (“tracking interactions”). The server system 26 can verify that the receiving system 18 has received the parcel 58 using a signature uniquely identifying the receiving system 18 user (“log the modification” as states in Claim 9) and, when the receiving system 18 executes client software to access the server system 26, a unique identifier associated with that client software)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system disclosed by Pat-808 with the teachings of Smuda to receive a request to access the document via a user selection of the link, wherein the request is associated with a user account; transmit the document to a client device corresponding to the user account; and log the modification with one or more credentials corresponding to the user account in a document flow data structure tracking interactions with the document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the system may enable secure communications between that candidate and the customer (para.[0179]).
However, the combination does not teach “receiving, at the document linking system, a modification of a portion of the document.”
In a same field of endeavor, Smuda discloses the document linking system of claim 10, wherein receiving, at the document linking system, a modification of a portion of the document (Smuda: Col.21 ln.55-60, At 612, a revised document is created based on the first correction and the second correction (“receiving a modification of a portion”). In one implementation, the document 102 may be modified by the data thus implementing the first correction in the document 102).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system disclosed by Pat-808 with the teachings of Smuda to receive a modification of a portion of the document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because creating this two-way communication flow between an author and readers (or sender and receiver) of a document can give significant advantages and pre-publication insight to authors that develop a document using this system (Col.3 ln.14-17). Thus, it may improve team, sender and receiver, alignment and collaboration.
As per claim 16, the claim corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Comstock et al. (US 20210194975 A1), Systems and methods for web to mobile app correlation: [0053, 0076] the linking system 120 includes a link decoder 212 and a redirect page generator 312 (See Fig. 2); [0080] The redirect page generator 312 of the linking system 120 may include an application, program, library, process, service, script, task or any type and form of executable instructions for generating a web page of the linking system to which to redirect a user responsive to the user clicking on the encoded URL; [0054] The linking system, such as via decoder 212, may send a redirect, such as an Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) redirect (e.g., 301 redirect), to the client to the decoded URL 205; [0080] The redirect page generator 312 of the linking system 120 can generate the web page in response to receiving a request from a user to encode, shorten or otherwise process a URL link to content. The generated web page can be stored and maintained on a server of the linking system and the link decoder 212 can be configured to associate the URL of the generated web page with the encoded URL link.
/ANDREW SUH/Examiner, Art Unit 2493