DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 newly recites “The drive carrier of claim 1”. However, this cause lack of antecedent basis with “the component of the retention mechanism”. It appears that claim 7 should not have been amended. In order to examine this application, examiner will assume the original limitation of “The drive carrier of claim 6”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 7,848,099; hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Escamilla et al. (US 11,558,974; hereinafter “Escamilla”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a drive carrier (8, Figs. 1-5) for a device (HDD not shown), the drive carrier comprising:
a front portion (front of 4-6, Figs. 4-5) to be placed in physical communication with the device, the front portion including:
a handle (main handle of 30, Figs. 1-5) rotatable between a locked position (Fig. 4) and an unlocked position (Fig. 5);
a first latch (50, Figs. 1-5) in physical communication with the handle, the first latch configured to slide along the handle (50 slide along 36 of 30, see Figs. 4-5) to transition between a first position (same as Fig. 4) and a second position (not explicitly shown, but slide toward left to release main handle of 30 in Fig. 5), wherein the handle is held in the locked position when the first latch is in the first position (Fig. 4), wherein the first latch includes a lock tab (56, Figs. 4-5) to secure the first latch in the first position (as shown in Fig. 4), the lock tab includes a ramp portion (same as 560, Fig. 4; also see ramp portion in cropped Fig. 5 below);
a retention mechanism (same as retention recess between 36 and exterior protrusion shown in Figs. 4-5) permanently mounted within the drive carrier, wherein the retention mechanism slides along the ramp portion of the lock tab as the first latch transition from the first position to the second position (as shown in Figs. 4 and 5); and
a second latch (36, Figs. 1-5) configured to slide between a third position (same as Fig. 4) and a fourth position (same as Fig. 5), a first end of the second latch in physical communication with a portion of the first latch when the second latch is in the third position (36 contact 50 as shown in Fig. 4), wherein the handle transitions from the locked position to the unlocked position when both the first latch is in the second position (not explicitly shown, but slide 50 toward left to release main handle of 30 in Fig. 5) and the second latch is in the fourth position (shown in Fig. 5; note these can happen at same time as long a user apply force to slide 50 toward left in Fig. 5).
Zhang does not teach wherein the device is a cold plug device to be inserted within a server. However, Escamilla teaches a device is a cold plug device (202, Fig. 2) to be inserted within a server (200, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device is a cold plug device to be inserted within a server in Zhang, as taught by Escamilla, in order to utilize the driver carrier for a cost-effective cold-plug device in a server.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the drive carrier of claim 1, and Zhang further teaches a first spring (80, Figs. 1-5) to bias the second latch towards the third position (as shown in Fig. 4; col. 5, lns. 20-30: “… The handle 30 of the disclosure is able to slide under the force of the first elastic member 80…”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the drive carrier of claim 2, and Zhang further teaches a second spring (58, Figs. 1-5) to bias the first latch towards the first position (as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the drive carrier of claim 1, and Zhang further teaches wherein the first latch (50) transitions from the first position to the second position in response to a first force (such as user’s force on 50 to slide 50 to the left in Figs. 4 and 5) exerted on the first latch being greater than a force (elastic force of 58; note that obviously a user’s force needs to be greater to overcome elastic force of 58 in order to slide 50) of the second spring to bias the first latch in the first position.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the drive carrier of claim 1, and Zhang further teaches the retention mechanism includes a component (360 and/or exterior protrusion of 30, Figs. 2, 4-5) to receive the lock tab (56, Figs. 4-5) when the first latch is in the first position (as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7 as best understood, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the drive carrier of claim 6, and Zhang further teaches wherein the lock tab holds the first latch in the first position when the lock tab is located within the component of the retention mechanism (as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the drive carrier of claim 1, and Escamilla further teaches a label (1018, Fig. 10) for the cold plug device (1018, Fig. 10). However, Zhang in view of Escamilla does not teach the handle includes a label indicating that the device is the cold plug device. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a label indicating that the device is the cold plug device, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, sticking a label to an exterior, i.e. the handle of the device, to remind the user what kind of device is inserted into the server, is obvious to one of obvious skill in the art and does not yield any unexpected results.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches an information handling system (col. 1, lns. 16-35: “…computer chassis…”) comprising:
a device (HDD not shown) to be inserted within a slot (4, Figs. 4-5); and
a device carrier (8, Figs. 1-5) to be in physical communication with the device, the device carrier including:
a front portion (front of 4-6, Figs. 4-5) to be placed in physical communication with a front portion (front of HDD) of the device, the front portion including:
a handle (main handle of 30, Figs. 1-5) rotatable between a locked position (Fig. 4) and an unlocked position (Fig. 5);
a first latch (50, Figs. 1-5) in physical communication with the handle, the first latch configured to slide along the handle to transition (50 slide along 36 of 30, see Figs. 4-5) between a first position (same as Fig. 4) and a second position (not explicitly shown, but slide toward left to release main handle of 30 in Fig. 5), wherein the handle is held in the locked position when the first latch is in the first position (Fig. 4), wherein the first latch includes a lock tab (56, Figs. 4-5) to secure the first latch in the first position (as shown in Fig. 4), the lock tab includes a ramp portion (same as 560, Fig. 4; also see ramp portion in cropped Fig. 5 below);
a retention mechanism (same as retention recess between 36 and exterior protrusion shown in Figs. 4-5) permanently mounted within the drive carrier, wherein the retention mechanism slides along the ramp portion of the lock tab as the first latch transition from the first position to the second position (as shown in Figs. 4 and 5); and
a second latch (36, Figs. 1-5) configured to slide between a third position (same as Fig. 4) and a fourth position (same as Fig. 5), a first end of the second latch in physical communication with a portion of the first latch when the second latch is in the third position (36 contact 50 as shown in Fig. 4), wherein the handle transitions from the locked position to the unlocked position when both the first latch in the second position (not explicitly shown, but slide 50 toward left to release main handle of 30 in Fig. 5) and the second latch is in the fourth position (shown in Fig. 5; note these can happen at same time as long a user apply force to slide 50 toward left in Fig. 5).
Zhang does not teach a bay including a plurality of slots; a device to be inserted within one of the slots of the bay, wherein the device is a cold plug device to be inserted within the information handling system. However, Escamilla teaches a bay including a plurality of slots (see Fig. 2); a device (202, Fig. 2) to be inserted within one of the slots of the bay, wherein the device is a cold plug (same as 202) device to be inserted within an information handling system (col. 4, lns. 43-60: “…Each bay 201-216 may individually receive devices… cold plug devices 202…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a bay including a plurality of slots; a device to be inserted within one of the slots of the bay, wherein the device is a cold plug device to be inserted within the information handling system in Zhang, as taught by Escamilla, in order to utilize the driver carrier for a cost-effective cold-plug device in a server.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the information handling system of claim 9, and Zhang further teaches wherein the drive carrier further includes: a first spring (80, Figs. 1-5) to bias the second latch towards the third position (as shown in Fig. 4; col. 5, lns. 20-30: “… The handle 30 of the disclosure is able to slide under the force of the first elastic member 80…”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the information handling system of claim 10, and Zhang further teaches wherein the drive carrier further includes: a second spring (58, Figs. 1-5) to bias the first latch towards the first position (as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the information handling system of claim 9, and Zhang further teaches wherein the first latch (50) transitions from the first position to the second position in response to a first force (such as user’s force on 50 to slide 50 to the left in Figs. 4 and 5) exerted on the first latch being greater than a force (elastic force of 58; note that obviously a user’s force needs to be greater to overcome elastic force of 58 in order to slide 50) of the second spring to bias the first latch towards in the first position.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the information handling system of claim 9, and Zhang further teaches wherein the retention mechanism includes a component (360 and/or exterior protrusion of 30, Figs. 2, 4-5) to receive the lock tab (56, Figs. 4-5) when the first latch is in the first position (as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the information handling system of claim 14, and Zhang further teaches wherein the lock tab holds the first latch in the first position when the lock tab is located within the component of the retention mechanism (as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the information handling system of claim 9, and Escamilla further teaches a label (1018, Fig. 10) for the cold plug device (1018, Fig. 10). However, Zhang in view of Escamilla does not teach the handle includes a label indicating that the device is the cold plug device. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a label indicating that the device is the cold plug device, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, sticking a label to an exterior, i.e. the handle of the device, to remind the user what kind of device is inserted into the server, is obvious to one of obvious skill in the art and does not yield any unexpected results.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches a drive carrier (8, Figs. 1-5) for a device (HDD not shown) of an information handling system (col. 1, lns. 16-35: “…computer chassis…”), the drive carrier comprising:
a front portion (front of 4-6, Figs. 4-5) to be placed in physical communication with the device, the front portion including:
a handle (main handle of 30, Figs. 1-5) rotatable between a locked position (Fig. 4) and an unlocked position (Fig. 5);
a first latch (50, Figs. 1-5) in physical communication with the handle, the first latch configured to slide along the handle (50 slide along 36 of 30, see Figs. 4-5) to transition between a first position (same as Fig. 4) and a second position (not explicitly shown, but slide toward left to release main handle of 30 in Fig. 5), wherein the handle is held in the locked position when the first latch is in the first position (Fig. 4), wherein the first latch includes a lock tab (56, Figs. 4-5) to secure the first latch in the first position (as shown in Fig. 4), the lock tab includes a ramp portion (same as 560, Fig. 4; also see ramp portion in cropped Fig. 5 below);
a retention mechanism (same as retention recess between 36 and exterior protrusion shown in Figs. 4-5) permanently mounted within the drive carrier, wherein the retention mechanism slides along the ramp portion of the lock tab as the first latch transition from the first position to the second position (as shown in Figs. 4 and 5);
a first spring (58, Figs. 1-5) to bias the first latch towards the first position (as shown in Fig. 4), wherein the first latch transitions from the first position to the second position in response to a first force (such as user’s force on 50 to slide 50 to the left in Figs. 4 and 5) exerted in the first latch being greater than a force (elastic force of 58; note that obviously a user’s force needs to be greater to overcome elastic force of 58 in order to slide 50) of the first spring to bias the first latch towards the second position; and
a second latch (36, Figs. 1-5) configured to slide between a third position (same as Fig. 4) and a fourth position (same as Fig. 5), a first end of the second latch in physical communication with a portion of the first latch when the second latch is in the third position (36 contact 50 as shown in Fig. 4), wherein the handle transitions from the locked position to the unlocked position when both the first latch in the second position (not explicitly shown, but slide 50 toward left to release main handle of 30 in Fig. 5) and the second latch is in the fourth position (shown in Fig. 5).
Zhang does not teach wherein the device is a cold plug device to be inserted within a server. However, Escamilla teaches a device is a cold plug device (202, Fig. 2) to be inserted within a server (200, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device is a cold plug device to be inserted within a server in Zhang, as taught by Escamilla, in order to utilize the driver carrier for a cost-effective cold-plug device in a server.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the drive carrier of claim 17, and Zhang further teaches further comprising: a second spring (80, Figs. 1-5) to bias the second latch towards the third position (as shown in Fig. 4; col. 5, lns. 20-30: “… The handle 30 of the disclosure is able to slide under the force of the first elastic member 80…”).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Escamilla teaches the drive carrier of claim 17, and Zhang further wherein the retention mechanism includes a component (360 and/or exterior protrusion of 30, Figs. 2, 4-5) to receive the lock tab (56, Figs. 4-5) when the first latch is in the first position (as shown in Fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-18 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Examiner recommends applicant to add more structural detail to the retention mechanism, such as the ramp 602 and catch 604 in relation with the first latch 522 shown in Figs. 5-7.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841