Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Rappoport et al. (US Patent No. 9658648 B2 and Rappoport hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Rappoport discloses (figs. 1-8 and annotated figs below) an electronic device comprising: a printed circuit board (28); and a flat cable (32) having an end electrically connected to the printed circuit board, wherein the flat cable comprises: a cable connector (fig.2) at the end of the flat cable and coupled to the printed circuit board; a curved part (U-shaped portion, fig.2) having a curved shape; and an elastic bracket (46, fig.5) comprising an elastic material, the elastic bracket coupled to at least one end of opposite ends of the curved part and configured to apply an elastic contraction force (54) in a direction in which the opposite ends of the curved part become closer to each other (fig.5).
Regarding Claim 3, Rappoport discloses (figs. 1-8) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the curved part has a U-shape (fig.2).
Regarding Claim 4, Rappoport discloses (figs. 1-8) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the elastic bracket comprises: a flexible part configured to extend or contract along a direction of tension applied to the flat cable; and at least one fixing part fixed to the at least one end of opposite ends of the curved part of the flat cable.
Regarding Claim 5, Rappoport discloses (figs. 1-8) the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the at least one fixing part comprises an adhesive member (52) at a surface of the at least one fixing part and attached to a surface of the flat cable.
Regarding Claim 6, Rappoport discloses (figs. 1-8) the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the flexible part is further configured so that a cross sectional area of the flexible part decreases in comparison with a cross sectional area of the at least one fixing part with respect to a direction of tension (56) applied to the flat cable (fig.5).
Regarding Claim 11, Rappoport discloses (figs. 1-8) a flat cable of an electronic device comprising a printed circuit board (28) to which the flat cable (32) is electrically connected, the flat cable comprising: a cable connector (fig.2) at one end of the flat cable and coupled to the printed circuit board; a curved part (fig.2) having a curved shape; and an elastic bracket (46) comprising an elastic material, the elastic bracket coupled to at least one end of opposite ends of the curved part and configured to apply an elastic contraction force (54) in a direction in which the opposite ends of the curved part become closer to each other (fig.5).
Regarding Claim 13, Rappoport discloses (figs. 1-8) the flat cable of claim 11, wherein the curved part has a U-shape.
Regarding Claim 14, Rappoport discloses (figs. 1-8) the flat cable of claim 11, wherein the elastic bracket comprises: a flexible part configured to extend or contract along a direction of tension applied to the flat cable; and at least one fixing part fixed to the at least one end of opposite ends of the curved part.
Regarding Claim 15, Rappoport discloses (figs. 1-8) the flat cable of claim 14, wherein the at least one fixing part comprises an adhesive member (52) at a surface of the at least one fixing part and attached to a surface of the flat cable.
Regarding Claim 16, Rappoport discloses (figs. 1-8) the flat cable of claim 14, wherein the flexible part is further configured so that a cross sectional area of the flexible part decreases in comparison with a cross sectional area of the at least one fixing part with respect to a direction of tension (56) applied to the flat cable (fig.5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappoport et al in view of Takashima et al (US Pub No. 2025/0013267 A1 and Takashima hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 2, Rappoport discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but fails to disclose at least two elements having different sizes, wherein the curved part of the flat cable overlaps a step formed by a size difference of the at least two elements.
However, Takashima teaches (annotated fig below) at least two elements (18 and 29) having different sizes, wherein the curved part of the flat cable (28) overlaps a step
formed by a size difference of the at least two elements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the curved part of the flat cable overlaps a step formed by a size difference of Takashima to device of Rappoport in order to provide an extra length portion in a flat cable can be maintained in an appropriate route to absorb changes in route length associated with changes in the rotation angle between chassis (Takashima and [0007]).
Regarding Claim 11, Rappoport discloses the flat cable of claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein the curved part overlaps a step formed by a size difference of at least two elements of the electronic device. However, Takashima teaches (annotated fig below) wherein the curved part overlaps a step formed by a size difference of at least two elements (18 and 29) of the electronic device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the curved part of the flat cable overlaps a step formed by a size difference of Takashima to device of Rappoport in order to provide an extra length portion in a flat cable can be maintained in an appropriate route to absorb changes in route length associated with changes in the rotation angle between chassis (Takashima and [0007]).
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappoport et al in view of Zamora et al (US Patent No. 6194664 B1 and Zamora hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 7, Rappoport discloses the electronic device of claim 6, but fails to disclose wherein a surface of the flexible part comprises perforated holes formed therein. However, Zamora teaches (fig.6) wherein a surface of the flexible part comprises perforated holes (169) formed therein. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a surface of the flexible part including perforated holes of Zamora to device of Rappoport in order to provide a flexed at its predefined hinge regions or flex points which are located at the formations (Zamora and col 5, lines 20-25).
Regarding Claim 8, Rappoport/Zamora discloses the electronic device of claim 7. Zamora further teaches(fig.6) wherein the elastic contraction force is based on to a number of the perforated holes (169) and an arrangement interval between the perforated holes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an arrangement interval between the perforated holes of Zamora to device of Rappoport in order to provide a flexed at its predefined hinge regions or flex points which are located at the formations (Zamora and col 5, lines 20-25).
Regarding Claim 17, Rappoport discloses the flat cable of claim 16, but fails to disclose wherein a surface of the flexible part comprises perforated holes formed therein. However, Zamora teaches (fig.6) wherein a surface of the flexible part comprises perforated holes formed therein. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a surface of the flexible part including perforated holes of Zamora to device of Rappoport in order to provide a flexed at its predefined hinge regions or flex points which are located at the formations (Zamora and col 5, lines 20-25)
Regarding Claim 18, Rappoport/Zamora discloses the flat cable of claim 17. However, Zamora teaches (fig.6) wherein the elastic contraction force is determined according to a number of the perforated holes (169) and an arrangement width of the perforated holes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a surface of the flexible part including perforated holes of Zamora to device of Rappoport in order to provide a flexed at its predefined hinge regions or flex points which are located at the formations (Zamora and col 5, lines 20-25)
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappoport et al in view of Onuma et al (US Patent No. 7115006 B2 and Onuma hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 9, Rappoport discloses the electronic device of claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein the at least one fixing part comprises a lateral extension part extending in a width direction of the flat cable, and wherein the lateral extension part is folded to at least partially surround the flat cable. However, Onuma teaches (figs. 1-6) wherein the at least one fixing part (1) comprises a lateral extension part (11, 12) extending in a width direction of the flat cable (2), and wherein the lateral extension part is folded to at least partially surround the flat cable (figs.6A-C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a lateral extension part f fixing part extending in a width direction of the flat cable of Onuma to device of Rappoport in order to provide accurate longitudinal position of the coaxial cable (Onuma and col 4, lines 40-45)
Regarding Claim 10, Rappoport/Onuma discloses the electronic device of claim 9. Onuma further (figs. 1-6) teaches wherein the flat cable further comprises a fixing groove (22) formed by reducing a width in an area corresponding to the lateral extension part, and wherein the lateral extension part is in the fixing groove (fig.5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lateral extension part that is in the fixing groove of Onuma to device of Rappoport in order to accurately be positioned only by aligning the cable so as to be accommodated between the lateral extension part (Onuma and col 4, lines 35-40)
Regarding Claim 19, Rappoport discloses the flat cable of claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the at least one fixing part further comprises a lateral extension part extending in a width direction of the flat cable, and wherein the lateral extension part is configured to at least partially surround the flat cable. However, Onuma teaches (figs. 1-6) wherein the at least one fixing part further comprises a lateral extension part (11-12) extending in a width direction of the flat cable, and wherein the lateral extension part is configured to at least partially surround the flat cable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a lateral extension part of fixing part extending in a width direction of the flat cable of Onuma to device of Rappoport in order to provide accurate longitudinal position of the coaxial cable (Onuma and col 4, lines 40-45)
Regarding Claim 20, Rappoport/Onuma discloses the flat cable of claim 19. Onuma further (figs. 1-6) teaches wherein the flat cable comprises a fixing groove (22) formed by reducing a width in an area corresponding to the lateral extension part, and wherein the lateral extension part is in the fixing groove. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lateral extension part that is in the fixing groove of Onuma to device of Rappoport in order to accurately be positioned only by aligning the cable so as to be accommodated between the lateral extension part (Onuma and col 4, lines 35-40)
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841