DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 6, 2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamibayashi et al. (US 20170151810 A1), hereinafter Kamibayashi, in view of Inui et al. (JP 3610109 B2), hereinafter Inui. All textual references to Inui are drawn from the attached machine translation (non-patent literature, “JP 3610109 B2 machine translation (Year: 2026)”).
Regarding claim 1, Kamibayashi teaches an inkjet image forming apparatus comprising: an image forming part which ejects ink on a printing base material conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction, based on image data to form an image (figs. 1, 2; medium 22, control unit 30, liquid ejecting head 36, ink nozzle rows LI1-4, Y direction; ¶[0037]); a precoating unit which is arranged on an upstream side of the image forming part in the conveyance direction, and performs a precoating treatment in which a precoating liquid is ejected on the printing base material (figs. 2, 9; pre-treatment liquid nozzle rows LP, regions B, B1, B2; ¶[0041]-[0045], [0083]-[0085]); and a control part which controls an amount of the precoating liquid ejected by the precoating unit (figs. 1, 6; control unit 30, determination unit 303, steps S101-S104; ¶[0037], [0052]-[0054], [0068]-[0074]).
However, Kamibayashi fails to teach or fairly suggest the control part controls an amount of the precoating liquid ejected to a region where adjacent pixels have different colors to 1.5 to 2 times an amount of the precoating liquid ejected to a region where adjacent pixels have the same color.
Inui teaches an inkjet printing apparatus comprising a processing liquid ejecting unit and a control part wherein the control part controls an amount of the processing liquid ejected to a region where adjacent pixels have different colors to 1.5 to 2 times an amount of the processing liquid ejected to a region where adjacent pixels have the same color (figs. 1, 4, 5d-e; recording head unit 103, reception buffer 401, CPU 402, image processing unit 402A, recording head control unit 410; ¶[0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0043], [0045]-[0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the control part of Inui into the inkjet image forming apparatus according to Kamibayashi in order to produce high quality images by reducing bleed between inks of different colors while reducing the total consumption of precoating liquid (see Inui, ¶[0012]-[0013], [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Kamibayashi as modified by Inui teaches the inkjet image forming apparatus according to claim 1. Inui further teaches the control part determines whether the adjacent pixels have the different colors or not, based on the image data (fig. 4; image processing unit 402A; ¶[0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Kamibayashi as modified by Inui teaches the inkjet image forming apparatus according to claim 1. Kamibayashi further teaches the image forming part includes a head unit which ejects the ink, the precoating unit includes a head unit which ejects the precoating liquid, and both the head units have the same structure (figs. 2, 3; liquid ejection head 36, pre-treatment liquid nozzle rows LP, ink nozzle rows LI1-4, second region nozzles N[B], nozzles N[C, M, Y, K]; ¶[0041]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 4, Kamibayashi as modified by Inui teaches the inkjet image forming apparatus according to claim 1. Kamibayashi further teaches the printing base material is a plastic film (¶[0051]-[0052], [0057]-[0058]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 3-4 of Remarks, filed July 1, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3 under 35 USC § 102 (a)(1) and claim 4 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kamibayashi et al. (US 20170151810 A1) in view of Inui et al. (JP 3610109 B2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853