DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 13-15, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’leary et al. (US 2022/0247918 A1) in view of Zumkhawala (US 2014/0372844 A1).
8. With reference to claim 1, O’leary teaches An image display method, (“An example method includes, at a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more cameras: displaying, via the display generation component, a live video communication interface for a live video communication session, the live video communication interface including one or more representations of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras;” [0016] “Optical sensor 164 receives light from the environment, projected through one or more lenses, and converts the light to data representing an image. In conjunction with imaging module 143 (also called a camera module), optical sensor 164 optionally captures still images or video. In some embodiments, an optical sensor is located on the back of device 100, opposite touch screen display 112 on the front of the device so that the touch screen display is enabled for use as a viewfinder for still and/or video image acquisition.” [0081]) O’leary also teaches acquiring a parent view size and an actual capture size of a current camera in response to a change in a number of interaction objects, wherein the parent view size indicates a size of a preview box of an image of an interaction object displayed on an interaction interface; (“In response to detecting the change in position of Jane 622, device 600 performs a transition (e.g., a jump cut transition) where camera preview 606 depicts a zoomed in view of Jane in scene 615. … In FIG. 6K, another subject, Jack 628, walks into scene 615. Device 600 continues to display video conference interface 604 with the same camera preview as depicted in FIG. 6J. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 6K, device 600 detects Jack 628 within field-of-view 620, but maintains the same video feed field-of-view while Jack 628 is moving about the scene or until Jack 628 moves to a particular location in the scene (e.g., closer to the center of the scene). … device 600 automatically adjusts the camera preview in response to detecting a change in the number of subjects detected within field-of-view 620 (such as when Jack 628 entered scene 615). As depicted in FIG. 6L, portion 625 represents the adjusted video feed field-of-view, and portion 627 represents the dimensions of the video feed field-of-view prior to being adjusted in FIG. 6L. When compared to the video feed field-of-view in FIG. 6K, the adjusted field-of-view in FIG. 6L is zoomed out and re-centered on Jane 622 and Jack 628, as depicted in camera preview 606.” [0248-250]) O’leary further teaches determining a target size according to the parent view size and the at least one capture size; updating the parent view size to the target size, and adjusting the actual capture size of the current camera to the target size, according to the target size. (“portion 625 represents the adjusted video feed field-of-view, and portion 627 represents the dimensions of the video feed field-of-view prior to being adjusted in FIG. 6L. When compared to the video feed field-of-view in FIG. 6K, the adjusted field-of-view in FIG. 6L is zoomed out and re-centered on Jane 622 and Jack 628, as depicted in camera preview 606. “ [0250] “device 600 detects that Jane 622 has entered scene 615, within field-of-view 620. In response, device 600 updates video conference interface 604 by displaying add affordance 632 in the camera preview region. Add affordance 632 is selectable to adjust the displayed video feed field-of-view to include additional subjects detected within field-of-view 620.” [0255] “adjusting the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (e.g., 606) during the live video communication session includes: 1) in accordance with a determination that a first set of criteria is met, including that the scene includes a subject (e.g., 622) (e.g., one or more users of the computer system) detected at a first position (within the field-of-view 620 of the one or more cameras; in FIG. 6F), displaying the live video communication interface 604 having a representation of a first field-of-view (e.g., 606 in FIG. 6F) (e.g., the live video communication interface is displayed with a first digital zoom level and a first displayed portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras) (in some embodiments, the representation of the first field-of-view includes a representation of the subject while the subject is located at the first position); and 2) in accordance with a determination that a second set of criteria is met, including that the subject is detected at a second position (e.g., 625 in FIG. 6H) different from the first position, displaying the live video communication interface having a representation of a second field-of-view (e.g., 606 in FIG. 6H) different from the representation of the first field-of-view (e.g., the live video communication interface is displayed with a second digital zoom level and/or a second displayed portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras) (e.g., a representation of a field-of-view that is zoomed in, zoomed out, and/or panned in a direction relative to the representation of the first field-of-view) (in some embodiments, the representation of the second field-of-view includes a representation of the subject while the subject is located at the second position). In some embodiments, when the first camera mode is selected for use (e.g., enabled), the representation of the field-of-view changes automatically (e.g., without changing the actual field-of-view of the one or more cameras) in response to a detected change in position of the subject and/or in response to detecting a second subject entering or leaving the field-of-view of the one or more cameras. For example, the representation of the field-of-view changes to track the position of the subject and adjusts a displayed position and/or zoom level (e.g., digital zoom level) to more prominently display the subject (e.g., changing the digital zoom level to appear to be zooming in on the subject as they move away from the camera; changing the digital zoom level to appear to be zooming out from the subject as they move toward the camera; changing the displayed portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras to appear to be panning in a particular direction as the subject moves in that direction).)” [0270])
O’leary does not explicitly teach in response to the parent view size being different from the actual capture size, acquiring at least one capture size supported by the current camera; This is what Zumkhawala teaches (“FIGS. 5A and 5B are illustrations that exemplify how the interface will make adjustments when the preview 500A and captured image 500B are of different dimensions. In responding to a request to capture an image 451, the interface will capture an image that may differ in dimensions and resolution from the camera view 102. For example, here the preview is in a rectangular frame 501 with a 4:3 ratio, in contrast to the captured image, which is in a rectangular frame 503 with a 2:3 ratio. Some mobile device displays are of ratios or geometries different than the captured image, therein the interface may choose to not display within the camera view 102 all available camera image data. Here, data is clipped in the preview 500A whereas it is present in the captured image 500B. The exemplary dotted border 504 illustrates the clipping present in the preview 500A as it relates to the unclipped captured image 500B.” [0043-0044]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zumkhawala into O’leary, in order to achieve with an efficient, minimal set of user interactions for capturing image.
9. With reference to claim 5, O’leary teaches before the acquiring a parent view size and an actual capture size of a current camera in response to a change in a number of interaction objects, the image display method further comprises: in response to an interaction success instruction, acquiring the number of the interaction objects having joined the interaction. (“FIG. 6F depicts scene 615 and device 600 when the automatic framing mode is enabled in response to input 614 to accept the incoming request to join the video conference while the automatic framing mode is enabled (or, alternatively, in response to input 626 to enable the automatic framing mode). Accordingly, device 600 displays representation 622-1 of Jane centered in camera preview 606.” [0242] “device 600 automatically adjusts the camera preview in response to detecting a change in the number of subjects detected within field-of-view 620 (such as when Jack 628 entered scene 615). As depicted in FIG. 6L, portion 625 represents the adjusted video feed field-of-view, and portion 627 represents the dimensions of the video feed field-of-view prior to being adjusted in FIG. 6L. When compared to the video feed field-of-view in FIG. 6K, the adjusted field-of-view in FIG. 6L is zoomed out and re-centered on Jane 622 and Jack 628, as depicted in camera preview 606.” [0250] “the detected change in the scene (e.g., 615) in the field-of-view (e.g., 620) of the one or more cameras (e.g., 602) includes a detected change in a number (e.g., amount; quantity) of subjects (e.g., 622; 628) detected in the scene (e.g., a detected change in a number of subjects detected in the scene that satisfy a first set of criteria (e.g., the subject(s) is positioned in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras and, optionally, is stationary) (e.g., one or more subjects entering or exiting the scene in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras)). In some embodiments, adjusting the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (e.g., 606) during the live video communication session based on the detected change in the scene in the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes adjusting the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras during the live video communication session based on (in some embodiments, in response to) the detected change in the number of subjects detected in the scene (e.g., that satisfy the first set of criteria) (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 6L and/or FIG. 6N). … when the automatic framing mode is enabled, the computer system (e.g., 600) adjusts (e.g., reframes) the displayed portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras based on the number of subjects detected within the field-of-view of the one or more cameras. For example, when the number of subjects detected in the scene increases, the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras changes (e.g., zooms out) to include the additional subjects (e.g., along with the subjects that were previously detected). Similarly, when the number of subjects detected in the scene decreases, the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras changes (e.g., zooms in) to capture the subject(s) remaining in the scene.” [0276])
10. With reference to claim 6, O’leary teaches the target size is any one of the at least one capture size. (“portion 625 represents the adjusted video feed field-of-view, and portion 627 represents the dimensions of the video feed field-of-view prior to being adjusted in FIG. 6L. When compared to the video feed field-of-view in FIG. 6K, the adjusted field-of-view in FIG. 6L is zoomed out and re-centered on Jane 622 and Jack 628, as depicted in camera preview 606. “ [0250] “when the number of subjects detected in the scene increases, the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras changes (e.g., zooms out) to include the additional subjects (e.g., along with the subjects that were previously detected). Similarly, when the number of subjects detected in the scene decreases, the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras changes (e.g., zooms in) to capture the subject(s) remaining in the scene.” [0276])
11. With reference to claim 7, O’leary teaches the acquiring a parent view size and an actual capture size of a current camera in response to a change in a number of interaction objects, comprises: in response to the number of the interaction objects being greater than a threshold, acquiring the parent view size and the actual capture size of the current camera in response to the change in the number of interaction objects. (“In response to detecting the change in position of Jane 622, device 600 performs a transition (e.g., a jump cut transition) where camera preview 606 depicts a zoomed in view of Jane in scene 615. … In FIG. 6K, another subject, Jack 628, walks into scene 615. Device 600 continues to display video conference interface 604 with the same camera preview as depicted in FIG. 6J. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 6K, device 600 detects Jack 628 within field-of-view 620, but maintains the same video feed field-of-view while Jack 628 is moving about the scene or until Jack 628 moves to a particular location in the scene (e.g., closer to the center of the scene). … device 600 automatically adjusts the camera preview in response to detecting a change in the number of subjects detected within field-of-view 620 (such as when Jack 628 entered scene 615). As depicted in FIG. 6L, portion 625 represents the adjusted video feed field-of-view, and portion 627 represents the dimensions of the video feed field-of-view prior to being adjusted in FIG. 6L. When compared to the video feed field-of-view in FIG. 6K, the adjusted field-of-view in FIG. 6L is zoomed out and re-centered on Jane 622 and Jack 628, as depicted in camera preview 606.” [0248-250] “when the number of subjects detected in the scene increases, the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras changes (e.g., zooms out) to include the additional subjects (e.g., along with the subjects that were previously detected). Similarly, when the number of subjects detected in the scene decreases, the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras changes (e.g., zooms in) to capture the subject(s) remaining in the scene.” [0276])
12. With reference to claim 8, O’leary teaches the threshold is equal to a minimum number of the interaction objects which causes preview pictures of images of the interaction objects to be stretched or compressed. (“In response to detecting the change in position of Jane 622, device 600 performs a transition (e.g., a jump cut transition) where camera preview 606 depicts a zoomed in view of Jane in scene 615. … In FIG. 6K, another subject, Jack 628, walks into scene 615. Device 600 continues to display video conference interface 604 with the same camera preview as depicted in FIG. 6J. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 6K, device 600 detects Jack 628 within field-of-view 620, but maintains the same video feed field-of-view while Jack 628 is moving about the scene or until Jack 628 moves to a particular location in the scene (e.g., closer to the center of the scene). … device 600 automatically adjusts the camera preview in response to detecting a change in the number of subjects detected within field-of-view 620 (such as when Jack 628 entered scene 615). As depicted in FIG. 6L, portion 625 represents the adjusted video feed field-of-view, and portion 627 represents the dimensions of the video feed field-of-view prior to being adjusted in FIG. 6L. When compared to the video feed field-of-view in FIG. 6K, the adjusted field-of-view in FIG. 6L is zoomed out and re-centered on Jane 622 and Jack 628, as depicted in camera preview 606.” [0248-250] “when the number of subjects detected in the scene increases, the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras changes (e.g., zooms out) to include the additional subjects (e.g., along with the subjects that were previously detected). Similarly, when the number of subjects detected in the scene decreases, the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras changes (e.g., zooms in) to capture the subject(s) remaining in the scene.” [0276])
13. Claim 9 is similar in scope to claim 1, and thus is rejected under similar rationale. O’leary additionally teaches An electronic device, comprising: a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is used for storing a computer program; the processor is used for causing, when executing the computer program, the electronic device to implement an image display method (“an electronic device that includes a display and a touch-sensitive surface is described.” [0060] “Device 100 includes memory 102 (which optionally includes one or more computer-readable storage mediums), memory controller 122, one or more processing units (CPUs) 120, peripherals interface 118, RF circuitry 108, audio circuitry 110, speaker 111, microphone 113, input/output (I/O) subsystem 106, other input control devices 116, and external port 124.” [0063] “The one or more processors 120 run or execute various software programs (such as computer programs (e.g., including instructions)) and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 102 to perform various functions for device 100 and to process data.” [0068] “Memory 518 of personal electronic device 500 can include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, for storing computer-executable instructions, which, when executed by one or more computer processors 516, for example, can cause the computer processors to perform the techniques described below, including processes 700, 900, 1100, 1300, and 1400 (FIGS. 7A, 7B, 9, 11, 13, and 14).” [0203])
14. Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 1, and thus is rejected under similar rationale. O’leary additionally teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein, on the computer readable storage medium is stored a computer program which, when executed by a computing device, causes the computing device to implement an image display method (“The one or more processors 120 run or execute various software programs (such as computer programs (e.g., including instructions)) and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 102 to perform various functions for device 100 and to process data.” [0068] “Memory 518 of personal electronic device 500 can include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, for storing computer-executable instructions, which, when executed by one or more computer processors 516, for example, can cause the computer processors to perform the techniques described below, including processes 700, 900, 1100, 1300, and 1400 (FIGS. 7A, 7B, 9, 11, 13, and 14).” [0203])
15. Claims 13 and 19 are similar in scope to claim 5, and they are rejected under similar rationale.
16. Claims 14 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 6, and they are rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claims 2-4, 10-12 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 16, the prior art of record fails to either individually or in combination teach the claimed feature of “determining at least one capture size meeting a preset condition from the at least one capture size according to the parent view size; determining the target size according to the at least one capture size meeting the preset condition and the parent view size.”
Claims 3 and 4 are also objected to for depending from claim 2.
Claims 11 and 12 are also objected to for depending from claim 10.
Claims 17 and 18 are also objected to for depending from claim 16.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE CHIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614