DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/18/2024. These drawings are accepted for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 15 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With respect to claims 15 and 17, Applicants’ recitation indicates some other substance being detected in lieu of the recitation of claims 1 and 16. This contradicts the independent claims and accordingly does not provide definite scope (as the claims are open-endedly directed to “other substance” without qualification, should Applicant define the meets and bounds of this limitation, express recitation as to the specification portion which teaches the amended version is required). Regarding claim 7, recitation of a least about 10MHz is unclear as there is no lower/upper bound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Franceschini et al (US 2019/0261869).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 16, Franceschini et al disclose and teach a system and method of autocorrelation during photon detection by a photodetector wherein detection indications are delivered at two separate temporal times for detection of photons and sampled to generate presence indication and autocorrelation of the outputs indicating detection (0007, claim 45, 0051-0056, 0064) The detector is a photodetector (Claim 45), can be setup as a SPAD (0118), the generation of the autocorrelated signals is based on multiple pairs of first and second digitized signals, wherein the detector includes many photodetectors configured to detect the photons and presence indications are based off detection at each detector (0007, 0110-0111, 0119-0127) , wherein the generation of 0V with no photon and voltages in a set range indicates detection (0112-0115).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 10-13, Franceschini et al disclose the sampling occurs over a time period (0064, 0077, 0080, 0087), the frequency of sampling can be above the 10MHz range (0119-0120, 50MHz (20ns)), the connection can include a USB connection (0077, 0109) or wireless communication (0069), and the processing can include cloud-based processing (0109, 0064).
Regarding claims 14-15 and 17, Franceschini et al disclose the detector including more than one photodetector and more than one presence indicator (0117-0120), the detection of NIR datapoints (0003), and whereby the processor generates autocorrelation indications based on the detection(s) once digitized (0007, 0118-0127).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franceschini et al (US 2019/0261869) in view of Valle et al (US 2021/0290064).
With respect to instant claims 9 and 18, Franceschini et al fails to expressly disclose or teach the use of binary indications in the sampling, nor the compression of the digital presence data, and disclosed voltage range for detection. Attention is hereby directed to the teaching reference to Valle et al which expressly discloses and teaches the use of binary indications in the sampling (0107), as well as the compression of the digital presence data (0050, element 208). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the teachings of Valle et al for the compression and binary indication of detections with the system of Franceschini et al for the purpose of allowing for correlated photon counting at high resolution and frequencies (0003-0004, Valle).
With respect to claim 6, Franceschini et al discloses the detection voltage but fails to expressly disclose the prescribed range of voltage indicators recited. Attention is directed to Valle et al which expressly discloses a count/time to voltage circuit (claim 2, 15, 20). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide baseline and indication voltages at the detection times (see claims 15-17, Valle) in a desired range, as the set voltage range is a result effective variable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes reference to Parker (US 2025/0169726) which discloses an NIR spectroscopy method with autocorrelation functionality and high resolution detection.
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798