DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8, 10-11, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minta (US 20100186445 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Minta discloses a system for processing a gas produced from an oil and gas well (Fig. 1; [0013]), the system comprising:
a plurality of fluid flow paths ((i) path through #10a and (ii) path through #11) in fluid communication with a wellbore (inherently present. Feed gas is extracted from a wellbore), the plurality of fluid flow paths comprising:
a first segment #10a in fluid communication with one or more containers (either #80 or any structure that receives LNG #15. Also note that “one or more containers” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Thus, the phrase “in fluid communication with one or more containers” is a functional or relational limitation); and
a second segment #11 in fluid communication with a pipeline ([0024]: #11 is in fluid communication with loop #5; which is a pipeline. Loop #5 qualifies as a pipeline at least because it is used to transport gas. Also note that “a pipeline” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Thus, the phrase “in fluid communication with a pipeline” is a functional or relational limitation; rather than a structural component of the device. Thus, even if applicant argues that loop #5 is not a pipeline, segment #11 is capable of connecting to a pipeline to allow fluid flow. Accordingly, Minta meets all the limitations of a second segment in fluid communication with a pipeline);
at least one heat exchanger #50 in thermal communication with the first segment and the second segment (at least via lines #10b & #13a within #50), the at least one heat exchanger configured to cool the gas in the first segment ([0024]); and
a compressor #25 in fluid communication with the first segment, the compressor configured to compress the gas in the first segment ([0024]).
Regarding claim 2:
Minta further discloses an expander #40 in fluid communication with the second segment (see Fig. 1), the expander configured to supply power as the gas in the second segment flows through the expander ([0021]).
Regarding claim 4:
Minta further discloses wherein the gas in the first segment flows through the compressor #25 prior to flowing through the at least one heat exchanger #50 (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5:
Minta further discloses wherein the gas in the second segment is heated by the at least one heat exchanger prior to being delivered to the pipeline ([0021] & [0024]).
Regarding claim 8:
The subject matter claimed here is substantially similar to that of claim 2. Thus, for sake of simplicity, conciseness, and brevity, please refer to the rejection of claim 2 above for the rejection of claims 8.
Regarding claim 10:
Minta further discloses wherein the gas in the first segment flows through the compressor #25 prior to flowing through the at least one heat exchanger #50 (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11:
Minta further discloses wherein the gas in the second segment is heated by the at least one heat exchanger prior to being delivered to the pipeline ([0021] & [0024]).
Regarding claim 14:
If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. Thus, the method of claim 14, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus of claim 1. See MPEP 2112.02.
Regarding claim 15:
Minta further discloses heating the gas in the second segment with the at least one heat exchanger prior to delivering the gas in the second segment to the pipeline ([0021] & [0024]).
Regarding claim 16:
Minta further discloses wherein the gas in the first segment flows through the at least one compressor prior to flowing through the at least one heat exchanger (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18:
Minta further discloses supplying power, by an expander #40 in fluid communication with the second segment, as gas in the second segment flows through the expander ([0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minta (US 20100186445 A1) in view of Tremblay (US 20170074583 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 13:
Minta discloses all the limitations, except for a plurality of valves coupled to the plurality of fluid flow paths; a controller in electronic communication with at least one valve of the plurality of valves; and
a plurality of sensors coupled to at least one of the wellbore or the plurality of fluid flow paths, the plurality of sensors being in electronic communication with the controller; wherein the controller is configured to actuate at least one valve of the plurality of valves, based at least in part on a signal from the plurality of sensors, to direct a flow of at least one portion of the gas.
In other words, the difference between the prior art and the claim herein so far is the fact that valves along with a controller are provided to control distribution of the gas to the fluid flow paths.
Nonetheless, Because Minta clearly discloses that feed stream is the side stream 11 of feed gas to be used as the refrigerant in expander loop 5 may be withdrawn from the feed gas stream 10 ([0019]); and because it is known in the art to use a valve along with a controller to optimize flow control (see for example Tremblay, [0064-0065]); it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus/method of Minta with the claimed arrangement above.
One on ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that doing so would have yielded the predictable result of optimizing gas flow to their respective fluid flow paths; whereby optimal processing of gas stream will be achieved.
Regarding claim 17:
If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. Thus, the method of claim 17, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus of claim 7. See MPEP 2112.02.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 9, 12, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
There is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art of record so as to (i) cool the gas in the second segment via the at least one heat exchanger before allowing the gas in the second segment to flow through the expander as required by claims 6, 12, and 19; at least because the at least one heat exchanger of Minta is configured instead to heat the gas in the second segment (see Minta, [0021] & [0024]); and (ii) to provide the plurality of fluid flow paths with at least one of: (a) a third segment in fluid communication with the expander and the pipeline, wherein the gas in the third segment bypasses the at least one heat exchanger as the gas in the third segment is delivered from the wellbore to the expander; or (b) a fourth segment in fluid communication with the one or more storage devices, wherein the gas in the fourth segment bypasses the at least one heat exchanger as the gas in the fourth segment is delivered from the wellbore to the one or more storage devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 06/17/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant submitted that side stream 11 of Minta is fed to an expander loop 5 as refrigerant; not a pipeline as required by Claim 1. It was pointed out to the applicant that loop #5 qualifies as a pipeline at least because it is used to transport gas ([0024]). Also, “a pipeline” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Thus, the phrase “in fluid communication with a pipeline” is a functional or relational limitation; rather than a structural component of the device. Thus, even if applicant argues that loop #5 is not a pipeline, segment #11 is capable of connecting to a pipeline to allow fluid flow. Accordingly, Minta meets all the limitations of “a second segment in fluid communication with a pipeline”. Accordingly, Minta clearly discloses the arrangement of the plurality of fluid flow paths as required by claim 1.
Applicant further submitted that claim 14 recites, "storing the gas in the first segment in the one or more containers as CNG"; which is not contemplated by Minta. It was pointed out to the applicant that either #80 or any structure that receives LNG #15 is a container that stores the gas in the first segment. Gas-liquid separation unit #80 is clearly a container that stores CNG (see [0025]). It was also pointed out to the applicant that “one or more containers” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Thus, the phrase “in fluid communication with one or more containers” is a functional or relational limitation; rather than a structural component of the device. Thus, Minta disclose all the limitations of independent Claim 14.
Refer to the 102 and 103 rejection sections above for the detailed rejection of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763