Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng (TW I309760B).
Regarding claim 1, Peng teaches a gravity heat dissipation device (paragraph 7, “heat dissipation device”), comprising:
a fixing frame (100 and 200 combined, Fig. 3, paragraph 7, “heat-conduction plate” and “heat sink” respectively);
a heat conduction block (100, Fig. 3, paragraph 7, “heat-conducting plate”) installed in the fixing frame to contact a heat source (100 is part of the combination of 100 and 200);
a first heat pipe (400, Fig. 5, paragraph 7, “heat pipe”) connected to the heat conduction block (paragraph 7, “heat pipes 400, which thermally connect the heat-conducting plate”), wherein the first heat pipe comprises
a heat absorption portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below), a connection portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below) and a heat dissipation portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
wherein the connection portion of the first heat pipe is connected between the heat absorption portion of the first heat pipe and the heat dissipation portion of the first heat pipe (See annotated Fig. 5 below), and the connection portion of the first heat pipe is located below the heat absorption portion of the first heat pipe and the heat dissipation portion of the first heat pipe (See annotated Fig. 5 below); and
a second heat pipe (400, Fig. 5, paragraph 7, “heat pipe”) connected to the heat conduction block (paragraph 7, “heat pipes 400, which thermally connect the heat-conducting plate”) and the first heat pipe (the first heat pipe and the second heat pipe are thermally connected by heat-conducting plate 100), wherein the second heat pipe comprises
a heat absorption portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below), a first connection portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below) and a first heat dissipation portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
wherein the first connection portion of the second heat pipe is connected between the heat absorption portion of the second heat pipe and the first heat dissipation portion of the second heat pipe (See annotated Fig. 5 below), and
the first connection portion of the second heat pipe is located above the heat absorption portion of the second heat pipe and the first heat dissipation portion of the second heat pipe (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
wherein the second heat pipe further comprises:
a second connection portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below) connected to and located below the heat absorption portion of the second heat pipe (See annotated Fig. 5 below; the second connection portion is below the heat absorption portion as the highest point of the second connection portion is below the highest point of the heat absorption portion); and
a second heat dissipation portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below) connected to the second connection portion of the second heat pipe and located below the second connection portion of the second heat pipe (See annotated Fig. 5 below; the second heat dissipation portion is below the second connection portion as the highest point of the second heat dissipation portion is below the highest point of the second connection portion).
Regarding claim 3, Peng teaches a third heat pipe (400, paragraph 31, “number of heat pipes 400 can be selected according to design needs, such as one, two, three or more”) connected to the heat conduction block (paragraph 7, “heat pipes 400, which thermally connect the heat-conducting plate”) and the second heat pipe (the second heat pipe and third heat pipe would be thermally connected by heat conducting plate 100, similar to how the first heat pipe and the second heat pipe are thermally connected by heat conducting plate 100) and components and limitations of components thereof (components and limitations of components of the third pipe as claimed are the same as components and limitations of components of the second pipe in claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, Peng teaches the second heat pipe and the third heat pipe in sequence are respectively disposed symmetrically on both sides of the first heat pipe (as the pipes are identical, having the middle pipe be the first pipe anticipates this claim).
Regarding claim 5, Peng teaches a fourth heat pipe (400, paragraph 31, “number of heat pipes 400 can be selected according to design needs, such as one, two, three or more”; See annotated Fig. 5 below) connected to the heat conduction block (paragraph 7, “heat pipes 400, which thermally connect the heat-conducting plate”) and the third heat pipe (the third heat pipe and fourth heat pipe would be thermally connected by heat conducting plate 100, similar to how the first heat pipe and the second heat pipe are thermally connected by heat conducting plate 100), wherein the fourth heat pipe comprises
a heat absorption portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below), a connection portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below) and a heat dissipation portion (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
wherein the connection portion of the fourth heat pipe is connected between the heat absorption portion of the fourth heat pipe and the heat dissipation portion of the fourth heat pipe (See annotated Fig. 5 below), and
the connection portion of the fourth heat pipe is located below the heat absorption portion of the fourth heat pipe and located above the heat dissipation portion of the fourth heat pipe (See annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 6, Peng teaches a fifth heat pipe (400, paragraph 31, “number of heat pipes 400 can be selected according to design needs, such as one, two, three or more”) connected to the heat conduction block (paragraph 7, “heat pipes 400, which thermally connect the heat-conducting plate”) and the fourth heat pipe (the fourth heat pipe and fifth heat pipe would be thermally connected by heat conducting plate 100, similar to how the first heat pipe and the second heat pipe are thermally connected by heat conducting plate 100) and components and limitations of components thereof (components and limitations of components of the fifth pipe as claimed are the same as components and limitations of components of the fourth pipe in claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, Peng teaches the second heat pipe, the third heat pipe, the fourth heat pipe and the fifth heat pipe are arranged sequentially outward from a first side of the first heat pipe, and another set of the second heat pipe, the third heat pipe, the fourth heat pipe and the fifth heat pipe are arranged sequentially outward from a second side of the first heat pipe.of the first heat pipe (having 9 identical pipes arranged side by side similarly to Fig. 5, with the middle heat pipe being the first heat pipe, anticipates this claim; one set of the second heat pipe, the third heat pipe, the fourth heat pipe and the fifth heat pipe are arranged sequentially outward from a first side of the first heat pipe, and another set is arranged sequentially outward from a second side of the first heat pipe, See annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 8, Peng teaches a first heat dissipation fin module (200, Fig. 4, paragraph 12, “heat sink”), wherein
the heat absorption portion of the first heat pipe and the heat dissipation portion of the first heat pipe,
the heat absorption portion of the second heat pipe and the first heat dissipation portion of the second heat pipe,
the heat absorption portion of the third heat pipe and the first heat dissipation portion of the third heat pipe,
the heat absorption portion of the fourth heat pipe, and
the heat absorption portion of the fifth heat pipe
are disposed inside the first heat dissipation fin module (Fig. 3, Fig. 4, claimed portions as described in previous claims are disposed partially inside 200).
Regarding claim 9, Peng teaches a second heat dissipation fin module (300, Fig. 4, paragraph 19, “heat dissipation fin assembly”) is separately disposed with the first heat dissipation fin module up and down (paragraph 19, “heat dissipation fin assembly 300… is located on top of the heat dissipator 200”; 300 would be above 200 when using the same angle used in annotated Fig. 5 of previous rejections), wherein
the second heat dissipation portion of the second heat pipe,
the second heat dissipation portion of the third heat pipe,
the heat dissipation portion of the fourth heat pipe and
the heat dissipation portion of the fifth heat pipe
are disposed inside the second heat dissipation fin module (Fig. 4, claimed portions as described in previous claims are disposed partially inside 300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (TW I309760B) as applied to claims 1-9 above, and further in view of Zhou (TW 2008/26815).
Regarding claim 10, Peng does not teach
a module fixing bracket fixed on the first heat dissipation fin module and the second heat dissipation fin module; and
a fan module fixed on the module fixing bracket.
However, Zhou teaches a heat dissipation device (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph 6) including a heat sink (10, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph 6) and a fan (20, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph 6). The heat sink includes a base (12, Fig. 2, paragraph 8), a first heatsink fin assembly (18, Fig. 2, paragraph 8), and heat pipes (14, Fig. 2, paragraph 8) for connecting the base and the first heatsink fin assembly (paragraph 8). The heat pipe has a heat-absorbing part (140, paragraph 12) to absorb heat from the base 12 (paragraph 12) and a heat dissipation part (142, paragraph 22) disposed in contact with the first heatsink fin assembly.
Zhou also teaches slots (186, Fig. 2, paragraph 23) formed on opposite sides of the first heatsink fin assembly (18, Fig. 2, paragraph 23), where a fan mounting bracket (30, Fig. 2, paragraph 23, “module fixing bracket” of claim) is secured in the slot, and the fan (20, Fig. 2, paragraph 23, “fan module” of claim) is connected to the fan mounting bracket by screws to connect with the first heatsink fin assembly (paragraph 23). Additionally, Zhou teaches adding a fan to one side of the heat dissipation device to accelerate airflow and to improve heat dissipation efficiency (paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gravity heat dissipation device (Peng: “heat dissipation device”) of Peng to fix a fan on the combined first and second heat dissipation fin module (Peng: 200, “heat sink”; 300, “heat dissipation fin assembly”) to accelerate airflow and to improve heat dissipation efficiency (Zhou: paragraph 2). This modification by fixing a fan would include forming slots (Zhou: 186) on opposite sides of the combined dissipation fin modules, securing a fan mounting bracket (Zhou: 30) in each slot, and connecting a fan (Zhou: 20) to the fan mounting brackets by screws.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (TW I309760B) and Zhou (TW 2008/26815) as applied to claims 10 above, and further in view of Lin (CN 214627800).
Regarding claim 11, Peng (modified by Zhou) teaches the fan module comprises:
a fan fixing frame (Zhou: housing of fan 20, Fig. 2) fixed on the module fixing bracket (Zhou: 30, Fig. 2, paragraph 23, “fan 20 is connected to the fan mounting bracket 30 by screws”).
Peng (modified by Zhou) does not teach a plurality of fans installed on the fan fixing frame.
However, Lin teaches a heat dissipation module (1, Fig. 3A, paragraph 34) including a base as a heat-conducting block (11, Fig. 3A, paragraph 34), heat pipes (12, Fig. 3A, paragraph 34) having a heat absorption end (121, Fig. 1, paragraph 34) of the plurality of heat pipes directly integrated into the base, and heat dissipation units (14, Fig. 3A, paragraph 37) coupled to the heat dissipation ends (122, Fig. 3A, paragraph 37) of the plurality of heat pipes and including heat dissipation fins (141, Fig. 3A, paragraph 37). Lin also teaches the heat dissipation module further includes at least one fan (2, Fig. 3A, paragraph 42) selectively disposed on one side of the base or the one side or center of the plurality of radiating fins (141, paragraph 42) to guide airflow to the plurality of radiating fins for heat exchange to achieve forced heat dissipation (paragraph 42).
Therefore, duplicating the number of fans on one side of the combined heat dissipation fin modules (Peng: 200, “heat sink”; 300, “heat dissipation fin assembly”) would not have affected the operation of the gravity heat dissipation device (Peng: “heat dissipation device”) as Lin teaches having at least one fan on one side of the fins would not have affected the similar heat dissipation module of Lin as described above. Such duplication is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the number of fans is significant. (See reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))
Additionally, making the fan fixing frame (Zhou: housing of fan 20, Fig. 2) of the plurality of fans integral or separate would not have affected the operation of the gravity heat dissipation device (Peng: “heat dissipation device”).
Therefore, making the fan fixing frame of the plurality of fans integral or separate is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that making the fan fixing frame of the two heat dissipation fin modules integral is significant. (See reLarson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)
Because of this modification, Peng teaches a plurality of fans (Zhou: fan inside housing of fan 20, Fig. 2) installed on the fan fixing frame (Zhou: joint housing of plurality of fans 20 on one side of the combined heat dissipation fin modules).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (TW 2008/50131) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu (TW 2011/03417) and Wu (TW 2014/18656).
Regarding claim 12, Peng does not teach the claimed first heat pipe particulars
However, Yu teaches a heat dissipation device including a substrate (10, Fig. 1, paragraph 11, analogous to base plate of Peng), where the substrate is brought into contact with a heat source (paragraph 7), a heat dissipation fin set (20, Fig. 1, paragraph 10), and four heat pipes (30, Fig. 1, paragraph 10, analogous to heat pipes of Peng). Yu teaches the heat pipes are all U-shaped, and the pipe body is made of a metal having good thermal conductivity such as copper (paragraph 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gravity heat dissipation device (Peng: “heat dissipation device”) of Peng to use copper as the pipe body for the first to fifth heat pipes (Peng: 400, “heat pipe”) because copper has good thermal conductivity. Using copper for the pipe body would provide good thermal conductivity for the absorption portions of the first to fifth heat pipes to absorb heat (paragraph 18, “heat transfer section… absorbs heat from the heat conduction plate”) from the heat conduction block (Peng: 100, “heat-conducting plate”).
Because of this modification, Peng (modified by Yu) teaches the first heat pipe comprises a metal tube (Yu: paragraph 15, “pipe body is made of a metal having good thermal conductivity such as copper”).
Peng (modified by Yu) does not teach the first heat pipe comprises
an internal ring gear layer formed on an inner wall of the metal tube; and
a powder sintered layer formed inside the internal ring gear layer,
wherein the internal ring gear layer of the first heat pipe comprises
a groove depth and a groove width,
wherein the groove depth of the internal ring gear layer of the first heat pipe is about 40-60% of a groove depth of the second heat pipe,
the groove width of the internal ring gear layer of the first heat pipe is about 30-50% of a groove width of the second heat pipe,
wherein a diameter of metal powders of the powder sintered layer of the first heat pipe is about 35-45% of a diameter of metal powders of a powder sintered layer of the second heat pipe.
However, Wu teaches a heat pipe heat dissipation structure (paragraph 34) having a first preferred embodiment (Fig. 2, paragraph 34), where the structure includes a body (1, Fig. 2, paragraph 34) having a chamber (15, Fig. 2, paragraph 34, shown to be inside the body) with a smooth wall surface (Fig. 2, paragraph 34, “inner wall of the metal tube” of claim). The body also has a first capillary structure disposed in the chamber as a sintered powder (16, Fig. 2, paragraph 35, “powder sintered layer” of claim).
Wu also teaches a fifth embodiment with the structure, connection relationship and function generally the same as those of the first preferred embodiment (Fig. 7, paragraph 46), the fifth embodiment additionally having a second capillary structure (18, Fig. 7, paragraph 46, “internal ring gear layer” of claim) as micro-grooves on the wall surface of the chamber (Fig. 7, paragraph 46, 18 is shown to be inside the walls of the tube, and 16 is shown to be inside of 18, grooves are shown to have groove width and groove depth). Additionally, Wu teaches the heat pipe heat dissipation structure has advantages such as improved maximum heat transfer efficiency and small interface thermal resistance (paragraph 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gravity heat dissipation device (Peng: “heat dissipation device”) of Peng (modified by Yu) to use the heat pipe heat dissipation structure of Wu for improved maximum heat transfer efficiency and small interface thermal resistance (paragraph 46), which would improve heat transfer for the absorption portions of the first to fifth heat pipes as described above for the modification of Peng by Yu. While Wu teaches the heat pipe has higher heat-transfer efficiency than copper, Wu does not teach the composition of the hollow tube body shell.
Because of this modification, Peng (modified by Yu and Wu) teaches the first heat pipe comprises an internal ring gear layer formed on an inner wall of the metal tube; and
a powder sintered layer formed inside the internal ring gear layer,
wherein the internal ring gear layer of the first heat pipe comprises a groove depth and a groove width.
Peng (modified by Yu and Wu) does not teach
the groove depth of the internal ring gear layer of the first heat pipe is about 40-60% of a groove depth of the second heat pipe,
the groove width of the internal ring gear layer of the first heat pipe is about 30-50% of a groove width of the second heat pipe,
wherein a diameter of metal powders of the powder sintered layer of the first heat pipe is about 35-45% of a diameter of metal powders of a powder sintered layer of the second heat pipe.
However, adjusting the groove depth and groove width of the internal ring gear layer and diameter of metal powders of the powder sintered layer of the first and second heat pipes would not have affected the operation of the gravity heat dissipation device (Peng: “heat dissipation device”).
Therefore, adjusting the groove depth and groove width of the internal ring gear layer and diameter of metal powders of the powder sintered layer of the first and second heat pipes is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the adjustments are significant. (See reRose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763