DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0150644 (Wruck).
Claim 20:
The cited prior art describes a method comprising: (Wruck: “The present invention is relation to the field of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC). More particularly, the present invention relates to controllers and control methods for indoor air quality and economizer-equipped systems.” Paragraph 0001)
determining available sensors and unavailable sensor types for a unit of building equipment; (Wruck: see the check if sensor failure RA enthalpy 70, sensor failure OA enthalpy 74, and sensor failure OA dry bulb 84, 76 as illustrated in figure 2B; “Referring now to FIG. 2B, from econo 66, a next step is to observe whether there is a failure with the RA enthalpy sensor, as shown at 70.” Paragraph 0033; “The RA sensor 14 may be, for example, an enthalpy sensor, a temperature (dry bulb) sensor, a pressure sensor, or any other suitable sensor.” Paragraph 0020)
automatically selecting logic from a set of available logic based on the available sensors and the unavailable sensor types for the unit of building equipment; (Wruck: see the enable free cooling 78, economizer logic reverts to single OA enthalpy decision 72 when sensor failure 70, see the economizer logic reverts to dry bulb decision 82, and economizer logic bypasses OA dry bulb override decision 86 as illustrated in figure 1B; see the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4; “The economizer solution method begins by obtaining sensor data as shown at 160. Next is a check to see if the economizer is configured for a dual enthalpy comparison, as shown at 162. If so, a determination is made whether the RA enthalpy exceeds the OA enthalpy, as shown at 164.” Paragraph 0044)
determining an efficiency of the unit of building equipment using the logic and measurements from the available sensors; and (Wruck: see the choice of disable free cooling 168 or enable free cooling 170 based on the determinations 174, 166 from the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4)
affecting an operation of the unit of building equipment based on the efficiency. (Wruck: see the choice of disable free cooling 168 or enable free cooling 170 as illustrated in figure 4; “FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an economizer solution for an illustrative HVAC operation method. The economizer solution method begins by obtaining sensor data as shown at 160. Next is a check to see if the economizer is configured for a dual enthalpy comparison, as shown at 162. If so, a determination is made whether the RA enthalpy exceeds the OA enthalpy, as shown at 164. If so, it is then determined whether the OA dry bulb temperature exceeds a high limit, as shown at 166 (it should be noted that if the OA dry bulb sensor is not functioning or otherwise available, this override may be bypassed either in FIGS. 2A-2C or as shown in FIGS. 3A-3B). If the high limit is exceeded, free cooling is disabled and the economizer exits, as shown at 168. Returning to 166, if the high limit is not exceeded, free cooling (i.e. cooling using the OA damper to infuse outside air for cooling purposes) is enabled and the method exits, as shown at 170. Next, returning to 164, if the RA enthalpy does not exceed the OA enthalpy, then free cooling is disabled and the method is done configuring the economizer, as shown at 168.” Paragraph 0044)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0150644 (Wruck) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0209852 (Beyhaghi).
Claim 1:
The cited prior art describes a system comprising: (Wruck: “The present invention is relation to the field of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC). More particularly, the present invention relates to controllers and control methods for indoor air quality and economizer-equipped systems.” Paragraph 0001)
one or more processors; and (Wruck: “In the illustrative example, the supervisory controller 400 may be equipped with suitable operational circuitry, such as a microcontroller and/or various logic elements, and, if desired, a machine readable memory.” Paragraph 0063)
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause at least one of the processors to perform operations comprising: (Wruck: “In the illustrative example, the supervisory controller 400 may be equipped with suitable operational circuitry, such as a microcontroller and/or various logic elements, and, if desired, a machine readable memory.” Paragraph 0063)
Wruck does not explicitly describe a chiller as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the chiller as described below.
determining whether a first sensor is available at a chiller, the first sensor comprising a temperature sensor or a pressure sensor of the chiller; (Wruck: see the check if sensor failure RA enthalpy 70 as illustrated in figure 2B; “Referring now to FIG. 2B, from econo 66, a next step is to observe whether there is a failure with the RA enthalpy sensor, as shown at 70.” Paragraph 0033; “The RA sensor 14 may be, for example, an enthalpy sensor, a temperature (dry bulb) sensor, a pressure sensor, or any other suitable sensor.” Paragraph 0020) (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033)
responsive to determining that the first sensor is available, determining a plurality of enthalpy points by executing first logic that uses a measurement from the first sensor; (Wruck: see the dual enthalpy comparison (i.e., plurality of enthalpy points) as described in paragraph 0044 and as illustrated in figure 4; “The economizer solution method begins by obtaining sensor data as shown at 160. Next is a check to see if the economizer is configured for a dual enthalpy comparison, as shown at 162. If so, a determination is made whether the RA enthalpy exceeds the OA enthalpy, as shown at 164.” Paragraph 0044; “While an economizer mode can be used for heating, it is typically used instead for cooling. In a cooling economizer mode (or "free cooling" mode), OA characteristics are compared to desired internal characteristics to determine whether fresh air infusion will provide cooling. Several types of economizer operation can be used. One model is a differential enthalpy model. Using differential enthalpy, for example, if the OA enthalpy is low relative to the RA enthalpy, the OA damper 24 is opened to enable use of outside air to cool a controlled space. Another model uses a comparison of OA enthalpy to a setpoint representing a line on the psychometric chart. A third model uses OA dry bulb characteristics (temperature only) and compares these to a setpoint which may be set in advance or may rely on a thermostat setpoint. Studies have shown that differential enthalpy is the most efficient of these three, with single OA enthalpy next, and OA temperature least efficient of the three.” Paragraph 0027)
responsive to determining that the first sensor is unavailable: automatically switching from the first logic to second logic to compensate for unavailability to the first sensor; and (Wruck: see the economizer logic reverts to single OA enthalpy decision 72 when sensor failure 70 as illustrated in figure 1B; see the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4)
determining the plurality of enthalpy points using the second logic; and (Wruck: see the determinations 174, 166 from the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4; “While an economizer mode can be used for heating, it is typically used instead for cooling. In a cooling economizer mode (or "free cooling" mode), OA characteristics are compared to desired internal characteristics to determine whether fresh air infusion will provide cooling. Several types of economizer operation can be used. One model is a differential enthalpy model. Using differential enthalpy, for example, if the OA enthalpy is low relative to the RA enthalpy, the OA damper 24 is opened to enable use of outside air to cool a controlled space. Another model uses a comparison of OA enthalpy to a setpoint representing a line on the psychometric chart. A third model uses OA dry bulb characteristics (temperature only) and compares these to a setpoint which may be set in advance or may rely on a thermostat setpoint. Studies have shown that differential enthalpy is the most efficient of these three, with single OA enthalpy next, and OA temperature least efficient of the three.” Paragraph 0027)
determining an efficiency of the chiller based on the plurality of enthalpy points; (Wruck: see the choice of disable free cooling 168 or enable free cooling 170 based on the determinations 174, 166 from the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4) (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033)
affecting an operation of the chiller based on the efficiency. (Wruck: see the choice of disable free cooling 168 or enable free cooling 170 as illustrated in figure 4; “FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an economizer solution for an illustrative HVAC operation method. The economizer solution method begins by obtaining sensor data as shown at 160. Next is a check to see if the economizer is configured for a dual enthalpy comparison, as shown at 162. If so, a determination is made whether the RA enthalpy exceeds the OA enthalpy, as shown at 164. If so, it is then determined whether the OA dry bulb temperature exceeds a high limit, as shown at 166 (it should be noted that if the OA dry bulb sensor is not functioning or otherwise available, this override may be bypassed either in FIGS. 2A-2C or as shown in FIGS. 3A-3B). If the high limit is exceeded, free cooling is disabled and the economizer exits, as shown at 168. Returning to 166, if the high limit is not exceeded, free cooling (i.e. cooling using the OA damper to infuse outside air for cooling purposes) is enabled and the method exits, as shown at 170. Next, returning to 164, if the RA enthalpy does not exceed the OA enthalpy, then free cooling is disabled and the method is done configuring the economizer, as shown at 168.” Paragraph 0044) (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Wruck, namely, a building hvac controller using sensor failures for operating logic selection, with the known techniques of Beyhaghi, namely, a building hvac controller controlling chillers and other components, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Wruck to determine the operating logic to utilize for hvac control based on sensor status with the teachings of Beyhaghi to control hvac equipment including chillers would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved building management system. In other words, the combination of the references provides for hvac control including chiller control based on sensor failure determinations with different operating logics based on the teachings of hvac control based on sensor failure determinations with different operating logics in Wruck and the teachings of hvac control including chiller contorl in Beyhaghi.
Claim 2:
Wruck does not explicitly describe a chiller as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the chiller as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of Claim 1, wherein determining whether the first sensor is available at the chiller comprises determining whether a measurement was obtained from the first sensor. (Wruck: “FIG. 8 is a block diagram showing a diagnostic and status annunciation plan for an illustrative HVAC operation method. The annunciation plan begins by getting the sensor and mode status, as shown at 300. Next, it is determined whether there are any sensor or signal failures, as shown at 302. If so, an input failure (which may further correspond to the particular sensor or signal that is at fault) is annunciated, as shown at 304.” Paragraph 0059; see the check if sensor failure RA enthalpy 70 as illustrated in figure 2B; “Referring now to FIG. 2B, from econo 66, a next step is to observe whether there is a failure with the RA enthalpy sensor, as shown at 70.” Paragraph 0033; “The RA sensor 14 may be, for example, an enthalpy sensor, a temperature (dry bulb) sensor, a pressure sensor, or any other suitable sensor.” Paragraph 0020) (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033; “In some embodiments, chiller 402 includes various sensors configured to measure one or more thermodynamic properties (e.g., temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) of the refrigerant in refrigeration circuit 404, the chilled water in chilled water loop 406, and/or the condenser water in condenser water loop 408. For example, refrigeration circuit 404 is shown to include a temperature sensor 430 positioned to measure a temperature of the refrigerant in suction line 452, a pressure sensor 432 positioned to measure a pressure of the refrigerant in suction line 452, a temperature sensor 434 positioned to measure the temperature of the refrigerant in discharge line 442, and a pressure sensor 436 positioned to measure the pressure of the refrigerant in discharge line 442. Chilled water loop 406 is shown to include a temperature sensor 438 positioned to measure a temperature of the chilled water in loop 406 downstream of evaporator 418. Condenser water loop 408 is shown to include a temperature sensor 470 positioned to measure a temperature of the condenser water in loop 408 upstream of condenser 420 and a temperature sensor 440 positioned to measure a temperature of the condenser water in loop 408 downstream of condenser 420. Chiller 402 may include any number and/or type of sensors at various locations in refrigeration circuit 404, chilled water loop 406, and/or condenser water loop 408.” Paragraph 0058)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 4:
Wruck does not explicitly describe an estimated value as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the estimated value as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of Claim 1, the operations comprising, responsive to determining that the first sensor is unavailable, determining an estimated value for the measurement from the first sensor based on measurements from available sensors of the chiller based on a modeled relationship between the available sensors and the first sensor. (Beyhaghi: see the estimated refrigerant temperature 906 using the received measurements 904 and equations as illustrated in figure 9 and as described in 0129, 0130, 0131) (Wruck: see the economizer logic reverts to single OA enthalpy decision 72 when sensor failure 70 as illustrated in figure 1B; see the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 5:
Wruck does not explicitly describe a modeled relationship as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the modeled relationship as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of Claim 1, wherein determining the plurality of enthalpy points uses a modeled relationship between temperature, pressure, and an enthalpy point. (Beyhaghi: “For example, state equation module 724 may store a thermodynamic relationship that allows the actual enthalpy h.sub.r,in,act of the refrigerant at the inlet of evaporator 418 to be determined based on the actual temperature T.sub.r,in,act and/or the actual pressure P.sub.r,in,act of the refrigerant at the inlet of evaporator 418.” Paragraph 0086) (Wruck: see the determinations 174, 166 from the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 7:
Wruck does not explicitly describe a chiller as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the chiller as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of Claim 1, wherein the first sensor is a preinstalled sensor located along a refrigeration circuit of the chiller. (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033; “In some embodiments, chiller 402 includes various sensors configured to measure one or more thermodynamic properties (e.g., temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) of the refrigerant in refrigeration circuit 404, the chilled water in chilled water loop 406, and/or the condenser water in condenser water loop 408. For example, refrigeration circuit 404 is shown to include a temperature sensor 430 positioned to measure a temperature of the refrigerant in suction line 452, a pressure sensor 432 positioned to measure a pressure of the refrigerant in suction line 452, a temperature sensor 434 positioned to measure the temperature of the refrigerant in discharge line 442, and a pressure sensor 436 positioned to measure the pressure of the refrigerant in discharge line 442. Chilled water loop 406 is shown to include a temperature sensor 438 positioned to measure a temperature of the chilled water in loop 406 downstream of evaporator 418. Condenser water loop 408 is shown to include a temperature sensor 470 positioned to measure a temperature of the condenser water in loop 408 upstream of condenser 420 and a temperature sensor 440 positioned to measure a temperature of the condenser water in loop 408 downstream of condenser 420. Chiller 402 may include any number and/or type of sensors at various locations in refrigeration circuit 404, chilled water loop 406, and/or condenser water loop 408.” Paragraph 0058)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 8:
The cited prior art describes the system of Claim 1, wherein the first logic uses different input variables than the second logic. (Wruck: see the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4; see the economizer logic reverts to single OA enthalpy decision 72 when sensor failure 70 as illustrated in figure 1B; see the dual enthalpy comparison (i.e., plurality of enthalpy points) as described in paragraph 0044 and as illustrated in figure 4; “The economizer solution method begins by obtaining sensor data as shown at 160. Next is a check to see if the economizer is configured for a dual enthalpy comparison, as shown at 162. If so, a determination is made whether the RA enthalpy exceeds the OA enthalpy, as shown at 164.” Paragraph 0044)
Claim 10:
The cited prior art describes a method comprising: (Wruck: “The present invention is relation to the field of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC). More particularly, the present invention relates to controllers and control methods for indoor air quality and economizer-equipped systems.” Paragraph 0001)
Wruck does not explicitly describe a refrigeration circuit or an estimated value as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the refrigeration circuit and an estimated value as described below.
determining whether a first sensor is available at a refrigeration circuit; (Wruck: see the check if sensor failure RA enthalpy 70 as illustrated in figure 2B; “Referring now to FIG. 2B, from econo 66, a next step is to observe whether there is a failure with the RA enthalpy sensor, as shown at 70.” Paragraph 0033; “The RA sensor 14 may be, for example, an enthalpy sensor, a temperature (dry bulb) sensor, a pressure sensor, or any other suitable sensor.” Paragraph 0020) (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033)
responsive to determining that the first sensor is unavailable: (Wruck: see the economizer logic reverts to single OA enthalpy decision 72 when sensor failure 70 as illustrated in figure 1B; see the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4)
determining an estimated value for the first sensor based on measurements from available sensors of the refrigeration circuit, the available sensors comprising at least one of a temperature sensor or a pressure sensor; and (Beyhaghi: see the estimated refrigerant temperature 906 using the received measurements 904 and equations as illustrated in figure 9 and as described in 0129, 0130, 0131) (Wruck: see the economizer logic reverts to single OA enthalpy decision 72 when sensor failure 70 as illustrated in figure 1B; see the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4; “The RA sensor 14 may be, for example, an enthalpy sensor, a temperature (dry bulb) sensor, a pressure sensor, or any other suitable sensor.” Paragraph 0020)
determining a plurality of enthalpy points using the estimated value for the first sensor and the measurements from the available sensors; and (Wruck: see the determinations 174, 166 from the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4; see the dual enthalpy comparison (i.e., plurality of enthalpy points) as described in paragraph 0044 and as illustrated in figure 4; “The economizer solution method begins by obtaining sensor data as shown at 160. Next is a check to see if the economizer is configured for a dual enthalpy comparison, as shown at 162. If so, a determination is made whether the RA enthalpy exceeds the OA enthalpy, as shown at 164.” Paragraph 0044; “While an economizer mode can be used for heating, it is typically used instead for cooling. In a cooling economizer mode (or "free cooling" mode), OA characteristics are compared to desired internal characteristics to determine whether fresh air infusion will provide cooling. Several types of economizer operation can be used. One model is a differential enthalpy model. Using differential enthalpy, for example, if the OA enthalpy is low relative to the RA enthalpy, the OA damper 24 is opened to enable use of outside air to cool a controlled space. Another model uses a comparison of OA enthalpy to a setpoint representing a line on the psychometric chart. A third model uses OA dry bulb characteristics (temperature only) and compares these to a setpoint which may be set in advance or may rely on a thermostat setpoint. Studies have shown that differential enthalpy is the most efficient of these three, with single OA enthalpy next, and OA temperature least efficient of the three.” Paragraph 0027) (Beyhaghi: see the determine an enthalpy 908 as illustrated in figure 9; “Step 908 may include using the temperature T.sub.r,in of the refrigerant at the outlet of the subcooler to determine the enthalpy h.sub.r,in of the refrigerant at the outlet of the subcooler under actual operating conditions.” Paragraph 0132; “In some embodiments, step 908 includes determining the enthalpy rise h.sub.rise across the evaporator under actual operating conditions.” Paragraph 0134)
determining an efficiency of the refrigeration circuit based on the plurality of enthalpy points; and (Wruck: see the choice of disable free cooling 168 or enable free cooling 170 based on the determinations 174, 166 from the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4) (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033)
affecting an operation of the refrigeration circuit based on the efficiency. (Wruck: see the choice of disable free cooling 168 or enable free cooling 170 as illustrated in figure 4; “FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an economizer solution for an illustrative HVAC operation method. The economizer solution method begins by obtaining sensor data as shown at 160. Next is a check to see if the economizer is configured for a dual enthalpy comparison, as shown at 162. If so, a determination is made whether the RA enthalpy exceeds the OA enthalpy, as shown at 164. If so, it is then determined whether the OA dry bulb temperature exceeds a high limit, as shown at 166 (it should be noted that if the OA dry bulb sensor is not functioning or otherwise available, this override may be bypassed either in FIGS. 2A-2C or as shown in FIGS. 3A-3B). If the high limit is exceeded, free cooling is disabled and the economizer exits, as shown at 168. Returning to 166, if the high limit is not exceeded, free cooling (i.e. cooling using the OA damper to infuse outside air for cooling purposes) is enabled and the method exits, as shown at 170. Next, returning to 164, if the RA enthalpy does not exceed the OA enthalpy, then free cooling is disabled and the method is done configuring the economizer, as shown at 168.” Paragraph 0044) (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 11:
Wruck does not explicitly describe a refrigeration circuit as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the refrigeration circuit as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of Claim 10, wherein determining whether the first sensor is available at the refrigeration circuit comprises determining whether a measurement was obtained from the first sensor. (Wruck: “FIG. 8 is a block diagram showing a diagnostic and status annunciation plan for an illustrative HVAC operation method. The annunciation plan begins by getting the sensor and mode status, as shown at 300. Next, it is determined whether there are any sensor or signal failures, as shown at 302. If so, an input failure (which may further correspond to the particular sensor or signal that is at fault) is annunciated, as shown at 304.” Paragraph 0059; see the check if sensor failure RA enthalpy 70 as illustrated in figure 2B; “Referring now to FIG. 2B, from econo 66, a next step is to observe whether there is a failure with the RA enthalpy sensor, as shown at 70.” Paragraph 0033; “The RA sensor 14 may be, for example, an enthalpy sensor, a temperature (dry bulb) sensor, a pressure sensor, or any other suitable sensor.” Paragraph 0020) (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033; “In some embodiments, chiller 402 includes various sensors configured to measure one or more thermodynamic properties (e.g., temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) of the refrigerant in refrigeration circuit 404, the chilled water in chilled water loop 406, and/or the condenser water in condenser water loop 408. For example, refrigeration circuit 404 is shown to include a temperature sensor 430 positioned to measure a temperature of the refrigerant in suction line 452, a pressure sensor 432 positioned to measure a pressure of the refrigerant in suction line 452, a temperature sensor 434 positioned to measure the temperature of the refrigerant in discharge line 442, and a pressure sensor 436 positioned to measure the pressure of the refrigerant in discharge line 442. Chilled water loop 406 is shown to include a temperature sensor 438 positioned to measure a temperature of the chilled water in loop 406 downstream of evaporator 418. Condenser water loop 408 is shown to include a temperature sensor 470 positioned to measure a temperature of the condenser water in loop 408 upstream of condenser 420 and a temperature sensor 440 positioned to measure a temperature of the condenser water in loop 408 downstream of condenser 420. Chiller 402 may include any number and/or type of sensors at various locations in refrigeration circuit 404, chilled water loop 406, and/or condenser water loop 408.” Paragraph 0058)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 13:
Wruck does not explicitly describe an estimated value as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the estimated value as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of Claim 10, wherein determining the estimated value for the first sensor based on the measurements from the available sensors comprises calculating the estimated value for the first sensor based on a modeled relationship between the available sensors and the first sensor. (Beyhaghi: see the estimated refrigerant temperature 906 using the received measurements 904 and equations as illustrated in figure 9 and as described in 0129, 0130, 0131) (Wruck: see the economizer logic reverts to single OA enthalpy decision 72 when sensor failure 70 as illustrated in figure 1B; see the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 14:
Wruck does not explicitly describe a modeled relationship as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the modeled relationship as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of Claim 10, wherein determining the plurality of enthalpy points using the estimated value for the first sensor and the measurements from the available sensors comprises calculating the plurality of enthalpy points using a modeled relationship between temperature, pressure, and the plurality of enthalpy points. (Beyhaghi: “For example, state equation module 724 may store a thermodynamic relationship that allows the actual enthalpy h.sub.r,in,act of the refrigerant at the inlet of evaporator 418 to be determined based on the actual temperature T.sub.r,in,act and/or the actual pressure P.sub.r,in,act of the refrigerant at the inlet of evaporator 418.” Paragraph 0086; see the estimated refrigerant temperature 906 using the received measurements 904 and equations as illustrated in figure 9 and as described in 0129, 0130, 0131) (Wruck: see the determinations 174, 166 from the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4; see the economizer logic reverts to single OA enthalpy decision 72 when sensor failure 70 as illustrated in figure 1B; see the single enthalpy decision 172 as illustrated in figure 4)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 16:
Wruck does not explicitly describe a refrigeration circuit as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the refrigeration circuit as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of Claim 10, wherein the first sensor measures pressure or temperature at a point along the refrigeration circuit. (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033; “In some embodiments, chiller 402 includes various sensors configured to measure one or more thermodynamic properties (e.g., temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) of the refrigerant in refrigeration circuit 404, the chilled water in chilled water loop 406, and/or the condenser water in condenser water loop 408. For example, refrigeration circuit 404 is shown to include a temperature sensor 430 positioned to measure a temperature of the refrigerant in suction line 452, a pressure sensor 432 positioned to measure a pressure of the refrigerant in suction line 452, a temperature sensor 434 positioned to measure the temperature of the refrigerant in discharge line 442, and a pressure sensor 436 positioned to measure the pressure of the refrigerant in discharge line 442. Chilled water loop 406 is shown to include a temperature sensor 438 positioned to measure a temperature of the chilled water in loop 406 downstream of evaporator 418. Condenser water loop 408 is shown to include a temperature sensor 470 positioned to measure a temperature of the condenser water in loop 408 upstream of condenser 420 and a temperature sensor 440 positioned to measure a temperature of the condenser water in loop 408 downstream of condenser 420. Chiller 402 may include any number and/or type of sensors at various locations in refrigeration circuit 404, chilled water loop 406, and/or condenser water loop 408.” Paragraph 0058)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 17:
Wruck does not explicitly describe converting as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the converting as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of Claim 10, comprising converting the measurement from the first sensor and the measurements from the available sensors into standard units. (Beyhaghi: “In some embodiments, sensor input module 722 converts raw sensor data into a form that can be used by other modules of memory 708. For example, sensor input module 722 may translate a raw voltage value from one of sensors 710 into units of temperature or pressure (e.g., according to a conversion chart or formula). Sensor input module 722 may be configured to convert an analog data signal into discrete data points (e.g., by sampling the analog signal at predetermined intervals), add timing information to the data points, and store the discrete data points in parameter storage module 720. In some embodiments, sensor input module 722 annotates each data point with an indication of the sensor from which the data point was obtained, a type of data point (e.g., temperature, pressure, etc.), a time at which the data point was measured, and/or other information associated with the data point.” Paragraph 0085)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 19:
Wruck does not explicitly describe a refrigeration circuit as described below. However, Beyhaghi teaches the refrigeration circuit as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of Claim 18, wherein affecting the operation of the refrigeration circuit comprises changing a setting and causing the refrigeration circuit to operate in accordance with the setting. (Wruck: see the choice of disable free cooling 168 or enable free cooling 170 as illustrated in figure 4; “FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an economizer solution for an illustrative HVAC operation method. The economizer solution method begins by obtaining sensor data as shown at 160. Next is a check to see if the economizer is configured for a dual enthalpy comparison, as shown at 162. If so, a determination is made whether the RA enthalpy exceeds the OA enthalpy, as shown at 164. If so, it is then determined whether the OA dry bulb temperature exceeds a high limit, as shown at 166 (it should be noted that if the OA dry bulb sensor is not functioning or otherwise available, this override may be bypassed either in FIGS. 2A-2C or as shown in FIGS. 3A-3B). If the high limit is exceeded, free cooling is disabled and the economizer exits, as shown at 168. Returning to 166, if the high limit is not exceeded, free cooling (i.e. cooling using the OA damper to infuse outside air for cooling purposes) is enabled and the method exits, as shown at 170. Next, returning to 164, if the RA enthalpy does not exceed the OA enthalpy, then free cooling is disabled and the method is done configuring the economizer, as shown at 168.” Paragraph 0044) (Beyhaghi: see the chiller subplants 14, 16 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0033; “Equipment selection module 742 may determine an equipment on/off configuration and/or operating setpoints for various HVAC devices in order to satisfy a building load. The equipment on/off decisions and operating setpoints generated by equipment selection module 742 may be constrained by the capacity limits of the HVAC devices.” Paragraph 0122; “Step 1012 may include determining an equipment on/off configuration and/or operating setpoints for various HVAC devices in order to satisfy the thermal energy load. The equipment on/off decisions and operating setpoints generated may be constrained by the capacity limits of the HVAC devices.” Paragraph 0152; see the equipment on/off decisions and operating setpoints from the central plant controller 202 to the central plant 10 as illustrated in figure 2)
Wruck and Beyhaghi are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0150644 (Wruck) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0209852 (Beyhaghi) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0090769 (McKie).
Claim 3:
Wruck and Beyhaghi do not explicitly describe a threshold as described below. However, McKie teaches the threshold as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of Claim 1, wherein determining whether the first sensor is available at the chiller comprises determining whether a measurement obtained from the first sensor is within a preset threshold. (McKie: “If the free cooling mode is not active, the method 500 continues to a third decisional step 525 where a determination is made if the sensors of the ERV are operating properly. Feedback data from the sensors may be used to determine the operating status of the sensors. In one embodiment, a continuity check of the sensors may be performed. For example, a pressure sensor may be designed to provide an operating signal within 4.5 mA to 5.5 mA when connected properly (e.g., plugged in). The feedback data from the pressure sensor may be compared to the predetermined set of parameters to verify continuity. Additionally, a determination may be made if the sensors are reading within a given range. For example, if a temperature sensor, a determination may be made to verify that the temperature being read by the sensor is within an expected temperature range. The temperature range may be based on estimated operating conditions.” Paragraph 0063)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Wruck, namely, a building hvac controller using sensor failures for operating logic selection, with the known techniques of Beyhaghi, namely, a building hvac controller controlling chillers and other components, and the known techniques of McKie, namely, hvac system control with sensor checks, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Wruck to determine the operating logic to utilize for hvac control based on sensor status with the teachings of Beyhaghi to control hvac equipment including chillers and the teaching of McKie to check sensors in a hvac system would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved building management system. In other words, the combination of the references provides for hvac control including chiller control based on sensor failure determinations with different operating logics based on the teachings of hvac control based on sensor failure determinations with different operating logics in Wruck and the teachings of hvac control including chiller control in Beyhaghi and the teachings of hvac sensor checks in McKie.
Claim 12:
Wruck and Beyhaghi do not explicitly describe a range as described below. However, McKie teaches the range as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of Claim 10, wherein determining whether the first sensor is available at the refrigeration circuit comprises determining whether a measurement obtained from the first sensor is within an expected range. (McKie: “If the free cooling mode is not active, the method 500 continues to a third decisional step 525 where a determination is made if the sensors of the ERV are operating properly. Feedback data from the sensors may be used to determine the operating status of the sensors. In one embodiment, a continuity check of the sensors may be performed. For example, a pressure sensor may be designed to provide an operating signal within 4.5 mA to 5.5 mA when connected properly (e.g., plugged in). The feedback data from the pressure sensor may be compared to the predetermined set of parameters to verify continuity. Additionally, a determination may be made if the sensors are reading within a given range. For example, if a temperature sensor, a determination may be made to verify that the temperature being read by the sensor is within an expected temperature range. The temperature range may be based on estimated operating conditions.” Paragraph 0063)
Wruck, Beyhaghi, and McKie are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0150644 (Wruck) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0209852 (Beyhaghi) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0153057 (Bersch).
Claim 6:
Wruck and Beyhaghi do not explicitly describe a coefficient of performance as described below. However, Bersch teaches the coefficient of performance as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of Claim 1, wherein determining the efficiency of the chiller based on the plurality of enthalpy points comprises calculating a coefficient of performance. (Bersch: “First the enthalpy H1 is determined at the outlet of the condenser 16, the enthalpy H2 at the inlet of the compressor 14 and the enthalpy H3 at the outlet of the compressor 14 to determine the coefficient of performance of the refrigeration machine.” Paragraph 0033; “To determine the coefficient of performance COP or the efficiency of the refrigeration machine, subsequently only the quotient of the heat output Qh and of the electrical power Qe1 still has to be formed” paragraph 0047; “In addition, the annual performance index of the refrigeration machine can be determined by an integration of the coefficient of performance over time.” Paragraph 0048)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Wruck, namely, a building hvac controller using sensor failures for operating logic selection, with the known techniques of Beyhaghi, namely, a building hvac controller controlling chillers and other components, and the known techniques of Bersch, namely, refrigeration machine control, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Wruck to determine the operating logic to utilize for hvac control based on sensor status with the teachings of Beyhaghi to control hvac equipment including chillers and the teaching of Bersch to use various parameters for controlling a refrigeration machine would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved building management system. In other words, the combination of the references provides for hvac control including chiller control based on sensor failure determinations with different operating logics and different parameters based on the teachings of hvac control based on sensor failure determinations with different operating logics in Wruck and the teachings of hvac control including chiller control in Beyhaghi and the teachings of using various parameters to control the refrigeration circuit in Bersch.
Claim 15:
Wruck and Beyhaghi do not explicitly describe a coefficient of performance as described below. However, Bersch teaches the coefficient of performance as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of Claim 10, wherein determining the efficiency of the refrigeration circuit based on the plurality of enthalpy points comprises calculating a coefficient of performance. (Bersch: “First the enthalpy H1 is determined at the outlet of the condenser 16, the enthalpy H2 at the inlet of the compressor 14 and the enthalpy H3 at the outlet of the compressor 14 to determine the coefficient of performance of the refrigeration machine.” Paragraph 0033; “To determine the coefficient of performance COP or the efficiency of the refrigeration machine, subsequently only the quotient of the heat output Qh and of the electrical power Qe1 still has to be formed” paragraph 0047; “In addition, the annual performance index of the refrigeration machine can be determined by an integration of the coefficient of performance over time.” Paragraph 0048)
Wruck, Beyhaghi, and Bersch are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 6.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0150644 (Wruck) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0209852 (Beyhaghi) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0088547 (Perez).
Claim 9:
Wruck and Beyhaghi do not explicitly describe an operation code or steady state determination as described below. However, Perez teaches the an operation code and steady state determination as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of Claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise
obtaining an operation code from the chiller, wherein the operation code indicates whether the chiller is operating, and (Perez: see the status information and monitored variable from the connected equipment 610 to the remote operations center 602 to the predictive diagnostics system 502 as illustrated in figure 6A; “Connected equipment 610 can also report equipment status information. Equipment status information can include, for example, the operational status of the equipment, an operating mode (e.g., low load, medium load, high load, etc.), an indication of whether the equipment is running under normal or abnormal conditions, a safety fault code, or any other information that indicates the current status of connected equipment 610.” Paragraph 0107; “Monitored variables can include any measured or calculated values indicating the performance of connected equipment 610 and/or the components thereof. For example, monitored variables can include one or more measured or calculated temperatures (e.g., chilled water temperature, return water temperature, refrigerant temperatures, cold water supply temperatures, hot water supply temperatures, supply air temperatures, zone temperatures, etc.), pressures (e.g., evaporator pressure, condenser pressure, supply air pressure, etc.), flow rates (e.g., cold water flow rates, hot water flow rates, refrigerant flow rates, supply air flow rates, etc.), valve positions, resource consumptions (e.g., power consumption, compressor power, water consumption, electricity consumption, etc.), control setpoints, model parameters (e.g., regression model coefficients), or any other time-series values that provide information about how the corresponding system, device, or process is performing.” Paragraph 0106)
determining the efficiency is performed responsive to determining that the chiller is in steady state operations based on the operating code. (Perez: “In some embodiments, predictive diagnostics system 502 may use the monitored variables associated with the detected state (i.e., steady state or transient state) to identify a current operating state for connected equipment 610. The current operating state can be examined by predictive diagnostics system 502 to expose when connected equipment 610 begins to degrade in performance and/or to predict when faults will occur. In some embodiments, predictive diagnostic system 502 determines whether the current operating state is a normal operating state or a faulty operating state.” Paragraph 0112; “Predictive diagnostics system 502 may use the monitored variables to identify a steady state or a transient state for operation of connected equipment 610” paragraph 0111; “Predictive diagnostics system 502 can access database 604 to retrieve the monitored variables and the equipment status information.” Paragraph 0109)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Wruck, namely, a building hvac controller using sensor failures for operating logic selection, with the known techniques of Beyhaghi, namely, a building hvac controller controlling chillers and other components, and the known techniques of Perez, namely, a building management system, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Wruck to determine the operating logic to utilize for hvac control based on sensor status with the teachings of Beyhaghi to control hvac equipment including chillers and the teaching of Perez to use data to determine steady state operations for a building management system would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved building management system. In other words, the combination of the references provides for hvac control including chiller control based on sensor failure determinations with different operating logics and steady state determination based on the teachings of hvac control based on sensor failure determinations with different operating logics in Wruck and the teachings of hvac control including chiller control in Beyhaghi and the teachings of using determining steady state operation for a building management system in Perez.
Claim 18:
Wruck and Beyhaghi do not explicitly describe an operation code or steady state determination as described below. However, Perez teaches the operation code and steady state determination as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of Claim 10, further comprising
obtaining an operation code from the refrigeration circuit, wherein the operation code indicates that the refrigeration circuity is operating, and (Perez: see the status information and monitored variable from the connected equipment 610 to the remote operations center 602 to the predictive diagnostics system 502 as illustrated in figure 6A; “Connected equipment 610 can also report equipment status information. Equipment status information can include, for example, the operational status of the equipment, an operating mode (e.g., low load, medium load, high load, etc.), an indication of whether the equipment is running under normal or abnormal conditions, a safety fault code, or any other information that indicates the current status of connected equipment 610.” Paragraph 0107; “Monitored variables can include any measured or calculated values indicating the performance of connected equipment 610 and/or the components thereof. For example, monitored variables can include one or more measured or calculated temperatures (e.g., chilled water temperature, return water temperature, refrigerant temperatures, cold water supply temperatures, hot water supply temperatures, supply air temperatures, zone temperatures, etc.), pressures (e.g., evaporator pressure, condenser pressure, supply air pressure, etc.), flow rates (e.g., cold water flow rates, hot water flow rates, refrigerant flow rates, supply air flow rates, etc.), valve positions, resource consumptions (e.g., power consumption, compressor power, water consumption, electricity consumption, etc.), control setpoints, model parameters (e.g., regression model coefficients), or any other time-series values that provide information about how the corresponding system, device, or process is performing.” Paragraph 0106)
wherein the determining steps are performed responsive to determining that the refrigeration circuit is on and in a steady state based on the operation code. (Perez: “In some embodiments, predictive diagnostics system 502 may use the monitored variables associated with the detected state (i.e., steady state or transient state) to identify a current operating state for connected equipment 610. The current operating state can be examined by predictive diagnostics system 502 to expose when connected equipment 610 begins to degrade in performance and/or to predict when faults will occur. In some embodiments, predictive diagnostic system 502 determines whether the current operating state is a normal operating state or a faulty operating state.” Paragraph 0112; “Predictive diagnostics system 502 may use the monitored variables to identify a steady state or a transient state for operation of connected equipment 610” paragraph 0111; “Predictive diagnostics system 502 can access database 604 to retrieve the monitored variables and the equipment status information.” Paragraph 0109)
Wruck, Beyhaghi, and Perez are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0154834 describes air conditioner control when a sensor breakdown occurs.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0285226 describes sensor diagnostic and management for a building management system.
Wang, Shengwei, and Youming Chen. "Sensor validation and reconstruction for building central chilling systems based on principal component analysis." Energy Conversion and management 45.5 (2004): 673-695 describes sensor validation and reconstruction for building chilling systems.
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117