Claim Interpretation
Claim 29 of the pending application uses the word “means” in two different places. The limitation of “means for applying a machine learning model” indicates a processor that analyzes “training input data” [Specification, ¶¶ 112] and performs other data processing tasks [¶¶ 103-104]. The limitation of “means for performing a driving maneuver” indicates a braking system or a controller that operates a vehicle [Specification, ¶¶ 99-100].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong, et al., US 11,195,418 B1.
As per Claim 1, Hong teaches an ego vehicle (column 5, lines 57-58; autonomous vehicle 106 of Figure 1), comprising:
one or more memories (column 8, lines 35-37; memory 218 of Figure 2);
one or more transceivers (column 8, lines 57-611); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (column 8, lines 35-39; processors 216 of Figure 2), the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
apply a machine learning model (column 21, lines 46-51) to one or more agent tensors and one or more map tensors associated with a target vehicle (column 24, lines 57-63) to obtain a lane change classification label representing a predicted lane change intention of the target vehicle on a multi-lane highway (column 30, lines 4-9), wherein the predicted lane change intention includes at least a lane change classification (column 29, lines 60-67); and
perform a driving maneuver based on the predicted lane change intention (column 31, lines 10-15).
As per Claim 2, Hong teaches that the one or more agent tensors represent a plurality of features of at least the target vehicle and one or more neighbor vehicles of the target vehicle over a most recent period of time (column 23, lines 63-67 and column 24, lines 1-14).
As per Claim 3, Hong teaches that the plurality of features comprises: current x coordinates of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, current y coordinates of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles (column 23, lines 46-48), previous x coordinates of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, previous y coordinates of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, x-axis velocity values of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, y-axis velocity values of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles (column 23, lines 46-48), angular velocity values of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, acceleration values of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, blinker states of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, a time offset between current and previous positions of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, flags indicating a presence of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, or any combination thereof.
As per Claim 4, Hong teaches that a length of the most recent period of time is one second (column 28, lines 24-31).
As per Claim 5, Hong teaches that the one or more map tensors represent map context information around the target vehicle (column 29, lines 36-41).
As per Claim 6, Hong teaches that the map context information comprises: map lane center points for a current lane of the target vehicle, map lane center points for a lane to the left of the target vehicle, map lane center points for a lane to the right of the target vehicle, or any combination thereof (column 22, lines 55-58).
As per Claim 7, Hong teaches that the machine learning model is an encoder-decoder machine learning model (column 28, lines 24-31).
As per Claim 8, Hong teaches that an encoder side of the encoder-decoder machine learning model comprises: an agent encoding module, a map encoding module, and an aggregation module (column 22, lines 22-32).
As per Claim 9, Hong teaches that the agent encoding module comprises a self-attention module (column 10, lines 56-61; the “image generation component 232 can receive data about agents in the environment from the perception component 222 and can receive data about the environment itself from the localization component 220” as in Figure 2).
As per Claim 10, Hong teaches that the aggregation module aggregates results of the agent encoding module and the map encoding module (column 23, lines 63-67 and column 24, lines 1-14).
As per Claim 11, Hong teaches that the aggregation module comprises a map attention module and a cross attention module (column 30, lines 34-40; “the process can include generating, based on the map data and the object data, a top-down view of an environment”).
As per Claim 12, Hong teaches that the aggregation module further comprises a multi-layer perception (MLP) layer, and the MLP layer outputs results of the aggregation module (column 13, lines 16-25).
As per Claim 13, Hong teaches that a decoder side of the encoder-decoder machine learning model comprises one or more MLP layers that output the lane change classification label (column 30, lines 4-14).
As per Claim 14, Hong teaches that the predicted lane change intention further includes one or more predicted lane change trajectories associated with the lane change classification (column 30, lines 7-9; “sophisticated behavior such as maneuvering around obstacles and changing lanes”).
As per Claim 15, Hong the lane change classification label represents one of: a lane change left, a lane change right, or no lane change (column 30, lines 7-9).
As per Claim 16, Hong the driving maneuver comprises: a lane change left, a lane change right, or no lane change.
As per Claim 17, Hong teaches a method of drive trajectory prediction performed by an ego vehicle (column 7, lines 11-1), comprising:
applying a machine learning model (column 21, lines 46-51) to one or more agent tensors and one or more map tensors associated with a target vehicle (column 24, lines 57-63) to obtain a lane change classification label representing a predicted lane change intention of the target vehicle on a multi-lane highway (column 30, lines 4-9), wherein the predicted lane change intention includes at least a lane change classification (column 29, lines 60-67); and
performing a driving maneuver based on the predicted lane change intention (column 31, lines 10-15).
As per Claim 18, Hong teaches that the one or more agent tensors represent a plurality of features of at least the target vehicle and one or more neighbor vehicles of the target vehicle over a most recent period of time (column 23, lines 63-67 and column 24, lines 1-14).
As per Claim 19, Hong the plurality of features comprises: current x coordinates of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, current y coordinates of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, previous x coordinates of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles (column 23, lines 46-48), previous y coordinates of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, x-axis velocity values of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, y-axis velocity values of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles (column 23, lines 46-48), angular velocity values of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, acceleration values of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, blinker states of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, a time offset between current and previous positions of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, flags indicating a presence of the target vehicle and the one or more neighbor vehicles, or any combination thereof.
As per Claim 20, Hong teaches that the one or more map tensors represent map context information around the target vehicle (column 29, lines 36-41).
As per Claim 21, Hong teaches that the map context information comprises: map lane center points for a current lane of the target vehicle, map lane center points for a lane to the left of the target vehicle, map lane center points for a lane to the right of the target vehicle, or any combination thereof (column 22, lines 55-58).
As per Claim 22, Hong teaches that the machine learning model is an encoder-decoder machine learning model (column 28, lines 24-31).
As per Claim 23, Hong teaches that an encoder side of the encoder-decoder machine learning model comprises: an agent encoding module, a map encoding module, and an aggregation module (column 22, lines 22-32).
As per Claim 24, Hong teaches that the agent encoding module comprises a self-attention module (column 10, lines 56-61; the “image generation component 232 can receive data about agents in the environment from the perception component 222 and can receive data about the environment itself from the localization component 220” as in Figure 2).
As per Claim 25, Hong teaches that the aggregation module aggregates results of the agent encoding module and the map encoding module (column 23, lines 63-67 and column 24, lines 1-14).
As per Claim 26, Hong teaches that the aggregation module comprises a map attention module and a cross attention module (column 30, lines 34-40; “the process can include generating, based on the map data and the object data, a top-down view of an environment”).
As per Claim 27, Hong teaches that a decoder side of the encoder-decoder machine learning model comprises one or more MLP layers that output the lane change classification label (column 30, lines 4-14).
As per Claim 28, Hong teaches that the predicted lane change intention further includes one or more predicted lane change trajectories associated with the lane change classification (column 30, lines 7-9; “sophisticated behavior such as maneuvering around obstacles and changing lanes”).
As per Claim 29, Hong teaches an ego vehicle (column 5, lines 57-58; autonomous vehicle 106 of Figure 1), comprising:
means for applying a machine learning model (column 21, lines 46-51) to one or more agent tensors and one or more map tensors associated with a target vehicle (column 24, lines 57-63) to obtain a lane change classification label representing a predicted lane change intention of the target vehicle on a multi-lane highway (column 30, lines 4-9), wherein the predicted lane change intention includes at least a lane change classification (column 30, lines 4-14); and
means for performing a driving maneuver based on the predicted lane change intention (column 31, lines 10-15).
As per Claim 30, Hong teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions (column 10, lines 30-37) that, when executed by an ego vehicle, cause the ego vehicle to:
apply a machine learning model (column 21, lines 46-51) to one or more agent tensors and one or more map tensors associated with a target vehicle (column 24, lines 57-63) to obtain a lane change classification label representing a predicted lane change intention of the target vehicle on a multi-lane highway (column 30, lines 4-9), wherein the predicted lane change intention includes at least a lane change classification (column 30, lines 4-14); and
perform a driving maneuver based on the predicted lane change intention (column 31, lines 10-15).
Conclusion
ATUL TRIVEDI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/ATUL TRIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661