DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of [0021], “centralized unite” should be changed to “centralized unit”.
In line 4 of [0031], “the UE transceiver 210” should be changed to “the UE transceiver 230”.
In line 3 of [0046] “the historical information of the UE 102” should be changed to “the historical information of the UE 104”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14-16 of copending Application No. 18/793,113 (herein called “the ’113 Application”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1 of the present application, claim 1 (as filed 7/24/2026) of the ’113 Application discloses a method, comprising: sending, by a first network node to a second network node, information associated with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) related migration (see claim 1 of the claims as filed 7/24/2026, which disclose sending “sending, by a first network node to a second network node, a first message, comprising information to manage migration of traffic between a first topology managed by the first network node and a second topology managed by the second network node” along with other limitations).
Thus, claim 1 (as filed 7/24/2026) of the ’113 Application contains every element and thus anticipates claim 1 of the present application. Claim 1 of the present application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such is unpatentable under obviousness-type double patenting. A later claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim.
Stated another way, claim 1 of the present application is a broader version of claim 1 (as filed 7/24/2026) of the ’113 Application in that it omits one or more elements of claim 1 (as filed 7/24/2026) of the ’113 Application. Omission of an element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Similarly, claim 6 of the present application is unpatentable under obviousness-type double patenting in view of claim 14 (as filed 7/24/2026) of the ’113 Application.
Similarly, claim 11 of the present application is unpatentable under obviousness-type double patenting in view of claim 16 (as filed 7/24/2026) of the ’113 Application.
Similarly, claim 16 of the present application is unpatentable under obviousness-type double patenting in view of claim 15 (as filed 7/24/2026) of the ’113 Application.
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 19 of copending Application No. 18/833,222 (herein called “the ’222 Application”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1 of the present application, claims 1 and 19 (as filed 7/25/2024) of the ’222 Application discloses a method, comprising: sending, by a first network node to a second network node, information associated with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) related migration (see claim 19 of the claims as filed 7/25/2024, which disclose sending “assistance information” which is “associated with a migration of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) entity”; see also claim 1 of the claims as filed 7/25/2024, which discloses receiving “assistance information” which is “associated with a migration of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) entity”).
Thus, although the claims are not identical, claim 19 (as filed 7/25/2024) of the ’222 Application contains every element and thus anticipates claim 1 of the present application. Claim 1 of the present application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such is unpatentable under obviousness-type double patenting. A later claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim.
Stated another way, it would have been obvious to modify claim 19 (as filed 7/25/2024) of the ’222 Application (by removing the modifier “assistance”, for example) to obtain claim 1 of the present application. It would have similarly been obvious to send the signal received in claim 1 of the ’222 Application (as filed 7/25/2024) and thus to obtain claim 1 of the present application.
Similarly, claim 6 of the present application is unpatentable under obviousness-type double patenting in view of claim 1 (as filed 7/25/2024) of the ’222 Application.
Similarly, claim 11 of the present application is unpatentable under obviousness-type double patenting in view of claim 1 (as filed 7/25/2024) of the ’222 Application.
Similarly, claim 16 of the present application is unpatentable under obviousness-type double patenting in view of claim 1 (as filed 7/25/2024) of the ’222 Application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 2025/0106700).
Regarding claim 1: Wang discloses a method, comprising:
sending, by a first network node to a second network node, information associated with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) related migration (disclosed throughout; step 1 of Figure 7, for example, in which a first network node transmits a first message to a second network node; this message is “associated with” IAB migration as disclosed throughout; see [0123]-[0125], for example, which indicates that the invention (described at a high level in Figure 7) “relates to two migration methods of the relay node”; the relay node is an IAB node).
Regarding claim 6: Wang discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a second network node from a first network node, information associated with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) related migration (disclosed throughout; step 1 of Figure 7, for example, in which a first network node transmits a first message to a second network node; this message is “associated with” IAB migration as disclosed throughout; see [0123]-[0125], for example, which indicates that the invention (described at a high level in Figure 7) “relates to two migration methods of the relay node”; the relay node is an IAB node).
Regarding claim 11: Wang discloses a first network node, comprising:
at least one processor configured to (see processor 1502 of Figure 15, for example):
send, via a transmitter to a second network node, information associated with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) related migration (disclosed throughout; step 1 of Figure 7, for example, in which a first network node transmits a first message to a second network node; this message is “associated with” IAB migration as disclosed throughout; see [0123]-[0125], for example, which indicates that the invention (described at a high level in Figure 7) “relates to two migration methods of the relay node”; the relay node is an IAB node).
Regarding claim 16: Wang discloses a second network node, comprising:
at least one processor configured to (see processor 1502 of Figure 15, for example):
receive, via a receiver from a first network node, information associated with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) related migration (disclosed throughout; step 1 of Figure 7, for example, in which a first network node transmits a first message to a second network node; this message is “associated with” IAB migration as disclosed throughout; see [0123]-[0125], for example, which indicates that the invention (described at a high level in Figure 7) “relates to two migration methods of the relay node”; the relay node is an IAB node).
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12, and 17: Wang discloses the limitations of sending, by the first network node comprising a first IAB donor, to the second network node comprising a second IAB donor, the information; or sending, by the first network node comprising an IAB node, to the second network node comprising the second IAB donor, the information (disclosed throughout; see [0126], for example, which indicates that “the first network node and the second network node…may be respectively the second node and the third node, or the third node and the fourth node, or the second node and the fourth node, or the first node and the second node, and so on…”; further, as indicated in [0076]-[0080], the first node may be “a relay node including two parts…an MT part and a DU part” and the second, third, and fourth nodes may be “a donor node of the first node, or a node with a donor function”; thus, the first network node can be either a first IAB donor (such as the third node) or an IAB node (such as the first node) and the second network node can be an IAB donor (such as the second node)).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, and 18: Wang discloses the limitations that the information comprises at least one of: an identity of the IAB node, an identity of a target donor, an identity of a target cell, an indication of IAB mobile termination (IAB-MT) migration, an indication of IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU) migration, or an indication of user equipment (UE) migration (described throughout; as indicated in [0130] and [0132], the information includes at least identification information of a target cell and indication information of a target node).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14, and 14: Wang discloses the limitations of sending, by the first network node comprising an IAB node, to the second network node comprising a second IAB donor, the information; or sending, by the first network node comprising a first IAB donor, to the second network node comprising the second IAB donor, the information; or sending, by the first network node comprising a target donor, to the second network node comprising a source donor, the information; wherein the source donor sends the information to an initial donor (disclosed throughout; see [0126], for example, which indicates that “the first network node and the second network node…may be respectively the second node and the third node, or the third node and the fourth node, or the second node and the fourth node, or the first node and the second node, and so on…”; further, as indicated in [0076]-[0080], the first node may be “a relay node including two parts…an MT part and a DU part” and the second, third, and fourth nodes may be “a donor node of the first node, or a node with a donor function”; thus, the first network node can be either a first IAB donor (such as the third node) or an IAB node (such as the first node) and the second network node can be an IAB donor (such as the second node)).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15, and 20: Wang discloses the limitations that the information comprises an old or source cell identifier (ID) of a distributed unit (DU) of the IAB node, and a new or target cell ID of the DU (disclosed throughout; for example, consider step 1-b-1 of Figure 8(b), which as indicated in [0197]-[0211], includes at least old or source cell ID (such as the information on a served cell in [0204]), and a new or target cell ID (such as the information of cells contained in the service area of the node in [0203], which are new cells that can be selected by the third node in response to this message)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhuo et al (US 2026/0136246) discloses a method and system for determining whether to handover a DU of an IAB node when the MT of that IAB node has already been handed over.
Belleschi et al (US 2024/0414610) discloses a method for handling IAB migration.
Lu (US 2024/0357456) discloses a method for IAB path migration.
Akl et al (US 2022/0369183) discloses a method for inter-donor topology discovery in an IAB network.
Akl et al (US 2022/0141894) discloses a method for triggering migration to enable inter-donor topology adaptation.
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 August 26, 2026