DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 9, 10, and 11 recite the limitation "the own instrument". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites “the systems”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims is directed to signals per se. The specification does not preclude a “recording medium” to be transitory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (pub # US 20200100304 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a controller (first network element in figure 1, details of the first network element shown in figure 2, paragraphs 72, 73) comprising: a transmission/reception unit (Xn interface) that transmits a request for input/output setting of data (channel configuration information, paragraph 73) to an information processing apparatus (second network element), and that receives, from the information processing apparatus, input/output information that defines the input/output setting and that is associated with the controller that performs control of an associated system (receiving information of a transmission channel configuration); and a setting unit (CU-U, paragraph 113) that performs the input/output setting of the own instrument based on the received input/output information (configuring the GTP transmission channel, paragraph 73; details of the steps in figure 6, paragraph 113).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the controller according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the setting unit receives the input/output information from the information processing apparatus to which the request has been transmitted, the setting unit calls an application programming interface (NG-U interface, paragraph 113) that is associated with the input/output setting by using the input/output information, and performs setting of an input/output module in the own instrument (GTP transmission channel between the CU-U and the DU, paragraph 113).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the controller according to claim controller according to claim 2, wherein the setting unit calls an application programming interface that is common to the systems (centralized RRC management function, paragraph 113) and that is related to the input/output setting by using the input/output information, further calls the application programming interface that is associated with the input/output setting that is different for each system (split of control signaling and user data), and performs setting of an input/output module in the own instrument (configuration described in paragraph 113).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the controller according to claim 1, wherein the transmission/reception unit receives the input/output information that defines an input/output type of the data passing through each of input/output channels of the controller (GTP-U protocol, paragraph 118) and that is associated with identification information on the controller (GTP-U Tunnel Endpoint ID).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses the controller according to claim 1, wherein the transmission/reception unit transmits the request to the information processing apparatus when the controller is connected to a communication network including the information processing apparatus for the first time (during the session establishment process, paragraph 11), or when a control system including the controller is connected to the communication network after a system configuration has been changed (during session modification process, paragraph 90).
Regarding claims 9-11, examiner notes these claims differ only in statutory category and are otherwise substantially similar to claim 1 above. The same grounds of rejection are applied.
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein, in a case where the acquisition unit has accepted the request, the acquisition unit refers to a predetermined database that stores therein the input/output information (from a core network, paragraph 240), and acquires the input/output information that is associated with identification information on the controller in which the request has been accepted (through the request discussed in paragraph 113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu.
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the controller according to claim 1, wherein the controller conforms to Open Process Automation (OPA), Module Type Package (MTP), or NAMUR Open Architecture (examiner notes these are protocols well-known before the effective filing date of the invention, and would have been an obvious design choice over the protocols discussed by Liu).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses the controller according to claim 1, wherein the controller conforms to Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture (OPC UA) - (examiner notes this is a protocol well-known before the effective filing date of the invention, and would have been an obvious design choice over the protocols discussed by Liu).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses the controller according to claim 1, wherein the controller performs control of a plant (examiner notes that Liu teaches the invention applies industrial systems, paragraph 262, and an industrial plant would have been an obvious application).
Conclusion
/SCOTT C SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181