DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of informalities, which appear to be minor draft errors causing grammatical and/or antecedent basis issues.
As noted in the following format (location of objection: suggestion for correction), the following objections may be overcome by making the corresponding corrections: (claim 15, lines 5-6, “images of the object”: replacing “the” with --an--).
For purposes of examination, the claim has been treated as such with the correction(s). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sadakane et al. (JP 2021/159514; hereinafter Sadakane).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Sadakane discloses a dental X-ray imaging system (2) for a computed tomography (CT) dental X-ray imaging of an object (par. 125) with a corresponding method and , the system comprising: a dental X-ray imaging unit (10) comprising: an X-ray source part (20) for emitting X-rays, an X-ray imaging detector part (30) for receiving the X-rays from the source part, and a gantry part (12) comprising the X-ray source part and the X-ray imaging detector part; and a control system (50) configured to: receive a scan request comprising an indication of at least one region of interest (ROI) (par. 76); control the parts of the dental X-ray imaging unit to acquire two X-ray scout images (C1 and C2) of the object; detect at least one target structure of the object from the two X-ray scout images associated with the at least one ROI (par. 93) by applying at least one trained detection model for the X-ray scout images (pars. 99-100); define field of view (FOV) data of the dental X-ray imaging unit at least partially based on the detected at least one target structure (“third region”, determination: see par. 107, field of view data: “information regarding the third region”, central position of target area); and control the parts of the dental X-ray imaging unit to implement the defined FOV data for a CT scan the object in order to acquire dental CT X-ray image data of the object (par. 125).
Regarding claim 2, Sadakane discloses wherein the FOV data comprises a FOV position and a FOV size (par. 118).
Regarding claim 3, Sadakane discloses wherein the two X-ray scout images of the object comprise a lateral (LAT) view angle X-ray scout image and a posterior-anterior (PA) view angle X-ray scout image (fig. 12 and par. 86).
Regarding claim 4, Sadakane discloses wherein the control system is further configured to: obtain imaging geometry data representing an imaging geometry of the dental X-ray imaging unit respective to the two X-ray scout images; and transform the detected at least one target structure into 3D device coordinates by using the obtained imaging geometry data (pars. 119-120).
Regarding claim 5, Sadakane discloses wherein the scan request further comprises object data representing at least one object related parameter (par. 56) and/or imaging program data representing required imaging program (par. 75).
Regarding claim 6, Sadakane discloses wherein the object data and/or the imaging program data is used in the defining of the FOV data (pars. 75-76).
Regarding claim 7, Sadakane discloses wherein the at least one trained detection model is a machine learning (ML) model (par. 99) or an artificial intelligence (AI) model.
Regarding claim 8, Sadakane discloses wherein the at least one trained detection model comprises at least one common trained detection model trained for both X-ray scout images (par. 107).
Regarding claim 9, Sadakane discloses wherein the at least one trained detection model comprises necessarily different (i.e., different from other prior art) at least one trained detection model trained for each X-ray scout image (par. 107).
Regarding claim 10, Sadakane discloses wherein the at least trained detection model depends on a region of the object imaged in the X-ray scout images (par. 107: in order to run the training).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakane in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0024671; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 11, Sadakane discloses claim 1. Sadakane further discloses wherein the detecting the at least one target structure of the object from the two X-ray scout images is based on detection (pars. 93 and 99-100).
However, Sadakane fails to disclose landmark-based detection, bounding box based detection, and/or object segmentation-based detection.
Kim teaches landmark-based detection (title, abstract, and par. 4), bounding box based detection, and/or object segmentation-based detection.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Sadakane with the teaching of Kim, since one would have been motivated to make such a modification for reducing time (Kim: par. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Sadakane discloses wherein in detection associated with the at least one ROI is detected from the two X-ray scout images by applying the at least one trained detection model for the X-ray scout images (pars. 93 and 99-100). Kim teaches landmark-based detection (title, abstract, and par. 4).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakane in view of Michael (US 2007/0058786).
Sadakane discloses an X-ray dental imaging system (2) to: receive a scan request comprising an indication of at least one region of interest (ROI) (par. 76); control the parts of the dental X-ray imaging system to acquire two X-ray scout images (C1 and C2) of the object; detect at least one target structure of the object from the two scout images associated with the at least one ROI (par. 93) by applying at least one trained detection model for the X-ray scout images (pars. 99-100); define field of view (FOV) data of the dental X-ray imaging system at least partially based on the detected at least one target structure (“third region”, determination: see par. 107, field of view data: “information regarding the third region”, central position of target area); and control the parts of the dental X-ray imaging system to implement the defined FOV data for a CT scan of the object in order to acquire CT dental X-ray image data of the object (par. 125).
However, Sadakane fails to disclose a tangible non-volatile computer-readable medium comprising instructions executed by a control unit of an X-ray dental imaging system.
Michael teaches a tangible non-volatile computer-readable medium comprising instructions executed by a control unit (par. 33) of an X-ray dental imaging system (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Sadakane with the teaching of Michael, since one would have been motivated to make such a modification for easier user control (Michael: par. 50).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 15, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sadakane fails to disclose “detect at least one target structure of the object from the two X-ray scout images associated with the at least one ROI by applying at least one trained detection model for the X-ray scout images”, since Sadakane instead discloses detecting based on both CT image data and X-ray scout images. The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Since the claim uses the transitional term “comprising”, the claim is open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. Therefore, the disclosure of Sadakane with both CT image data and X-ray scout images would read on this portion of the claim, since the claim language is not limited to just scout images.
Applicant also argues that Sadakane fails to disclose “receive a scan request comprising an indication of at least one region of interest (ROI)”, since Sakadane instead describes setting imaging parameters. The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Sakadane disclosure of the operator inputting to set imaging regions (par. 76) is an indication of at least one ROI. These set imaging parameters are not random. They are done by the operator with the intent of indicating to the system that this is the ROI, in which the operator is interested. Therefore, Sakadane’s imaging region setting unit reads on this portion of the claim, and the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chih-Cheng Kao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884