DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on January 2, 2025. Claims 1-20 are canceled; claims 21-40 are newly added; and claims 21-40 are pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6-11-2025 and 2-5-206 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 12, 17-19, 21-23, 28 and 30-32 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,316 in view of the same inventive entity.
18/888,889
Patent No. 12,128,316
21.
(New) A computer-implemented method for determining candidate locations for a
game location service, the method comprising:
obtaining, by one or more computing devices, a plurality of location points;
filtering, by the one or more computing devices, the plurality of location points to obtain
a plurality of candidate location points based at least in part on a suitability of each of the
location points for use in generating in-game objects for one or more location-based games;
receiving, by the one or more computing devices, a request for one or more of the
plurality of candidate location points suitable for use in generating in-game objects for use in the
one or more location-based games; and
providing, by the one or more computing devices, data associated with one or more of the
plurality of candidate location points in response to the request.
1.
(Previously Presented) A computer-implemented method for determining
candidate locations for a playability service, the method comprising:
obtaining, by one or more computing devices, a plurality of location points;
filtering, by the one or more computing devices, the plurality of location points to obtain
a plurality of candidate location points based at least in part on a suitability of each of the
location points for use in generating in-game objects for use in one or more location-based games;
generating, by the one or more computing devices, a candidate location dataset based on
the plurality of candidate location points;
after generating the candidate location dataset based on the plurality of candidate location
points, receiving, by the one or more computing devices, a request for one or more of the
plurality of candidate location points suitable for use in generating in-game objects for use in the
one or more location-based games; and
providing, by the one or more computing devices, data associated with one or more of the
plurality of candidate location points in response to the request.
22.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the request is received via an application programming interface call.
2.
(Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the request is
received via an application programming interface call.
23.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the plurality of location points are filtered based at least in part on a score for each respective location point of
the plurality of location points, wherein the score is associated with suitability for use in generating in-game objects for a location-based game.
3.
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein
the candidate location dataset is generated based at least in part on a score associated with
suitability for use in generating in-game objects for a location-based game for each of the
plurality of the candidate location points.
24.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein the score is based on a number of visits to the respective location point.
4.
(Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the score is
based on a number of visits to the location point.
25.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein the score is based at least in part on a number of user generated photos captured of the respective location point.
5.
(Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the score is
based at least in part on a number of user generated photos captured of the location point.
26.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein the score is based on a signal used to prioritize the respective location point for display in a geographic information
system.
6.
(Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the score is
based on a signal used to prioritize the location point for display in a geographic information
system
27.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the plurality of
location points are filtered based at least in part on a blacklist.
7.
(Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of
location points are filtered based at least in part on a blacklist.
28.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the plurality of candidate location points comprises, for each respective candidate location point, geographic position data, a location identifier, and a score associated with suitability of the respective
candidate location point for use in generating in-game objects for a location-based game.
8.
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein
the candidate location dataset comprises, for each location point, geographic position data, a
location identifier, and a score associated with suitability of the location point for use in
generating in-game objects for a location-based game.
29.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the plurality of candidate location points are determined in response
to the request based at least in part on
player location.
12.
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein
the plurality of candidate location points are determined for providing in response to the request based at least in part on player location.
30.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the candidate location points are determined based at least in part on developer feedback.
30.
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein
the candidate locations are determined based at least in part on developer feedback.
31.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 30, wherein the developer
feedback is indicative of application type.
31.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 30, wherein the developer
feedback is indicative of application type.
32.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the candidate location points are playable locations determined based on a player's position.
32.
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein
the candidate locations are playable locations determined based on a player's position.
33.
(New) One or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store
instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining a plurality of location points;
filtering the plurality of location points to obtain a plurality of candidate location points
based at least in part on a suitability of each of the location points for use in generating in-game
objects for one or more location-based games;
receiving a request for one or more of the plurality of candidate location points suitable
for use in generating in-game objects for use in one or more location-based games; and
providing data associated with one or more of the plurality of candidate location points in
response to the request
17.
(Previously Presented) One or more non-transitory computer-readable media that
store instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining a plurality of location points;
filtering the plurality of location points to obtain a plurality of candidate location points
based at least in part on a suitability of each of the location points for use in generating in-game
objects for use in one or more location-based games;
generating a candidate location dataset based on the plurality of candidate location points;
after generating the candidate location dataset based on the plurality of candidate location
points, receiving a request for one or more of the plurality of candidate location points suitable
for use in generating in-game objects for use in one or more location-based games; and
providing data associated with one or more of the plurality of candidate location points in
response to the request
34.
(New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 33,
wherein the plurality of location points are filtered
based at least in part on a score for each respective location point in the plurality of location points, wherein the score is associated with
suitability for use in generating in-game objects for a location-based game.
18.
(Previously Presented) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media
of claim 17, wherein the candidate location dataset is generated
based at least in part on a score
associated with
suitability for use in generating in-game objects for a location-based game for
each of the plurality of the candidate location points.
35.
(New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 34,
wherein the score is based at least in part on one or more of:
a number of visits to the respective location point;
a number of user generated photos captured of the respective location point; and
a signal used to prioritize the respective location point for display in a geographic
information system.
19.
(Original) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 18,
wherein the score is based at least in part on one or more of:
a number of visits to the location point;
a number of user generated photos captured of the location point; and
a signal used to prioritize the location point for display in a geographic information system.
36.
(New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 35,
wherein an application programming interface (API) call is received from a API on a user device, the API being invoked by a software application also installed on the device, wherein upon receipt of the data associated with the one or more of the plurality of candidate location
points, the API functions to provide the data to the software application for use in the software application.
21.
(Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the application programming interface call is received from a API on a user device, the API being invoked by a
software application also installed on the device, wherein upon receipt of the data associated with the one or more of the plurality of candidate location points, the API functions to provide
the data to the software application for use in the software application.
37. (New) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 33,
wherein the plurality of location points are filtered based at least in part on a blacklist.
7. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of
location points are filtered based at least in part on a blacklist.
38.
(New) A computer-implemented method for obtaining candidate locations for use
in a location-based game software application installed on a user device,
the user device being configured to communicate with a remote data provider, the remote data provider being
configured to obtain a plurality of location points, and to filter the plurality of location points to obtain a plurality of candidate location points based at least in part on a suitability for generating
in-game objects for one or more location-based games,
the method comprising:
invoking, by the software application, an API installed on the user device to request one
or more of the plurality of candidate location points suitable for use generating in-game objects
for use in one or more location-based games from the remote data provider;
receiving, by the API, data associated with one or more of the plurality of candidate
location points suitable for use generating in-game objects for use in one or more location-based
games from the remote data provider; and
providing, by the API, the data associated with one or more of the plurality of candidate
location points for use in the location-based game software application.
22.
(Previously Presented) A computer-implemented method for obtaining candidate locations for use in a location-based game software application installed on a user device,
the user device being configured to communicate with a remote data provider, the remote data provider being configured to obtain a plurality of location points, to filter the plurality of location
points to obtain a plurality of candidate location points based at least in part on a suitability for generating in-game objects for use in one or more location-based games,
and to generate a candidate location dataset based on the plurality of candidate location points, the method
comprising:
invoking, by the software application, an API installed on the user device to request one
or more of the plurality of candidate location points suitable for use generating in-game objects
for use in one or more location-based games from the remote data provider;
receiving, by the API, data associated with one or more of the plurality of candidate
location points suitable for use generating in-game objects for use in one or more location-based
games from the remote data provider; and
providing, by the API, the data associated with one or more of the plurality of candidate
location points for use in the location-based game software application.
39.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 38,
wherein the plurality of
location points is filtered based at least in part on a score with each respective location point in
the plurality of location points, wherein the score is associated with suitability for use in generating in-game objects for a location-based game.
23.
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 22 wherein
the candidate location dataset is generated based at least in part on a score associated with
suitability for use in generating in-game objects for a location-based game
for each of the plurality of the candidate location points.
40.
(New) The computer-implemented method of claim 38,
wherein the plurality of
location points are filtered by determining, for each candidate location point, geographic position
data, a location identifier, and a score associated with suitability of the candidate location point for use in generating in-game objects for a location-based game.
28.
(Previously Presented) The computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein
the candidate location dataset comprises, for each location point, geographic position data, a location identifier, and a score associated with suitability of the location point for use in
generating in-game objects for a location-based game.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23-24, 26, 28-29 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (U.S. 2014/0244163) in view of Gupta (U.S. 2012/0290987).
With regard to claim 21, Zhao teaches a computer-implemented method for determining candidate locations for a game location service ([abstract] a plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device; [0066] the user device 804 may be implemented as any of a game console), the method comprising:
obtaining, by one or more computing devices (Fig. 1; Fig. 2, 204; [abstract]), a plurality of location points (Fig. 1, candidate location points 114; [abstract] a plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device);
filtering, by the one or more computing devices (Fig. 2, 210; Fig. 5; [abstract] one or more candidate locations are filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information), the plurality of location points to obtain a plurality of candidate location points based at least in part on a suitability of each of the location points for use in generating in-game objects ([0066] the user device 804 may be implemented as any of a game console) for one or more location-based application content ([abstract] a plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device; [0004] the computing system may use the collected signals to calculate an estimated area in which a starting location of the user device is located at the first time, and may identify a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area as potential starting locations; [0018] a plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area. Each candidate location represents a potential starting location of the user device at the first time. One or more candidate locations are filtered out based on whether the candidate locations could have experienced the movement from the one or more candidate locations; [0066] the user device 804 may be implemented as any of a game console);
receiving, by the one or more computing devices, a request for one or more of the plurality of candidate location points suitable for use in generating objects for use in the one or more location-based games ([0066] the user device 804 may be implemented as any of a game console; [0077] the map module 828 requests and receives map data 838 stored at the memory 826 of the server(s) 816 and may present map information 840 of the surrounding area at a display of the user device 804 where the user device locates based on the map data 834; [0078] the candidate generation module 830 calculates the estimated starting location of the user device 804 based on the received signals from the signal sensor(s) 812, determines the estimated area within which the starting location of the user device 804 is located at the first time, and identifies a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area); and
providing, by the one or more computing devices, data associated with one or more of the plurality of candidate location points in response to the request (Fig. 1; Fig. 2, 214; Fig. 6, 608; [0078] the candidate generation module 830 calculates the estimated starting location of the user device 804 based on the received signals from the signal sensor(s) 812, determines the estimated area within which the starting location of the user device 804 is located at the first time, and identifies a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area). However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- in-game objects for use in one or more location-based games
Gupta teaches a virtual object manipulation using multi-modal inputs such as natural language, gesture, text, sketch, etc. [abstract]. Gupta also teaches an object placement algorithm for placing game objects (filtering) ([0003] Background layout in animated movies, video game map development, crime or accident scene simulation, interior design applications (e.g., home design software) and computerized virtual graphical social spaces such as Second Life.TM. are examples of applications that require various object placement functions to be carried out; [0021] a game engine application programming interface (API)) for use in one or more location-based games ([0019] determining a valid and/or optimal location for a virtual object in a virtual world and placing the object in the virtual world according to the determination; [0069] In one embodiment of the present invention, upon selecting the placement area/cell with the highest score, the present invention has thus determined a valid location and a final placement area for the given object. The present invention can thus proceed with placing the object on, in or at the selected placement area; [0072] the present invention may determine a valid placement location as described above, and proceed to place the object in the valid placement location within the virtual world without regard to the orientation of the object, or only with regard to a pre-determined orientation). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations taught by Zhao, with the location-based gaming application taught by Gupta, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information.
With regard to claim 23, the limitations are addressed above and Zhao teaches wherein the plurality of location points are filtered (Fig. 2, 210; Fig. 5; [abstract] one or more candidate locations are filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information) based at least in part on a score for each respective location point of the plurality of location points (Fig. 6, 604; [0058] At 604, the computing system calculates a confidence score of each of the plurality of candidate locations after each step. The confidence score measures a probability that a respective candidate location, such as the candidate location 114(p) would end or cross at one of the impossible locations 108; [0059] At 606, the computing system determines whether the confidence score for each candidate location is lower than a preset threshold. At 608, if the confidence score for the respective candidate location is lower than the preset threshold, the respective candidate location is filtered out as a potential starting location. If the confidence score for the respective candidate location is higher than the preset threshold, the respective candidate location is not filtered out and remains as a potential starting location; [0075] the confidence score of a current location result is calculated to determine whether the current location result is at an impossible location), wherein the score is associated with suitability for use in generating objects for a location-based [0058] At 604, the computing system calculates a confidence score of each of the plurality of candidate locations after each step. The confidence score measures a probability that a respective candidate location, such as the candidate location 114(p) would end or cross at one of the impossible locations 108; [0059] At 606, the computing system determines whether the confidence score for each candidate location is lower than a preset threshold. At 608, if the confidence score for the respective candidate location is lower than the preset threshold, the respective candidate location is filtered out as a potential starting location. If the confidence score for the respective candidate location is higher than the preset threshold, the respective candidate location is not filtered out and remains as a potential starting location; [0075] the confidence score of a current location result is calculated to determine whether the current location result is at an impossible location). However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- in-game objects for a location-based game
Gupta teaches a virtual object manipulation using multi-modal inputs such as natural language, gesture, text, sketch, etc. [abstract]. Gupta also teaches an object placement algorithm for placing game objects (filtering) ([0003] Background layout in animated movies, video game map development, crime or accident scene simulation, interior design applications (e.g., home design software) and computerized virtual graphical social spaces such as Second Life.TM. are examples of applications that require various object placement functions to be carried out; [0021] a game engine application programming interface (API)) for use in one or more location-based games ([0019] determining a valid and/or optimal location for a virtual object in a virtual world and placing the object in the virtual world according to the determination; [0069] In one embodiment of the present invention, upon selecting the placement area/cell with the highest score, the present invention has thus determined a valid location and a final placement area for the given object. The present invention can thus proceed with placing the object on, in or at the selected placement area; [0072] the present invention may determine a valid placement location as described above, and proceed to place the object in the valid placement location within the virtual world without regard to the orientation of the object, or only with regard to a pre-determined orientation). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations taught by Zhao, with the location-based gaming application taught by Gupta, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information.
With regards to claim 24, the limitations are addressed above and Zhao teaches wherein the score is based on a number of visits to the respective location point ([0028] After determining the estimated area 110, the computing system selects or identifies a plurality of candidate locations 114(1)…114(p) within the estimated area 110, where p is a number of the candidate locations. The number of the candidate locations may be preset or calculated based on one or more factors including a configuration of the user device 104 such as a model of the user device 104 or a computing capability of the user device 104; [0036] the computing system may identify another one or more candidate locations 114 within the estimated area 110 if some candidate locations are filtered out, the number of identified another one or more candidate location may be equivalent to the filtered candidate locations).
With regards to claim 26, the limitations are addressed above and Zhao teaches wherein the score is based on a signal used to prioritize the respective location point for display in a geographic information system (Fig. 1; [abstract] Map information of surrounding area that covers the estimated area is also obtained. One or more candidate locations are filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information; [0028] After determining the estimated area 110, the computing system selects or identifies a plurality of candidate locations 114(1)…114(p) within the estimated area 110, where p is a number of the candidate locations. The number of the candidate locations may be preset or calculated based on one or more factors including a configuration of the user device 104 such as a model of the user device 104 or a computing capability of the user device 104; [0036] the computing system may identify another one or more candidate locations 114 within the estimated area 110 if some candidate locations are filtered out, the number of identified another one or more candidate location may be equivalent to the filtered candidate locations).
With regards to claim 28, the limitations are addressed above and Zhao teaches wherein the plurality of candidate location points comprises, for each respective candidate location point (Fig. 6, 604; [0058] At 604, the computing system calculates a confidence score of each of the plurality of candidate locations after each step. The confidence score measures a probability that a respective candidate location, such as the candidate location 114(p) would end or cross at one of the impossible locations 108; [0059] At 606, the computing system determines whether the confidence score for each candidate location is lower than a preset threshold. At 608, if the confidence score for the respective candidate location is lower than the preset threshold, the respective candidate location is filtered out as a potential starting location. If the confidence score for the respective candidate location is higher than the preset threshold, the respective candidate location is not filtered out and remains as a potential starting location; [0075] the confidence score of a current location result is calculated to determine whether the current location result is at an impossible location), geographic position data ([0001]; [0055] At 502, for each of the plurality of candidate locations, the computing system determines that, based on the map information of the surrounding area 106, whether the user device 104 could have experienced the movement 116 from the respective candidate location…The computing system monitors a later position of the user device 104 from the respective candidate location 114 along the movement 116, i.e. along the same direction and distance of the movement 116; [0064]), a location identifier ([abstract] An estimated area within which a starting location of the user device is located is determined based on one or more signals received from adjacent signal sources. A plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device; [0004] A computing system to determine a starting location of the user device may reside at the user device, a remote server connected with the user device through a network, or a combination thereof. The computing system may use the collected signals to calculate an estimated area in which a starting location of the user device is located at the first time, and may identify a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area as potential starting locations), and a score associated with suitability of the respective candidate location point for use in generating location-based application content ([0058] At 604, the computing system calculates a confidence score of each of the plurality of candidate locations after each step. The confidence score measures a probability that a respective candidate location, such as the candidate location 114(p) would end or cross at one of the impossible locations 108; [0059] At 606, the computing system determines whether the confidence score for each candidate location is lower than a preset threshold. At 608, if the confidence score for the respective candidate location is lower than the preset threshold, the respective candidate location is filtered out as a potential starting location. If the confidence score for the respective candidate location is higher than the preset threshold, the respective candidate location is not filtered out and remains as a potential starting location; [0075] The confidence score of a current location result is calculated to determine whether the current location result is at an impossible location. If the confidence score of the current location result is less than a threshold, the computing system may re-determine the current location of the user device). However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- in-game objects for a location-based game
Gupta teaches a virtual object manipulation using multi-modal inputs such as natural language, gesture, text, sketch, etc. [abstract]. Gupta also teaches an object placement algorithm for placing game objects (filtering) ([0003] Background layout in animated movies, video game map development, crime or accident scene simulation, interior design applications (e.g., home design software) and computerized virtual graphical social spaces such as Second Life.TM. are examples of applications that require various object placement functions to be carried out; [0021] a game engine application programming interface (API)) for use in one or more location-based games ([0019] determining a valid and/or optimal location for a virtual object in a virtual world and placing the object in the virtual world according to the determination; [0069] In one embodiment of the present invention, upon selecting the placement area/cell with the highest score, the present invention has thus determined a valid location and a final placement area for the given object. The present invention can thus proceed with placing the object on, in or at the selected placement area; [0072] the present invention may determine a valid placement location as described above, and proceed to place the object in the valid placement location within the virtual world without regard to the orientation of the object, or only with regard to a pre-determined orientation). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations taught by Zhao, with the location-based gaming application taught by Gupta, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information.
With regards to claim 29, the limitations are addressed above and Zhao teaches wherein the plurality of candidate location points are determined in response to the request based at least in part on player location ([abstract] An estimated area within which a starting location of the user device is located is determined based on one or more signals received from adjacent signal sources. A plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device; [0004] A computing system to determine a starting location of the user device may reside at the user device, a remote server connected with the user device through a network, or a combination thereof. The computing system may use the collected signals to calculate an estimated area in which a starting location of the user device is located at the first time, and may identify a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area as potential starting locations).
With regards to claim 32, the limitations are addressed above and Zhao teaches wherein the candidate location points are playable locations ([0066] The user device 804 may be implemented as any of a variety of computing devices including a game console) determined based on a player’s position ([0001]; [0055] At 502, for each of the plurality of candidate locations, the computing system determines that, based on the map information of the surrounding area 106, whether the user device 104 could have experienced the movement 116 from the respective candidate location…The computing system monitors a later position of the user device 104 from the respective candidate location 114 along the movement 116, i.e. along the same direction and distance of the movement 116; [0064]).
With regards to claim 33, Zhao teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing system ([0068] The memory 814 is an example of computer-readable media. Computer-readable media includes at least two types of computer-readable media, namely computer storage media and communications media), cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining a plurality of location points (Fig. 1, candidate location points 114; Fig. 2, 204; [abstract] A plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device);
filtering the plurality of location points (Fig. 2, 210; Fig. 5; [abstract] One or more candidate locations are filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information) to obtain a plurality of candidate location points based at least in part on a suitability each of the location points for use in generating in-game content ([0066] a game console) for one or more location-based application content ([abstract] A plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device; [0004] The computing system may use the collected signals to calculate an estimated area in which a starting location of the user device is located at the first time, and may identify a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area as potential starting locations; [0018] A plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area. Each candidate location represents a potential starting location of the user device at the first time. One or more candidate locations are filtered out based on whether the candidate locations could have experienced the movement from the one or more candidate locations);
receiving a request for one or more of the plurality of candidate location points ([0077] The map module 828 requests and receives map data 838 stored at the memory 826 of the server(s) 816 and may present map information 840 of the surrounding area at a display of the user device 804 where the user device 804 locates based on the map data 834; [0078] The candidate generation module 830 calculates the estimated starting location of the user device 804 based on the received signals from the signal sensor(s) 812, determines the estimated area within which the starting location of the user device 804 is located at the first time, and identifies a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area); and
providing data associated with one or more of the plurality of candidate location points in response to the request (Fig. 1; Fig. 2, 214; Fig. 6, 608; [0078] The candidate generation module 830 calculates the estimated starting location of the user device 804 based on the received signals from the signal sensor(s) 812, determines the estimated area within which the starting location of the user device 804 is located at the first time, and identifies a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area). However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- suitable for use in generating in-game objects for use in one or more location-based games
Gupta teaches a virtual object manipulation using multi-modal inputs such as natural language, gesture, text, sketch, etc. [abstract]. Gupta also teaches an object placement algorithm for placing game objects (filtering) ([0003] Background layout in animated movies, video game map development, crime or accident scene simulation, interior design applications (e.g., home design software) and computerized virtual graphical social spaces such as Second Life.TM. are examples of applications that require various object placement functions to be carried out; [0021] a game engine application programming interface (API)) for use in one or more location-based games ([0019] determining a valid and/or optimal location for a virtual object in a virtual world and placing the object in the virtual world according to the determination; [0069] In one embodiment of the present invention, upon selecting the placement area/cell with the highest score, the present invention has thus determined a valid location and a final placement area for the given object. The present invention can thus proceed with placing the object on, in or at the selected placement area; [0072] the present invention may determine a valid placement location as described above, and proceed to place the object in the valid placement location within the virtual world without regard to the orientation of the object, or only with regard to a pre-determined orientation). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations taught by Zhao, with the location-based gaming application taught by Gupta, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information.
With regards to claim 34, the media claim corresponds to the method claim 23, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regards to claim 35, the limitations are addressed above and Zhao teaches wherein the score is based at least in part on one or more of:
a number of visits to the location point ([0028] After determining the estimated area 110, the computing system selects or identifies a plurality of candidate locations 114(1)…114(p) within the estimated area 110, where p is a number of the candidate locations. The number of the candidate locations may be preset or calculated based on one or more factors including a configuration of the user device 104 such as a model of the user device 104 or a computing capability of the user device 104; [0036] the computing system may identify another one or more candidate locations 114 within the estimated area 110 if some candidate locations are filtered out, the number of identified another one or more candidate location may be equivalent to the filtered candidate locations);
a number of user generated photos captured of the location point; and
a signal used to prioritize the location point for display in a geographic information system (Fig. 1; [abstract] Map information of surrounding area that covers the estimated area is also obtained. One or more candidate locations are filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information; [0028] After determining the estimated area 110, the computing system selects or identifies a plurality of candidate locations 114(1)…114(p) within the estimated area 110, where p is a number of the candidate locations. The number of the candidate locations may be preset or calculated based on one or more factors including a configuration of the user device 104 such as a model of the user device 104 or a computing capability of the user device 104; [0036] the computing system may identify another one or more candidate locations 114 within the estimated area 110 if some candidate locations are filtered out, the number of identified another one or more candidate location may be equivalent to the filtered candidate locations).
Claims 22, 25, 30-31, 36 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U.S. 2014/0244163) in view of Gupta (U.S. 2012/0290987) and further in view of Memon (U.S. 2016/0191637).
With regard to claim 22, the limitations are addressed above. However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- wherein the request is received via an application programming interface call
Memon teaches a first user device associated with a first user, location data representing a current physical location of the first user [abstract]. Memon also teaches wherein the request is received via an application programming interface call ([0023] In one embodiment, a user device (e.g. 104A) may execute a user application (e.g. 105A) allowing a user 102A of the user device 104A to interact with the social networking system 130…In an embodiment, the user application 105A is a special-purpose client application (e.g., Facebook for iPhone or iPad, etc.), and in an embodiment the user application 105A is the native platform or operating system of the user device 104A, such as Windows.RTM., Mac OSX.RTM., iOS.RTM., or ANDROID.TM., which may utilize an Application Programming Interface (API) to directly interface with the social networking system 130 through API request server 125; [0046] For example, location services module 129 utilizes an application programming interface (API) to transmit the address to a third party shopping or delivery platform 150). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations as taught by Zhao and the location-based games as taught by Gupta, to sharing location data in real-time and application programming interface call as taught by Memon, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information.
With regards to claim 25, the limitations are addressed above and Zhao teaches wherein the score is based at least in part on a number of the respective location point (Fig. 6, 604; [0058] At 604, the computing system calculates a confidence score of each of the plurality of candidate locations after each step. The confidence score measures a probability that a respective candidate location, such as the candidate location 114(p) would end or cross at one of the impossible locations 108; [0059] At 606, the computing system determines whether the confidence score for each candidate location is lower than a preset threshold. At 608, if the confidence score for the respective candidate location is lower than the preset threshold, the respective candidate location is filtered out as a potential starting location. If the confidence score for the respective candidate location is higher than the preset threshold, the respective candidate location is not filtered out and remains as a potential starting location; [0075] the confidence score of a current location result is calculated to determine whether the current location result is at an impossible location). However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- of user generated photos captured
Memon teaches a first user device associated with a first user, location data representing a current physical location of the first user [abstract]. Memon also teaches user generated photos captured of the location point ([0028] In certain embodiments, images or videos including or depicting users of the social networking system 130 may be "tagged" with identification information of those users; [0031] being tagged in photos with another user, etc.; [0032] Additional examples of interactions with objects on the social networking system 130 included in the action log 148 include logging in to the social networking system 130, commenting on a photo album; [0033] upload a photograph on behalf of a user, etc.; [0034] Examples of social networking content items include suggested connections or suggestions to perform other actions, media provided to or maintained by the social networking system 130 (e.g., pictures, videos)). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations as taught by Zhao and the location-based games as taught by Gupta, to have included the user generated photos as taught by Memon, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information.
With regard to claim 30, the limitations are addressed above. However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- wherein the candidate locations are determined based at least in part on developer feedback
Memon teaches a first user device associated with a first user, location data representing a current physical location of the first user [abstract]. Memon also teaches wherein the candidate locations are determined based at least in part on developer feedback ([0039] In one embodiment, users are able to provide feedback on actions of other users/entities. As a result, actions are also viewed as objects that may be acted upon; [0041] Additionally, location services module 129 may utilize graph 200 to share profile information with a third party service or to determine location suggestions, e.g., based upon user feedback, preferences, check-ins, etc. as described herein). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations as taught by Zhao and the location-based games as taught by Gupta, to have included developer feedback as taught by Memon, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information.
With regard to claim 31, the limitations are addressed above. However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- wherein the developer feedback is indicative of application type
Memon teaches a first user device associated with a first user, location data representing a current physical location of the first user [abstract]. Memon also teaches wherein the developer feedback is indicative of application type ([0039] In one embodiment, users are able to provide feedback on actions of other users/entities. As a result, actions are also viewed as objects that may be acted upon; [0041] Additionally, location services module 129 may utilize graph 200 to share profile information with a third party service or to determine location suggestions, e.g., based upon user feedback, preferences, check-ins, etc. as described herein). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations as taught by Zhao and the location-based games as taught by Gupta, to have included developer feedback as taught by Memon, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information.
With regards to claim 36, the limitations are addressed above and Zhao teaches wherein upon receipt of the data associated with the one or more of the plurality of candidate location points (Fig. 1, candidate location points 114; [abstract] A plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device). However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- wherein an application programming interface (API) call is from a API on a user device, the API being invoked by a software application also installed on the device, wherein upon receipt of the data associated with the one or more of the plurality of candidate location points, the API functions to provide the data to the software application for use in the software application
Memon teaches a first user device associated with a first user, location data representing a current physical location of the first user [abstract]. Memon also teaches the application programming interface call is received from a API on a user device ([0023] the user application 105A is the native platform or operating system of the user device 104A, such as Windows.RTM., Mac OSX.RTM., iOS.RTM., or ANDROID.TM., which may utilize an Application Programming Interface (API) to directly interface with the social networking system 130 through API request server 125; [0027] To provide these functionalities, the embodiment of the social networking system 130 includes an API request server 125; [0033] The API request server 125 allows external systems (e.g., an external application 150 of external server 115, and/or user applications 105A of user devices 104A-104N) to access information from or transmit information to the social networking system 130 by issuing API calls. For example, a system (e.g. external application 150) may send an API request to the social networking system 130 via the network 121 to publish a story on behalf of a user, request information about a user (after having been given permission to do so by the user), upload a photograph on behalf of a user, etc. API requests are received at the social networking system 130 by the API request server 125, which then processes the request by performing actions sought by the API requests, determining appropriate responses to the API requests, and transmitting back these responses back to the requesting application 150 via the network 121; [0046] For example, location services module 129 utilizes an application programming interface (API) to transmit the address to a third party shopping or delivery platform 150), the API being invoked by a software application also installed on the device ([0029] In some embodiments the web server 123 (additionally or alternately) utilizes a message server 124 (e.g., a dedicated server end station, a dedicated software application, etc.) to communicate with the user devices 104A-104N; [0046] For example, location services module 129 utilizes an application programming interface (API) to transmit the address to a third party shopping or delivery platform 150; [0094]), wherein the API functions to provide the data to the software application for use in the software application ([0029] In some embodiments the web server 123 (additionally or alternately) utilizes a message server 124 (e.g., a dedicated server end station, a dedicated software application, etc.) to communicate with the user devices 104A-104N; [0046] For example, location services module 129 utilizes an application programming interface (API) to transmit the address to a third party shopping or delivery platform 150; [0094]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations as taught by Zhao and the location-based games as taught by Gupta, to sharing location data in real-time and application programming interface call as taught by Memon, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information.
With regards to claim 38, Zhao teaches a computer-implemented method for obtaining candidate locations for use on a user device (Fig. 1, candidate location points 114; Fig. 2, 204; [abstract] A plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device), the user device being configured to communicate with a remote data provider ([0004] a remote server connected with the user device through a network), the remote data provider being configured to obtain a plurality of location points (Fig. 1, candidate location points 114; Fig. 2, 204; [abstract] A plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device), to filter the plurality of location points (Fig. 2, 210; Fig. 5; [abstract] One or more candidate locations are filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information) to obtain a plurality of candidate location points based at least in part on a suitability for generating in-game content ([0066] a game console) for use in one or more location-based application content ([abstract] A plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area as the potential starting location of the user device; [0004] The computing system may use the collected signals to calculate an estimated area in which a starting location of the user device is located at the first time, and may identify a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area as potential starting locations; [0018] A plurality of candidate locations is identified within the estimated area. Each candidate location represents a potential starting location of the user device at the first time. One or more candidate locations are filtered out based on whether the candidate locations could have experienced the movement from the one or more candidate locations), the method comprising:
invoking, by the software application, to request one or more of the plurality of candidate location points suitable for use generating in-game content ([0066] a game console) for use in one or more location-based from the remote data provider ([0004] A computing system to determine a starting location of the user device may reside at the user device, a remote server connected with the user device through a network, or a combination thereof. The computing system may use the collected signals to calculate an estimated area in which a starting location of the user device is located at the first time, and may identify a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area as potential starting locations);
receiving, data associated with one or more of the plurality of candidate location points from the remote data provider ([0077] The map module 828 requests and receives map data 838 stored at the memory 826 of the server(s) 816 and may present map information 840 of the surrounding area at a display of the user device 804 where the user device 804 locates based on the map data 834; [0078] The candidate generation module 830 calculates the estimated starting location of the user device 804 based on the received signals from the signal sensor(s) 812, determines the estimated area within which the starting location of the user device 804 is located at the first time, and identifies a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area); and
providing, the data associated with one or more of the plurality of candidate location points for use in the software application (Fig. 1; Fig. 2, 214; Fig. 6, 608; [0078] The candidate generation module 830 calculates the estimated starting location of the user device 804 based on the received signals from the signal sensor(s) 812, determines the estimated area within which the starting location of the user device 804 is located at the first time, and identifies a plurality of candidate locations within the estimated area). However, Zhao does not specifically teach generating in-game content for use in one or more location-based games. Gupta teaches an object placement algorithm for placing game objects (filtering) ([0003] Background layout in animated movies, video game map development, crime or accident scene simulation, interior design applications (e.g., home design software) and computerized virtual graphical social spaces such as Second Life.TM. are examples of applications that require various object placement functions to be carried out; [0021] a game engine application programming interface (API)) for use in one or more location-based games ([0019] determining a valid and/or optimal location for a virtual object in a virtual world and placing the object in the virtual world according to the determination; [0069] In one embodiment of the present invention, upon selecting the placement area/cell with the highest score, the present invention has thus determined a valid location and a final placement area for the given object. The present invention can thus proceed with placing the object on, in or at the selected placement area; [0072] the present invention may determine a valid placement location as described above, and proceed to place the object in the valid placement location within the virtual world without regard to the orientation of the object, or only with regard to a pre-determined orientation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have modified the candidate locations taught by Zhao, with the location-based gaming application taught by Gupta, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information. However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- in a software application installed
- an API installed on the user device
- by the API
Memon teaches a first user device associated with a first user, location data representing a current physical location of the first user [abstract]. Memon also teaches a software application installed ([0029] In some embodiments the web server 123 (additionally or alternately) utilizes a message server 124 (e.g., a dedicated server end station, a dedicated software application, etc.) to communicate with the user devices 104A-104N; [0046] For example, location services module 129 utilizes an application programming interface (API) to transmit the address to a third party shopping or delivery platform 150; [0094]), as well as an API installed on the user device ([0023] the user application 105A is the native platform or operating system of the user device 104A, such as Windows.RTM., Mac OSX.RTM., iOS.RTM., or ANDROID.TM., which may utilize an Application Programming Interface (API) to directly interface with the social networking system 130 through API request server 125; [0027] To provide these functionalities, the embodiment of the social networking system 130 includes an API request server 125; [0033] The API request server 125 allows external systems (e.g., an external application 150 of external server 115, and/or user applications 105A of user devices 104A-104N) to access information from or transmit information to the social networking system 130 by issuing API calls. For example, a system (e.g. external application 150) may send an API request to the social networking system 130 via the network 121 to publish a story on behalf of a user, request information about a user (after having been given permission to do so by the user), upload a photograph on behalf of a user, etc. API requests are received at the social networking system 130 by the API request server 125, which then processes the request by performing actions sought by the API requests, determining appropriate responses to the API requests, and transmitting back these responses back to the requesting application 150 via the network 121; [0046] For example, location services module 129 utilizes an application programming interface (API) to transmit the address to a third party shopping or delivery platform 150). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations as taught by Zhao and the location-based games as taught by Gupta, to sharing location data in real-time and application programming interface call as taught by Memon, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information.
With regard to claim 39, the method claim corresponds to the method claim 23, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale
With regard to claim 40, the method claim corresponds to the method claim 28, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale
Claims 27 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U.S. 2014/0244163) in view of Gupta (U.S. 2012/0290987) and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 2014/0200034).
With regard to claim 27, the limitations are addressed above and Zhao teaches wherein the plurality of location points are filtered (Fig. 2, 210; Fig. 5; [abstract] One or more candidate locations are filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information). However, Zhao does not specifically teach:
- based at least in part on a blacklist
Lee teaches a method of providing positional information at a mobile terminal [abstract]. Lee also teaches based at least in part on a blacklist ([0074] Referring to FIG. 4, as shown in operation 410, the database configuring apparatus determines if a service set identifier (SSID) of a WiFi AP includes a predetermined and/or desired keyword. In various embodiments, the database configuring apparatus may store, as a blacklist, information associated with a WiFi AP having an SSID including a predetermined keyword among the collected WiFi AP information. When a WiFi AP corresponding to the blacklist is found in operation 410, the database configuring apparatus may remove information associated with the found WiFi AP from the collected WiFi AP information; [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the candidate locations as taught by Zhao and the location-based games as taught by Gupta, to have included the blacklist as taught by Lee, to have achieved a system and method of providing one or more candidate locations filtered out depending on whether they could have experienced the movement based on the map information and a means of placing filtered location points.
With regard to claim 37, the media claim corresponds to the method claim 27, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
Conclusion
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171