DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou US 20100277858 in view of Anderson US 6104604.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou US 20100277858 discloses (in Fig. 2 and 4) an information handling system (200) comprising:
a keyboard (25/45) comprising a plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 253) and (a connector 251) configured to electrically couple to a connector (215) of the information handling system (200); and
a chassis (21/41) comprising a plurality of keyboard engagement features (213/215),
wherein:
the keyboard (25/45) is configured to slide relative to the chassis (21/41) in a first direction (towards the display 23) such that the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 253) mechanically couple to the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 213 as depicted in Fig. 2-3); and
the keyboard (25/45) is configured to slide relative to the chassis (21/41) in a second direction (away from the display 23) such that the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 253) mechanically uncouple from the plurality of keyboard engagement features (213; as depicted in Fig. 3-2).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose the keyboard comprising a combined card edge connector, wherein the combined card edge connector comprises a plurality of edge connectors.
However, Anderson US 6104604 discloses (in Fig. 2) a removable keyboard (200) comprising a connector (240) and the connector (240 can alternatively be selected from a wide variety of connectors including a card edge connector see col. 4 Ln. 8-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select from a wide variety of connectors, as taught by Anderson have the connector of Zhou be a combined card edge connector comprises a plurality of edge connectors, in order to reduce cost and provide desired connection.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou in view of Anderson discloses the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein:
the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 253 of Zhou) comprise a plurality of standoffs (left and right 253 of Zhou) coupled to the keyboard (25 as depicted in Fig. 2 of Zhou); and
the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 213 of Zhou) comprise a plurality of openings (left and right 213 of Zhou) formed in the chassis (21 as depicted in Fig. 2 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Anderson discloses the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein:
the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 253/453 of Zhou) comprise a plurality of latch structures (left and right 453 in Fig. 4 of Zhou) coupled to the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou); and
the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 213/419 of Zhou) comprise:
a plurality of openings (left and right 419 of Zhou) configured to receive the plurality of latch structures (left and right 453 of Zhou); and
a plurality of hook structures (left and right 4191 of Zhou) configured to mechanically couple to the plurality of latch structures (left and right 453 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou in view of Anderson discloses the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein:
the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 253/453 of Zhou) comprise a plurality of recesses (stepped recesses of left and right 253 of Zhou) formed in the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou); and
the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 213/419 of Zhou) comprise a plurality of standoffs (protruding portions of left and right 213 in Fig. 2 of Zhou) coupled to the chassis (21 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou in view of Anderson discloses the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) further comprises a plurality of alignment structures (left and right 453 of Zhou) and the chassis (21/41 of Zhou) comprises a plurality of alignment holes (left and right 419 of Zhou),
wherein the plurality of alignment structures (left and right 453 of Zhou) are configured to align with the plurality of alignment holes (left and right 419 of Zhou) when the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 213 of Zhou) are mechanically coupled to the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 253 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou US 20100277858 discloses (in Fig. 2 and 4 a structure that would follow steps of) a method for making an information handling system (200/400) comprising:
forming a keyboard (25/45) comprising a plurality of chassis engagement features (253);
coupling (a connector 251) configured to electrically couple to a connector (215) of the information handling system (200); and
forming a chassis (21/41) comprising a plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 213),
wherein:
the keyboard (25/45) is configured to slide relative to the chassis in a first direction (towards the display 23) such that the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 253) mechanically couple to the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 213; as depicted in Fig. 2-3); and
the keyboard (25/45) is configured to slide relative to the chassis (21/41) in a second direction (away from the display 23) such that the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 253) mechanically uncouple from the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 213; as depicted in Fig. 3-2).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose a combined card edge connector, wherein the combined card edge connector comprises a plurality of edge connectors.
However, Anderson US 6104604 discloses (in Fig. 2) a removable keyboard (200) comprising a connector (240) and the connector (240 can alternatively be selected from a wide variety of connectors including a card edge connector see col. 4 Ln. 8-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select from a wide variety of connectors, as taught by Anderson have the connector of Zhou be a combined card edge connector comprises a plurality of edge connectors, in order to reduce cost and provide desired connection.
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses (a structure that would follow steps of) the method of Claim 9,
wherein:
forming the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) comprises coupling a plurality of standoffs (left and right 253 of Zhou) to the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou); and
forming the chassis (21/41 of Zhou) comprises forming a plurality of openings (left and right 213 of Zhou) in the chassis (21/41 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses (a structure that would follow steps of) the method of Claim 9, wherein:
forming the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) comprises coupling a plurality of latch structures (left and right 453 in Fig. 4 of Zhou) to the keyboard (25/45 as depicted in Fig. 4 of Zhou); and
forming the chassis (21/41 of Zhou) comprises:
forming a plurality of openings (left and right 419 in Fig. 4 of Zhou) configured to receive the plurality of latch structures (left and right 453 of Zhou); and
forming a plurality of hook structures (left and right 4191 in Fig. 4 of Zhou) configured to mechanically couple to the plurality of latch structures (left and right 453 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses (a structure that would follow steps of) the method of Claim 9, wherein:
forming the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) comprises forming a plurality of recesses (stepped recesses of left and right 253 in Fig. 1 and 4 of Zhou) in the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou); and
forming the chassis (21/41 of Zhou) comprises coupling a plurality of standoffs (protrusions of left and right 213 in Fig. 2 and 4 of Zhou) to the chassis (21/41 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses (a structure that would follow steps of) the method of Claim 9, wherein:
forming the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) further comprises coupling a plurality of alignment structures (left and right 453 of Zhou) to the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou); and
forming the chassis (21/41 of Zhou) further comprises forming a plurality of alignment holes (left and right 419 of Zhou) in the chassis (21/41 of Zhou),
wherein the plurality of alignment structures (left and right 453 of Zhou) are configured to align with the plurality of alignment holes (left and right 419 of Zhou) when the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 253 of Zhou) are mechanically coupled to the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 213 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou US 20100277858 discloses (in Fig. 2 and 4 a structure that would follow steps of) a method of assembling a keyboard (25/45) to a chassis (21/41) of an information handling system (200/400) comprising sliding the keyboard (25/45) relative to the chassis (21/41) in a first direction (towards the display 23) such that a plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 253) of the keyboard (25/45) mechanically couple to a plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 213) of the chassis (21/41) and (a connector 251) of the keyboard (25/45) electrically couples to a connector (215) of the information handling system (200).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose a combined card edge connector.
However, Anderson US 6104604 discloses (in Fig. 2) a removable keyboard (200) comprising a connector (240) and the connector (240 can alternatively be selected from a wide variety of connectors including a card edge connector see col. 4 Ln. 8-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select from a wide variety of connectors, as taught by Anderson have the connector of Zhou be a combined card edge connector, in order to reduce cost and provide desired connection.
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses (a structure that would follow steps of) the method of Claim 17, further comprising aligning a plurality of alignment structures (453 in Fig. 4 of Zhou) of the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) with a plurality of alignment holes (left and right 419 in Fig. 4 of Zhou) of the chassis (21/41 of Zhou),
wherein the plurality of alignment structures (left and right 453 of Zhou) align with the plurality of alignment holes (left and right 419 of Zhou) when the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 253 of Zhou) are mechanically coupled to the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 213 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou discloses (a structure that would follow steps of) the method of Claim 17, wherein mechanically coupling the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 213 of Zhou) to the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 253 of Zhou) comprises mechanically coupling a plurality of standoffs (left and right 253 in Fig. 2 of Zhou) of the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) to a plurality of openings (left and right 213 in Fig. 2 of Zhou) formed in the chassis (21/41 of Zhou) such that movement of the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) is constrained relative to the chassis (21/41 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou discloses (a structure that would follow steps of) the method of Claim 17, further comprising sliding the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) relative to the chassis (21/41 of Zhou) in a second direction (away from the display 23 of Zhou) such that the plurality of chassis engagement features (left and right 213 of Zhou) decouples from the plurality of keyboard engagement features (left and right 253 as depicted in Fig. 3-2 of Zhou).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Anderson as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Weng US 20040190239.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Anderson discloses the information handling system of Claim 1.
Zhou in view of Anderson do not explicitly wherein the chassis further comprises a first plurality of magnets configured to magnetically couple to the keyboard.
However, Weng US 20040190239 discloses a chassis (10) and a keyboard (20) comprising magnets (16/26); wherein the chassis (10) comprises a first plurality of magnets (16) configured to magnetically couple to the keyboard (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the chassis and keyboard of Zhou in view of Anderson further comprising magnets, wherein the chassis comprises a first plurality of magnets configured to magnetically couple to the keyboard, as taught by Weng (see [0023] of Weng), in order to further secure the keyboard to the chassis by magnetic attraction.
Regarding claim 7, Zhou in view of Anderson in view of Weng discloses the information handling system of Claim 6, wherein the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) further comprises a second plurality of magnets (26 in Fig. 1 of Weng) configured to magnetically couple to the first plurality of magnets (16 of Weng), wherein the first plurality of magnets (16 of Weng) are further configured to facilitate alignment of the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) relative to the chassis (21/41 of Zhou).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou in view of Anderson discloses (a structure that would follow steps of) the method of Claim 9.
Zhou in view of Anderson do not explicitly wherein forming the chassis further comprises coupling a first plurality of magnets to the chassis, wherein the first plurality of magnets is configured to magnetically couple to the keyboard.
However, Weng US 20040190239 discloses a chassis (10) and a keyboard (20) comprising magnets (16/26); wherein the chassis (10) comprises a first plurality of magnets (16), wherein the first plurality of magnets (16) is configured to magnetically couple to the keyboard (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the chassis and keyboard of Zhou in view of Anderson further comprising magnets, wherein forming the chassis further comprises coupling a first plurality of magnets to the chassis, wherein the first plurality of magnets is configured to magnetically couple to the keyboard, as taught by Weng (see [0023] of Weng), in order to further secure the keyboard to the chassis by magnetic attraction.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou in view of Anderson in view of Weng discloses (a structure that would follow steps of) the method of Claim 14, wherein forming the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) further comprises coupling a second plurality of magnets (26 in Fig. 1 of Weng) to the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou),
wherein the second plurality of magnets (26 of Weng) is configured to magnetically couple to the first plurality of magnets (16 of Weng), and
wherein the first plurality of magnets (16 of Weng) is further configured to facilitate alignment of the keyboard (25/45 of Zhou) relative to the chassis (21/41 of Zhou).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7, filed 08/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhou in view of Anderson.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ramirez US 5184961 Fig. 1 discloses a combined card edge connector.
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841