DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/888,966. Responsive to the preliminary amendment filed 10/13/2025, Claim 1-36 are currently pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/18/2024, 3/28/2025, 6/18/2025 and 10/13/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words in length and includes legal phraseology (line 5, “comprises” should be changed to - -includes- -). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 20-21, “of the input and output ends” should be changed to - -of input and output ends- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1, “The active air dam system” should be changed to - -The active vehicle air intake shutter system- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 1, line 1, “An active vehicle air intake shutter system”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1, “The active air intake shutter system” should be changed to - -The active vehicle air intake shutter system- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 1, line 1, “An active vehicle air intake shutter system”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5, “the actuator connector” should be changed to - -the shutter connector- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 1, lines 18-19 and Claim 2, line 2). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6-29 are objected to because of the following informalities: each respective line 1, “The active air intake shutter system” should be changed to - -The active vehicle air intake shutter system- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 1, line 1, “An active vehicle air intake shutter system”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “in lateral direction” should be changed to - -in a lateral direction- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, “an air intake opening” should be changed to - -the air intake opening- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 30, line 2, “an air intake opening”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 24-25, “of the input and output ends” should be changed to - -of input and output ends- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 26-27, “a non-parallel or skewed manner” should be changed to - -the non-parallel or skewed manner- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 30, lines 14-15, “a non-parallel or skewed manner”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 2-3, “a lateral direction” should be changed to - -the lateral direction- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 1, lines 2-3, “lateral direction”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 13, “an axis the Z-direction” should be changed to - -an axis in the Z-direction- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “a lateral direction” should be changed to - -the lateral direction- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 30, line 2, “lateral direction”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 13, “an axis the Z-direction” should be changed to - -an axis in the Z-direction- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 10 2018 004 361 A1. Note, while already cited on the IDS filed 3/28/205, all references herein to DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 are made to the English language translation provided with this action.
Regarding Claim 1, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses an active vehicle air intake shutter system for installation at an air intake opening on a front end of a motor vehicle, the opening extending at least in a lateral direction of the vehicle (Figs. 1-6), comprising: an intake shutter assembly (1) for mounting at the air intake opening and comprising a shutter panel (2), the intake shutter assembly being pivotable about a shutter axis (4) between a closed position positioning the shutter panel to block airflow through the air intake opening and an open position positioning the shutter panel to permit airflow through the air intake opening (Figs. 1-2), wherein the intake shutter assembly includes an input connector (18) offset radially with respect to the shutter axis (Fig. 5); an actuator (7) having an output shaft (10) rotatable about an actuator axis (Fig. 5), the output shaft having an output connector (11, 12) offset radially with respect to the actuator axis (Fig. 5); an intermediate linkage (15) having a shutter connector (13 that connects to 17) for coupling to the input connector (Fig. 5) and an actuator connector (13 that connects to 12) for coupling to the output connector (Fig. 5) to enable rotation of the output shaft in a first direction to pivot the shutter assembly in an opening direction (Fig. 5) and a second direction to pivot the shutter assembly in a closing direction (Fig. 5); wherein the actuator connector and the output connector are configured to provide an output multi-axial joint offset radially from the actuator axis (Fig. 5); and wherein the shutter connector and the input connector are configured to provide an input multi-axial joint offset radially from the shutter axis (Fig. 5); wherein the input and output multi-axial joints each provide for multi-axial rotation of the input and output ends of the intermediate linkage (Fig. 5), respectively, to accommodate installation of the shutter system with the actuator axis and the shutter axis oriented in a non-parallel or skewed manner (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 2, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the output multi-axial joint is an output ball joint (Fig. 5) and the input multi-axial joint is an input ball joint (Fig. 5) offset radially from the shutter axis (Fig. 5); wherein the input and output ball joints each provide for the multi-axial rotation of the input and output ends of the intermediate linkage (Fig. 5), respectively, to accommodate installation of the shutter system with the actuator axis and the shutter axis oriented in the non-parallel or skewed manner (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 3, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the intermediate linkage comprises at least one link arm (15).
Regarding Claim 4, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the intermediate linkage has only one link arm (15) having the input and output ends of the intermediate linkage (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 5, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the output ball joint includes a ball (12) as the output connector and a socket opening (13 that connects to 12) as the actuator connector for receiving the ball, and wherein the input ball joint includes a ball (17) as the input connector and a socket opening (13 that connects to 17) as the actuator connector for receiving the ball.
Regarding Claim 6, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses each of the socket openings is a through opening extending through the link arm and having an essentially circular inner surface (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses each essentially circular inner surface is concave (Fig. 5) and faces into the opening for multi-axial rotational securement of the respective ball to provide the multi-axial rotation of the input and output ends of the link arm (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the concavity of each essentially circular inner surface is defined as circumscribed by an imaginary sphere (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 9, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the ball of each ball joint has a spherical shape corresponding to the imaginary sphere circumscribing the concavity of the essentially circular inner surface associated therewith (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 10, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses each essentially circular opening also includes an expansion slot extending therefrom (Fig. 5) for permitting material of the link arm adjacent the opening to deform for insertion of the respective ball and return to establish the multi-axial rotational securement thereof (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 11, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses each essentially circular opening also includes an expansion slot extending therefrom (Fig. 5) for permitting material of the link arm adjacent the opening to deform for insertion of the respective ball and return to establish the multi-axial rotational securement thereof (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the actuator includes an electric motor (7) for rotating the output shaft (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 13, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the actuator further comprises an output arm extending radially from the output shaft and having the output connector (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the input connector is connected at an upper edge of the shutter panel (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 15, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the input connector is connected at an upper edge of the shutter panel (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 16, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the actuator further comprises an output arm extending radially from the output shaft and having the actuator connector ball (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 17, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the input connector ball is connected at an upper edge of the shutter panel (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 18, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the actuator further comprises an output arm extending radially from the output shaft and having the actuator connector ball (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 19, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the input connector ball is connected at an upper edge of the shutter panel (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 20, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the actuator further comprises an output arm extending radially from the output shaft and having the actuator connector ball (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 21, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 the input connector ball is connected at an upper edge of the shutter panel (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 22, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the actuator further comprises an output arm extending radially from the output shaft and having the actuator connector ball (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 23, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the input connector ball is connected at an upper edge of the shutter panel (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 24, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the intake shutter assembly further comprises a shutter shaft (unlabeled shutter shaft shown in Fig. 2) for rotation about the shutter axis, and a pair of arms (unlabeled arms shown in Fig. 2) connecting the shutter panel to the shutter shaft for supporting the shutter panel on the shutter shaft to pivot between the open and closed positions thereof.
Regarding Claim 25, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the intake shutter assembly further comprises a shutter shaft (unlabeled shutter shaft shown in Fig. 2) for rotation about the shutter axis, and a pair of arms (unlabeled arms shown in Fig. 2) connecting the shutter panel to the shutter shaft for supporting the shutter panel on the shutter shaft to pivot between the open and closed positions thereof.
Regarding Claim 26, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the intake shutter assembly further comprises a shutter shaft (unlabeled shutter shaft shown in Fig. 2) for rotation about the shutter axis, and a pair of arms (unlabeled arms shown in Fig. 2) connecting the shutter panel to the shutter shaft for supporting the shutter panel on the shutter shaft to pivot between the open and closed positions thereof.
Regarding Claim 27, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses the intake shutter assembly further comprises a shutter shaft (unlabeled shutter shaft shown in Fig. 2) for rotation about the shutter axis, and a pair of arms (unlabeled arms shown in Fig. 2) connecting the shutter panel to the shutter shaft for supporting the shutter panel on the shutter shaft to pivot between the open and closed positions thereof.
Regarding Claim 28, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses a shutter shaft (unlabeled shutter shaft shown in Fig. 2) for rotation about the shutter axis, and a pair of arms (unlabeled arms shown in Fig. 2) connecting the shutter panel to the shutter shaft for supporting the shutter panel on the shutter shaft to pivot between the open and closed positions thereof.
Regarding Claim 29, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses a shutter shaft (unlabeled shutter shaft shown in Fig. 2) for rotation about the shutter axis, and a pair of arms (unlabeled arms shown in Fig. 2) connecting the shutter panel to the shutter shaft for supporting the shutter panel on the shutter shaft to pivot between the open and closed positions thereof.
Regarding Claim 30, DE 10 2018 004 361 A1 discloses a motor vehicle (Figs. 1-6) comprising: a front end with an air intake opening extending at least in lateral direction of the vehicle (Fig. 1); and an active vehicle air intake shutter system installed at an air intake opening (Fig. 1), the shutter system comprising: an intake shutter assembly (1) mounted at the air intake opening and comprising a shutter panel (2), the intake shutter assembly being pivotable about a shutter axis (4) between a closed position positioning the shutter panel to block airflow through the air intake opening and an open position positioning the shutter panel to permit airflow through the air intake opening (Figs. 1-2), wherein the intake shutter assembly includes an input connector (18) offset radially with respect to the shutter axis (Fig. 5); an actuator (7) having an output shaft (10) rotatable about an actuator axis (Fig. 5), the output shaft having an output connector (11, 12) offset radially with respect to the actuator axis (Fig. 5); the actuator axis and the shutter axis being oriented in a non-parallel or skewed manner (Fig. 3); an intermediate linkage (15) having a shutter connector (13 that connects to 17) coupled to the input connector and an actuator connector (13 that connects to 12) coupled to the output connector to enable rotation of the output shaft in a first direction to pivot the shutter assembly in an opening direction (Fig. 5) and a second direction to pivot the shutter assembly in a closing direction (Fig. 5); wherein the actuator connector and the output connector provide an output multi-axial joint offset radially from the actuator axis (Fig. 5); and wherein the shutter connector and the input connector provide an input multi-axial joint offset radially from the shutter axis (Fig. 5); wherein the input and output multi-axial joints each provide for multi-axial rotation of the input and output ends of the intermediate linkage (Fig. 5), respectively, to accommodate installation of the shutter system with the actuator axis and the shutter axis oriented in a non-parallel or skewed manner (Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KLOP (US 10,730,384) discloses a vehicle shutter control assembly (see Fig. 4).
FRAYER et al. (US 10,093,173) discloses an active grille shutter assembly (see Fig. 2A).
CHARNESKY et al. (US 8,708,078) discloses a flexible element for a vehicle shutter assembly (see ABSTRACT).
EDWIN YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655
/Edwin A Young/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655