DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 16 September 2026 has been received and considered.
Claims 16-35 are pending.
This Action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 16, 18-20, 22, 28-31, and 33-35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saito (US20070079135) in view Leon Cobos et al. (US 20100070759)
As per claim 16, 28, and 34 Saito discloses system (see Figs. 1 and 4) and method comprising: a portable device:
obtaining a graphical encoded information item which is displayed on a display of a computing apparatus (see paragraph [0043] step S105 where the camera of the mobile phone captures the two-dimensional code);
decoding the encoded information from the encoded information item (see paragraph [0043] step S106 decoding the two-dimensional code); and
transmitting data to first server apparatus, the data including the decoded information and a first identifier identifying the device or a user of the device, wherein the decoded information includes an apparatus identification information item for allowing identification of the computing apparatus (see paragraphs [0043]-[0048] where the mobile phone sends the decoded information which includes a session ID that identifies the computing apparatus by identifying the session between the server and the user terminal, i.e. computing apparatus, as described in paragraph [0040] and further sends information identifying the phone itself, e.g. the MAC address or phone number, for identification); and
the first server apparatus: receiving the data from the device; establishing the identity of the user of the device, wherein establishing the identity of the user comprises using the first identifier to determine if the user is registered with the first server apparatus (see paragraphs [0048]-[0050] using the mobile phone identifying information to look up stored, i.e. registered, user IDs);
in response to establishing the identity of the user, authorising the user to access a service; and providing the service to the user via the computing apparatus using the apparatus identification information item; or sending a second message to a second server apparatus, the second message including the apparatus identification information item and indicating that the user is authorised to access the service provided by the second server apparatus, the second server apparatus responding to receipt of the second message by providing the service to the user via the computing apparatus using the apparatus identification information item (see paragraphs [0050]-[0056] where there user ID is verified additional steps are taken which result in the sending of a message to the web server which includes the session ID which the webserver verifies prior to providing the service).
Saito fails to explicitly disclose the encoded information includes an identifier identifying the server and verification information where the data transmitted by the phone to the server is provided in a single first message which includes the verification information and information identifying the user and the server is to receive the first message from the device; to compare a decoded version of the verification information item to a reference verification information item stored in a memory of the first server to determine whether a match exists; aborting the method if a match is not determined.
However, Leon Cobos et al. teaches the encoded information includes an identifier identifying the server and verification information where the data transmitted by the phone to the server is provided in a single first message which includes the verification information and information identifying the user and the server is to receive the first message from the device; to compare a decoded version of the verification information item to a reference verification information item stored in a memory of the first server to determine whether a match exists; aborting the method if a match is not determined (see paragraphs [0086]-[0095] and [0104]-[0120]).
At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the decoding, verification and data of the Leon Cobos et al. system in the Saito system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to save time and resources by reducing the number of messages transmitted and to increase the security by adding additional verification.
As per claims 18 and 29, the modified Saito and Leon Cobos et al. system discloses the decoded information comprises a verification information item, the method further comprising the first server apparatus: comparing the verification information item with a reference verification item; if there is identity between the verification information item and the reference verification item, providing the service to the user via the computing apparatus using the apparatus identification information item; and if there is not identity between the verification information item and the reference verification item aborting the method prior to providing the service to the user via the computing apparatus using the apparatus identification information item (see Saito paragraphs [0043]-[0056] and Leon Cobos et al. paragraphs [0086]-[0095] and [0104]-[0120]).
As per claims 19 and 30, the modified Saito and Leon Cobos et al. system discloses sending the second message to the second server apparatus, wherein the encoded information comprises a second identifier, the second identifier identifying second server apparatus (see Saito paragraphs [0043]-[0048]).
As per claims 20 and 31, the modified Saito and Leon Cobos et al. system discloses the encoded information comprises a third identifier, the third identifier identifying the first server apparatus, and wherein the first message is transmitted to the first server apparatus based on the third identifier (see Saito paragraphs [0043]-[0048]).
As per claims 22 and 33, the modified Saito and Leon Cobos et al. system discloses establishing the identity of the user of the device comprises: initiating a communication channel with the device based on the first identifier; receiving user-provided information from the device via the communication channel; comparing the received user-provided information with stored reference user- provided information; and verifying, and thereby establishing, the identity of the user when it is determined that there is identity between the received user-provided information and the reference user-provided information (see Leon Cobos et al. paragraphs [0086]-[0095] and [0104]-[0120]).
As per claim 35, the modified Saito and Leon Cobos et al. system discloses the verification information item encoded in the graphical encoded information item comprises a dynamic verification information item generated by a server apparatus of the system (see Leon Cobos et al. paragraphs [0086]-[0095] and [0104]-[0120]).
Claims 17, 23-25, and 27 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saito (US20070079135) in view of Trandal et al. (US 20090241175).
As per claim 17 Saito discloses system (see Figs. 1 and 4) and method comprising: a portable device:
obtaining a graphical encoded information item which is displayed on a display of a computing apparatus (see paragraph [0043] step S105 where the camera of the mobile phone captures the two-dimensional code);
decoding the encoded information from the encoded information item (see paragraph [0043] step S106 decoding the two-dimensional code); and
transmitting data to first server apparatus, the data including the decoded information and a first identifier identifying the device or a user of the device, wherein the decoded information includes an apparatus identification information item for allowing identification of the computing apparatus (see paragraphs [0043]-[0048] where the mobile phone sends the decoded information which includes a session ID that identifies the computing apparatus by identifying the session between the server and the user terminal, i.e. computing apparatus, as described in paragraph [0040] and further sends information identifying the phone itself, e.g. the MAC address or phone number, for identification); and
the first server apparatus: receiving the data from the device; establishing the identity of the user of the device, wherein establishing the identity of the user comprises using the first identifier to determine if the user is registered with the first server apparatus (see paragraphs [0048]-[0050] using the mobile phone identifying information to look up stored, i.e. registered, user IDs);
in response to establishing the identity of the user, authorising the user to access a service; and providing the service to the user via the computing apparatus using the apparatus identification information item; or sending a second message to a second server apparatus, the second message including the apparatus identification information item and indicating that the user is authorised to access the service provided by the second server apparatus, the second server apparatus responding to receipt of the second message by providing the service to the user via the computing apparatus using the apparatus identification information item (see paragraphs [0050]-[0056] where there user ID is verified additional steps are taken which result in the sending of a message to the web server which includes the session ID which the webserver verifies prior to providing the service).
Saito fails to explicitly disclose the data transmitted by the phone to the server is provided in a single first message.
However, Trandal et al. teaches a mobile phone decoding graphical encoded information and sending this decoded information together with identifying information for the phone in a single message (see paragraphs [0057]-[0058] where the data extracted from the decoded data matrix and the phone id are sent to the authentication server in “the same transmission”).
At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to send the data of the Saito system in a single message.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to save time and resources by reducing the number of messages transmitted.
As per claims 18, 23, and 29, the modified Saito and Trandal et al. system discloses the decoded information comprises a verification information item, the method further comprising the first server apparatus: comparing the verification information item with a reference verification item; if there is identity between the verification information item and the reference verification item, providing the service to the user via the computing apparatus using the apparatus identification information item; and if there is not identity between the verification information item and the reference verification item aborting the method prior to providing the service to the user via the computing apparatus using the apparatus identification information item (see Saito paragraphs [0043]-[0056] and Trandal et al. paragraphs [0057]-[0058]).
As per claims 19, 24, and 30, the modified Saito and Trandal et al. system discloses sending the second message to the second server apparatus, wherein the encoded information comprises a second identifier, the second identifier identifying second server apparatus (see Saito paragraphs [0043]-[0048]).
As per claims 20, 25, and 31, the modified Saito and Trandal et al. system discloses the encoded information comprises a third identifier, the third identifier identifying the first server apparatus, and wherein the first message is transmitted to the first server apparatus based on the third identifier (see Saito paragraphs [0043]-[0048]).
As per claims 22, 27, and 33, the modified Saito and Trandal et al. system discloses establishing the identity of the user of the device comprises: initiating a communication channel with the device based on the first identifier; receiving user-provided information from the device via the communication channel; comparing the received user-provided information with stored reference user- provided information; and verifying, and thereby establishing, the identity of the user when it is determined that there is identity between the received user-provided information and the reference user-provided information (see Trandal et al. paragraphs [0057]-[0058] and [0080]-[0090]).
Claims 21, 26, and 32 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saito in view of Trandal et al. or Leon Cobos et al. as applied to claims 16, 17, and 28 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20110055547).
As per claims 21, 26, and 32, Saito in view of Trandal et al. or Leon Cobos et al. fails to explicitly disclose the portable device: prior to transmitting the first message, receiving a user input; comparing the received user input to a stored reference input; and transmitting the first message, when it is determined that there is identity between the received user input and the stored reference user input.
However, Lee et al. teaches the portable device: prior to transmitting the first message, receiving a user input; comparing the received user input to a stored reference input; and transmitting the first message, when it is determined that there is identity between the received user input and the stored reference user input. (see paragraph [0065]).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include the user input is verified at the phone in Saito in view of Trandal et al. or Leon Cobos et al.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to add an additional layer of security verifying the user at the phone.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-48 of U.S. Patent No. 9,614,849. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-48 of the ‘849 contains equivalent limitations of the currently pending claim and as such anticipates the current claim and/or are obvious over Saito, Trandal et al., Leon Cobos et al. and/or Lee et al. as put forth above.
Claims 16-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10,530,769. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-27 of the ‘769 contains equivalent limitations of the currently pending claim and as such anticipates the current claim and/or are obvious over Saito, Trandal et al., Leon Cobos et al., and/or Lee et al. as put forth above.
Claims 16-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,146,561. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of the ‘561 contains equivalent limitations of the currently pending claim and as such anticipates the current claim and/or are obvious over Saito, Trandal et al., Leon Cobos et al. and/or Lee et al. as put forth above.
NOTE: Application No. 17/450,328 and 18/212,010 are abandoned and as such no Double Patenting rejections are made, If the ‘328 and/or ‘010 Application is revised in its current state, Statutory Double patenting would be required as Claim 16 of the present application is a duplicate of claim 1 in the ‘328 Application and in the ‘010 Application. Where the remaining claims would be obvious in view Saito, Trandal et al., Leon Cobos et al. and/or Lee et al. as put forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 16 and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant states that the remaining claims were dependent from 16 or 28 (with 34 and 35 being new), however, claim 17 is independent and has not been amended and the rejection put forth in the previous Action is maintained as there are also no arguments directly directed towards this claim.
Note that Double Patenting rejections cannot be held in abeyance, “As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only compliance with objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Replies with an omission should be treated as provided in MPEP § 714.03.” See MPEP 804.
Any additional arguments not specifically addressed are moot in view of the above response.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Pyzocha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409