DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment date 4/20/2026. Claims 1, 13, and 16-19 and 13 are currently amended. Claims 8-12 have been canceled. No claims are newly added. Presently, claims 1-7 and 13-19 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7 of the remarks filed 4/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lew et al. (US 4512372) in view of Beasley (US 5269347); claim(s) 13 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waid et al. (US 5680899) in view of Lew et al. (US 4512372); and claim(s) 14, 15 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waid et al. (US 5680899) in view of Lew et al. (US 4512372) and further in view of Beasley (US 5269347) have been fully considered and are persuasive. It is considered that the amendments to claims 1 and 13 to recite “the housing of the first valve is structurally separate from the housing of the second valve, such that a distance between the throughbore of the first valve and the throughbore of the second valve is adjustable” overcomes the teachings of the Lew et al. reference as applied in the Office action dated 4/7/2026. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly applied reference to Dighton (US 4580599).
It is considered that the Dighton reference addresses applicant’s concerns and claim language relating to the housing of the first valve (15) is structurally separate from the housing of the second valve (18)(see figure 1), such that a distance between the throughbore of the first valve and the throughbore of the second valve is adjustable (it is considered that threading on the coupling and the upper stem and lower stem permit the spacing between the first valve and the second valve to be adjusted).
Since new grounds of rejection were necessitated by applicant’s amendment, the instant Office action is made final.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/18/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dighton (US 4580599) in view of Beasley (US 5269347).
Regarding claim 1, the Dighton reference discloses a coupled valve assembly comprising:
an actuator (handle 30);
a first valve (15) comprising:
a housing (it is considered that the casing of the first valve 15 constitutes a housing)
a throughbore (it is considered that the passage through the first valve 15 that leads from the pressure relief valve 17 to the discharge line 37 constitutes a throughbore);
a flow barrier (it is considered that the rotatable valve member in the valve 15 constitutes a flow barrier) configured to selectively obstruct the flow of fluid through the throughbore; and
a lower valve stem (33);
a second valve (18) comprising:
a housing (it is considered that the casing of the second valve 18 constitutes a housing);
a throughbore (it is considered that the passage through the second valve 18 that leads from the pressure relief valve 20 to the discharge line 38 constitutes a throughbore);
an upper valve stem (34); and
a flow barrier (it is considered that the rotatable valve member in the valve 18 constitutes a flow barrier) configured to selectively obstruct the flow of fluid through the throughbore; and
a coupling (31) external to both the housing of the first valve and the housing of the second valve (see figure 1), and comprising:
an upper end (it is considered that the portion of the coupling 31 that is secured to the lower valve stem 33 constitutes an upper end of the coupling 31) operatively connected to the lower valve stem of the first valve (see figure 1); and
a lower end (it is considered that the portion of the coupling 31 that is secured to the upper valve stem 34 constitutes an lower end of the coupling 31) operatively connected to the upper valve stem of the second valve (see figure 1);
wherein the assembly is configured such that, in a first position (considered the position in which a fluid flow is able to flow through the second valve while the first valve blocks the fluid flow), the throughbore of the first valve is substantially obstructed and the throughbore of the second valve is substantially unobstructed and, in a second position (considered the position in which a fluid flow is able to flow through the first valve while the second valve blocks the fluid flow), the throughbore of the first valve is substantially unobstructed and the throughbore of the second valve is substantially obstructed (see at least col. 3, line 58 to col. 4, line 23); and
the housing of the first valve (15) is structurally separate from the housing of the second valve (18)(see figure 1), such that a distance between the throughbore of the first valve and the throughbore of the second valve is adjustable (it is considered that threading on the coupling and the upper stem and lower stem permit the spacing between the first valve and the second valve to be adjusted).
The Dighton reference does not disclose the first valve having “an upper valve stem operatively connected to the actuator”.
However, the Beasley reference teaches a coupled valve assembly comprising:
an actuator (40 which can include a manual actuator of a hand wheel 41);
a first valve comprising:
a throughbore (24);
an upper valve stem (34) operatively connected to the actuator;
a flow barrier (ball 30) configured to selectively obstruct the flow of fluid through the throughbore; and
a lower valve stem (36b);
a first coupling (36) comprising an upper end (considered the end of the stem 36 proximate the end 36b) and a lower end (considered the end of the stem 36 proximate the end 36a), wherein the upper end is operatively connected to the lower valve stem of the first valve (it is considered that the upper end is operatively connected to the lower stem 36b of the first valve by being integrally formed); and
a second valve comprising:
a throughbore (22);
an upper valve stem (36a) operatively connected to the lower end of the first coupling (it is considered that the lower end of the first coupled is operatively connected to the lower stem 36b of the second valve by being integrally formed); and
a flow barrier (28) configured to selectively obstruct the flow of fluid through the throughbore;
wherein the assembly is configured such that, in a first position (considered the position depicted in figure 1), the throughbore of the first valve is substantially obstructed and the throughbore of the second valve is substantially unobstructed and, in a second position (considered the position in which the first valve and the second valve are each rotated 90 degrees), the throughbore of the first valve is substantially unobstructed and the throughbore of the second valve is substantially obstructed;
wherein the upper valve stem of the first valve permits the connection of the upper valve stem of the first valve to an actuator including a manual operator (hand wheel 41), or a suitable pneumatic, electrical or hydraulic power motor (see at least col. 10, line 50 to col. 11, line 6).
The substitution of one known element (the first valve having an upper valve stem operatively connected to an actuator of either a manual operator, a pneumatic operator, an electrical operator or a hydraulic operator as shown in Beasley) for another (the handle 30 that is directly connected to the coupler 31 as shown in Dighton) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the first valve having an upper valve stem operatively connected to an actuator of desired choosing such as manual, pneumatic, electrical or hydraulic shown in Beasley would have yielded predictable results, namely, improved flexibility in the operation and control of the coupled valve assembly of the Dighton reference.
In regards to claim 2, the Dighton reference of the combination of the Dighton reference and the Beasley reference does not disclose wherein the flow barrier of the first valve comprises a ball.
However, the Beasley reference teaches a coupled valve assembly having a first valve and a second valve wherein a first valve (30) is a ball valve (see at least figure 1; see also col. 4, lines 1-20) in order to provide a metal-to-metal fluid seal in the desired outlet.
Further, it is noted that the instant application discloses that the flow barrier is not limited to any particular type of flow barrier such as ball valves, plug valve or butterfly valves (see the disclosure of the instant application in paragraph [0022]).
The substitution of one known element (the flow barrier of the first valve being a ball valve as shown in Beasley) for another (the flow barrier being a disc as shown in Dighton) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the flow barrier of the first valve being a ball valve shown in Beasley would have yielded predictable results, namely, a metal-to-metal fluid seal at the first valve with the sealing contact pressure responsive to differential pressures across the closed ball of the Dighton reference.
In regards to claim 3, the Dighton reference of the combination of the Dighton reference and the Beasley reference does not disclose wherein the flow barrier of the second valve comprises a ball.
However, the Beasley reference teaches a coupled valve assembly having a first valve and a second valve wherein a second valve (28) is a ball valve (see at least figure 1; see also col. 4, lines 1-20) in order to provide a metal-to-metal fluid seal in the desired outlet.
Further, it is noted that the instant application discloses that the flow barrier is not limited to any particular type of flow barrier such as ball valves, plug valve or butterfly valves (see the disclosure of the instant application in paragraph [0022]).
The substitution of one known element (the flow barrier of the second valve being a ball valve as shown in Beasley) for another (the flow barrier being a disc as shown in Dighton) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the flow barrier of the second valve being a ball valve shown in Beasley would have yielded predictable results, namely, a metal-to-metal fluid seal at the second valve with the sealing contact pressure responsive to differential pressures across the closed ball of the Dighton reference.
In regards to claims 4-7, the combination of the Dighton reference and the Beasley reference discloses wherein the actuator comprises either a manual actuator (Beasley: hand wheel 41), an electric actuator, a hydraulic actuator or a pneumatic actuator (Beasley: see at least col. 10, line 50 to col. 11, line 6).
Claim(s) 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waid et al. (US 5680899) in view of Dighton (US 4580599).
Regarding claim 13, the Waid et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making and/or using a system by:
operating a first valve (see “first valve” in the annotated figure 3 below), allowing fluid to flow from a wellhead (well #2), through the first valve, and into a test header (see figure 3); and
operating the first valve to close the flow path, operating a second valve (see “second valve” in the annotated figure 3 below) to open the second valve, allowing fluid to flow from the wellhead (well #2), through the second valve, and into a production header (see at least col. 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 7).
The Waid et al. reference does not disclose wherein actuating the actuator to close the first valve comprising a housing and a lower valve stem and to open the second valve comprising a housing and an upper valve stem;
wherein actuating the actuator to close the first valve and open the second valve is performed via a coupling external to both the housing of the first valve and the housing of the second valve, and comprising:
an upper end operatively connected to the lower valve stem of the first valve; and
a lower end operatively connected to the upper valve stem of the second valve; and
the housing of the first valve is structurally separate from the housing of the second valve, such that a distance between the throughbore of the first valve and the throughbore of the second valve is adjustable.
However, the Dighton reference discloses a coupled valve assembly comprising:
an actuator (handle 30);
a first valve (15) comprising:
a housing (it is considered that the casing of the first valve 15 constitutes a housing)
a throughbore (it is considered that the passage through the first valve 15 that leads from the pressure relief valve 17 to the discharge line 37 constitutes a throughbore);
a flow barrier (it is considered that the rotatable valve member in the valve 15 constitutes a flow barrier) configured to selectively obstruct the flow of fluid through the throughbore; and
a lower valve stem (33);
a second valve (18) comprising:
a housing (it is considered that the casing of the second valve 18 constitutes a housing);
a throughbore (it is considered that the passage through the second valve 18 that leads from the pressure relief valve 20 to the discharge line 38 constitutes a throughbore);
an upper valve stem (34); and
a flow barrier (it is considered that the rotatable valve member in the valve 18 constitutes a flow barrier) configured to selectively obstruct the flow of fluid through the throughbore; and
a coupling (31) external to both the housing of the first valve and the housing of the second valve (see figure 1), and comprising:
an upper end (it is considered that the portion of the coupling 31 that is secured to the lower valve stem 33 constitutes an upper end of the coupling 31) operatively connected to the lower valve stem of the first valve (see figure 1); and
a lower end (it is considered that the portion of the coupling 31 that is secured to the upper valve stem 34 constitutes an lower end of the coupling 31) operatively connected to the upper valve stem of the second valve (see figure 1);
wherein the assembly is configured such that, in a first position (considered the position in which a fluid flow is able to flow through the second valve while the first valve blocks the fluid flow), the throughbore of the first valve is substantially obstructed and the throughbore of the second valve is substantially unobstructed and, in a second position (considered the position in which a fluid flow is able to flow through the first valve while the second valve blocks the fluid flow), the throughbore of the first valve is substantially unobstructed and the throughbore of the second valve is substantially obstructed (see at least col. 3, line 58 to col. 4, line 23); and
the housing of the first valve is structurally separate from the housing of the second valve (see figure 1), such that a distance between the throughbore of the first valve and the throughbore of the second valve is adjustable (it is considered that threading on the coupling and the upper stem and lower stem permit the spacing between the first valve and the second valve to be adjusted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to design and operate the first valve and the second valve of the Waid et al. reference with the first valve having a housing and a lower valve stem and the second valve having a housing and an upper valve stem and wherein actuating an actuator on a coupling external to both the housing of the first valve and the housing of the second valve actuates the first valve and the second valve and wherein the housing of the first valve is structurally separate from the housing of the second valve, such that a distance between the throughbore of the first valve and the throughbore of the second valve is adjustable as taught by the Dighton reference so that operating the first valve to close the first valve would automatically open the second valve in order to ensure continuous fluid flow.
In regards to claim 16, the Dighton reference of the combination of the Waid et al. reference and the Dighton reference discloses wherein the actuator comprises a manual actuator (Dighton: handle 30).
Claim(s) 14, 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waid et al. (US 5680899) in view of Dighton (US 4580599) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Beasley (US 5269347).
In regards to claim 14, the combination of the Waid et al. reference and the Dighton reference does not disclose wherein the first valve comprises a ball.
However, the Beasley reference teaches a coupled valve assembly having a first valve and a second valve wherein a first valve (30) is a ball valve (see at least figure 1; see also col. 4, lines 1-20) in order to provide a metal-to-metal fluid seal in the desired outlet.
Further, it is noted that the instant application discloses that the flow barrier is not limited to any particular type of flow barrier such as ball valves, plug valve or butterfly valves (see the disclosure of the instant application in paragraph [0022]).
The substitution of one known element (the first valve comprises a ball valve as shown in Beasley) for another (the first valve shown in the combination of Waid et al. and Dighton) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the first valve being a ball valve shown in Beasley would have yielded predictable results, namely, a metal-to-metal fluid seal at the first valve with the sealing contact pressure responsive to differential pressures across the closed ball of the combination of the Waid et al. reference and the Dighton reference.
In regards to claim 15, the Dighton reference of the combination of the Dighton reference and the Beasley reference does not disclose wherein the second valve comprises a ball.
However, the Beasley reference teaches a coupled valve assembly having a first valve and a second valve wherein a second valve (28) is a ball valve (see at least figure 1; see also col. 4, lines 1-20) in order to provide a metal-to-metal fluid seal in the desired outlet.
Further, it is noted that the instant application discloses that the flow barrier is not limited to any particular type of flow barrier such as ball valves, plug valve or butterfly valves (see the disclosure of the instant application in paragraph [0022]).
The substitution of one known element (the second valve comprises a ball valve as shown in Beasley) for another (the second valve shown in the combination of Waid et al. and Dighton) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the second valve being a ball valve shown in Beasley would have yielded predictable results, namely, a metal-to-metal fluid seal at the second valve with the sealing contact pressure responsive to differential pressures across the closed ball of the Dighton reference.
In regards to claims 17-19, the combination of the Waid et al. reference and the Dighton reference does not disclose wherein the actuator comprises an electric actuator, a hydraulic actuator or a pneumatic actuator.
However, the Beasley reference teaches a coupled valve assembly having a first valve and a second valve that are both operated by an actuator wherein the actuator comprises an electric actuator, a hydraulic actuator or a pneumatic actuator for remote control operation (Beasley: see col. 11, lines 3-6).
The substitution of one known element (the actuator being an electric actuator, a hydraulic actuator or a pneumatic actuator as shown in Beasley) for another (the actuator as shown in the combination of Waid et al. and Dighton) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of actuator being an electric actuator, a hydraulic actuator or a pneumatic actuator shown in Beasley would have yielded predictable results, namely, an actuator that can be remotely controlled for remote control operation of the control system that directs fluid from a wellhead to a manifold of the combination of the Waid et al. reference and the Dighton reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/MICHAEL R REID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753