DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palumbo (EP 3 381 773 A1).
Palumbo discloses a hydraulic drive system trailer comprising:
a frame (Fig. 6);
a hydraulic drive system attached to the underside of the frame and having:
a first rotor assembly (6);
a second rotor assembly (6);
a first motor assembly (33) having a first motor actuator (9) and having a first motor actuator ridge (28) arranged circumferentially around the first motor actuator;
a second motor assembly (33) having a second motor actuator (9) and having a second motor actuator ridge (28) arranged circumferentially around the first motor actuator.
As for claim 2, Palumbo further discloses an engagement assembly (21) moving the first motor actuator toward and away from the first rotor assembly to respectively engage and disengage therewith and moving the second motor actuator toward and away from the second rotor assembly to respectively engage and disengage therewith (see Figs. 1a and 1b).
As for claims 3 – 5, Palumbo further discloses motor actuator teeth (17b) and corresponding rotor teeth (13b), separated in the disengagement position and engaged in the engagement position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palumbo (EP 3 381 773 A1) in view of Bennes Marrel (FR 2409162 A1).
As for claim 6, Palumbo discloses a hydraulic drive system trailer comprising:
a frame (Fig. 6);
a pair of drive wheels (Fig. 1a);
a hydraulic drive system extending across an underside of the frame; the hydraulic drive system includes: a first motor assembly (33) and a first rotor assembly (6) extending in a direction; a second motor assembly (33) and a second rotor assembly (6) extending in a second direction; and
an engagement assembly (21) moving a first movable motor actuator (9) toward and away from the first rotor assembly to respectively engage and disengage and moving a second motor actuator (9) toward and away from the second rotor assembly to respectively engage and disengage (see Figs. 1a and 1b).
Palumbo does not disclose a pair of steerable wheels or a body. Bennes Marrel discloses a trailer system with a pair of steerable wheels and a pair of drive wheels (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to use the arrangement of Palumbo in combination with a pair of steerable wheels in order to support and steer the trailer. Bennes Marrel further disclose a body (Fig. 4) enclosing the motor and rotor assemblies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide such a body to protect the components from road debris.
As for claims 11 – 13, Bennes Marrel discloses a drive system having a planetary gear drive (“epicyclic train”) driven by a motor shaft and disposed between a motor actuator and a motor (32, 33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive system of Palumbo to include the planetary gear drive of Bennes Marrel, arranged on the motor side of the first motor actuator, as it is very well known in the art to provide a gear drive in order to deliver desired speed and torque to drive wheels.
As for claim 14, Bennes Marrel further disclose a bell housing (Fig. 1).
As for claim 15, Palumbo shows a unitary drive shaft and rotor teeth; however, a spline is an old and well-known means of attaching element on a shaft and would be an obvious variant.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,915. Although the claims at issue are not identical, the present claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims; in other words, the patented claims fully encompass the present claims and therefore anticipate the present claims
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Katy M Ebner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618