DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110148839 A (see attached translation for the following citation) by Feng Yang et al. (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches: An antenna device (shaped beam high-power microwave coaxial cavity slot antenna ¶ 0030, fig. 1-4), comprising:
a resonance cavity (dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1/large coaxial cavity 2/small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1); and
a feeding waveguide (mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) coupled (see fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) to a rear wall (The bottom section wherein the small coaxial cavity 3 is perpendicular to the mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4, see fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) of the resonance cavity (small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]),
wherein a plurality of radio wave radiation (linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) are formed on a face (dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the resonance cavity (upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) opposite to a position (see fig. 1 and 4) where the feeding waveguide (mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) is coupled (see fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) to the resonance cavity (small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of US 20050057402 by Takeshi Ohno et al. (hereinafter Ohno).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches: The antenna device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of radio wave radiation (linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]), the front face (dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) the resonance cavity (upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1).
Yang does not explicitly teach comprises: a main radiation hole formed through a front face of the resonance cavity at a position opposite to the position at the rear wall where the feeding waveguide is coupled to the resonance cavity; and a plurality of auxiliary radiation holes formed through the front face of the resonance cavity to surround the main radiation hole.
However, Ohno teaches an aperture 8. The aperture 8 is a square-shaped hole passing from the upper surface of the upper conductor plate 2 to the bottom surface thereof so that the center of the aperture 8 is aligned with the center of the upper conductor plate 2 (¶ 0121, fig. 1).
The shape of the aperture is a square shape, the shape of the aperture is not limited thereto, and may alternatively be an oblong rectangular shape, any other polygonal shape, a circular shape or an elliptical shape (¶ 0137).
Ohno further teaches the aperture preferably has a hexagonal shape (¶ 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Ohno to include the aperture with the dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity of the art of Yang with the benefit of having a centered main radiation slot on the top plate where the multiple slots are located.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Ohno to obtain the invention:
comprises: a main radiation hole (Ohno: aperture 8 ¶ 0121, fig. 1) formed through a front face (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the resonance cavity (Yang: upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) at a position opposite (see Yang fig. 1 and 4) to the position at the rear wall (The bottom section wherein the small coaxial cavity 3 is perpendicular to the mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4, see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) where the feeding waveguide (Yang: mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) is coupled (see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) to the resonance cavity (Yang: small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]); and a plurality of auxiliary radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) formed through (see Yang fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) the front face (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the resonance cavity (Yang: upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) to surround the main radiation hole (Ohno: aperture 8 ¶ 0121, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Yang and Ohno make obvious the antenna device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the main radiation hole (Ohno: aperture 8 ¶ 0121, fig. 1) is different (see Yang fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906] and Ohno fig. 1 [8]) from the plurality of auxiliary radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) in at least one of a shape and a size (see Yang fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906] and Ohno fig. 1 [8]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Ohno and in further view of US 4242685 by Gary G. Sanford et al. (hereinafter Sanford).
Regarding claim 3, Yang and Ohno make obvious the antenna device as claimed in claim 2, the resonant cavity (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1/large coaxial cavity 2/small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1).
Yang and Ohno do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the resonant cavity has a polygonal cross section.
However, Sanford teaches the resonant cavity may take on a wide variety of cross-sectional shapes. For example, the resonant cavity may comprise a right circular cylinder or a cylinder having a square, triangular or other polygonal cross-section (p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sanford to include the cross-sectional shapes with the antenna of the combined art of Yang and Ohno with the benefit of stacking a plurality of antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, Ohno and Sanford to obtain the invention:
Sanford teaches wherein the resonant cavity (resonant cavity, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65) has a polygonal cross section (polygonal cross-section, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65).
Regarding claim 4, Yang, Ohno and Sanford make obvious the antenna device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the resonant cavity (Sanford: resonant cavity, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65) has a square cross section (Sanford: square cross-section, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Ohno and in further view of US 20240178560 by Bao Tran et al. (hereinafter Tran).
Regarding claim 5, Yang and Ohno make obvious the antenna device as claimed in claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) has a hexagonal cross section (Ohno: hexagonal shape ¶ 0020).
Yang and Ohno do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and the plurality of radio wave radiation holes are arranged in a shape of a honeycomb.
However, Tran teaches the lens system 210 includes tubular waveguide lens cells, indicated generally at 214, interconnected to form a collapsible honeycomb array: The array 214 is constructed of a plurality of cells, each of the cells in the cell array 214 is hexagonal in cross-section (¶ 0548, fig. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Tran to include the honeycomb array with the antenna of the combined art of Yang and Ohno with the benefit of minimizing the perimeter and splitting the plane into equal areas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, Ohno and Tran to obtain the invention:
and the plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) are arranged in a shape of a honeycomb (Tran: honeycomb array ¶ 0548, fig. 4A).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210305693 by Wayne R. Howe et al. (hereinafter Howe) in view of US 20210135372 by Alec Adams et al. (hereinafter Adams) and in further view of Yang.
Regarding claim 7, Howe teaches: An array antenna device (3D phased array antenna system ¶ 0039), comprising:
a plurality of antenna elements (antenna elements 324 ¶ 0072, fig. 3C) periodically arranged (see fig. 3C) to form a two-dimensional planar array (see fig. 3C); a corresponding one (antenna element 308 ¶ 0067, fig. 3A) of the plurality of antenna elements (antenna elements 324 ¶ 0072, fig. 3C).
Howe does not explicitly teach and a plurality of feeding waveguides each provided to supply a transmit signal to a corresponding one of the plurality of antenna elements, wherein each of the plurality of antenna elements comprises a resonance cavity and is coupled to one of the plurality of feeding waveguides at a rear wall, wherein, in each of plurality of antenna elements, a plurality of radio wave radiation holes are formed on a face of the resonance cavity opposite to a position where the feeding waveguide is coupled to the resonance cavity.
However, Adams teaches a plurality of feed waveguides, an array of slot antenna elements a plurality of phase shifters. The plurality of feed waveguides is distributed along a perimeter of the resonant cavity and is configured to supply respective electromagnetic waves to the resonant cavity (¶ 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Adams to include the plurality of feed waveguides and the resonant cavity with the antenna of the art of Howe with the benefit of feeding the antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Howe and Adams to obtain the invention:
and a plurality of feeding waveguides (Adams: plurality of feed waveguides ¶ 0004) each provided to supply a transmit signal (Adams: supply respective electromagnetic waves ¶ 0004) to a corresponding one (Howe: antenna element 308 ¶ 0067, fig. 3A) of the plurality of antenna elements (Howe: antenna elements 324 ¶ 0072, fig. 3C).
Howe and Adams do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein each of the plurality of antenna elements comprises a resonance cavity and is coupled to one of the plurality of feeding waveguides at a rear wall, wherein, in each of plurality of antenna elements, a plurality of radio wave radiation holes are formed on a face of the resonance cavity opposite to a position where the feeding waveguide is coupled to the resonance cavity.
However, Yang teaches a circular slot array excited by the TM020 mode achieves linearly polarized radiation on a compact circular aperture through radiation slot pairs (digitally numbered slots) (¶ 0019, fig. 2 and 4).
A shaped beam high-power microwave coaxial cavity slot antenna includes a dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 and a mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4. The mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4 is connected to the bottom of the dual-mode variable-diameter coaxial cavity. The dual-mode variable-diameter coaxial cavity 1 includes a large coaxial cavity 2 and a small coaxial cavity 3 arranged concentrically. The diameter of the large coaxial cavity 2 is larger than the diameter of the small coaxial cavity 3. The upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 is provided with an inner ring slot and an outer ring slot that perpendicularly penetrate the large coaxial cavity 2. The inner ring slot includes 6 slots, which rotate counterclockwise along the positive half-axis of the y-axis, and are as follows: The inner seams are: first inner seam 801, second inner seam 802, third inner seam 803, fourth inner seam 804, fifth inner seam 805, and sixth inner seam 806; the outer ring seams include 12 seams, rotating counterclockwise along the positive half-axis of the y-axis, namely: first outer seam 811, second outer seam 901, third outer seam 812, fourth outer seam 903, fifth outer seam 813, sixth outer seam 905, seventh outer seam 814, eighth outer seam 906, ninth outer seam 815, and tenth outer seam 906 (¶ 0030, fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yang to include the plurality of inner ring slots and outer ring slots and the plurality of cavities with the antenna of the combined art of Howe and Adams with the benefit of achieving effective axial radiation (Yang, ¶ 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Howe, Adams and Yang to obtain the invention:
wherein each of the plurality of antenna elements (Howe: antenna elements 324 ¶ 0072, fig. 3C) comprises a resonance cavity (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1/large coaxial cavity 2/small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) and is coupled (see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) to one (Yang: small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the plurality of feeding waveguides (Adams: plurality of feed waveguides ¶ 0004) at a rear wall (The bottom section wherein the small coaxial cavity 3 is perpendicular to the mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4, see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]), wherein, in each of plurality of antenna elements (Howe: antenna elements 324 ¶ 0072, fig. 3C), a plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) are formed on a face (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the resonance cavity (Yang: upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) opposite to a position (see Yang fig. 1 and 4) where the feeding waveguide (Yang: mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) is coupled (see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) to the resonance cavity (Yang: small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]).
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howe in view of Adams in view of Yang and in further view of Ohno.
Regarding claim 8, Howe, Adams and Yang make obvious the array antenna device as claimed in claim 7, the plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]), a front face (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the resonance cavity (Yang: upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) the rear wall (The bottom section wherein the small coaxial cavity 3 is perpendicular to the mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4, see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) where the feeding waveguide (Yang: mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) is coupled (see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) to the resonance cavity (Yang: small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]).
Howe, Adams and Yang do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the plurality of radio wave radiation holes comprises: a main radiation hole formed through a front face of the resonance cavity at a position opposite to the position at the rear wall where the feeding waveguide is coupled to the resonance cavity; and a plurality of auxiliary radiation holes formed through the front face of the resonance cavity to surround the main radiation hole.
However, Ohno teaches an aperture 8. The aperture 8 is a square-shaped hole passing from the upper surface of the upper conductor plate 2 to the bottom surface thereof so that the center of the aperture 8 is aligned with the center of the upper conductor plate 2 (¶ 0121, fig. 1).
The shape of the aperture is a square shape, the shape of the aperture is not limited thereto, and may alternatively be an oblong rectangular shape, any other polygonal shape, a circular shape or an elliptical shape (¶ 0137).
Ohno further teaches the aperture preferably has a hexagonal shape (¶ 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Ohno to include the aperture with the dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity of the combined art of Howe, Adams and Yang with the benefit of having a centered main radiation slot on the top plate where the multiple slots are located.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Howe, Adams, Yang and Ohno to obtain the invention:
wherein the plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) comprises: a main radiation hole (Ohno: aperture 8 ¶ 0121, fig. 1) formed through a front face (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the resonance cavity (Yang: upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) at a position opposite (see Yang fig. 1 and 4) to the position at the rear wall (The bottom section wherein the small coaxial cavity 3 is perpendicular to the mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4, see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) where the feeding waveguide (Yang: mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) is coupled (see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) to the resonance cavity (Yang: small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]); and a plurality of auxiliary radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) formed through (see Yang fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) the front face (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the resonance cavity (Yang: upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) to surround the main radiation hole (Ohno: aperture 8 ¶ 0121, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Howe, Adams, Yang and Ohno make obvious the array antenna device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the main radiation hole (Ohno: aperture 8 ¶ 0121, fig. 1) is different from (see Yang fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906] and Ohno fig. 1 [8]) the plurality of auxiliary radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) in at least one of a shape and a size (see Yang fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906] and Ohno fig. 1 [8]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howe in view of Adams in view of Yang in view of Ohno and in further view of Sanford.
Regarding claim 9, Howe, Adams, Yang and Ohno make obvious the array antenna device as claimed in claim 8, the resonant cavity (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1/large coaxial cavity 2/small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1).
Howe, Adams, Yang and Ohno do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the resonant cavity has a polygonal cross section.
However, Sanford teaches the resonant cavity may take on a wide variety of cross-sectional shapes. For example, the resonant cavity may comprise a right circular cylinder or a cylinder having a square, triangular or other polygonal cross-section (p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sanford to include the cross-sectional shapes with the antenna of the combined art of Howe, Adams, Yang and Ohno with the benefit of stacking a plurality of antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Howe, Adams, Yang, Ohno and Sanford to obtain the invention:
Sanford teaches wherein the resonant cavity (resonant cavity, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65) has a polygonal cross section (polygonal cross-section, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65).
Regarding claim 10, Howe, Adams, Yang, Ohno and Sanford make obvious the array antenna device as claimed in claim 9, wherein the resonant cavity (Sanford: resonant cavity, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65) has a square cross section (Sanford: square cross-section, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howe in view of Adams in view of Yang in view of Ohno and in further view of Tran.
Regarding claim 11, Howe, Adams, Yang and Ohno make obvious the array antenna device as claimed in claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) has a hexagonal cross section (Ohno: hexagonal shape ¶ 0020).
Howe, Adams, Yang and Ohno do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and the plurality of radio wave radiation holes are arranged in a shape of a honeycomb.
However, Tran teaches the lens system 210 includes tubular waveguide lens cells, indicated generally at 214, interconnected to form a collapsible honeycomb array: The array 214 is constructed of a plurality of cells, each of the cells in the cell array 214 is hexagonal in cross-section (¶ 0548, fig. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Tran to include the honeycomb array with the antenna of the combined art of Howe, Adams, Yang and Ohno with the benefit of minimizing the perimeter and splitting the plane into equal areas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Howe, Adams, Yang, Ohno and Tran to obtain the invention:
and the plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) are arranged in a shape of a honeycomb (Tran: honeycomb array ¶ 0548, fig. 4A).
Claim(s) 13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200177029 by Yukihiro Homma et al. (hereinafter Homma) in view of Adams and in further view of Yang.
Regarding claim 13, Homma teaches: A signal transmitter apparatus (Power transmission device 1 ¶ 0044, fig. 1-2), comprising:
a signal generator (transmission signal generation 23 ¶ 0044, fig. 2) configured to generate a transmit signal (transmission signal ¶ 0044);
a phase shifter (first-stage module 24/second-stage module 26 ¶ 0045, fig. 2) configured to receive the transmit signal (transmission signal ¶ 0044, fig. 2 [23, 28]) from the signal generator (transmission signal generation 23 ¶ 0044, fig. 2) and adjust the a phase of the transmit signal (changes the phase of the transmission signal ¶ 0045); and
at least one array antenna (power transmission device 1 is a phased array antenna including the plurality of element antennas 27 ¶ 0047, fig. 1-2) configured to radiate (radiated from element antenna 27 ¶ 0044, fig. 2) a phase-adjusted (phase are adjusted ¶ 0044-0045) transmit signal (transmission signal ¶ 0044) from the phase shifter (first-stage module 24/second-stage module 26 ¶ 0045, fig. 2) as a wireless signal (power transmission radio wave 2 ¶ 0044, fig. 1-2),
wherein the at least one array antenna comprises (power transmission device 1 is a phased array antenna including the plurality of element antennas 27 ¶ 0047, fig. 1-2):
a plurality of antenna elements (element antennas 27 ¶ 0047, fig. 1-2) periodically arranged (see fig. 1 [1, 27]) to form a two-dimensional planar array (see fig. 1 [1, 27]).
Homma further teaches phase shifter 28 changes the phase by an amount obtained by subtracting the phase offset value from the phase command value. Thus, the amount of change in phase of the transmission signal outputted by phase shifter 28 actually is a value obtained by subtracting the phase offset value from the phase command value. When the same phase command value is given to each second-stage module 26, each second stage module 26 can radiate the radio wave having the same phase by subtracting the phase offset value from the phase command value (¶ 0081, fig. 2).
The communication can be performed by the pulse modulation (on and off control of the transmission), the amplitude modulation, and the phase modulation of power transmission radio wave 2 and pilot signal 31 using a simple device. Consequently, the control of the power transmission radio wave and exchange of the data can be performed without adding large hardware and without increasing the load and the power consumption of mobile communication system 12 (¶ 0117).
Homma does not explicitly teach and a plurality of feeding waveguides each provided to supply the phase-adjusted transmit signal to a corresponding one of the plurality of antenna elements, wherein each of the plurality of antenna elements comprises a resonance cavity and is coupled to one of the plurality of feeding waveguides at a rear wall, wherein, in each of plurality of antenna elements, a plurality of radio wave radiation holes are formed on a face of the resonance cavity opposite to a position where the feeding waveguide is coupled to the resonance cavity.
However, Adams teaches a plurality of feed waveguides, an array of slot antenna elements a plurality of phase shifters. The plurality of feed waveguides is distributed along a perimeter of the resonant cavity and is configured to supply respective electromagnetic waves to the resonant cavity (¶ 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Adams to include the plurality of feed waveguides and the resonant cavity with the antenna and the system of the art of Homma with the benefit of feeding the antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Homma and Adams to obtain the invention:
and a plurality of feeding waveguides (Adams: plurality of feed waveguides ¶ 0004) each provided to supply the phase-adjusted (Homma: phase are adjusted ¶ 0044-0045) transmit signal (Adams: supply respective electromagnetic waves ¶ 0004) to a corresponding one of the plurality of antenna elements (Homma: element antennas 27 ¶ 0047, fig. 1-2).
Homma and Adams do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein each of the plurality of antenna elements comprises a resonance cavity and is coupled to one of the plurality of feeding waveguides at a rear wall, wherein, in each of plurality of antenna elements, a plurality of radio wave radiation holes are formed on a face of the resonance cavity opposite to a position where the feeding waveguide is coupled to the resonance cavity.
However, Yang teaches a circular slot array excited by the TM020 mode achieves linearly polarized radiation on a compact circular aperture through radiation slot pairs (digitally numbered slots) (¶ 0019, fig. 2 and 4).
A shaped beam high-power microwave coaxial cavity slot antenna includes a dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 and a mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4. The mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4 is connected to the bottom of the dual-mode variable-diameter coaxial cavity. The dual-mode variable-diameter coaxial cavity 1 includes a large coaxial cavity 2 and a small coaxial cavity 3 arranged concentrically. The diameter of the large coaxial cavity 2 is larger than the diameter of the small coaxial cavity 3. The upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 is provided with an inner ring slot and an outer ring slot that perpendicularly penetrate the large coaxial cavity 2. The inner ring slot includes 6 slots, which rotate counterclockwise along the positive half-axis of the y-axis, and are as follows: The inner seams are: first inner seam 801, second inner seam 802, third inner seam 803, fourth inner seam 804, fifth inner seam 805, and sixth inner seam 806; the outer ring seams include 12 seams, rotating counterclockwise along the positive half-axis of the y-axis, namely: first outer seam 811, second outer seam 901, third outer seam 812, fourth outer seam 903, fifth outer seam 813, sixth outer seam 905, seventh outer seam 814, eighth outer seam 906, ninth outer seam 815, and tenth outer seam 906 (¶ 0030, fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yang to include the plurality of inner ring slots and outer ring slots and the plurality of cavities with the antenna and the system of the combined art of Homma and Adams with the benefit of achieving effective axial radiation (Yang, ¶ 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Homma, Adams and Yang to obtain the invention:
wherein each of the plurality of antenna elements (Homma: element antennas 27 ¶ 0047, fig. 1-2) comprises a resonance cavity (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1/large coaxial cavity 2/small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) and is coupled (see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) to one (Yang: small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the plurality of feeding waveguides (Adams: plurality of feed waveguides ¶ 0004) at a rear wall (The bottom section wherein the small coaxial cavity 3 is perpendicular to the mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4, see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]), wherein, in each of plurality of antenna elements (Homma: element antennas 27 ¶ 0047, fig. 1-2), a plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) are formed on a face (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the resonance cavity (Yang: upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) opposite to a position (see Yang fig. 1 and 4) where the feeding waveguide (Yang: mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) is coupled to the resonance cavity (Yang: small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]).
Regarding claim 19, Homma, Adams and Yang make obvious the signal transmitter apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein the plurality of antenna elements (Homma: element antennas 27 ¶ 0047, fig. 1-2) are divided into two or more antenna element groups (see Homma fig. 1-2 [27]), and a supply (Homma: first-stage module 24/second-stage module 26 ¶ 0045, fig. 2) of the phase-adjusted (Homma: phase are adjusted ¶ 0044-0045) transmit signal (Homma: transmission signal ¶ 0044) is controlled to turn on and off (Homma: on and off control of the transmission ¶ 0117) equally for all antenna elements (Homma: element antennas 27 ¶ 0047, fig. 1-2) of each antenna element group (see Homma fig. 1-2 [27]).
Regarding claim 20, Homma, Adams and Yang make obvious the signal transmitter apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein the plurality of antenna elements (Homma: element antennas 27 ¶ 0047, fig. 1-2) are divided into two or more antenna element groups (see Homma fig. 1-2 [27]), and the phase-adjusted (Homma: phase are adjusted ¶ 0044-0045) transmit signal (Homma: transmission signal ¶ 0044) of which phase is adjusted (Homma: phase are adjusted ¶ 0044-0045) by a same amount (Homma: radiate the radio wave having the same phase ¶ 0081) is supplied for all antenna elements (Homma: element antennas 27 ¶ 0047, fig. 1-2) of each antenna element group (see Homma fig. 1-2 [27]).
Claim(s) 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homma in view of Adams in view of Yang and in further view of Ohno.
Regarding claim 14, Homma, Adams and Yang make obvious the signal transmitter apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein the plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]), the front face (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) the resonance cavity (Yang: upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1).
Homma, Adams and Yang do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, comprises: a main radiation hole formed through a front face of the resonance cavity at a position opposite to the position at the rear wall where the feeding waveguide is coupled to the resonance cavity; and a plurality of auxiliary radiation holes formed through the front face of the resonance cavity to surround the main radiation hole.
However, Ohno teaches an aperture 8. The aperture 8 is a square-shaped hole passing from the upper surface of the upper conductor plate 2 to the bottom surface thereof so that the center of the aperture 8 is aligned with the center of the upper conductor plate 2 (¶ 0121, fig. 1).
The shape of the aperture is a square shape, the shape of the aperture is not limited thereto, and may alternatively be an oblong rectangular shape, any other polygonal shape, a circular shape or an elliptical shape (¶ 0137).
Ohno further teaches the aperture preferably has a hexagonal shape (¶ 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Ohno to include the aperture with the antenna and the system of the combined art of Homma, Adams and Yang with the benefit of having a centered main radiation slot on the top plate where the multiple slots are located.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Homma, Adams, Yang and Ohno to obtain the invention:
comprises: a main radiation hole (Ohno: aperture 8 ¶ 0121, fig. 1) formed through a front face (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the resonance cavity (Yang: upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) at a position opposite (see Yang fig. 1 and 4) to the position at the rear wall (The bottom section wherein the small coaxial cavity 3 is perpendicular to the mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4, see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) where the feeding waveguide (Yang: mode-changing coaxial waveguide 4 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) is coupled (see Yang fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]) to the resonance cavity (Yang: small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1 and 4 [3-4 and 6]); and a plurality of auxiliary radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) formed through (see Yang fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) the front face (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) of the resonance cavity (Yang: upper surface of the large coaxial cavity 2 ¶ 0030, fig. 1) to surround the main radiation hole (Ohno: aperture 8 ¶ 0121, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Homma, Adams, Yang and Ohno make obvious the signal transmitter apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein the main radiation hole (Ohno: aperture 8 ¶ 0121, fig. 1) is different from (see Yang fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906] and Ohno fig. 1 [8]) the plurality of auxiliary radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) in at least one of a shape and a size (see Yang fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906] and Ohno fig. 1 [8]).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homma in view of Adams in view of Yang in view of Ohno and in further view of Sanford.
Regarding claim 15, Homma, Adams, Yang and Ohno make obvious the signal transmitter apparatus as claimed in claim 14, the resonant cavity (Yang: dual-mode variable diameter coaxial cavity 1/large coaxial cavity 2/small coaxial cavity 3 ¶ 0030, fig. 1).
Homma, Adams, Yang and Ohno do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the resonant cavity has a polygonal cross section.
However, Sanford teaches the resonant cavity may take on a wide variety of cross-sectional shapes. For example, the resonant cavity may comprise a right circular cylinder or a cylinder having a square, triangular or other polygonal cross-section (p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sanford to include the cross-sectional shapes with the antenna and the system of the combined art of Homma, Adams, Yang and Ohno with the benefit of stacking a plurality of antennas to achieve, in the wireless communication system, high gain circular polarization and wideband operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Homma, Adams, Yang, Ohno and Sanford to obtain the invention:
Sanford teaches wherein the resonant cavity (resonant cavity, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65) has a polygonal cross section (polygonal cross-section, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65).
Regarding claim 16, Homma, Adams, Yang, Ohno and Sanford make obvious the signal transmitter apparatus as claimed in claim 15, wherein the resonant cavity (Sanford: resonant cavity, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65) has a square cross section (Sanford: square cross-section, p. 2, col. 1, ll. 61-65).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homma in view of Adams in view of Yang in view of Ohno and in further view of Tran.
Regarding claim 17, Homma, Adams, Yang and Ohno make obvious the signal transmitter apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein each of the plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) has a hexagonal cross section (Ohno: hexagonal shape ¶ 0020).
Homma, Adams, Yang and Ohno do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and the plurality of radio wave radiation holes are arranged in a shape of a honeycomb.
However, Tran teaches the lens system 210 includes tubular waveguide lens cells, indicated generally at 214, interconnected to form a collapsible honeycomb array: The array 214 is constructed of a plurality of cells, each of the cells in the cell array 214 is hexagonal in cross-section (¶ 0548, fig. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Tran to include the honeycomb array with the antenna and the system of the combined art of Homma, Adams, Yang and Ohno with the benefit of minimizing the perimeter and splitting the plane into equal areas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Homma, Adams, Yang, Ohno and Tran to obtain the invention:
and the plurality of radio wave radiation (Yang: linearly polarized radiation ¶ 0019) holes (Yang: inner ring slot/outer ring slot ¶ 0030, fig. 1-2 [801-806, 811-816 and 901-906]) are arranged in a shape of a honeycomb (Tran: honeycomb array ¶ 0548, fig. 4A).
Conclusion
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/REGIS J BETSCH/ SPE, Art Unit 2844