DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the Communication filed on 02/19/2025 claims 1-20 are pending wherein claims of which 1, 7, 11, 17 are recited in independent form. The present Applicant is a Continuation of PCT/CN2023/079373 with a filing date of 03/02/2023 and claims priority to Foreign Application CN202210295175.4 (Priority Document received on 10/16/2024) with a filing date of 3/23/2022.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, without importing limitations from the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is only limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked and is otherwise given the broadest reasonable interpretation. The Examiner has not identified any language which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, therefore the limitations will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation, without importing limitations from the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220360670 to Singh et al (hereinafter d1) in view of US-20200092424 to Qiao et al (hereafter d2).
Regarding claim 1, as to the limitations “A communication method, comprising:” d1 discloses a system comprising at least an node which is fairly construed as representing an apparatus comprising: at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions (see d1 Fig. 8 and associated descriptions in the specification) configured to cause the apparatus to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 1-3); wherein the method is directed to charging rule control (see d1 paras. 0050-0055);
As to the limitation “determining, by a first policy control network element, that a policy related to a terminal device is related to a spending limit of the terminal device; and sending, by the first policy control network element, first information to a first mobility management network element, wherein the first information comprises an identifier of a first charging network element, and wherein the first charging network element is configured to provide a control service of the spending limit” d1 suggests determining, by a PCF (i.e. a first policy control network element) that a policy related to a terminal device is related to a spending limit of the terminal device including sending, by PCF information to a AMF (i.e. first mobility management network element) (see d1 Fig. 1 in its entirety and in particular Step 1: wherein the UE 1 sends the POU Session Establishment Request message to the AMF 2 with user identifier(s) which represent the users of UE 1 (e.g. User ID1 and User ID2); d1 also suggests that the PCF is configured to provide a control service of the spending limit (see at least Fig. 1 Step 8 wherein the PCF 6 sends and element reflective of Spending limit Control in connection with the Subscriber Response message to the PCF with Status of the requested subscribed policy counters for the user (i.e., user identifier) and the SUPI (i.e. subscriber identifier) combination in the Event Information, Pending policy counter statuses and their activation times, for all policy counter(s) available for the user (i.e., user identifier) and SUPI (i.e. subscriber identifier) combination. The CHF 6 can provide this information as the CHF 6 manages Spending Limit Report related information per combination of the SUPI and the user identifier in addition to the Spending Limit Report related information per SUPI. The disclosure may meet all the limitations of claim 1 under BRI of the limitations.
However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication and charging (see d2 para. 0228-0251), including The PCF may send to the CHF a message (e.g. charging policy request) requesting one or more charging policy information. The message sent to the CHF may comprise at least one of: the at least one UE identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI), the at least one UE IP address (e.g. UE IPv4 address and/or UE IPv6 network prefix), the Default 5QI and default ARP, the Type of PDU Session (e.g. IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Ethernet, Unstructured); the Access Type (e.g. 3GPP access); the RAT Type (e.g. 3GPP-NR-FDD); the PLMN identifier; the application identifier; the allocated application instance identifier; the DNN, the S-NSSAI(s) and/or network slice instance identifier(s), the PDU Session ID, the user location information, the information of the SMF for the PDU session (e.g. SMF identifier, IP address or FQDN of the SMF), or the PCF identifier. In response to the message received from the PCF, the CHF may determine/generate/create/derive charging policy information based on the information received from the PCF. The charging policy information may comprise at least one of: an information element indicating a first charging method/charging type, wherein the first charging method/charging type may comprise at least one of: online charging, offline charging, or converged charging; an information element indicating at least one first charging rate; or an information element indicating at least one first identifier or address of a CHF. The first charging method/charging type and/or first charging rate may be applied to at least one of: a PDU session identified by a PDU session identifier; a service data flow identified by at least one service data flow filter; an application identified by an application identifier; a wireless device identified by at least one user identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI); a data network identified by a DNN; or a network slice identified by a S-NSSAI and/or a network slice instance identifier (see d2 para. 0228-0229). The disclosure of d2 at least suggests that the PCF may send to the CHF a message (e.g. charging policy request) requesting one or more charging policy information." and in par. 229 "In response to the message received from the PCF, the CHF may determine/generate/create/derive charging policy information based on the information received from the PCF. The charging policy information may comprise at least one of ..... at least one first identifier or address of a CHF." Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an manner obvious to a POSITA, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (charging control) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve charging control by using charging policy information based on the UE identity (see d2 para. 0230). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved charging control, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (charging control) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the first policy control network element, that the policy related to the spending limit of the terminal device comprises: receiving, by the first policy control network element, second information from a third network element, wherein the second information indicates that the policy is related to the spending limit of the terminal device, and the third network element is a unified data management network element or a unified data repository network element; and determining, by the first policy control network element based on the second information, that the policy is related to the spending limit of the terminal device” d1 in view of d2 suggests receiving, by the first policy control network element, second information from a third network element, wherein the second information indicates that the policy is related to the spending limit of the terminal device, and the third network element is a unified data management network element or a unified data repository network element; and determining, by the first policy control network element based on the second information, that the policy is related to the spending limit of the terminal device (see d2 para. 0187-0189, 224 dee also paras. 0117, 0121).
Regarding claim 3, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the policy comprises a user equipment (UE} policy and/or a mobility management policy corresponding to the terminal device” d1 in view of d2 suggests user equipment (UE} policy and/or a mobility management policy corresponding to the terminal device (see d1 Fig. 1; d2 para. 0189).
Regarding claim 4, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the identifier of the first charging network element is for the first mobility management network element to select the same first charging network element as the first policy control network element” d1 in view of d2 suggests an identifier of the first charging network element is the same first charging network element as the first policy control network element (see d1 Fig.1 steps 1-8; d2 para. 0228-0229).
Regarding claim 5, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the first policy control network element, that the policy is related to the spending limit of the terminal device comprises: determining, by the first policy control network element, that a policy related to a slice to which the terminal device subscribes is related to the spending limit of the terminal device” d1 in view of d2 suggests determining, by the first policy control network element, that a policy related to a slice to which the terminal device subscribes is related to the spending limit of the terminal device (see d1 Fig. 1 steps 1-8; Fig. 3 step 2; d2 para. 0223-0233).
Regarding claim 6, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: if a policy control network element serving the terminal device is changed from the first policy control network element to a third policy control network element, sending, by the first policy control network element, third information to a fourth network element, wherein the third information comprises one or more of a subscription correlation identifier of the terminal device, a subscription permanent identifier of the terminal device, the identifier of the first charging network element, or status information of a policy counter, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, wherein a status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to the spending limit, and wherein the fourth network element is the first mobility management network element or a unified data repository network element” d1 in view of d2 suggests method steps which render obvious the functionality of if a policy control network element serving the terminal device is changed from the first policy control network element to a third policy control network element, sending, by the first policy control network element, third information to a fourth network element, wherein the third information comprises one or more of a subscription correlation identifier of the terminal device, a subscription permanent identifier of the terminal device, the identifier of the first charging network element, or status information of a policy counter, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, wherein a status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to the spending limit, and wherein the fourth network element is the first mobility management network element or a unified data repository network element (see d2 para. 0165-0170).
Regarding claim 7, as to the limitations “A communication method, comprising:” d1 discloses a system comprising at least an node which is fairly construed as representing an apparatus comprising: at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions (see d1 Fig. 8 and associated descriptions in the specification) configured to cause the apparatus to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 1-3); wherein the method is directed to charging rule control (see d1 paras. 0050-0055);
As to the limitation “receiving, by a first mobility management network element, first information from a first policy control network element, wherein the first information comprises an identifier of a first charging network element, the first charging network element is configured to provide a control service of a spending limit of a terminal device; and selecting, by the first mobility management network element based on the identifier of the first charging network element, the first charging network element that is a same charging network element selected by the first policy control network element” d1 suggests determining, by a PCF (i.e. a first policy control network element) that a policy related to a terminal device is related to a spending limit of the terminal device including sending, by PCF information to a AMF (i.e. first mobility management network element) (see d1 Fig. 1 in its entirety and in particular Step 1: wherein the UE 1 sends the POU Session Establishment Request message to the AMF 2 with user identifier(s) which represent the users of UE 1 (e.g. User ID1 and User ID2); d1 also suggests that the PCF is configured to provide a control service of the spending limit (see at least Fig. 1 Step 8 wherein the PCF 6 sends an element reflective of Spending limit Control in connection with the Subscriber Response message to the PCF with Status of the requested subscribed policy counters for the user (i.e., user identifier) and the SUPI (i.e. subscriber identifier) combination in the Event Information, Pending policy counter statuses and their activation times, for all policy counter(s) available for the user (i.e., user identifier) and SUPI (i.e. subscriber identifier) combination. The CHF 6 can provide this information as the CHF 6 manages Spending Limit Report related information per combination of the SUPI and the user identifier in addition to the Spending Limit Report related information per SUPI. D1 also suggests in Fig. 1 Step 8 that the CHF 6 sends elements reflective of Spending limit Control in a Response message to the PCF 4 with Status of the requested subscribed policy counters for the user (i.e., user identifier) and the SUPI (i.e., subscriber) combination in the Event Information, Pending policy counter statuses and their activation times, for all policy counter(s) available for the user (i.e., user identifier) and SUPI (i.e., subscriber) combination. The CHF 6 can provide this information as the CHF 6 manages Spending Limit Report related information per combination of the SUPI and the user identifier in addition to the Spending Limit Report related information per SUPI. Selecting, by the first mobility management network element based on the identifier of the first charging network element including the steps reflective of the AMF which may initiate the AM Policy Association Establishment procedure by one of the following triggers; and step 5 which suggests based on the received AM Policy Control Create response message specific to the user identifier(s) from the (V-)PCF 41, along with other information, the AMF deploys access and mobility control policy specific to the user identifier(s). The disclosure may meet all the limitations of claim 1 under BRI of the limitations.
However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication and charging (see d2 para. 0228-0251), including The PCF may send to the CHF a message (e.g. charging policy request) requesting one or more charging policy information. The message sent to the CHF may comprise at least one of: the at least one UE identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI), the at least one UE IP address (e.g. UE IPv4 address and/or UE IPv6 network prefix), the Default 5QI and default ARP, the Type of PDU Session (e.g. IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Ethernet, Unstructured); the Access Type (e.g. 3GPP access); the RAT Type (e.g. 3GPP-NR-FDD); the PLMN identifier; the application identifier; the allocated application instance identifier; the DNN, the S-NSSAI(s) and/or network slice instance identifier(s), the PDU Session ID, the user location information, the information of the SMF for the PDU session (e.g. SMF identifier, IP address or FQDN of the SMF), or the PCF identifier. In response to the message received from the PCF, the CHF may determine/generate/create/derive charging policy information based on the information received from the PCF. The charging policy information may comprise at least one of: an information element indicating a first charging method/charging type, wherein the first charging method/charging type may comprise at least one of: online charging, offline charging, or converged charging; an information element indicating at least one first charging rate; or an information element indicating at least one first identifier or address of a CHF. The first charging method/charging type and/or first charging rate may be applied to at least one of: a PDU session identified by a PDU session identifier; a service data flow identified by at least one service data flow filter; an application identified by an application identifier; a wireless device identified by at least one user identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI); a data network identified by a DNN; or a network slice identified by a S-NSSAI and/or a network slice instance identifier (see d2 para. 0228-0229). The disclosure of d2 at least suggests that the PCF may send to the CHF a message (e.g. charging policy request) requesting one or more charging policy information." and in par. 229 "In response to the message received from the PCF, the CHF may determine/generate/create/derive charging policy information based on the information received from the PCF. The charging policy information may comprise at least one of ..... at least one first identifier or address of a CHF." D2 also suggests at least in para. 0228 that the PCF may send to the CHF a message (e.g. charging policy request) requesting one or more charging policy information which is reflected in para. 0229 suggesting that in response to the message received from the PCF, the CHF may determine charging policy information based on the information received from the PCF. The charging policy information may comprise at least one of ..... at least one first identifier or address of a CHF." In addition D2 discloses in para. 0240 "that, the PCF may determine the second identifier or address of a CHF in the charging control rule based on the first identifier or address of a CHF in the charging policy information. The second identifier or address of the CHF may be the same as the first identifier or address of a CHF or may be different. Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an manner obvious to a POSITA, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (charging control) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve charging control by using charging policy information based on the UE identity (see d2 para. 0230). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved charging control, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (charging control) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the first mobility management network element, charging input information of the terminal device or a slice accessed by the terminal device, wherein the charging input information indicates information required for charging the terminal device; and sending, by the first mobility management network element, the charging input information to the first charging network element” d1 in view of d2 suggests determining, by the first policy control network element, that a policy related to a slice to which the terminal device subscribes is related to the spending limit of the terminal device (see d1 Fig. 1 steps 1-8; Fig. 3 step 2; d2 para. 0223-0233).
Regarding claim 9, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 8, wherein the charging input information is for maintaining a status of a policy counter of the terminal device, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, and the status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to the spending limit” d1 in view of d2 suggests maintaining a status of a policy counter of the terminal device, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, and the status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to the spending limit (see d1 Fig. 1 steps 1-8; Fig. 3 step 2; d2 para. 0175-0194).
Regarding claim 10, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the first mobility management network element, third information from the first policy control network element, wherein the third information comprises one or more of a subscription correlation identifier of the terminal device, a subscription permanent identifier of the terminal device, the identifier of the first charging network element, or status information of a policy counter, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, and wherein a status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to a spending limit; and sending, by the first mobility management network element, the third information to the third mobility management network element or a unified data repository network element, wherein the third mobility management network element is a mobility management network element to which a mobility management network element serving the terminal device is changed from the first mobility management network element” d1 in view of d2 suggests method steps which render obvious the functionality of if a policy control network element serving the terminal device is changed from the first policy control network element to a third policy control network element, sending, by the first policy control network element, third information to a fourth network element, wherein the third information comprises one or more of a subscription correlation identifier of the terminal device, a subscription permanent identifier of the terminal device, the identifier of the first charging network element, or status information of a policy counter, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, wherein a status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to the spending limit, and wherein the fourth network element is the first mobility management network element or a unified data repository network element (see d2 para. 0165-0170).
Regarding claim 11, as to the limitations “An apparatus, comprising at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions” d1 discloses a system comprising at least an node which is fairly construed as representing an apparatus comprising: at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions (see d1 Fig. 8 and associated descriptions in the specification) configured to cause the apparatus to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 1-3); wherein the method is directed to charging rule control (see d1 paras. 0050-0055);
As to the limitation “determine that a policy related to a terminal device is related to a spending limit of the terminal device; and send first information to a first mobility management network element, wherein the first information comprises an identifier of a first charging network element, the first charging network element is configured to provide a control service of the spending limit” d1 suggests determining, by a PCF (i.e. a first policy control network element) that a policy related to a terminal device is related to a spending limit of the terminal device including sending, by PCF information to a AMF (i.e. first mobility management network element) (see d1 Fig. 1 in its entirety and in particular Step 1: wherein the UE 1 sends the POU Session Establishment Request message to the AMF 2 with user identifier(s) which represent the users of UE 1 (e.g. User ID1 and User ID2); d1 also suggests that the PCF is configured to provide a control service of the spending limit (see at least Fig. 1 Step 8 wherein the PCF 6 sends an element reflective of Spending limit Control in connection with the Subscriber Response message to the PCF with Status of the requested subscribed policy counters for the user (i.e., user identifier) and the SUPI (i.e. subscriber identifier) combination in the Event Information, Pending policy counter statuses and their activation times, for all policy counter(s) available for the user (i.e., user identifier) and SUPI (i.e. subscriber identifier) combination. The CHF 6 can provide this information as the CHF 6 manages Spending Limit Report related information per combination of the SUPI and the user identifier in addition to the Spending Limit Report related information per SUPI. The disclosure may meet all the limitations of claim 1 under BRI of the limitations.
However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication and charging (see d2 para. 0228-0251), including The PCF may send to the CHF a message (e.g. charging policy request) requesting one or more charging policy information. The message sent to the CHF may comprise at least one of: the at least one UE identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI), the at least one UE IP address (e.g. UE IPv4 address and/or UE IPv6 network prefix), the Default 5QI and default ARP, the Type of PDU Session (e.g. IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Ethernet, Unstructured); the Access Type (e.g. 3GPP access); the RAT Type (e.g. 3GPP-NR-FDD); the PLMN identifier; the application identifier; the allocated application instance identifier; the DNN, the S-NSSAI(s) and/or network slice instance identifier(s), the PDU Session ID, the user location information, the information of the SMF for the PDU session (e.g. SMF identifier, IP address or FQDN of the SMF), or the PCF identifier. In response to the message received from the PCF, the CHF may determine/generate/create/derive charging policy information based on the information received from the PCF. The charging policy information may comprise at least one of: an information element indicating a first charging method/charging type, wherein the first charging method/charging type may comprise at least one of: online charging, offline charging, or converged charging; an information element indicating at least one first charging rate; or an information element indicating at least one first identifier or address of a CHF. The first charging method/charging type and/or first charging rate may be applied to at least one of: a PDU session identified by a PDU session identifier; a service data flow identified by at least one service data flow filter; an application identified by an application identifier; a wireless device identified by at least one user identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI); a data network identified by a DNN; or a network slice identified by a S-NSSAI and/or a network slice instance identifier (see d2 para. 0228-0229). The disclosure of d2 at least suggests that the PCF may send to the CHF a message (e.g. charging policy request) requesting one or more charging policy information." and in par. 229 "In response to the message received from the PCF, the CHF may determine/generate/create/derive charging policy information based on the information received from the PCF. The charging policy information may comprise at least one of ..... at least one first identifier or address of a CHF." Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an manner obvious to a POSITA, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (charging control) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve charging control by using charging policy information based on the UE identity (see d2 para. 0230). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved charging control, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (charging control) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the determining that a policy related to a terminal device is related to a spending limit of the terminal device comprises: receiving second information from a third network element, wherein the second information indicates that the policy is related to the spending limit of the terminal device, and the third network element is a unified data management network element or a unified data repository network element; and determining, based on the second information, that the policy is related to the spending limit of the terminal device” d1 in view of d2 suggests receiving, by the first policy control network element, second information from a third network element, wherein the second information indicates that the policy is related to the spending limit of the terminal device, and the third network element is a unified data management network element or a unified data repository network element; and determining, by the first policy control network element based on the second information, that the policy is related to the spending limit of the terminal device (see d2 para. 0187-0189, 224 dee also paras. 0117, 0121).
Regarding claim 13, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the policy comprises a user equipment (UE) policy and/or a mobility management policy corresponding to the terminal device” d1 in view of d2 suggests user equipment (UE} policy and/or a mobility management policy corresponding to the terminal device (see d1 Fig. 1; d2 para. 0189).
Regarding claim 14, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the identifier of the first charging network element is for the first mobility management network element to select a same charging network element as the apparatus” d1 in view of d2 suggests an identifier of the first charging network element is the same first charging network element as the first policy control network element (see d1 Fig.1 steps 1-8; d2 para. 0228-0229).
Regarding claim 15, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the determining that the policy is related to the spending limit of the terminal device comprises: determining that a policy related to a slice to which the terminal device subscribes is related to the spending limit of the terminal device” d1 in view of d2 suggests determining, by the first policy control network element, that a policy related to a slice to which the terminal device subscribes is related to the spending limit of the terminal device (see d1 Fig. 1 steps 1-8; Fig. 3 step 2; d2 para. 0223-0233).
Regarding claim 16, as to the limitation “he apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: if a policy control network element serving the terminal device is changed from the apparatus to a third policy control network element, send third information to a fourth network element, wherein the third information comprises one or more of a subscription correlation identifier of the terminal device, a subscription permanent identifier of the terminal device, the identifier of the first charging network element, or status information of a policy counter, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, wherein a status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to the spending limit, and wherein the fourth network element is the first mobility management network element or a unified data repository network element” d1 in view of d2 suggests method steps which render obvious the functionality of if a policy control network element serving the terminal device is changed from the first policy control network element to a third policy control network element, sending, by the first policy control network element, third information to a fourth network element, wherein the third information comprises one or more of a subscription correlation identifier of the terminal device, a subscription permanent identifier of the terminal device, the identifier of the first charging network element, or status information of a policy counter, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, wherein a status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to the spending limit, and wherein the fourth network element is the first mobility management network element or a unified data repository network element (see d2 para. 0165-0170).
Regarding claim 17, as to the limitations “An apparatus, comprising at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions” d1 discloses a system comprising at least an node which is fairly construed as representing an apparatus comprising: at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions (see d1 Fig. 8 and associated descriptions in the specification) configured to cause the apparatus to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 1-3); wherein the method is directed to charging rule control (see d1 paras. 0050-0055);
As to the limitation “receive first information from a first policy control network element, wherein the first information comprises an identifier of a first charging network element, the first charging network element is configured to provide a control service of a spending limit of a terminal device; and select, based on the identifier of the first charging network element, the same first charging network element that is a same charging network element as with the first policy control network element” d1 suggests determining, by a PCF (i.e. a first policy control network element) that a policy related to a terminal device is related to a spending limit of the terminal device including sending, by PCF information to a AMF (i.e. first mobility management network element) (see d1 Fig. 1 in its entirety and in particular Step 1: wherein the UE 1 sends the POU Session Establishment Request message to the AMF 2 with user identifier(s) which represent the users of UE 1 (e.g. User ID1 and User ID2); d1 also suggests that the PCF is configured to provide a control service of the spending limit (see at least Fig. 1 Step 8 wherein the PCF 6 sends an element reflective of Spending limit Control in connection with the Subscriber Response message to the PCF with Status of the requested subscribed policy counters for the user (i.e., user identifier) and the SUPI (i.e. subscriber identifier) combination in the Event Information, Pending policy counter statuses and their activation times, for all policy counter(s) available for the user (i.e., user identifier) and SUPI (i.e. subscriber identifier) combination. The CHF 6 can provide this information as the CHF 6 manages Spending Limit Report related information per combination of the SUPI and the user identifier in addition to the Spending Limit Report related information per SUPI. D1 also suggests in Fig. 1 Step 8 that the CHF 6 sends elements reflective of Spending limit Control in a Response message to the PCF 4 with Status of the requested subscribed policy counters for the user (i.e., user identifier) and the SUPI (i.e., subscriber) combination in the Event Information, Pending policy counter statuses and their activation times, for all policy counter(s) available for the user (i.e., user identifier) and SUPI (i.e., subscriber) combination. The CHF 6 can provide this information as the CHF 6 manages Spending Limit Report related information per combination of the SUPI and the user identifier in addition to the Spending Limit Report related information per SUPI. Selecting, by the first mobility management network element based on the identifier of the first charging network element including the steps reflective of the AMF which may initiate the AM Policy Association Establishment procedure by one of the following triggers; and step 5 which suggests based on the received AM Policy Control Create response message specific to the user identifier(s) from the (V-)PCF 41, along with other information, the AMF deploys access and mobility control policy specific to the user identifier(s). The disclosure may meet all the limitations of claim 1 under BRI of the limitations.
However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication and charging (see d2 para. 0228-0251), including The PCF may send to the CHF a message (e.g. charging policy request) requesting one or more charging policy information. The message sent to the CHF may comprise at least one of: the at least one UE identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI), the at least one UE IP address (e.g. UE IPv4 address and/or UE IPv6 network prefix), the Default 5QI and default ARP, the Type of PDU Session (e.g. IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Ethernet, Unstructured); the Access Type (e.g. 3GPP access); the RAT Type (e.g. 3GPP-NR-FDD); the PLMN identifier; the application identifier; the allocated application instance identifier; the DNN, the S-NSSAI(s) and/or network slice instance identifier(s), the PDU Session ID, the user location information, the information of the SMF for the PDU session (e.g. SMF identifier, IP address or FQDN of the SMF), or the PCF identifier. In response to the message received from the PCF, the CHF may determine/generate/create/derive charging policy information based on the information received from the PCF. The charging policy information may comprise at least one of: an information element indicating a first charging method/charging type, wherein the first charging method/charging type may comprise at least one of: online charging, offline charging, or converged charging; an information element indicating at least one first charging rate; or an information element indicating at least one first identifier or address of a CHF. The first charging method/charging type and/or first charging rate may be applied to at least one of: a PDU session identified by a PDU session identifier; a service data flow identified by at least one service data flow filter; an application identified by an application identifier; a wireless device identified by at least one user identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI); a data network identified by a DNN; or a network slice identified by a S-NSSAI and/or a network slice instance identifier (see d2 para. 0228-0229). The disclosure of d2 at least suggests that the PCF may send to the CHF a message (e.g. charging policy request) requesting one or more charging policy information." and in par. 229 "In response to the message received from the PCF, the CHF may determine/generate/create/derive charging policy information based on the information received from the PCF. The charging policy information may comprise at least one of ..... at least one first identifier or address of a CHF." D2 also suggests at least in para. 0228 that the PCF may send to the CHF a message (e.g. charging policy request) requesting one or more charging policy information which is reflected in para. 0229 suggesting that in response to the message received from the PCF, the CHF may determine charging policy information based on the information received from the PCF. The charging policy information may comprise at least one of ..... at least one first identifier or address of a CHF." In addition D2 discloses in para. 0240 "that, the PCF may determine the second identifier or address of a CHF in the charging control rule based on the first identifier or address of a CHF in the charging policy information. The second identifier or address of the CHF may be the same as the first identifier or address of a CHF or may be different. Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an manner obvious to a POSITA, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (charging control) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve charging control by using charging policy information based on the UE identity (see d2 para. 0230). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved charging control, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (charging control) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 18, as to the limitation “determine charging input information of the terminal device or a slice accessed by the terminal device, wherein the charging input information indicates information required for charging the terminal device; and send the charging input information to the first charging network element” d1 in view of d2 suggests determining, by the first policy control network element, that a policy related to a slice to which the terminal device subscribes is related to the spending limit of the terminal device (see d1 Fig. 1 steps 1-8; Fig. 3 step 2; d2 para. 0223-0233).
Regarding claim 19, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the charging input information is for maintaining a status of a policy counter of the terminal device, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, and the status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to the spending limit” d1 in view of d2 suggests maintaining a status of a policy counter of the terminal device, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, and the status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to the spending limit (see d1 Fig. 1 steps 1-8; Fig. 3 step 2; d2 para. 0175-0194).
Regarding claim 20, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: receive third information from the first policy control network element, wherein the third information comprises one or more of a subscription correlation identifier of the terminal device, a subscription permanent identifier of the terminal device, the identifier of the first charging network element, or status information of a policy counter, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, and wherein a status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to a spending limit; and send the third information to the third mobility management network element or a unified data repository network element, wherein the third mobility management network element is a mobility management network element to which a mobility management network element serving the terminal device is changed from the apparatus” d1 in view of d2 suggests method steps which render obvious the functionality of if a policy control network element serving the terminal device is changed from the first policy control network element to a third policy control network element, sending, by the first policy control network element, third information to a fourth network element, wherein the third information comprises one or more of a subscription correlation identifier of the terminal device, a subscription permanent identifier of the terminal device, the identifier of the first charging network element, or status information of a policy counter, wherein the policy counter is configured to track charging of the terminal device, wherein a status of the policy counter is a label associated with a value of the policy counter relative to the spending limit, and wherein the fourth network element is the first mobility management network element or a unified data repository network element (see d2 para. 0165-0170).
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643