DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/8/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/18/2024. These drawings are considered acceptable by Examiner.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1, 8, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0185650 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lim et al., teaches a light emitting display device comprising: a plurality of subpixels (P1, P2, P3, individual pixel, ¶ [0085]; see at least Figs. 3-4) disposed on a substrate (100); a first overcoat layer (352) disposed on the substrate (100); a second overcoat layer (400) disposed on the first overcoat layer (352), the second overcoat layer (400) having a side surface overlapping with a reflection area (region overlap of 450) of each of the plurality of subpixels (P1, P2, P3); a first electrode (312, 322, 332, transparent electrode, ¶ [0092]) disposed on an upper surface of the second overcoat layer (400) at an emission area of each of the plurality of subpixels (P1, P2, P3); an intermediate layer (500, an emission layer) disposed on the first overcoat layer (352), the second overcoat layer (400), and the first electrode (312, 322, 332); and a second electrode (450, reflective, ¶ [0047]) disposed on the intermediate layer (500), the second electrode (450) having a higher reflectance than the first electrode (312, 322, 332, transparent), wherein the reflection area (region overlap of 450) is located outside of the emission area, and wherein the second electrode (450) is located along the side surface of the second overcoat layer (400) in the reflection area (region overlap of 450) and the second electrode (450) surrounds an end of the first electrode (312, 322, 332).
Regarding Claim 8, Lim et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the upper surface of the second overcoat layer (400) overlaps with the first electrode (312, 322, 332).
Regarding Claim 18, Lim et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 1, further comprising color filters (810, 820, 830) between the first overcoat layer (352) and the substrate (100), wherein each of the color filters overlaps with the emission area and the reflection area (region overlap of 450) of a corresponding subpixel among the plurality of subpixels (P1, P2, P3).
2. Claim(s) 19, 25-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0137666 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee et al., teaches a light emitting display device comprising: a plurality of subpixels (SP1, SP2, SP3) disposed on a substrate (110); an overcoat layer (130) disposed on the substrate (110), the overcoat layer (130) including a flat area (EA1) overlapping with an emission area of each of the plurality of subpixels (SP1, SP2, SP3) and a first concave area (NEA2) surrounding the flat area (EA1) and overlapping with a reflection area (¶ [0067]) of each of the plurality of subpixels (SP1, SP2, SP3); a first electrode (141A) disposed on the flat area (EA1) of the overcoat layer (130); an intermediate layer (142a) disposed on the overcoat layer (130) and the first electrode (141A); and a second electrode (143a) disposed on the intermediate layer (142a), the second electrode (143a) extending along the first concave area (NEA2) of the overcoat layer (130) to surround an end of the first electrode (141A), wherein the second electrode (143a [Wingdings font/0xE0] may further include a metal doping layer or alloys such as MgAg, which intrinsically includes a degree of reflectivity) has a higher reflectance than the first electrode (141A [Wingdings font/0xE0] multilayer, including a transparent conductive layer, ¶ [0066]).
Regarding Claim 25, Lee et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 19, wherein the overcoat layer (130) further includes a second concave area (in second opposite end) between the flat area (EA1) and the first concave area (NEA2).
Regarding Claim 26, Lee et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 25, wherein a portion of the first electrode (141A) overlaps with a portion of the second concave area.
Regarding Claim 27, Lee et al., teaches a light emitting display device comprising: a plurality of subpixels (SP1, SP2, SP3) disposed on a substrate (110); thin film transistors disposed on the substrate (110); an overcoat layer (130) disposed on the substrate (110), the overcoat layer (130) including at least one concave area (NEA2); a first electrode (141A) disposed on the overcoat layer (130) and spaced apart from the at least one concave area (NEA2); an organic emission layer disposed on the first electrode (141A); and a second electrode (143a) disposed on the organic emission layer, wherein an emission area corresponds to the first electrode (141A), and a reflected light emission area corresponds to an area that does not overlap with the first electrode (141A).
Regarding Claim 28, Lee et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 27, wherein at least one of the organic emission layer and the second electrode (143a) is in direct contact with the overcoat layer (130) at the reflected light emission area.
Regarding Claim 29, Lee et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 28, wherein the reflected light emission area surrounds at least three sides of the emission area in a plan view.
Regarding Claim 30, Lee et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 29, wherein the overcoat layer (130) has a first concave area (NEA2), and wherein the reflected light emission area corresponds to a first inclined surface of the first concave area (NEA2).
Regarding Claim 31, Lee et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 30, further comprising a plurality of wirings disposed in a first direction on the substrate (110), wherein at least two of the plurality of wirings overlap (of TFT region) with a portion of the reflected light emission area in the first direction.
Regarding Claim 32, Lee et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 31, further comprising a bank (150) disposed on the thin film transistors, wherein the bank covers the thin film transistors, and contacts a portion of the organic emission layer.
Regarding Claim 33, Lee et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 30, wherein the overcoat layer (130) further includes a flat surface and a second concave area (opposite NEA2) having a second inclined surface extending from the flat surface, and wherein the emission area including the second concave area (opposite NEA2) is greater than an area of the flat surface (as clearly depicted in Fg. 2).
Regarding Claim 34, Lee et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 33, wherein the reflected light emission area includes a first reflection area, a second reflection area, and a third reflection area, and wherein the reflected light emission area surrounds the emission area (each three reflection areas of each respective three pixels).
Regarding Claim 35, Lee et al., teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 34, further comprising a plurality of wirings (of TFT) disposed in a first direction on the substrate (110), wherein the second reflection area overlaps with at least two of the plurality of wirings (of TFT).
Allowable Subject Matter
A. Claim(s) 2-7, 9-17 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 2 recites inter alia; the side surface of the second overcoat layer includes: a first side surface part adjacent to the upper surface of the second overcoat layer; and a second side surface part adjacent to a lower surface of the second overcoat layer, the second side surface part having a different shape or a different slope than the first side surface part.
Claim(s) 3-7 are objected to because of their dependency status from Claim 2.
Claim(s) 9 recites inter alia; a third overcoat layer disposed between the second overcoat layer and the first electrode, wherein the third overcoat layer includes a first surface connected to the side surface of the second overcoat layer, and wherein the second electrode extends along the first surface of the third overcoat layer in the reflection area.
Claim(s) 10-16 are objected to because of their dependency status from Claim 9.
Claim(s) 17 recites inter alia; the end of the first electrode becomes thinner as a distance away from a center of the first electrode increases, or the end of the first electrode has a tapered shape.
B. Claim(s) 20-24 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 20 recites inter alia; the reflection area includes: a first reflection area overlapping with the first concave area of the overcoat layer; a second reflection area located outside of the first reflection area with respect to the flat area of the overcoat layer; and a third reflection area overlapping with an edge of the flat area of the overcoat layer.
Claim(s) 21-24 are allowable because of their dependency status from Claim 20.
C. Claim(s) 36-41 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record (most comprehensive prior art of record to Lee et al.,) suggests a light emitting display device comprising: a first subpixel and a second subpixel disposed on a substrate; an overcoat layer disposed between the first and second subpixels and the substrate, the overcoat layer including a concave area between the first subpixel and the second subpixel; first electrodes respectively disposed in the first subpixel and the second subpixel; a light emitting layer disposed across the first subpixel, the concave area of the overcoat layer and the second subpixel; and a second electrode disposed on the light emitting layer and across the first subpixel, the concave area of the overcoat layer and the second subpixel.
However, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art the light emitting display device comprising the various elements as claimed above in combination with the specific limitation of a portion of the second electrode disposed in the concave area of the overcoat layer is closer to the substrate than the first electrodes of the first and second subpixels. as set forth in Claim 36.
Claim(s) 37-41 are allowable because of their dependency status from Claim 36.
Examiner's Note
The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/H. Featherly/
Examiner Featherly
Art Unit 2875 Patent Examiner
/JAMES R GREECE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875