DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment dated 8/20/2026 has been considered and entered into the record. The claims have been amended to overcome the previous indefinite rejections based upon the use of relative terms and multiple numerical ranges within a claim. Claims 1–17 remain pending and are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 7–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (US 2020/0353720 A1) in view of Beckham (US 2021/0112895 A1).
Cui teaches the formation of a radiative-heating garment that comprises an outer shell layer 101, a lining fabric 105, and an insulation layer 103 between the shell layer 101 and the lining fabric 105. Cui abstract, ¶ 56, Fig. 2. The outer shell layer 101 has a solar transmittance of at least 38% and is the outermost, outward facing surface of the garment. See id. abstract. ¶ 5. The insulation layer 103 is made of materials that are solar-transmitting. See id. ¶ 7.
The lining fabric of Cui fails to include a plurality of heat-retention elements coupled to the lining fabric, wherein the elements comprise a thermal emittance layer and a solar absorptance layer.
Beckham teaches a heat-management material that includes a base fabric and a plurality of multi-layered, multi-functional, heat-management elements coupled to an externally facing surface of the fabric. Beckham abstract. The multi-layered, multi-functional, heat-management elements include a low thermal emittance layer and a high solar absorptance layer. Id. The low thermal emittance layer is an aluminum foil with a thickness in the range of from about 5 nm to about 100 nm, wherein the emittance layer renders the elements with a weighted average thermal emittance of less than 0.9 at wavelengths of between 5 and 40 microns. Id. ¶¶ 10, 38, 45, Fig. 6. The high solar absorptance layer has a thickness in the range of 0.1–10 microns, comprises a polymeric overlayer, and a black colorant, wherein the absorptance layer renders the heat-retention elements with a weighted average solar absorptance of at least 0.5 at wavelengths of between 0.3 to 2.5 microns. Id. ¶¶ 11, 46, 65, Fig. 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the lining fabric of Cui with that of Beckham with the motivation of adding the heat-management elements to restrict heat transmission to the environment from the exterior facing surface of the base material and additionally trap solar radiation and convert it to heat that is directed toward the interior of the base material. See Beckham ¶ 2.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui and Beckham as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blackford (US 2013/0042390 A1).
Cui and Beckham fail to teach the use of the heat-retention elements on the innermost, inward facing surface of the lining fabric.
Blackford teaches body gear comprising heat-managing elements coupled to a base material towards the body of a user or away from the body of the user, wherein the base material may be used as a lining for body gear. Blackford abstract, ¶ 30.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the heat-retention elements on the innermost, inward facing surface of the lining fabric motivated by the desire to reflect heat back to the user. See id. abstract.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui and Beckham as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moriarty (US 2013/0177731 A1).
Cui and Beckham fail to teach a thickness or density for the insulation layer in their respective garments.
Moriarty teaches the formation of a thermal insulating structure and products made therefrom, including garments. Moriarty abstract, ¶ 12. The garment may comprise an outer shell layer, an intermediate insulation layer, and an inner liner. Id. ¶¶ 12–17. The insulation layer may comprise a nonwoven material of natural or synthetic fibers, such as fiberfill, wherein the insulation material layer has a thickness of at least 2 mm and a density in the range of 40–80 gsm. Id. ¶¶ 30–34.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the insulation layer 103 of Cui with the insulation layer of Moriarty motivated by the desire to select a specific fabric layer that provides further insulation in the garment of Cui.
Claim 17 is rejected as the Examiner takes the position that fiberfill is typically white and furthermore it would have haven obvious to have selected white or translucent fiberfill motivated by the desire to make the insulation neutral in color in order to not distract from the other layers of the garment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the invention of Cui has fundamental differences with the presently claimed invention. In particular, Cui is directed to a garment containing an outer shell having a transmittance of infrared radiation from a wearer’s body, rather than solar energy as required in the claims. This argument is unpersuasive as the sun also transmits solar energy in the infrared spectrum and as such the outer layer of Cui would transmit infrared radiation regardless of its source.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D MATZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786