Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burghardt et al. US 20230004174 A1 (“Burghardt”) in combination with Krawiec et al. US 20220130264 A1 (“Krawiec”) and Bowler US 20240343410 A1 (“Bowler”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims should distinguish the claims from the prior art disclosures of Burghardt and Bowler, on the grounds that Bowler in particular does not teach or suggest that the identified potential landing zones are sites determined to be reachable by the aircraft in an automated emergency landing control mode. However, Bowler teaches in paragraph 38 that “in the case of a non-critical low battery warning, the system would select the closest hoverport location in range with charging capabilities.” This clearly reads on identifying sites determined to be reachable by the aircraft. It should also be noted that Spencer teaches in paragraph 58 that fuel capacity is also considered when making a flight plan, including in emergency mode. Remaining fuel is a clear indicator of whether an aerial vehicle can reach a particular landing zone. Regarding claim 3, applicant argues that the cited references do not disclose or suggest using road map data, aviation map data, and navigation sensor data to extrapolate which candidate landing sites are reachable by the VTOL aircraft in the automated emergency landing control mode. However, claim 3 makes no mention of landing sites being reachable by the VTOL aircraft, although it is implicit in all of these disclosures that the VTOL is capable of reaching the landing site at least in terms of availability, and in light of the rejection of claim 1, there is no reason to withdraw the rejection of claim 3 in view of Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler. For these reasons, the previous rejection under 103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burghardt et al. US 20230004174 A1 (“Burghardt”) in combination with Krawiec et al. US 20220130264 A1 (“Krawiec”) and Bowler US 20240343410 A1 (“Bowler”).
Regarding Claim 1. Burghardt teaches a vertical-takeoff-and-landing (VTOL) aircraft comprising:
a plurality of navigation sensors configured to output navigation sensor data (FIG. 1 shows a VTOL at 102 with sensors at 126. These sensors provide senor data to an autonomous computing system that can receive raw sensor data and control propulsion devices to autonomously operate the aerial vehicle [paragraph 25]); and
processing circuitry configured to implement a navigation system (A plurality of sensor assemblies shown in FIG. 1 can include a global navigation satellite system, an alternative position navigation and timing assembly, and/or radio detection and ranging (radar) assembly(s) [paragraph 29]), wherein the navigation system is configured to:
receive road map data, aviation map data, and navigation sensor data (The surveillance systems in FIG. 1 are able to identify and/or assess one or more terrains, landing zones, emergency landing zones, etc. within the surrounding environment of the aerial vehicle [paragraph 34]. Radar signals, which also are included in the sensor assemblies, can also allow the system to determine a third position estimate based, at least in part, on a comparison between the terrain and a pre-determined terrain navigation map [paragraph 44]. Additionally, FIG. 2 depicts a graphical diagram of an example multi-modal transportation service itinerary 200 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure. The itinerary 200 can include two or more transportation legs to transport a passenger from an origin 202 to a destination 208. For example, the itinerary 200 can include a first, ground-based (e.g., car-based) transportation leg 250 which transports the passenger from the origin 202 to a departure transportation node 204; a second, flight-based transportation leg 252 which transports the passenger from the departure transportation node 204 to an arrival transportation node 206; and a third, ground-based (e.g., car-based) transportation leg 254 which transports the passenger from the arrival transportation node 206 to the destination 208 [paragraph 60], so even road-map data is included);
execute an automated emergency landing control module configured to identify a plurality of candidate landing sites, and
select a target landing site from among the plurality of candidate landing sites (By way of example, the system can be configured to perform a landing zone assessment in preparation for a landing maneuver [paragraph 38]. This includes emergency landing in an emergency landing zone [paragraph 49]. This is done after first identifying and/or assessing one or more weather conditions, identifying and/or assessing one or more terrains, landing zones, emergency landing zone, etc. within the surrounding environment of the aerial vehicle [paragraph 34], meaning that a plurality of landing zones are assessed and one is selected by the system. The autonomy computing system can then initiate motion of the aerial vehicle, including a landing maneuver [paragraphs 38-39], and since the vehicle can be an autonomous vehicle [paragraph 25], this can be an automated emergency landing. This inherently includes selecting a landing zone in order for the vehicle to perform a landing maneuver); and
output the target landing site upon detection of an emergency condition (The guidance system of the vehicle can perform the landing maneuver for the VTOL, with the autonomy computing system (e.g., flight control system) can initiate a motion of the vehicle by generating actuator commands to control the vehicle’s rotors to initiate a motion of the aerial vehicle [paragraphs 110-111], and this can be to perform the landing zone assessed in paragraph 110 in preparation for a landing maneuver).
Burghardt does not teach:
the automated emergency landing control module is executed throughout a flight to continuously identify candidate landing sites.
However, Krawiec teaches:
the automated emergency landing control module is executed throughout a flight to continuously identify candidate landing sites (paragraph 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with the automated emergency landing control module is executed throughout a flight to continuously identify candidate landing sites as taught by Krawiec so as to keep a constant alert as to which landing sites are available in the event of an emergency.
Burghardt also does not teach:
wherein the plurality of candidate landing sites are viable landing sites that are determined by the navigation system to be reachable by the VTOL aircraft in an automated emergency landing control mode implemented by a guidance system and a flight control system of the VTOL aircraft during an emergency condition, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data, and
implement, via the automated emergency landing control module, a target landing site algorithm to calculate a location rating for each candidate landing site of the plurality of candidate landing sites.
However, Bowler teaches:
wherein the plurality of candidate landing sites are viable landing sites that are determined by the navigation system to be reachable by the VTOL aircraft in an automated emergency landing control mode implemented by a guidance system and a flight control system of the VTOL aircraft during an emergency condition, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data (All potential landing zones (LZs) for the VTOL aircraft are identified and categorized based on suitability for landing [paragraph 14]. The LZs for the VTOL aircraft are prioritized based on the severity of the emergency condition onboard the aircraft in view of the suitability of the LZs. Finally, a priority listing of the LZs displayed to an aircrew member of the VTOL aircraft. For lower urgency landings, the priority would be to get the aircraft as close as possible to services (to allow passenger care and transport as well as aircraft service) whereas with increasing levels of urgency the selection of an LZ would shift to the closest, safest location with the lowest risk of collateral damage [paragraph 37]. For example, in the case of a non-critical low battery warning, the system would select the closest hoverport location in range with charging capabilities [paragraph 38]), and
implement, via the automated emergency landing control module, a target landing site algorithm to calculate a location rating for each candidate landing site of the plurality of candidate landing sites (All potential landing zones (LZs) for the VTOL aircraft are identified and categorized based on suitability for landing [paragraph 14]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with wherein the plurality of candidate landing sites are viable landing sites that are determined by the navigation system to be reachable by the VTOL aircraft in an automated emergency landing control mode implemented by a guidance system and a flight control system of the VTOL aircraft during an emergency condition, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data, and implement, via the automated emergency landing control module, a target landing site algorithm to calculate a location rating for each candidate landing site of the plurality of candidate landing sites as taught by Bowler so as to allow the system to consider the most optimal landing sites and find the best place to land.
Regarding Claim 3. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 1.
Burghardt also teaches:
wherein the navigation system is further configured to generate a navigation state of the VTOL aircraft based at least on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data (The surveillance systems in FIG. 1 are able to identify and/or assess one or more terrains, landing zones, emergency landing zones, etc. within the surrounding environment of the aerial vehicle [paragraph 34]. Radar signals, which also are included in the sensor assemblies, can also allow the system to determine a third position estimate based, at least in part, on a comparison between the terrain and a pre-determined terrain navigation map [paragraph 44]. Additionally, FIG. 2 depicts a graphical diagram of an example multi-modal transportation service itinerary 200 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure. The itinerary 200 can include two or more transportation legs to transport a passenger from an origin 202 to a destination 208. For example, the itinerary 200 can include a first, ground-based (e.g., car-based) transportation leg 250 which transports the passenger from the origin 202 to a departure transportation node 204; a second, flight-based transportation leg 252 which transports the passenger from the departure transportation node 204 to an arrival transportation node 206; and a third, ground-based (e.g., car-based) transportation leg 254 which transports the passenger from the arrival transportation node 206 to the destination 208 [paragraph 60], so even road-map data is included), and
the guidance system is configured to:
determine, based on the navigation state of the VTOL aircraft, that the emergency condition exists (The vehicle can include one or more external sensor networks, wherein the external sensor networks can include an emergency sensor network including a plurality of sensors configured to detect emergency conditions [paragraph 74]), and
in response to determining that the emergency condition exists, execute the automated emergency landing control mode (The autonomy computing system can then initiate motion of the aerial vehicle, including a landing maneuver [paragraphs 38-39], and since the vehicle can be an autonomous vehicle [paragraph 25], this can be an automated emergency landing), in which the guidance system is configured to:
receive the target landing site output from the navigation system (paragraphs 110-111);
generate guidance commands to guide the VTOL aircraft to land at the target landing site under the emergency condition (paragraphs 38-39); and
output the generated guidance commands (paragraphs 38-39).
Regarding Claim 4. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 3.
Burghardt also teaches:
wherein the flight control system is configured to:
receive the guidance commands output from the guidance system (The guidance system can be configured to perform motion planning tasks such as, for example, generating motion plans for the aerial vehicle based, at least in part, on the current location of the vehicle and identified object(s) within the surrounding environment of the vehicle [paragraph 34]. The flight control system can be configured to perform actuator command task(s) such as, for example, generating and/or providing actuator command(s) associated with the motion plan(s) to one or more device controller(s) of the aerial vehicle);
generate flight control commands based upon the guidance commands (The system can generate actuator command(s) based, at least in part, on the one or more flight maneuvers and provide the actuator command(s) to one or more device controller(s) of the aircraft [paragraph 35]); and
output the flight control commands to control surface subsystems of the VTOL aircraft to programmatically control the VTOL aircraft to land at the target landing site (Interpreting surface subsystems as rotors, the aerial vehicle can include one or more propulsion devices (e.g., rotor assemblies, electric motors, turbines, etc.) for initiating motion (e.g., flight maneuvers, take-off maneuvers, landing maneuvers, etc.) of the aerial vehicle. Each propulsion device can include a corresponding device controller (e.g., electric speed controllers, etc.) for controlling the speed, direction, and/or any other characteristic of the propulsion device. For instance, each device controller can receive actuator commands (e.g., from an onboard computing system, a remote computing system, one or more input devices, etc.) and generate instructions for a corresponding propulsion device based, at least in part, on the received actuator commands [paragraph 24]. The system can initiate a motion of the aerial vehicle (including a landing maneuver, as stated in paragraph 38). To do so, the system can generate actuator command(s) based, at least in part, on the one or more flight maneuvers and provide the actuator command(s) to one or more device controller(s) of the aircraft [paragraph 39]).
Regarding Claim 5. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 4.
Burghardt also teaches:
wherein the surface subsystems include at least one rotor of the VTOL aircraft (paragraph 24).
Regarding Claim 6. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 5.
Burghardt also teaches:
wherein the automated emergency landing control mode is an autorotation mode of the VTOL aircraft (This is implied. If the aircraft is being piloted autonomously, as depicted in FIG. 9).
Regarding Claim 9. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 1.
Burghardt does not teach:
wherein the target landing site is a candidate landing site that is calculated to have a highest location rating for a successful landing with respect to respective location ratings of each of the plurality of candidate landing sites, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data.
However, Bowler teaches:
wherein the target landing site is a candidate landing site that is calculated to have a highest location rating for a successful landing with respect to respective location ratings of each of the plurality of candidate landing sites, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data (All potential landing zones (LZs) for the VTOL aircraft are identified and categorized based on suitability for landing [paragraph 14]. The LZs for the VTOL aircraft are prioritized based on the severity of the emergency condition onboard the aircraft in view of the suitability of the LZs. Finally, a priority listing of the LZs displayed to an aircrew member of the VTOL aircraft. For lower urgency landings, the priority would be to get the aircraft as close as possible to services (to allow passenger care and transport as well as aircraft service) whereas with increasing levels of urgency the selection of an LZ would shift to the closest, safest location with the lowest risk of collateral damage [paragraph 37]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with wherein the target landing site is a candidate landing site that is calculated to have a highest location rating for a successful landing with respect to respective location ratings of each of the plurality of candidate landing sites, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data as taught by Bowler so that the system can select the most optimal landing site based on the current needs of the emergency landing.
Regarding Claim 10. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 1.
Burghardt also teaches:
wherein the plurality of navigation sensors includes a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system configured to detect landing site obstacles at the target landing site, and the target landing site is calibrated during an approach phase of the VTOL aircraft based on the obstacle detection conducted by the LiDAR system (Aerial vehicle sensors can include LIDAR sensors [paragraph 26], and those sensors can be used to identify and avoid obstacles [paragraph 86]. The guidance system can also determine an occupancy grid and determine whether a landing area is occupied and determine one or more landing maneuvers based at least in part on the occupancy of the landing zone [paragraph 110]. Additionally, the system can determine the flight maneuver(s) based, at least in part, on the performance of trajectory planning and/or obstacle avoidance [paragraph 37]. As another example, the system can determine an occupancy grid. The system can determine an equation of a plane for each grid point of the occupancy grid and determine whether a landing area is occupied based on the slope, altitude, and/or variance of the equation [paragraph 38]).
Regarding Claim 11. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 1.
Burghardt also teaches:
wherein the plurality of navigation sensors includes a global positioning system (GPS) sensor configured to detect latitude and longitude of the VTOL aircraft, an altimeter configured to detect an altitude of the VTOL aircraft, and/or an inertial reference unit configured to detect an attitude the VTOL aircraft (The sensor assemblies can include global navigation satellite system (GNSS) assembly(s) [paragraph 29], which can include one or more GPS system(s) [paragraph 31]. Additionally, the external sensor network(s) can also include one or more altimeter(s) [paragraph 74]. In some implementations, the circuit board can also include one or more inertial measurement unit sensor(s) [paragraph 29]. These sensors can be used to detect the lateral coordinate(s), longitudinal coordinate(s), and/or altitude measurement(s) [paragraph 41]).
Regarding Claim 12. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 9.
Burghardt does not teach:
wherein the location ratings are calculated based at least in part on acceleration, altitude, attitude, position, and velocity of the VTOL aircraft detected by the navigation sensors (these elements are implied by Burghardt, but not explicit).
However, Bowler teaches:
wherein the location ratings are calculated based at least in part on acceleration, altitude, attitude, position, and velocity of the VTOL aircraft detected by the navigation sensors (data received by the communication device 210 may include, without limitation: avionics systems data and aircraft parameters (e.g., a heading for the aircraft, aircraft speed, altitude, aircraft position, ascent rate, descent rate, a current flight plan, a position of air spaces around a current flight plan, and activity of the air spaces around a current flight plan), and other data compatible with the computing device 200 [paragraph 29]. In order to calculate need-based optimal landing location, the system software would work with onboard system monitoring (it can also interface with other capabilities for emergency medical alerting/coordination) to detect and rank the category and severity of any issues that arise midflight. It would then perform a quick calculation, balancing the type and severity of need with the optimal landing location. For lower urgency landings, the priority would be to get the aircraft as close as possible to services (to allow passenger care and transport as well as aircraft service) whereas with increasing levels of urgency the selection of an LZ would shift to the closest, safest location with the lowest risk of collateral damage [paragraph 37]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with wherein the location ratings are calculated based at least in part on acceleration, altitude, attitude, position, and velocity of the VTOL aircraft detected by the navigation sensors as taught by Bowler so as to allow the VTOL to identify the most optimal landing sites and select a landing zone accordingly.
Regarding Claim 13. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 9.
Burghardt does not teach:
wherein the location ratings are calculated based at least in part on geography, hazards, location coordinates, obstacles, terrain, and weather conditions of the ground environment indicated in the road map data and aviation map data (these elements are implied by Burghardt, but not explicit).
However, Bowler teaches:
wherein the location ratings are calculated based at least in part on geography, hazards, location coordinates, obstacles, terrain, and weather conditions of the ground environment indicated in the road map data and aviation map data (The database of potential emergency landing locations would include multiple data points on each area, including: location, quality, type, obstacles, weather conditions/forecast, aircraft capabilities, capacity vs. time and properties (e.g. medical facilities, near roads, etc.) [paragraph 35]. This information is used in rating the LZs for emergency landing in paragraph 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with wherein the location ratings are calculated based at least in part on geography, hazards, location coordinates, obstacles, terrain, and weather conditions of the ground environment indicated in the road map data and aviation map data as taught by Bowler so as to allow the VTOL to identify the most optimal landing site, particularly based on the emergency in question.
Regarding Claim 15. Burghardt teaches a method for determining a landing site for a vertical-takeoff-and-landing (VTOL) aircraft under automated emergency landing control, the method comprising:
receiving road map data, aviation map data, and navigation sensor data (FIG. 1 shows a VTOL at 102 with sensors at 126. These sensors provide senor data to an autonomous computing system that can receive raw sensor data and control propulsion devices to autonomously operate the aerial vehicle [paragraph 25]. A plurality of sensor assemblies shown in FIG. 1 can include a global navigation satellite system, an alternative position navigation and timing assembly, and/or radio detection and ranging (radar) assembly(s) [paragraph 29]. The surveillance systems in FIG. 1 are able to identify and/or assess one or more terrains, landing zones, emergency landing zones, etc. within the surrounding environment of the aerial vehicle [paragraph 34]. Radar signals, which also are included in the sensor assemblies, can also allow the system to determine a third position estimate based, at least in part, on a comparison between the terrain and a pre-determined terrain navigation map [paragraph 44]. Additionally, FIG. 2 depicts a graphical diagram of an example multi-modal transportation service itinerary 200 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure. The itinerary 200 can include two or more transportation legs to transport a passenger from an origin 202 to a destination 208. For example, the itinerary 200 can include a first, ground-based (e.g., car-based) transportation leg 250 which transports the passenger from the origin 202 to a departure transportation node 204; a second, flight-based transportation leg 252 which transports the passenger from the departure transportation node 204 to an arrival transportation node 206; and a third, ground-based (e.g., car-based) transportation leg 254 which transports the passenger from the arrival transportation node 206 to the destination 208 [paragraph 60], so even road-map data is included);
executing an automated emergency landing control module;
identifying a plurality of candidate landing sites (By way of example, the system can be configured to perform a landing zone assessment in preparation for a landing maneuver [paragraph 38]. This includes emergency landing in an emergency landing zone [paragraph 49]. This is done after first identifying and/or assessing one or more weather conditions, identifying and/or assessing one or more terrains, landing zones, emergency landing zone, etc. within the surrounding environment of the aerial vehicle [paragraph 34], meaning that a plurality of landing zones are assessed and one is selected by the system. The autonomy computing system can then initiate motion of the aerial vehicle, including a landing maneuver [paragraphs 38-39], and since the vehicle can be an autonomous vehicle [paragraph 25], this can be an automated emergency landing);
selecting a target landing site from among the plurality of candidate landing sites (Inherent; the vehicle must select a landing zone in order to perform a landing maneuver); and
outputting the target landing site upon detection of the emergency condition (The guidance system of the vehicle can perform the landing maneuver for the VTOL, with the autonomy computing system (e.g., flight control system) can initiate a motion of the vehicle by generating actuator commands to control the vehicle’s rotors to initiate a motion of the aerial vehicle [paragraphs 110-111], and this can be to perform the landing zone assessed in paragraph 110 in preparation for a landing maneuver).
Burghardt does not teach:
the automated emergency landing control module is executed throughout a flight; continuously identify candidate landing sites (more specifically, Burghardt is silent to this element).
However, Krawiec teaches:
the automated emergency landing control module is executed throughout a flight; continuously identify candidate landing sites (paragraph 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with the automated emergency landing control module is executed throughout a flight; continuously identify candidate landing sites as taught by Krawiec so as to keep a constant alert as to which landing sites are available in the event of an emergency.
Burghardt also does not teach:
wherein the plurality of candidate landing sites are viable landing sites that are determined by the navigation system to be reachable by the VTOL aircraft in an automated emergency landing control mode implemented by a guidance system and a flight control system of the VTOL aircraft during an emergency condition, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data, and
calculate, via a target landing site algorithm, a location rating for each candidate landing site of the plurality of candidate landing sites.
However, Bowler teaches:
wherein the plurality of candidate landing sites are viable landing sites that are determined by the navigation system to be reachable by the VTOL aircraft in an automated emergency landing control mode implemented by a guidance system and a flight control system of the VTOL aircraft during an emergency condition, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data (All potential landing zones (LZs) for the VTOL aircraft are identified and categorized based on suitability for landing [paragraph 14]. The LZs for the VTOL aircraft are prioritized based on the severity of the emergency condition onboard the aircraft in view of the suitability of the LZs. Finally, a priority listing of the LZs displayed to an aircrew member of the VTOL aircraft. For lower urgency landings, the priority would be to get the aircraft as close as possible to services (to allow passenger care and transport as well as aircraft service) whereas with increasing levels of urgency the selection of an LZ would shift to the closest, safest location with the lowest risk of collateral damage [paragraph 37]. For example, in the case of a non-critical low battery warning, the system would select the closest hoverport location in range with charging capabilities [paragraph 38]), and
calculate, via a target landing site algorithm, a location rating for each candidate landing site of the plurality of candidate landing sites (All potential landing zones (LZs) for the VTOL aircraft are identified and categorized based on suitability for landing [paragraph 14]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with wherein the plurality of candidate landing sites are viable landing sites that are determined by the navigation system to be reachable by the VTOL aircraft in an automated emergency landing control mode implemented by a guidance system and a flight control system of the VTOL aircraft during an emergency condition, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data, and calculate, via a target landing site algorithm, a location rating for each candidate landing site of the plurality of candidate landing sites as taught by Bowler so as to allow the system to consider the most optimal landing sites and find the best place to land.
Regarding Claim 16. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the method of claim 15.
Burghardt also teaches:
the method further comprising:
at the guidance system:
determining, based on the navigation state of the VTOL aircraft, that the emergency condition exists (The vehicle can include one or more external sensor networks, wherein the external sensor networks can include an emergency sensor network including a plurality of sensors configured to detect emergency conditions [paragraph 74]);
in response to determining that the emergency condition exists, executing the automated emergency landing control mode (The autonomy computing system can then initiate motion of the aerial vehicle, including a landing maneuver [paragraphs 38-39], and since the vehicle can be an autonomous vehicle [paragraph 25], this can be an automated emergency landing);
receiving the target landing site output from the navigation system (paragraphs 110-111);
generating guidance commands to guide the VTOL aircraft to land at the target landing site under the emergency condition (paragraphs 38-39); and
outputting the generated guidance commands (paragraphs 38-39), and
at the flight control system:
receiving the guidance commands output from the guidance system (The guidance system can be configured to perform motion planning tasks such as, for example, generating motion plans for the aerial vehicle based, at least in part, on the current location of the vehicle and identified object(s) within the surrounding environment of the vehicle [paragraph 34]. The flight control system can be configured to perform actuator command task(s) such as, for example, generating and/or providing actuator command(s) associated with the motion plan(s) to one or more device controller(s) of the aerial vehicle);
generating flight control commands based upon the guidance commands (The system can generate actuator command(s) based, at least in part, on the one or more flight maneuvers and provide the actuator command(s) to one or more device controller(s) of the aircraft [paragraph 35]); and
outputting the flight control commands to control surface subsystems of the VTOL aircraft to programmatically control the VTOL aircraft to land at the target landing site (Interpreting surface subsystems as rotors, the aerial vehicle can include one or more propulsion devices (e.g., rotor assemblies, electric motors, turbines, etc.) for initiating motion (e.g., flight maneuvers, take-off maneuvers, landing maneuvers, etc.) of the aerial vehicle. Each propulsion device can include a corresponding device controller (e.g., electric speed controllers, etc.) for controlling the speed, direction, and/or any other characteristic of the propulsion device. For instance, each device controller can receive actuator commands (e.g., from an onboard computing system, a remote computing system, one or more input devices, etc.) and generate instructions for a corresponding propulsion device based, at least in part, on the received actuator commands [paragraph 24]. The system can initiate a motion of the aerial vehicle (including a landing maneuver, as stated in paragraph 38). To do so, the system can generate actuator command(s) based, at least in part, on the one or more flight maneuvers and provide the actuator command(s) to one or more device controller(s) of the aircraft [paragraph 39]).
Regarding Claim 17. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the method of claim 16.
Burghardt also teaches:
the method further comprising:
wherein the surface subsystems include at least one rotor of the VTOL aircraft, and the automated emergency landing control mode is an autorotation mode of the VTOL aircraft (paragraph 24).
Regarding Claim 18. Burghardt teaches the method of claim 16.
Burghardt also teaches:
the method further comprising:
including in the plurality of navigation sensors a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system configured to detect obstacles at each of the plurality of candidate landing sites (Aerial vehicle sensors can include LIDAR sensors [paragraph 26], and those sensors can be used to identify and avoid obstacles [paragraph 86]. The guidance system can also determine an occupancy grid and determine whether a landing area is occupied and determine one or more landing maneuvers based at least in part on the occupancy of the landing zone [paragraph 110]), a global positioning system (GPS) sensor configured to detect latitude and longitude of the VTOL aircraft, an altimeter configured to detect an altitude of the VTOL aircraft, and/or an inertial reference unit configured to detect an attitude the VTOL aircraft (The sensor assemblies can include global navigation satellite system (GNSS) assembly(s) [paragraph 29], which can include one or more GPS system(s) [paragraph 31]. Additionally, the external sensor network(s) can also include one or more altimeter(s) [paragraph 74]. In some implementations, the circuit board can also include one or more inertial measurement unit sensor(s) [paragraph 29]. These sensors can be used to detect the lateral coordinate(s), longitudinal coordinate(s), and/or altitude measurement(s) [paragraph 41]), and
calibrating the target landing site during an approach phase of the VTOL aircraft based on the obstacle detection conducted by the LiDAR system (the system can determine the flight maneuver(s) based, at least in part, on the performance of trajectory planning and/or obstacle avoidance [paragraph 37]. As another example, the system can determine an occupancy grid. The system can determine an equation of a plane for each grid point of the occupancy grid and determine whether a landing area is occupied based on the slope, altitude, and/or variance of the equation [paragraph 38]).
Regarding Claim 20. Burghardt teaches a navigation system for vertical-takeoff-and-landing (VTOL) aircraft, the navigation system comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
receive road map data, aviation map data, and navigation sensor data (FIG. 1 shows a VTOL at 102 with sensors at 126. These sensors provide senor data to an autonomous computing system that can receive raw sensor data and control propulsion devices to autonomously operate the aerial vehicle [paragraph 25]. The surveillance systems in FIG. 1 are able to identify and/or assess one or more terrains, landing zones, emergency landing zones, etc. within the surrounding environment of the aerial vehicle [paragraph 34]. Radar signals, which also are included in the sensor assemblies, can also allow the system to determine a third position estimate based, at least in part, on a comparison between the terrain and a pre-determined terrain navigation map [paragraph 44]. Additionally, FIG. 2 depicts a graphical diagram of an example multi-modal transportation service itinerary 200 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure. The itinerary 200 can include two or more transportation legs to transport a passenger from an origin 202 to a destination 208. For example, the itinerary 200 can include a first, ground-based (e.g., car-based) transportation leg 250 which transports the passenger from the origin 202 to a departure transportation node 204; a second, flight-based transportation leg 252 which transports the passenger from the departure transportation node 204 to an arrival transportation node 206; and a third, ground-based (e.g., car-based) transportation leg 254 which transports the passenger from the arrival transportation node 206 to the destination 208 [paragraph 60], so even road-map data is included), the navigation sensor data being received from a plurality of navigation sensors including a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system (Aerial vehicle sensors can include LIDAR sensors [paragraph 26]);
execute an automated emergency landing control module to identify a plurality of candidate landing sites (By way of example, the system can be configured to perform a landing zone assessment in preparation for a landing maneuver [paragraph 38]. This includes emergency landing in an emergency landing zone [paragraph 49]. This is done after first identifying and/or assessing one or more weather conditions, identifying and/or assessing one or more terrains, landing zones, emergency landing zone, etc. within the surrounding environment of the aerial vehicle [paragraph 34], meaning that a plurality of landing zones are assessed and one is selected by the system. The autonomy computing system can then initiate motion of the aerial vehicle, including a landing maneuver [paragraphs 38-39], and since the vehicle can be an autonomous vehicle [paragraph 25], this can be an automated emergency landing);
select a target landing site from among the plurality of candidate landing sites (Inherent; the vehicle must select a landing zone in order to perform a landing maneuver); and
output the target landing site upon detection of an emergency condition (The guidance system of the vehicle can perform the landing maneuver for the VTOL, with the autonomy computing system (e.g., flight control system) can initiate a motion of the vehicle by generating actuator commands to control the vehicle’s rotors to initiate a motion of the aerial vehicle [paragraphs 110-111], and this can be to perform the landing zone assessed in paragraph 110 in preparation for a landing maneuver), wherein the plurality of candidate landing sites are selected based on viability of successful navigation to each candidate landing site under the emergency condition using an autorotation mode of flight (The guidance system can also determine an occupancy grid and determine whether a landing area is occupied and determine one or more landing maneuvers based at least in part on the occupancy of the landing zone [paragraph 110], which reads on a viability for a candidate landing site in that a site that is occupied cannot be viable for an emergency landing), and the target landing site is calibrated during an approach phase based on landing site obstacle detection using the LiDAR system (the system can determine the flight maneuver(s) based, at least in part, on the performance of trajectory planning and/or obstacle avoidance [paragraph 37]. As another example, the system can determine an occupancy grid. The system can determine an equation of a plane for each grid point of the occupancy grid and determine whether a landing area is occupied based on the slope, altitude, and/or variance of the equation [paragraph 38]).
Burghardt does not teach:
the automated emergency landing control module is executed throughout a flight to continuously identify candidate landing sites (more specifically, Burghardt is silent to this element).
However, Krawiec teaches:
the automated emergency landing control module is executed throughout a flight to continuously identify candidate landing sites (paragraph 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with the automated emergency landing control module is executed throughout a flight to continuously identify candidate landing sites as taught by Krawiec so as to keep a constant alert as to which landing sites are available in the event of an emergency.
Burghardt also does not teach:
wherein the plurality of candidate landing sites are viable landing sites that are determined by the navigation system to be reachable by the VTOL aircraft in an automated emergency landing control mode implemented by a guidance system and a flight control system of the VTOL aircraft during an emergency condition, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data, and
implement, via the automated emergency landing control module, a target landing site algorithm to calculate a location rating for each candidate landing site of the plurality of candidate landing sites.
However, Bowler teaches:
wherein the plurality of candidate landing sites are viable landing sites that are determined by the navigation system to be reachable by the VTOL aircraft in an automated emergency landing control mode implemented by a guidance system and a flight control system of the VTOL aircraft during an emergency condition, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data (All potential landing zones (LZs) for the VTOL aircraft are identified and categorized based on suitability for landing [paragraph 14]. The LZs for the VTOL aircraft are prioritized based on the severity of the emergency condition onboard the aircraft in view of the suitability of the LZs. Finally, a priority listing of the LZs displayed to an aircrew member of the VTOL aircraft. For lower urgency landings, the priority would be to get the aircraft as close as possible to services (to allow passenger care and transport as well as aircraft service) whereas with increasing levels of urgency the selection of an LZ would shift to the closest, safest location with the lowest risk of collateral damage [paragraph 37]. For example, in the case of a non-critical low battery warning, the system would select the closest hoverport location in range with charging capabilities [paragraph 38]), and
implement, via the automated emergency landing control module, a target landing site algorithm to calculate a location rating for each candidate landing site of the plurality of candidate landing sites (All potential landing zones (LZs) for the VTOL aircraft are identified and categorized based on suitability for landing [paragraph 14]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with wherein the plurality of candidate landing sites are viable landing sites that are determined by the navigation system to be reachable by the VTOL aircraft in an automated emergency landing control mode implemented by a guidance system and a flight control system of the VTOL aircraft during an emergency condition, based on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data, and implement, via the automated emergency landing control module, a target landing site algorithm to calculate a location rating for each candidate landing site of the plurality of candidate landing sites as taught by Bowler so as to allow the system to consider the most optimal landing sites and find the best place to land.
Regarding Claim 21. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the navigation system of claim 20.
Burghardt also teaches:
wherein
the navigation system is further configured to generate a navigation state of the VTOL aircraft based at least on the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data (The surveillance systems in FIG. 1 are able to identify and/or assess one or more terrains, landing zones, emergency landing zones, etc. within the surrounding environment of the aerial vehicle [paragraph 34]. Radar signals, which also are included in the sensor assemblies, can also allow the system to determine a third position estimate based, at least in part, on a comparison between the terrain and a pre-determined terrain navigation map [paragraph 44]. Additionally, FIG. 2 depicts a graphical diagram of an example multi-modal transportation service itinerary 200 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure. The itinerary 200 can include two or more transportation legs to transport a passenger from an origin 202 to a destination 208. For example, the itinerary 200 can include a first, ground-based (e.g., car-based) transportation leg 250 which transports the passenger from the origin 202 to a departure transportation node 204; a second, flight-based transportation leg 252 which transports the passenger from the departure transportation node 204 to an arrival transportation node 206; and a third, ground-based (e.g., car-based) transportation leg 254 which transports the passenger from the arrival transportation node 206 to the destination 208 [paragraph 60], so even road-map data is included), and
the guidance system is configured to:
determine, based on the navigation state of the VTOL aircraft, that the emergency condition exists (The vehicle can include one or more external sensor networks, wherein the external sensor networks can include an emergency sensor network including a plurality of sensors configured to detect emergency conditions [paragraph 74]), and
in response to determining that the emergency condition exists, execute the automated emergency landing control mode (The autonomy computing system can then initiate motion of the aerial vehicle, including a landing maneuver [paragraphs 38-39], and since the vehicle can be an autonomous vehicle [paragraph 25], this can be an automated emergency landing), in which the guidance system is configured to:
receive the target landing site output from the navigation system (paragraphs 110-111);
generate guidance commands to guide the VTOL aircraft to land at the target landing site under the emergency condition (paragraphs 38-39); and
output the generated guidance commands (paragraphs 38-39).
Claim(s) 2, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burghardt et al. US 20230004174 A1 (“Burghardt”) in combination with Krawiec et al. US 20220130264 A1 (“Krawiec”) and Bowler US 20240343410 A1 (“Bowler”) as applied to claims 1, 3, and 16 above, and further in view of Spencer US 20210362848 A1 (“Spencer”).
Regarding Claim 2. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 1.
Burghardt does not teach:
wherein the target landing site is output to a graphical user interface of the navigation system to enable a pilot to engage in manual or autopilot assisted flight control to the target landing site.
However, Spencer teaches:
wherein the target landing site is output to a graphical user interface of the navigation system to enable a pilot to engage in manual or autopilot assisted flight control to the target landing site (Once the driver 502 has assumed control of the flight plan and directed the VTOL aircraft 100 to ascend from the departure point to a safe transition altitude (e.g., via the control interface 300 and flight control system 134), the user may transition to directional flight and/or direct the flight control system 134 to engage full or partial autopilot (524) [paragraph 72, FIG. 13A]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with wherein the target landing site is output to a graphical user interface of the navigation system to enable a pilot to engage in manual or autopilot assisted flight control to the target landing site as taught by Spencer so as to allow the user to be informed of the target landing sight and allow the user to decide if they wish to engage in manual or autopilot flight control to the target landing site.
Regarding Claim 14. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 3.
Burghardt does not teach:
wherein
during the automated emergency landing control mode, the processing circuitry is further configured to receive real time updates to the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data, and
based on the real time updates, when an alternate target landing site having a higher location rating than the target landing site is identified or when the selected target site is determined to be no longer viable, the VTOL aircraft will be programmatically controlled to land at the alternate target landing site.
However, Spencer teaches:
wherein
during the automated emergency landing control mode, the processing circuitry is further configured to receive real time updates to the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data, and
based on the real time updates, when an alternate target landing site having a higher location rating than the target landing site is identified or when the selected target site is determined to be no longer viable, the VTOL aircraft will be programmatically controlled to land at the alternate target landing site (If refueling is required, the route may incorporate one or more refueling stops, or the pilot may be notified and invited to select an alternative vehicle or refuel the vehicle, if this can be accomplished at the current location of the VTOL aircraft 100. The route includes 2 alternate landing areas, e.g., if the primary destination and first alternate destination are not available upon arrival. Additionally, the availability of enroute landing areas may be updated and periodically sent from the RFC 504 to the NCI 500 before and during flight [paragraph 69]. If a flight plan is successfully generated, the RFC 504 may submit the flight plan to the traffic control facility 514 for clearance while crosschecking components of the NCI 500 and other components and systems of the VTOL aircraft 100 (e.g., fuel systems, the flight control system 134, actuators and microcontrollers, the emergency chute system 400 and other emergency features, updated weather and traffic data, the datalink 510a, the RFC 504, as well as the availability and alertness of a remote pilot (518) and the suitability of the takeoff, landing and alternate landing areas [paragraph 70]. Conventional air traffic, for example, involves a great deal of pre-flight planning and real-time monitoring of traffic to ensure safe separation [paragraph 58]. Additionally, the interior camera 522 may include a microphone and speakers, and may be oriented so as to allow the driver 502 to communicate in real time with the remote pilot 518 (e.g., in the event of an emergency wherein the remote pilot may offer assistance or diagnostic support) [paragraph 71]. For example, the driver 502 may access the OBFC 516 via the IND 508 and divert from the flight plan to execute a landing, e.g., with the authorization of the remote pilot 518 and at a pre-designated alternate landing zone, fuel stop, or the nearest landing zone/fuel stop to the current position of the VTOL aircraft 100. The RFC 504 will provide an updated list of available landing areas, or availability of the landing areas on a previously uploaded list [paragraph 72]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with wherein during the automated emergency landing control mode, the processing circuitry is further configured to receive real time updates to the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data, and based on the real time updates, when an alternate target landing site having a higher location rating than the target landing site is identified or when the selected target site is determined to be no longer viable, the VTOL aircraft will be programmatically controlled to land at the alternate target landing site as taught by Spencer so as to allow the vehicle to be made aware when a landing site is no longer viable and allow the vehicle to select a new landing site when that occurs.
Regarding Claim 19. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the method of claim 16.
Burghardt does not teach:
the method further comprising:
selecting the target landing site to be a candidate landing site that is calculated to have a highest location rating for a successful landing with respect to respective location ratings of each of the plurality of candidate landing sites, based at least in part on:
acceleration, altitude, attitude, position, and velocity of the VTOL aircraft detected by the navigation sensors, and
geography, hazards, location coordinates, obstacles, terrain, and weather conditions of the ground environment indicated in the road map data and the aviation map data.
However, Bowler teaches:
the method further comprising:
selecting the target landing site to be a candidate landing site that is calculated to have a highest location rating for a successful landing with respect to respective location ratings of each of the plurality of candidate landing sites, based at least in part on:
acceleration, altitude, attitude, position, and velocity of the VTOL aircraft detected by the navigation sensors (data received by the communication device 210 may include, without limitation: avionics systems data and aircraft parameters (e.g., a heading for the aircraft, aircraft speed, altitude, aircraft position, ascent rate, descent rate, a current flight plan, a position of air spaces around a current flight plan, and activity of the air spaces around a current flight plan), and other data compatible with the computing device 200 [paragraph 29]. In order to calculate need-based optimal landing location, the system software would work with onboard system monitoring (it can also interface with other capabilities for emergency medical alerting/coordination) to detect and rank the category and severity of any issues that arise midflight. It would then perform a quick calculation, balancing the type and severity of need with the optimal landing location. For lower urgency landings, the priority would be to get the aircraft as close as possible to services (to allow passenger care and transport as well as aircraft service) whereas with increasing levels of urgency the selection of an LZ would shift to the closest, safest location with the lowest risk of collateral damage [paragraph 37]), and
geography, hazards, location coordinates, obstacles, terrain, and weather conditions of the ground environment indicated in the road map data and the aviation map data (The database of potential emergency landing locations would include multiple data points on each area, including: location, quality, type, obstacles, weather conditions/forecast, aircraft capabilities, capacity vs. time and properties (e.g. medical facilities, near roads, etc.) [paragraph 35]. All potential landing zones (LZs) for the VTOL aircraft are identified and categorized based on suitability for landing [paragraph 14]. The LZs for the VTOL aircraft are prioritized based on the severity of the emergency condition onboard the aircraft in view of the suitability of the LZs. Finally, a priority listing of the LZs displayed to an aircrew member of the VTOL aircraft. For lower urgency landings, the priority would be to get the aircraft as close as possible to services (to allow passenger care and transport as well as aircraft service) whereas with increasing levels of urgency the selection of an LZ would shift to the closest, safest location with the lowest risk of collateral damage [paragraph 37]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with the method further comprising: selecting the target landing site to be a candidate landing site that is calculated to have a highest location rating for a successful landing with respect to respective location ratings of each of the plurality of candidate landing sites, based at least in part on: acceleration, altitude, attitude, position, and velocity of the VTOL aircraft detected by the navigation sensors, and geography, hazards, location coordinates, obstacles, terrain, and weather conditions of the ground environment indicated in the road map data and the aviation map data as taught by Bowler so as to allow the VTOL to identify the most optimal landing sites and select a landing zone accordingly.
Burghardt also does not teach:
during the automated emergency landing control mode, receiving real time updates to the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data; and
based on the real time updates, when an alternate target landing site with a higher location rating than the target landing site is identified or when the selected target site is determined to be no longer viable, programmatically controlling the VTOL aircraft to land at the alternate target landing site.
However, Spencer teaches:
during the automated emergency landing control mode, receiving real time updates to the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data; and
based on the real time updates, when an alternate target landing site with a higher location rating than the target landing site is identified or when the selected target site is determined to be no longer viable, programmatically controlling the VTOL aircraft to land at the alternate target landing site (If refueling is required, the route may incorporate one or more refueling stops, or the pilot may be notified and invited to select an alternative vehicle or refuel the vehicle, if this can be accomplished at the current location of the VTOL aircraft 100. The route includes 2 alternate landing areas, e.g., if the primary destination and first alternate destination are not available upon arrival. Additionally, the availability of enroute landing areas may be updated and periodically sent from the RFC 504 to the NCI 500 before and during flight [paragraph 69]. If a flight plan is successfully generated, the RFC 504 may submit the flight plan to the traffic control facility 514 for clearance while crosschecking components of the NCI 500 and other components and systems of the VTOL aircraft 100 (e.g., fuel systems, the flight control system 134, actuators and microcontrollers, the emergency chute system 400 and other emergency features, updated weather and traffic data, the datalink 510a, the RFC 504, as well as the availability and alertness of a remote pilot (518) and the suitability of the takeoff, landing and alternate landing areas [paragraph 70]. Conventional air traffic, for example, involves a great deal of pre-flight planning and real-time monitoring of traffic to ensure safe separation [paragraph 58]. Additionally, the interior camera 522 may include a microphone and speakers, and may be oriented so as to allow the driver 502 to communicate in real time with the remote pilot 518 (e.g., in the event of an emergency wherein the remote pilot may offer assistance or diagnostic support) [paragraph 71]. For example, the driver 502 may access the OBFC 516 via the IND 508 and divert from the flight plan to execute a landing, e.g., with the authorization of the remote pilot 518 and at a pre-designated alternate landing zone, fuel stop, or the nearest landing zone/fuel stop to the current position of the VTOL aircraft 100. The RFC 504 will provide an updated list of available landing areas, or availability of the landing areas on a previously uploaded list [paragraph 72]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with during the automated emergency landing control mode, receiving real time updates to the road map data, the aviation map data, and the navigation sensor data; and based on the real time updates, when an alternate target landing site with a higher location rating than the target landing site is identified or when the selected target site is determined to be no longer viable, programmatically controlling the VTOL aircraft to land at the alternate target landing site as taught by Spencer so as to allow the vehicle to be made aware when a landing site is no longer viable and allow the vehicle to select a new landing site when that occurs.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burghardt et al. US 20230004174 A1 (“Burghardt”) in combination with Krawiec et al. US 20220130264 A1 (“Krawiec”) and Bowler US 20240343410 A1 (“Bowler”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gianpaolo Conte and Patrick Doherty, "Vision-Based Unmanned Aerial Vehicle Navigation Using Geo-Referenced Information," April 23, 2009, Hindawi Publishing Corporation (Year: 2009) (“Gianpaolo”).
Regarding Claim 7. Burghardt in combination with Krawiec and Bowler teaches the VTOL aircraft of claim 1.
Burghardt does not teach:
wherein the navigation system includes a road map conversion system configured to convert the road map data into a format compatible with the aviation map data.
However, Gianpaolo teaches:
wherein the navigation system includes a road map conversion system configured to convert the road map data into a format compatible with the aviation map data (The reference is largely dedicated to this concept, but in particular is page 5, which recites matching landmarks or other features (such as road data) in the terrain and plugging them into a set of algorithms on pages 6-7 that result in a map that has been adjusted based on the curvature of the earth in equation 19. It should also be noted that the reference uses the Kalman Filter on page 7, left column, which is the standard structure in airborne navigation systems and is used to estimate the error states from an integrated navigation system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Burghardt with wherein the navigation system includes a road map conversion system configured to convert the road map data into a format compatible with the aviation map data as taught by Gianpaolo so as to allow the road map data to be made compatible for an aerial vehicle.
Conclusion
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656