DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Remarks
Claims 1-7 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LUTHE (DE 102022133136 A1, English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 8, LUTHE teaches an electric power generating system (see the combustion chamber with thermophotovoltaic element; see the see Figs. 1, 10) comprising:
a gas turbine engine (see the gas turbine engine [0056], [0068], and claim 3) having a combustion chamber (see the combustion chamber 1) configured to generate and output a first flow of combustion gases through a combustion gas conduit (see the first flow of the combustion gases through the tubular burner with flame 1.1) (see Fig. 1, 10), and a second flow of combustion gases (see the second flow of the combustion gases through the combustion gas outlet 1.9) (see Fig. 1, 10); and
a thermophotovoltaic (TPV) electric power generator (see the thermophotovoltaic (TPV) electric power generator in Fig. 10 attached below) comprising: a first hot section (see the first hot section of the radiation-transmitting light filter 1.2) configured to receive via the combustion gas conduit the first flow of combustion gases and receive heat from the combustion gases (see Figs. 1, 10; The first hot section of the radiation-transmitting light filter 1.2 has this function);
a first emitter/TPV cell section (see first emitter / TPV cell section of Globar 1.18 / TPV 1.3 in Fig. 10 attached below) thermally coupled to the first hot section (see Fig. 10 attached below) and configured to receive and convert heat from the first hot section into electric power (The first emitter / TPV cell section of Globar 1.18 / TPV 1.3 has this function), the first emitter/TPV cell section including a plurality of thermal emitters (see the plurality of Globars) comprising a spectrally selective material and configured to emit photonic energy ([0084] a Globar 1.18 made of tungsten carbide, which emits photonic energy) and a plurality of TPV cells (see the plurality of TPV cells) configured to receive and convert the photonic energy into electrical power (The plurality of TPV cells have this function) (see Fig. 10 attached below); and
a first cold section (see the first cold section of the cooling system 1.4) thermally coupled to the first emitter/TPV cell section (see Figs. 1, 10) and configured to extract heat from the first emitter/TPV cell section (The first cold section of the cooling system 1.4 has this function).
Regarding claim 9, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 8.
LUTHE teaches the first hot section (see the first hot section of the radiation-transmitting light filter 1.2) comprises a first conduit (see the first conduit in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) configured to transport the combustion gases therethrough (see Figs. 1, 10); each of the plurality of the thermal emitters (see each of the plurality of the Globars 1.18 made of tungsten carbide) is configured to emit photonic energy in response to thermal excitation at a bandgap within an electromagnetic spectrum that is within an operating bandgap range of the plurality of TPV cells (Each of the plurality of the Globars 1.18 made of tungsten carbide has this function); and the first cold section (see the first cold section of the cooling system 1.4) comprises a second conduit configured to transport heat exchange fluid therethrough ([0033] the back sides of the TPV are cooled with a fluid flow, preferably a liquid, preferably water, or with an air flow; see Fig. 1, 10; The cooling system comprises a second conduit configured to transport heat exchange fluid therethrough).
Regarding claim 10, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
LUTHE teaches the first hot section, the first emitter/TPV cell section, and the first cold section form a first thermoelectric stack (see the first thermoelectric stack in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8); and the TPV electric power generator further comprises a second thermoelectric stack (see the second thermoelectric stack in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8), the second thermoelectric stack comprising: a second hot section (see the second hot section of the radiation-transmitting light filter 1.2 in the rejection of claim 8) configured to receive via the combustion gas conduit the first flow of combustion gases and receive heat from the combustion gases (see Figs. 1, 10; The second hot section of the radiation-transmitting light filter 1.2 has this function), the second hot section comprising a third conduit (see the third conduit in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) configured to transport the combustion gases therethrough (see Figs. 1, 10); and a second emitter/TPV cell section (see the second emitter / TPV cell section of Globar 1.18 / TPV 1.3 in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) thermally coupled to the first cold section and the second hot section and configured to receive and convert heat from the second hot section into electric power (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8; The second emitter / TPV cell section of Globar 1.18 / TPV 1.3 has this function), the second emitter/TPV cell section including a plurality of thermal emitters (see the plurality of Globars) and a plurality of TPV cells (see the plurality of TPV cells), the second emitter/TPV cell section thermally coupled to the second conduit of the first cold section (see the rejection of claim 8 and Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claim 11, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
LUTHE teaches the first hot section, the first emitter/TPV cell section, and the first cold section form a first thermoelectric stack (see the first thermoelectric stack in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8); and the TPV electric power generator further comprises a second thermoelectric stack (see the second thermoelectric stack in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8), the second thermoelectric stack comprising: a second emitter/TPV cell section (see the second emitter / TPV cell section in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) thermally coupled to the first conduit (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) and configured to receive and convert heat from the first hot section into electric power (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8; The second emitter / TPV cell section has this function), the second emitter/TPV cell section including a plurality of thermal emitters (see the plurality of Globars) and a plurality of TPV cells (see the plurality of TPV cells); and a second cold section (see the second cold section in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) thermally coupled to the second emitter/TPV cell section (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) and configured to extract heat from the second emitter/TPV cell section (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8; The second cold section has this function), the second cold section comprising a third conduit (see the third conduit in the second cold section) configured to transport heat exchange fluid therethrough (see Figs. 1, 10; The third conduit has this function).
Regarding claim 12, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 8.
LUTHE teaches the first hot section, the first emitter/TPV cell section, and the first cold section form a first thermoelectric stack (see the first thermoelectric stack in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8); and the TPV electric power generator further comprises a second thermoelectric stack (see the second thermoelectric stack in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8), the second thermoelectric stack comprising: a second hot section (see the second hot section of the radiation-transmitting light filter 1.2 in the rejection of claim 8) configured to receive via the combustion conduit the first flow of combustion gases and receive heat from the combustion gases (see Figs. 1, 10; The second hot section of the radiation-transmitting light filter 1.2 has this function); a second emitter/TPV cell section (see the second emitter / TPV cell section in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) thermally coupled to the second hot section and configured to receive (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) and convert heat from the second hot section into electric power (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8; The second emitter / TPV cell section has this function), the second emitter/TPV cell section including a plurality of thermal emitters (see the plurality of Globars) and a plurality of TPV cells (see the plurality of TPV cells); and a second cold section (see the second cold section in Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) thermally coupled to the second emitter/TPV cell section (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8) and configured to extract heat from the second emitter/TPV cell section (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8; The second cold section has this function).
Regarding claim 13, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 12.
LUTHE teaches the first cold section of the first thermoelectric stack functions as the second cold section of the second thermoelectric stack (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claim 14, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 12.
LUTHE teaches the first hot section of the first thermoelectric stack functions as the second hot section of the second thermoelectric stack (see Fig. 10 attached in the rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claim 15, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 8.
LUTHE teaches a cooling system (see the cooling system 1.4) configured to receive heat exchange fluid from the first cold section, lower a temperature of the heat exchange fluid to generate cooled heat exchange fluid, and supply the cooled heat exchange fluid to the first cold section ([0071] the at least one cooling of the at least one thermophotovoltaic element comprises at least one heat exchanger with the back of the at least one thermophotovoltaic element, which is in turn cooled by at least one heat exchanger; [0033] the back sides of the TPV are cooled with a fluid flow; The cooling system has this function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUTHE (DE 102022133136 A1, English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of ARMATORIO (US 20200309011 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 8.
Regarding the claimed “wherein: the gas turbine engine comprises a core engine defining an engine airflow path; and the core engine comprises a spool section having a compressor, a combustion section comprising the combustion chamber, a turbine, and a spool shaft coupled to the compressor and the turbine”, LUTHE teaches the gas turbine engine (see the rejection of claim 8). ARMATORIO discloses systems and apparatus to generate electrical power from aircraft engine heat, wherein an example aircraft engine described herein includes a gas turbine engine having an engine housing (see Abstract), and teaches the gas turbine engine (see the gas turbine engine in Fig. 2) comprises a core engine (see the core engine in Fig. 2) defining an engine airflow path (see the engine air flow path with arrows) (see Fig. 2); and the core engine comprises a spool section (see the spool section including the first drive shaft 218 and the second drive shaft 220) having a compressor (see the first compressor 222 and the second compressor 224), a combustion section (see the combustion section with the following components) comprising the combustion chamber (see the combustion chamber 226), a turbine (see the first and second turbines 228, 230), and a spool shaft (see the first drive shaft 218 and the second drive shaft 220) coupled to the compressor and the turbine (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the gas turbine engine of LUTHE with the gas turbine engine of ARMATORIO, because the simple substitution of a known element known in the art to perform the same function is a matter of obviousness (see MPEP 2141 {III} {B}) and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima face obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp.).
Regarding claim 17, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 8.
Regarding the claimed “wherein: the gas turbine engine comprises a spool section having a compressor, a combustion section comprising the combustion chamber, a turbine, and a spool shaft coupled to the compressor and the turbine, the combustion chamber configured to generate the second flow of the combustion gases and output the second flow of combustion gases to the turbine”, LUTHE teaches the gas turbine engine (see the rejection of claim 8). ARMATORIO discloses systems and apparatus to generate electrical power from aircraft engine heat, wherein an example aircraft engine described herein includes a gas turbine engine having an engine housing (see Abstract), and teaches the gas turbine engine (see the gas turbine engine in Fig. 2) comprises a spool section (see the spool section including the first drive shaft 218 and the second drive shaft 220) having a compressor (see the first compressor 222 and the second compressor 224), a combustion section (see the combustion section with the following components) comprising the combustion chamber (see the combustion chamber 226), a turbine (see the first and second turbines 228, 230), and a spool shaft (see the first drive shaft 218 and the second drive shaft 220) coupled to the compressor and the turbine (see Fig. 2), the combustion chamber configured to generate the second flow of the combustion gases and output the second flow of combustion gases to the turbine (The combustion chamber 226 has this function) (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the gas turbine engine of LUTHE with the gas turbine engine of ARMATORIO, because the simple substitution of a known element known in the art to perform the same function is a matter of obviousness (see MPEP 2141 {III} {B}) and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima face obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/29/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s argument regarding that “Luthe does not disclose or suggest a combustion chamber configured to generate and output a first flow of combustion gases through a combustion gas conduit and a second flow of combustion gases” is not persuasive.
See Figs. 1 and 10 of LUTHE. The combustion chamber 1 generates the combustion gases and output the first flow of the combustion gases through the tubular burner with flame 1.1 and the second flow of the combustion gases through the combustion gas outlet 1.9, which teaches “a combustion chamber configured to generate and output a first flow of combustion gases through a combustion gas conduit and a second flow of combustion gases”.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s argument regarding that “Luthe also does not disclose or suggest a TPV with a hot section configured to receive, via the combustion gas conduit, the first flow of combustion gases” is not persuasive.
See Figs. 1 and 10 of LUTHE. The thermophotovoltaic (TPV) electric power generator with the first hot section of the radiation-transmitting light filter 1.2 which receives the first flow of the combustion gases via the tubular burner with flame 1.1, which teaches “a TPV with a hot section configured to receive, via the combustion gas conduit, the first flow of combustion gases”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728