DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-15, 17-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 2014/0012910) in view of Sicora et al. (US 10684738), and further in view of Matas et al. (US 2014/0136968).
Claim 1, White teaches a method for displaying information, comprising:
displaying a first media content in a media content display interface (figs. 3-5),
displaying first associated content information of the first media content in a comment display area (350) of the media content display interface in response to a triggering of viewing the first associated content information is received (i.e. full mode by hovering a section), wherein the first associated content information comprises at least one comment provided by at least one user for the first media content (figs. 3-5; p. 0046-0048, 0052); and
“adjusting an attribute of a target object (i.e. comment section) in response to a target triggering operation (i.e. expand option) within the media content display interface, wherein the target object comprises the first associated content information and the comment display area (350), the comment display area is displayed in an adjusted area size larger than an original area size before the adjusting” (i.e. comment section is expanded) (figs. 3-5; p. 0046-0048, 0052).
White is not entirely clear in teaching the specific feature of:
“configured for arranging an increased number of comments for the first media content, the comment is individually displayed in an adjusted display size larger than an original display size, before the adjusting, and wherein the comment display area and the comment are restored to the original area size and the original display size before the adjusting respectively in response to end of the triggering operation”.
Sicaro teaches the specific feature of:
“configured for arranging an increased number of comments for the first media content” (fig. 3A-b; col. 46, lines 20-49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided comment section expansion as taught by Sicaro to the system of White to show more comments (col. 46, lines 20-49).
Matas teaches the specific feature of “the comment is individually displayed in an adjusted display size larger than an original display size, before the adjusting (i.e. text block), and wherein the comment display area and the comment are restored to the original area size (i.e. initial size) and the original display size before the adjusting respectively in response to end of the triggering operation” (i.e. scrolling) (figs. 6A-C; p. 0004, 0052-0058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided different font sizes for display mode as taught by Matas to the system of White to provide easier visibility (p. 0054).
Claim 3, White teaches The method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the attribute of the target object comprises:
adjusting, in a triggering process of the target triggering, a size of the target object based on the target triggering (i.e. expanded comment section) (figs. 3-5; p. 0046-0048, 0052).
Claim 5, White teaches The method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the attribute of the target object comprises:
displaying the first associated content information in a first display size corresponding to the target triggering in response to end of the target triggering, wherein the first display size comprises a display size of the first associated content information in response to end of the target triggering (i.e. clicking an expand button to close the expansion) (figs. 3-5; p. 0046-0048, 0052), or a preset display size.
Claim 6, White teaches the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the attribute of the target object comprises:
displaying an adjustment control in response to end of the target triggering, wherein the adjustment control is configured to trigger adjustment of a display size of the first associated content information (i.e. expand button for ending expansion of comment section or closing second window) (figs. 3-5; p. 0046-0048, 0052).
Claim 16, White teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying the information display area in a target area size in response to end of the target triggering, wherein the target area size comprises an area size of the information display area before the target triggering, an area size of the information display area in response to end of the target triggering, or a preset area size triggering (i.e. expansion may be full screen or second window, preset size displayed in figs. 3-5) (figs. 3-5; p. 0046-0048, 0052).
Claim 18 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 1.
Claim 19 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 6.
Claim 20 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer instruction, wherein the computer instruction, upon being executed by a processor, causes the processor” to perform the steps of claim 1. Todd teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer instruction, wherein the computer instruction, upon being executed by a processor, causes the processor” to perform the steps of claim 1 (p. 0177).
Claim(s) 7-9, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 2014/0012910) in view of Sicora et al. (US 10684738), and further in view of Matas et al. (US 2014/0136968), and further in view of Vorobyov et al. (US 2014/0053223).
Claim 7, White teaches the specific feature of:
“wherein at least two candidate display sizes are displayed in the adjustment panel” (i.e. expanded window or second window) (figs. 3-5; p. 0046-0048, 0052); and
White is silent regarding the specific features of:
“displaying an adjustment panel in response to a first triggering on the adjustment control”,
displaying the first associated content information in a second display size of the at least two candidate display sizes in response to a size adjustment operation
Vorobyov teaches the method of claim 6, wherein after displaying the adjustment control, the method further comprises:
“displaying an adjustment panel in response to a first triggering on the adjustment control” (e.g. half bottom, half top, etc.) (fig. 3B; p. 0040); and
displaying the first associated content information in a second display size of the at least two candidate display sizes in response to a size adjustment operation (e.g. half bottom, half top, etc.) (fig. 3B; p. 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided display controls as taught by Vorobyov to the system of Todd to display to the user various preset sizes of windows (p. 0040).
Claim 8, White is silent regarding the method of claim 7, wherein after displaying the adjustment panel, the method further comprises:
displaying, in response to a second triggering on any candidate display size, the candidate display size triggered by the second triggering in a selected state, and displaying candidate display sizes other than the candidate display size triggered by the second triggering in unselected states; and
the displaying the first associated content information in a second display size of the at least two candidate display sizes comprises:
displaying the first associated content information in the second display size that is in a selected state.
Vorobyov teaches the method of claim 7, wherein after displaying the adjustment panel, the method further comprises:
displaying, in response to a second triggering on any candidate display size, the candidate display size triggered by the second triggering in a selected state (i.e. selecting display location), and displaying candidate display sizes other than the candidate display size triggered by the second triggering in unselected states (i.e. fig. 3B displays options for other sizes) (fig. 3B; p. 0040); and
the displaying the first associated content information in a second display size of the at least two candidate display sizes (fig. 3B; p. 0040) comprises:
displaying the first associated content information in the second display size that is in a selected state (i.e. first selecting “half top” then going back to screen 3B and selecting “half bottom”) (fig. 3B; p. 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided display controls as taught by Vorobyov to the system of Todd to display to the user various preset sizes of windows (p. 0040).
Claim 9, White teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the adjustment panel further displays first target information, and the method further comprises:
displaying, in response to the second triggering on any candidate display size (i.e. displaying in second comment window), the first target information in the candidate display size triggered by the second triggering (i.e. second comment display window), wherein the first target information comprises target first associated content information of the first media content or preset information (figs. 3-5; p. 0046-0048, 0052).
Claim 12, White is not entirely clear in teaching the method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a preset mode control in response to end of the target triggering, wherein the preset mode control is configured to trigger setting of current application software to a preset display mode, different display modes correspond to different display attributes of information to be displayed, and the information to be displayed comprises the first associated content information.
Vorobyov teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a preset mode control (i.e. external device window display control) in response to end of the target triggering, wherein the preset mode control is configured to trigger setting of current application software to a preset display mode (i.e. half bottom, half top, etc), different display modes correspond to different display attributes of information to be displayed (i.e. preferences can be set to each external device including window location) , and the information to be displayed comprises the first associated content information (p. 0040-0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided display controls as taught by Vorobyov to the system of Todd to display to the user various preset sizes of windows (p. 0040).
Claim 13, White is not entirely clear in teaching the method of claim 12, wherein the display attributes comprise at least one of a display size, a display color, and a display style.
Vorobyov teaches teaching the method of claim 12, wherein the display attributes comprise at least one of a display size, a display color, and a display style (fig. 3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided display controls as taught by Vorobyov to the system of Todd to display to the user various preset sizes of windows (p. 0040).
Claim(s) 10-11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 2014/0012910) in view of Sicora et al. (US 10684738), and further in view of Matas et al. (US 2014/0136968), and further in view of Vorobyov et al. (US 2014/0053223), and further in view of Todd (US 2018/0316944).
Claim 10, White is silent regarding the method of claim 7, wherein displaying the first associated content information in the second display size of the at least two candidate display sizes comprises:
canceling display of the adjustment panel, and displaying the first associated content information in the second display size of the at least two candidate display sizes.
Todd teaches the method of claim 7, wherein displaying the first associated content information in the second display size of the at least two candidate display sizes comprises:
canceling display of the adjustment panel, and displaying the first associated content information in the second display size of the at least two candidate display sizes (i.e. after sizing is complete or just escaping out of resizing) (p. 0025-0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided adjusting of display sizes as taught by Todd to the system of White to utilize interface layers on a display device (p. 0028).
Claim 11, White is silent regarding the method of claim 7, wherein a size adjustment operation is configured to instruct a display size of second target information and a display size of the first associated content information to be adjusted to the second display, wherein the second target information comprises at least one of second associated content information of a second media, or other information to be displayed than the associated content information in current application software
Todd teaches the method of claim 7, wherein a size adjustment operation is configured to instruct a display size of second target information (i.e. second video container) and a display size of the first associated content information (i.e. widget containing metadata) to be adjusted to the second display size (i.e. when widget is linked to another video container), wherein the second target information comprises at least one of second associated content information of a second media content (i.e. video content and metadata), or other information to be displayed than the associated content information in current application software (p. 0025, 0029, 0076, 0135, 0154, 0159).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided adjusting of display sizes as taught by Todd to the system of White to utilize interface layers on a display device (p. 0028).
Claim 14, White is silent regarding the method of claim 12, wherein displaying the preset mode control comprises:
displaying the preset mode control in response to end of a number of times of the target triggering within a preset period reaches a preset number of times.
Todd teaches the method of claim 12, wherein displaying the preset mode control comprises:
displaying the preset mode control in response to end of a number of times of the target triggering within a preset period (i.e. on going) reaches a preset number of times (i.e. pre-set layouts can be selected any number of times) (p. 0158, 0272).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided adjusting of display sizes as taught by Todd to the system of White to utilize interface layers on a display device (p. 0028).
Claim(s) 4, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 2014/0012910) in view of Sicora et al. (US 10684738), and further in view of Matas et al. (US 2014/0136968), and further in view of Todd (US 2018/0316944).
Claim 4, White is silent regarding The method of claim 3, wherein the target triggering comprises a target slide operation, and adjusting the size of the target object based on the target triggering, comprises:
adjusting the size of the target object based on a slide distance of the target slide operation.
Todd teaches The method of claim 3, wherein the target triggering comprises a target slide operation (resizing in real-time), and adjusting the size of the target object based on the target triggering (i.e. 0025-0029), comprises:
adjusting the size of the target object based on a slide distance of the target slide operation (i.e. pinch or drag) (p. 0025-0029, 0137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided adjusting of display sizes as taught by Todd to the system of White to utilize interface layers on a display device (p. 0028).
Claim 15, White is silent regarding the method of claim 6, further comprising:
displaying the first associated content information in a third display size in response to end of the target triggering, wherein the third display size comprises the display size of the first associated content information before the target triggering, the display size of the first associated content information in response to end of the target triggering, or the preset display size
Todd teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising:
displaying the first associated content information in a third display size in response to end of the target triggering, wherein the third display size comprises the display size of the first associated content information before the target triggering (i.e. resizing can be done automatically or beforehand or after display on content in the video container), the display size of the first associated content information in response to end of the target triggering, or the preset display size (p. 0025-0029, 0158).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided adjusting of display sizes as taught by Todd to the system of White to utilize interface layers on a display device (p. 0028).
Claim 17, White is silent regarding the method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting an attribute of a target object comprises:
adjusting a color of the target object.
Todd teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting an attribute of a target object comprises:
adjusting a color of the target object (i.e. color schemes) (p. 0167).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided adjusting of display sizes as taught by Todd to the system of White to utilize interface layers on a display device (p. 0028).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-15, 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-15, 17-20 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240289704 A1 Kang; Yiming et al.
US 20210220747 A1 NIWA; Kazuomi et al.
US 20160173436 A1 Koolwal; Aditya Brij et al.
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 3/17/2026