DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0218418 A1 to Zarraga et al.
As to claim 1, Zarraga discloses a force sensing apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of drive lines and a plurality of sensing lines arranged to provide a plurality of intersections, each of the plurality of intersections defining a sensel, wherein each sensel is configured to exhibit a variable resistance response in dependence on a magnitude of a force applied to the sensel (Fig. 5, paragraphs 0026-0031, drive lines (521, 523, 525), sense lines (531, 533, 535), where variable impedance array elements (519) are the sensels);
wherein the plurality of sensels are grouped in a plurality of sensel groups (Fig. 4 and 5, paragraphs 0024-0031, where array elements (519) are grouped together based on the touch points (420-422));
wherein each of the sensels in a sensel group has a sensel size within a group sensel size range, thereby being configured to exhibit a variable resistance response within a group resistance range (Fig. 11 and 12, paragraphs 0049-0051, where touch points (1101-1105, 1121-1123) vary in size range, and the amount of resistance response in the form of pressure varies as shown in the pressure curves (1201-1203) vary accordingly); and
wherein the group resistance range of a first sensel group of the plurality is different to the group resistance range of a further sensel group of the plurality (Fig. 4 and 8, paragraph 0043, where resistance ranges are shown by curves (820, 821, 855) of touch points (420-422)); and
a plurality of control modules, each of the plurality of control modules connected to a corresponding sensel group and configured to output a force signal indicative of a force applied to a sensel in the corresponding sensel group, wherein each of the plurality of control modules is tuned to operate in the group resistance range of the corresponding sensel group (Fig. 6, paragraphs 0033-0034, where column switching register (620), control logic (640), and row switching register (636) are the control modules and are made to control the variable impedance array (610)).
As to claim 2, Zarraga discloses the force sensing apparatus, wherein the variable resistance response within the group resistance range corresponds to the force applied to the sensel within a force signal range of operation of the sensels in the sensel group (Fig. 4 and 8, paragraph 0043, where curves (820, 821, 855) are in response to the pressure applied at touch points (420-422)).
As to claim 7, Zarraga discloses the force sensing apparatus, wherein each of the plurality of control modules is configured to convert an analogue force sensel signal from a sensel in the corresponding sensel group to a digital output signal representative of the force signal indicative of a force applied to a sensel (Fig. 6, paragraph 0034, where analog-to-digital (ADC) converts the analog signals to digital signals).
As to claim 8, Zarraga discloses the force sensing apparatus, wherein each of the plurality of control modules comprise an analogue to digital converter configured to convert the analogue force sensel signal from a sensel in the corresponding sensel group to the digital output signal, and wherein the group resistance range of each of the plurality of control modules corresponds to the dynamic range of the analogue to digital converter (Fig. 6, paragraph 0034, where analog-to-digital (ADC) converts the analog signals to digital signals).
As to claim 15, Zarraga discloses the force sensing apparatus, wherein the number of sensels in a sensel group is equal to the number of drive lines of that sensel group, and wherein each sensel group is associated with a dedicated sensing line connected to the dedicated control module for that sensel group (Fig. 5, paragraph 0027, where array elements have column drive sources (521, 523, 525) and row sense sinks (531, 533, 535)).
As to claim 18, Zarraga discloses limitations similar to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0218418 A1 to Zarraga et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0101242 A1 to Chen.
As to claim 4, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the force sensing apparatus, further comprising a plurality of keycaps, wherein each of the plurality of keycaps is located adjacent a corresponding sensel of the plurality of sensels and is configured to, when a force is applied to the keycap, exert a corresponding force on the adjacent corresponding sensel.
However, Chen discloses the force sensing apparatus, further comprising a plurality of keycaps, wherein each of the plurality of keycaps is located adjacent a corresponding sensel of the plurality of sensels and is configured to, when a force is applied to the keycap, exert a corresponding force on the adjacent corresponding sensel (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraphs 0026-0029, where key (12) exerts a force onto force sensing module (13)).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the force sensing apparatus as taught by Zarraga by including keycaps as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the user to realize the range of the magnitude of the force applied to the keycaps based on the feedback provided to the user from the apparatus (Chen, paragraphs 0010-0011).
As to claim 5, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the force sensing apparatus, wherein each of the sensels in a sensel group has a corresponding keycap having one or more of:
a keycap size within a group keycap size range, and
a keycap dome characteristic within a group keycap dome characteristic range; thereby being configured to exhibit the variable resistance response within the group resistance range.
However, Chen discloses the force sensing apparatus, wherein each of the sensels in a sensel group has a corresponding keycap having one or more of:
a keycap size within a group keycap size range, and
a keycap dome characteristic within a group keycap dome characteristic range (Fig. 2, paragraph 0028, where keycap (122) has a size); thereby being configured to exhibit the variable resistance response within the group resistance range (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraph 0027, where force sensing module (13) is a resistive sensing module). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 4.
As to claim 6, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the force sensing apparatus, wherein at least two of the keycaps having corresponding sensels of a first sensel group are separated, with at least one keycap having at least one corresponding sensel from a further sensel group positioned between the at least two keycaps having corresponding sensels of the first sensel group.
However, Chen discloses disclosing the force sensing apparatus, wherein at least two of the keycaps having corresponding sensels of a first sensel group are separated, with at least one keycap having at least one corresponding sensel from a further sensel group positioned between the at least two keycaps having corresponding sensels of the first sensel group (Fig. 5-8, paragraphs 0034-0036, where several keys (12) are part of a sensel group based on the magnitude of the force applied). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 4.
As to claim 16, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing a keyboard comprising the force sensing apparatus, wherein the keyboard comprises a plurality of keycaps each associated with at least one corresponding sensel.
However, Chen discloses a keyboard comprising the force sensing apparatus, wherein the keyboard comprises a plurality of keycaps each associated with at least one corresponding sensel (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraph 0027, where each key (12) has a corresponding force sensing module (13)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 4.
As to claim 17, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the keyboard, wherein the keyboard comprises one or more sensel groups corresponding to:
a plurality of alphabetic letter keys;
a plurality of number keys;
a plurality of keys of a numeric keypad region;
a plurality of function keys; and
a plurality of modifier keys.
However, Chen discloses the keyboard, wherein the keyboard comprises one or more sensel groups corresponding to:
a plurality of alphabetic letter keys;
a plurality of number keys;
a plurality of keys of a numeric keypad region;
a plurality of function keys; and
a plurality of modifier keys (Fig. 1, paragraphs 0025-0029, where keyboard (1) is a standard alphanumeric keyboard). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 4.
As to claim 19, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing limitations similar to claim 4. However, Chen discloses similar limitations. In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 4.
As to claim 20, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the method of manufacturing a force sensing apparatus, further comprising:
providing a housing;
assembling the plurality of sensels and plurality of control modules within the housing; and
locating the plurality of keycaps at a surface of the housing, to thereby form a keyboard apparatus.
However, Chen discloses the method of manufacturing a force sensing apparatus, further comprising:
providing a housing (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraph 0026, where casing (15) is the housing);
assembling the plurality of sensels and plurality of control modules within the housing (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraph 0026, where force sensing modules (13) are within casing (15)); and
locating the plurality of keycaps at a surface of the housing, to thereby form a keyboard apparatus (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraphs 0026-0027, where keys (12) are within casing (15)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 4.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0218418 A1 to Zarraga et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2025/0109997 A1 to Foshey et al.
As to claim 9, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the force sensing apparatus, wherein each of the plurality of control modules is configured to provide a signal gain of a force sensel signal received from a sensel in the corresponding sensel group according to the group resistance range.
However, Foshey discloses the force sensing apparatus, wherein each of the plurality of control modules is configured to provide a signal gain of a force sensel signal received from a sensel in the corresponding sensel group according to the group resistance range (Fig. 12C, paragraph 0079, where a gain resistor is attached to the circuit (1201)).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the force sensing apparatus as taught by Zarraga by including providing a signal gain of the force signal as taught by Foshey. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have the ability to change the sensitivity of the reading signal based on the received signal gain (Foshey, paragraph 0079).
As to claim 10, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the force sensing apparatus, wherein each of the plurality of control modules comprises:
an input amplifier configured to receive the force sensel signal received from a sensel in the corresponding sensel group; and
a gain resistor connected to the input amplifier, the gain resistor configured to provide signal gain.
However, Foshey discloses the force sensing apparatus, wherein each of the plurality of control modules comprises:
an input amplifier configured to receive the force sensel signal received from a sensel in the corresponding sensel group (Fig. 12C, paragraph 0079, where circuit (1201) includes an amplifier); and
a gain resistor connected to the input amplifier, the gain resistor configured to provide signal gain (Fig. 12C, paragraph 0079, where a gain resistor is included in circuit (1201)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 9.
As to claim 11, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the force sensing apparatus, wherein one or more of:
the input amplifier is configured to operate over a particular range of resistance values, the control module comprising the gain resistor thereby having a signal range tuned to the group resistance range of the corresponding sensel group; and
the gain resistor is configured to operate over a particular range of resistance values, the control module comprising the gain resistor thereby having a signal range tuned to the group resistance range of the corresponding sensel group.
However, Foshey discloses the force sensing apparatus, wherein one or more of:
the input amplifier is configured to operate over a particular range of resistance values, the control module comprising the gain resistor thereby having a signal range tuned to the group resistance range of the corresponding sensel group (Fig. 12C, paragraph 0079, where the operational amplifier operates in a range and is connected to a gain resistor); and
the gain resistor is configured to operate over a particular range of resistance values, the control module comprising the gain resistor thereby having a signal range tuned to the group resistance range of the corresponding sensel group (Fig. 12C and 14, paragraphs 0079 and 0083, where the gain resistor operates in a range as shown in Fig. 14). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 9.
As to claim 12, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the force sensing apparatus, wherein each of the plurality of control modules comprises an offset resistor configured to limit an upper resistance limit of the group resistance range.
However, Foshey discloses the force sensing apparatus, wherein each of the plurality of control modules comprises an offset resistor configured to limit an upper resistance limit of the group resistance range (Fig. 12C, paragraph 0079, where the sensor is variable so as to adjust the range). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 9.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0218418 A1 to Zarraga et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0227657 A1 to Shimizu.
As to claim 13, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the force sensing apparatus, comprising a resistive ink material located at the intersection between the drive line and the sensing line forming the sensel.
However, Shimizu discloses the force sensing apparatus, comprising a resistive ink material located at the intersection between the drive line and the sensing line forming the sensel (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0056-0060, where pressure-sensitive ink layer (29) is between electrodes (27)).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the force sensing apparatus as taught by Zarraga by including resistive ink as taught by Shimizu. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have visibility on the touch panel based on the amount of pressure applied at a touch point (Shimizu, paragraphs 0056-0060).
As to claim 14, Zarraga is deficient in disclosing the force sensing apparatus, wherein the resistive ink material comprises a resistive ink layer having a first face and a second opposing face, wherein the resistive ink layer is sandwiched between the plurality of drive lines at the first face and the plurality of sensing lines at the second face.
However, Shimizu discloses the force sensing apparatus, wherein the resistive ink material comprises a resistive ink layer having a first face and a second opposing face, wherein the resistive ink layer is sandwiched between the plurality of drive lines at the first face and the plurality of sensing lines at the second face (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0056-0060, where pressure-sensitive ink (29) is between electrodes (27)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 1 and 18, on pages 8-10, lines 20-22, Zarraga fails to disclose, “wherein each of the sensels in a sensel group has a sensel size within a group sensel size range, thereby being configured to exhibit a variable resistance response within a group resistance range” and “wherein each of the plurality of control modules is tuned to operate in the group resistance range of the corresponding sensel group”. Examiner disagrees as Zarraga discloses, “wherein each of the sensels in a sensel group has a sensel size within a group sensel size range, thereby being configured to exhibit a variable resistance response within a group resistance range” (Fig. 11 and 12, paragraphs 0049-0051, where touch points (1101-1105, 1121-1123) vary in size range, and the amount of resistance response in the form of pressure varies as shown in the pressure curves (1201-1203) vary accordingly). In addition, Zarraga discloses, “wherein each of the plurality of control modules is tuned to operate in the group resistance range of the corresponding sensel group” (Fig. 6, paragraphs 0033-0034, where column switching register (620), control logic (640), and row switching register (636) are the control modules and are made to control the variable impedance array (610)).
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 1-3, 7, 8, 15 and 18, on page 10, lines 23-26, the rejections of these claims should be withdrawn. Examiner disagrees for the reasons stated above.
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 4-6, 9-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20, on pages 10-11, lines 27-7, the rejections of these claims should be withdrawn. Examiner disagrees for the reasons stated above.
Applicant argues, on page 11, lines 16-20, the application is in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees for the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627