CTNF 18/889,248 CTNF 86601 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to continuation request The request for a continuation is acknowledged. For a continuation to be applied as per the MPEP, the application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Applications, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. Claim 1-20 has been cancelled. New claims 2-18 have been added. Claims 2-18 are currently pending. Please refer to the action below. Examiner Notes The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. However, the claimed subject matter, not the specification, is the measure of the invention. Claims Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 recites its dependence of the control method of claim 2 which actually is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium . Appropriate correction is required. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §§ 706.02(l)(1) - 706.02(l)(3) for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. Claims 2, 10, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14, and 26 of US Patent 12118252, “8252”. Instant Application 18889248 (“9248”) Allowed Patent US 12118252 (“8252”) 2. (New) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a print setting application configured to be executed by one or more processors of an information processing apparatus storing printing software that is configured to generate first print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers, the print setting application including instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the information processing apparatus to perform a control method comprising: causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application; and receiving one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark, and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. 3. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the second print data is to be transmitted to a target printer which is one of the printers, and wherein the print setting application is an application identified by an application identifier corresponding to identification information of the target printer. 4. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, the control method further comprising: generating intermediate image data using original image data and the received one or more characters. 5. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, the control method further comprising: providing the intermediate image data to the printing software, wherein the printing software generates the second print data from the provided intermediate image data. 6. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, wherein the intermediate image data is XPS data and the second print data is PDF data. 7. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, the control method further comprising: receiving a setting regarding a size of the received one or more characters. 8. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the printing software complies with an Internet Printing Protocol. 9. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the printing software is a pre-installed operating system of the information processing apparatus. 10. (New) A control method for controlling an information processing apparatus storing printing software that is configured to generate first print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers, the control method being performed based on execution of a print setting application stored in the information processing apparatus, the control method comprising: causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application; and receiving one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark, and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. 11. (New) The control method according to claim 10, wherein the second print data is to be transmitted to a target printer which is one of the printers, and wherein the print setting application is an application identified by an application identifier corresponding to identification information of the target printer. 12. (New) The control method according to claim 10, the control method further comprising: generating intermediate image data using original image data and the received one or more characters. 13. (New) The control method according to claim 12, the control method further comprising: providing the intermediate image data to the printing software, wherein the printing software generates the second print data from the provided intermediate image data. 14. (New) The control method according to claim 12, wherein the intermediate image data is XPS data and the second print data is PDF data. 15. (New) The control method according to claim 10, the control method further comprising: receiving a setting regarding a size of the received one or more characters. 16. (New) The control method according to claim 10, wherein the printing software complies with an Internet Printing Protocol. 17. (New) The control method according to claim 10, wherein the printing software is a pre-installed operating system of the information processing apparatus. 18. (New) An information processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and at least one memory storing one or more programs including printing software and a print setting application, the printing software being configured to generate first print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers, the print setting application including instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the information processing apparatus to: cause a display of the information processing apparatus to display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application; and receive one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark, and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. 1. A control method for controlling an information processing apparatus storing printing software that generates print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the print data to the printers, the control method being performed based on execution of a print setting application stored in the information processing apparatus, the control method comprising: causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display a print setting screen, the print setting screen being provided by the print setting application, the print setting application supporting a function of the printing software; and receiving one or more characters via the print setting screen before at least one printer of the printers outputs a print product based on the print data generated by the printing software, the received one or more characters being included in the print product, wherein the printing software is not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. 2. The control method according to claim 1, further comprising: providing image data, to which the received one or more characters have been added, to an operating system of the information processing apparatus. 3. The control method according to claim 1, wherein the one or more characters are received in a situation that a printer associated with the printing software is selected as a destination of the print data. 4. The control method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a setting regarding a size of the received one or more characters. 5. The control method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving image data from an operating system of the information processing apparatus. 6. The control method according to claim 1, wherein an operating system of the information processing apparatus generates the print data of which a format is selected by the printing software. 7. The control method according to claim 6, wherein the format selected by the printing software is Portable Document Format. 8. The control method according to claim 1, wherein the printing software complies with an Internet Printing Protocol. 9. The control method according to claim 1, wherein the printing software is a pre-installed operating system of the information processing apparatus. 10. The control method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving text input by a user, the text indicating a character string to be included in the print product. 11. The control method according to claim 1, wherein the printing software is a printer driver pre-installed in an operating system of the information processing apparatus. 12. The control method according to claim 1, wherein the print setting application corresponds to said at least one printer of the printers. 13. The control method according to claim 12, wherein an application identifier of the print setting application corresponds to identification information of said at least one printer of the printers. 14. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs including a print setting application configured to be executed by one or more processors of an information processing apparatus storing printing software that is configured to generate print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the print data to the printers, the one or more programs including instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the information processing apparatus to perform a control method comprising: causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display a print setting screen, the print setting screen being provided by the print setting application, the print setting application supporting a function of the printing software; and receiving one or more characters the print setting screen before at least one printer of the printers outputs a print product based on the print data generated by the printing software, the received one or more characters being included in the print product, wherein the printing software is not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. 15. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein the control method further comprises: providing image data, to which the received one or more characters have been added, to an operating system of the information processing apparatus. 16. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein the one or more characters are received in a situation that a printer associated with the printing software is selected as a destination of the print data. 17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein the control method further comprises: receiving a setting regarding a size of the received one or more characters. 18. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein the control method further comprises: receiving image data from an operating system of the information processing apparatus. 19. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein an operating system of the information processing apparatus generates the print data of which a format is selected by the printing software. 20. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein the format selected by the printing software is Portable Document Format. 21. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein the printing software complies with an Internet Printing Protocol. 22. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein the control method further comprises: receiving text input by a user, the text indicating a character string to be included in the print product. 23. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein the printing software is a printer driver pre-installed in an operating system of the information processing apparatus. 24. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein the print setting application corresponds to said at least one printer of the printers. 25. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 24, wherein an application identifier of the print setting application corresponds to identification information of said at least one printer of the printers. 26. An information processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and at least one memory storing one or more programs including printing software and a print setting application, the printing software being configured to generate print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and being able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the print data to the printers, the one or more programs including instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the information processing apparatus to: cause a display of the information processing apparatus to display a print setting screen, the print setting screen being provided by the print setting application, the print setting application supporting a function of the printing software; and receive one or more characters via the print setting screen before at least one printer of the printers outputs a print product based on the print data generated by the printing software, the received one or more characters being included in the print product, wherein the printing software is not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. 27. The information processing apparatus according to claim 26, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the information processing apparatus to: receive a setting regarding a size of the one or more characters. 28. The information processing apparatus according to claim 26, wherein the print data is Portable Document Format data. 29. The information processing apparatus according to claim 26, wherein the printing software complies with an Internet Printing Protocol. 30. The information processing apparatus according to claim 26, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the information processing apparatus to: receive text input by a user, the text indicating a character string to be included in the print product. 31. The information processing apparatus according to claim 26, wherein the printing software is a printer driver pre-installed in an operating system of the information processing apparatus. 32. The information processing apparatus according to claim 26, wherein the print setting application corresponds to said at least one printer of the printers. 33. The information processing apparatus according to claim 32, wherein an application identifier of the print setting application corresponds to identification information of said at least one printer of the printers. Regarding Instant independent claims 2, 10, and 18 corresponding to respectively at least independent claims 1, 14, and 26 of the allowed patent “8252”: Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. As at least claims 1, 14, and 26 of the patent “8242” encompasses respectively all the teachings of the instant claims 2, 10, and 18. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since instant application claims 2, 10, and 18 are at least anticipated and obvious by either claims 1, 14, or 26 of the reference patent. As one skill in the art would further appreciate that the methods/systems of the patent “8252” include a known pre-installed OS along the cited universal driver configured to generate print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F). Dependent claims 3-9, and 11-17 are also rejected as they failed to solve the above problem. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter of this application as currently claimed is unpatentable under the provisions of the nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection. Therefore, those claims are rejected as best understood by examiner as indicated in this office action above. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 2, 10, and 18 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kakitsuba et al. (US 2011/0286022, A1) in view of Aritomi et al. (US 2008/0240815, A1). Regarding claim 2, Kakitsuba teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a print setting application configured to be executed by one or more processors of an information processing apparatus storing printing software that is configured to generate first print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers (non-transitory computer-readable medium of at least para. 0019 storing a print setting application as noted in at least Fig. 4 within the universal printer driver forming in the art the print setting application configured to be executed by one or more processors of an information processing apparatus storing a cited pre-installed OS of para. 0040 as the printing software that is configured along with the driver to generate first print data printable by printers of Figs. 1 of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers), configured to control a plurality of types of printers (the general-purpose driver of further Fig. 4 is configured to control further in Fig. 1 the plurality of types of printers), the print setting application of further para. 0019 and Fig. 4 including instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the information processing apparatus to perform a control method comprising: causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application (display of at least Figs. 4-7 further illustrate display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application); and receiving one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark (receiving further in Figs. 4-7 said one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data); and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software . Kakitsuba is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as citing specifically said received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. Aritomi teaches at least in Figs. 2-4 a print setting application and a pre-installed operating software (OS) collectively forming a print application to receive user sets and selected in one or more characters being included in a PDL print data or the like and wherein said one or more characters being input by a user using the input field of at least Figs. 3-4, and being a watermark where a configuration of Fig. 3 illustrates a case where the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software as contrasted to Fig. 4 where the printing software being able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakitsuba in view of Aritomi to include wherein received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software, as discussed above, as Kakitsuba in view of Aritomi are in the same of endeavor employing a universal printer driver in addition to pre-installed operating software to provide methods and system of generating and transmitting print data and user selected print settings printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors, Aritomi’s print setting application and printing software in combination to the display field further complements the methods and system of providing/transmitting print data and user selected print settings printable by printers to the plurality of printer vendors of Kakitsuba, in a sense that when combined with the display input field of the print setting application and printing software of Aritomi, it enables the system to utilize the special print setting application by means of at least an implied extension program to receive inputted one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark which said software if using a simple setting screen would not generally capable or able to receive the one or more characters, thereby supplements the methods and systems of Kakitsuba according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F). Regarding claim 10, Kakitsuba teaches in in at least para. 0008-0009 a control method for controlling an information processing apparatus storing printing software that is configured to generate first print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers, the control method being performed based on execution of a print setting application stored in the information processing apparatus (Fig. 4 further illustrates a stored print setting application within the universal printer driver which control method is obviously being performed based on execution of said print setting application stored in the information processing apparatus), the control method comprising: causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application (display of at least Figs. 4-7 further illustrate display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application); and receiving one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark (receiving further in Figs. 4-7 said one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data); and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software . Kakitsuba is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as citing specifically said received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. Aritomi teaches at least in Figs. 2-4 a print setting application and a pre-installed operating software (OS) collectively forming a print application to receive user sets and selected in one or more characters being included in a PDL print data or the like and wherein said one or more characters being input by a user using the input field of at least Figs. 3-4, and being a watermark where a configuration of Fig. 3 illustrates a case where the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software as contrasted to Fig. 4 where the printing software being able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakitsuba in view of Aritomi to include wherein received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software, as discussed above, as Kakitsuba in view of Aritomi are in the same of endeavor employing a universal printer driver in addition to pre-installed operating software to provide methods and system of generating and transmitting print data and user selected print settings printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors, Aritomi’s print setting application and printing software in combination to the display field further complements the methods and system of providing/transmitting print data and user selected print settings printable by printers to the plurality of printer vendors of Kakitsuba, in a sense that when combined with the display input field of the print setting application and printing software of Aritomi, it enables the system to utilize the special print setting application by means of at least an implied extension program to receive inputted one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark which said software if using a simple setting screen would not generally capable or able to receive the one or more characters, thereby supplements the methods and systems of Kakitsuba according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F). Regarding claim 18, Kakitsuba teaches an information processing apparatus (the system 500 of at least Fig. 1 comprises said information processing apparatus 100), comprising: one or more processors (the CPU 51 comprises the one or more processors); and at least one memory storing one or more programs including printing software and a print setting application (Kakitsuba further teaches in at least para. of para. 0019 and Fig. 4 stored printer driver and a built-in print setting application of further Fig. 4 indicative of a print setting application along of a pre-installed OS of further para. 0040 further indicative of the printing software), the printing software being configured to generate first print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers (the OS of para. 0040 and the universal driver of further Fig. 4 further being configured to generate first print data printable by printers of further Figs. 1 of a plurality of printer vendors and is ably known to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers), the print setting application of further Figs. 4 including instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the information processing apparatus to: cause a display of the information processing apparatus to display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application (display of at least Figs. 4-7 further illustrate display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application); and receive one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark (receiving further in Figs. 4-7 said one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data); and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software . Kakitsuba is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as citing specifically said received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. Aritomi teaches at least in Figs. 2-4 a print setting application and a pre-installed operating software (OS) collectively forming a print application to receive user sets and selected in one or more characters being included in a PDL print data or the like and wherein said one or more characters being input by a user using the input field of at least Figs. 3-4, and being a watermark where a configuration of Fig. 3 illustrates a case where the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software as contrasted to Fig. 4 where the printing software being able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakitsuba in view of Aritomi to include wherein received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software, as discussed above, as Kakitsuba in view of Aritomi are in the same of endeavor employing a universal printer driver in addition to pre-installed operating software to provide methods and system of generating and transmitting print data and user selected print settings printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors, Aritomi’s print setting application and printing software in combination to the display field further complements the methods and system of providing/transmitting print data and user selected print settings printable by printers to the plurality of printer vendors of Kakitsuba, in a sense that when combined with the display input field of the print setting application and printing software of Aritomi, it enables the system to utilize the special print setting application by means of at least an implied extension program to receive inputted one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark which said software if using a simple setting screen would not generally capable or able to receive the one or more characters, thereby supplements the methods and systems of Kakitsuba according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 15, and 17-18 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable over Aritomi et al. Regarding claim 2, Aritomi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a print setting application configured to be executed by one or more processors of an information processing apparatus storing printing software that is configured to generate first print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers (non-transitory computer-readable medium of at least para. 00214 as implied in a case stores a built-in module 205 within the printer driver 203 of para. 0076 and 0098 as a print setting application configured to be executed by one or more processors of an information processing apparatus storing a cited pre-installed OS of para. 0062 as the printing software that is configured along with the driver 203 to generate first print data printable by printers of Figs. 1 and 13-15 of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers), configured to control a plurality of types of printers (the general-purpose driver of further para. 0098 is known in the art to be configured to control obviously a plurality of types of printers of Figs. 1 and 13-15), the print setting application 205 of further Figs. 2-4 and para. 0034 including instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the information processing apparatus to perform a control method comprising: causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application (Figs. 3-4 further illustrate an advanced setting application selection and input means 205 of Figs. 2-4 configured for causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display further in Figs. 3-4 an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application); and receiving one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark (receiving editing and input of further Figs. 3-4, of said one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data for a copy forgery inhibition and being a watermark image pattern to be printed in addition to the first print data); and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software (Fig. 3 illustrates a case where the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software as contrasted to Fig. 4 where the printing software being able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software). Regarding claim 4 (according to claim 2), Aritomi further teaches wherein the control method further comprising: generating intermediate image data using original image data and the received one or more characters (generated original print data of at least para. 0002 is converted further in para. 0075 to intermediate PDL image data using original image data and the received one or more characters). Regarding claim 5 (according to claim 4), Aritomi further teaches wherein the control method further comprising: providing the intermediate image data to the printing software, wherein the printing software generates the second print data from the provided intermediate image data (the system of at least Fig. 2 is further configured for providing the PDL intermediate image data of para. 0075 as understood in the art to the OS printing software of para. 0062, wherein the OS printing software as would be appreciated by one skill in the art generates the second print data from the provided intermediate image data). Regarding claim 7 (according to claim 2), Aritomi further teaches wherein the control method further comprising: receiving a setting regarding a size of the received one or more characters (Fig. 4A). Regarding claim 9 (according to claim 2), Aritomi further teaches wherein the printing software is a pre-installed operating system of the information processing apparatus (the OS of further para. 0062 further comprises said printing software and is a pre-installed operating system of the information processing apparatus). Regarding claim 10, Aritomi teaches a control method for controlling an information processing apparatus storing printing software that is configured to generate first print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers, the control method being performed based on execution of a print setting application stored in the information processing apparatus (the CPU 1 of at least Fig. 1 for controlling an information processing apparatus storing a printer driver 203 of para. 0076 and 0098 and a stored pre-installed OS of para. 0062 collectively understood as the printing software that is configured to generate further the universal printer driver first print data printable by printers of Figs. 1 and 13-15 of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers), the control method comprising: causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application (Figs. 3-4 further illustrate an advanced setting application selection and input means 205 of Figs. 2-4 configured for causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display further in Figs. 3-4 an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application); and receiving one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark (receiving editing and input of further Figs. 3-4, of said one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data for a copy forgery inhibition and being a watermark image pattern to be printed in addition to the first print data); and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software (Fig. 3 illustrates a case where the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software as contrasted to Fig. 4 where the printing software being able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software). Regarding claim 12 (according to claim 10), Aritomi further teaches wherein the control method further comprising: generating intermediate image data using original image data and the received one or more characters (generated original print data of at least para. 0002 is converted further in para. 0075 to intermediate PDL image data using original image data and the received one or more characters). Regarding claim 13 (according to claim 12), Aritomi further teaches wherein the control method further comprising: providing the intermediate image data to the printing software, wherein the printing software generates the second print data from the provided intermediate image data (the system of at least Fig. 2 is further configured for providing the PDL intermediate image data of para. 0075 as understood in the art to the OS printing software of para. 0062, wherein the OS printing software as would be appreciated by one skill in the art generates the second print data from the provided intermediate image data). Regarding claim 15 (according to claim 10), Aritomi further teaches wherein the control method further comprising: receiving a setting regarding a size of the received one or more characters (Fig. 4A). Regarding claim 17 (according to claim 10), Aritomi further teaches wherein the printing software is a pre-installed operating system of the information processing apparatus (the OS of further para. 0062 further comprises said printing software and is a pre-installed operating system of the information processing apparatus). Regarding claim 18, Aritomi teaches in Figs. 1 and 13-16 an information processing apparatus 3000 comprising: one or more processors (the at least one or more computer of para. 0214-0217); and at least one memory of para. 0214-0217 storing one or more programs including printing software and a print setting application, (Aritomi teaches in at least para. 0076 and 0098 a built-in module 205 within the printer driver 203 indicative of a print setting application along of a pre-installed OS of para. 0062 further indicative of the printing software), the printing software being configured to generate first print data printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors and is able to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers (the OS of para. 0062 and the universal driver of further least para. 0076 and 0098 further being configured to generate first print data printable by printers of further Figs. 1, and 13-16 of a plurality of printer vendors and is ably known to cause the information processing apparatus to transmit the first print data to at least one of the printers), the print setting application of further Figs. 3-4 and para. 0034 including instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the information processing apparatus to: cause a display of the information processing apparatus to display an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application (Figs. 3-4 further illustrate an advanced setting application selection and input means 205 of Figs. 2-4 configured for causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display further in Figs. 3-4 an input field, the input field being provided by the print setting application); and receive one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data and being a watermark (receiving editing and input of further Figs. 3-4, of said one or more characters being input by a user using the input field, the received one or more characters being included in second print data for a copy forgery inhibition and being a watermark image pattern to be printed in addition to the first print data); and the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software (Fig. 3 illustrates a case where the printing software being not able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software as contrasted to Fig. 4 where the printing software being able to receive the one or more characters via a screen displayed by the printing software). Claims 6, 8, 14, and 16 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over in view of Aritomi et al. in view of Caton et al. (US 2013/0215474, A1). Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 4), Aritomi is silent regarding wherein the intermediate image data is XPS data and the second print data is PDF data. Caton teaches a processor of at least para. 0097 configured for generating print data targeted to one or more printers where the print data may rendered by a generic printer driver of para. 0031 in an intermediate XPS format which may be further converted in para. 0080 converted to second PDF print data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Aritomi in view of Caton to include wherein the intermediate image data is XPS data and the second print data is PDF data, as discussed above, as Aritomi in view of Caton are in the same of endeavor utilizing a printer driver in addition to pre-installed operating software to generate and transmit print data and user selected print settings printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors, Caton’s combination of processor functions and the printing software further complements the universal printer driver of Aritomi, in a sense that when combined with the printing software and processor combinations of Caton, it enables the system to generate optimized data specific to certain printer vendor, the converted data may be further optimized for storage and/or printing for facilitating printing of documents containing hidden security features according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F). Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 2), Aritomi is silent regarding wherein the printing software complies with an Internet Printing Protocol. Caton further teaches in at least para. 0031 the generic printer driver may communicate and transmit print instructions to the printers via an Internet Printing Protocol and said driver printing software further complies with an Internet Printing Protocol. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Aritomi in view of Caton to include wherein printing software complies with an Internet Printing Protocol, as discussed above, as Aritomi in view of Caton are in the same of endeavor utilizing a printer driver in addition to pre-installed operating software to generate and transmit print data and user selected print settings printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors, Caton’s combination of printing software Internet Printing Protocol compliant further complements the universal printer driver of Aritomi, in a sense that when combined with the printing software and processor combinations of Caton, it enables the system to directly communicate with the target printers and relay directly generated print data for facilitating printing of documents containing hidden security features which thereby speed up processing according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F). Regarding claim 14 (according to claim 12), Aritomi is silent regarding wherein the intermediate image data is XPS data and the second print data is PDF data. Caton teaches a processor of at least para. 0097 configured for generating print data targeted to one or more printers where the print data may rendered by a generic printer driver of para. 0031 in an intermediate XPS format which may be further converted in para. 0080 converted to second PDF print data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Aritomi in view of Caton to include wherein the intermediate image data is XPS data and the second print data is PDF data, as discussed above, as Aritomi in view of Caton are in the same of endeavor utilizing a printer driver in addition to pre-installed operating software to generate and transmit print data and user selected print settings printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors, Caton’s combination of processor functions and the printing software further complements the universal printer driver of Aritomi, in a sense that when combined with the printing software and processor combinations of Caton, it enables the system to generate optimized data specific to certain printer vendor, the converted data may be further optimized for storage and/or printing for facilitating printing of documents containing hidden security features according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F). Regarding claim 16 (according to claim 10), Aritomi is silent regarding wherein the printing software complies with an Internet Printing Protocol. Caton further teaches in at least para. 0031 the generic printer driver may communicate and transmit print instructions to the printers via an Internet Printing Protocol and said driver printing software further complies with an Internet Printing Protocol. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Aritomi in view of Caton to include wherein printing software complies with an Internet Printing Protocol, as discussed above, as Aritomi in view of Caton are in the same of endeavor utilizing a printer driver in addition to pre-installed operating software to generate and transmit print data and user selected print settings printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors, Caton’s combination of printing software Internet Printing Protocol compliant further complements the universal printer driver of Aritomi, in a sense that when combined with the printing software and processor combinations of Caton, it enables the system to directly communicate with the target printers and relay directly generated print data for facilitating printing of documents containing hidden security features which thereby speed up processing according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F). Claims 3, and 11 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over in view of Aritomi et al. in view of Kato et al. (US 2018/0210684, A1). Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 2), Aritomi is silent regarding wherein the second print data is to be transmitted to a target printer which is one of the printers, and wherein the print setting application is an application identified by an application identifier corresponding to identification information of the target printer. Kato teaches at least pages 3-4, [0042-0060] and Figs. 5-6 and 11 utilizing table 150 for associating a print plug in application comprising said print setting application as an application identified by an application identifier corresponding to identification information of the target printer, where the generic printer driver with the built-in plug ins are configured for generating and transmitting at least second PDF print data to a target printer which is one of the printers of further Fig. 1. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Aritomi in view of Kato to include wherein second print data is to be transmitted to a target printer which is one of the printers, and wherein the print setting application is an application identified by an application identifier corresponding to identification information of the target printer, as discussed above, as Aritomi in view of Kato are in the same of endeavor utilizing a generic printer driver in addition to pre-installed operating software to generate and transmit print data and user selected print settings printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors, Kato’s combination of printing software and print plug-in extension further complements the universal printer driver of Aritomi, in a sense that when combined with the printing software and print plug-in extension combinations of Kato, it enables the system to directly map the target printers to a specific print plug-in extension thereby facilitating optimized printing security transmittal documents to the target printers according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F). Regarding claim 11 (according to claim 10), Aritomi is silent regarding wherein the second print data is to be transmitted to a target printer which is one of the printers, and wherein the print setting application is an application identified by an application identifier corresponding to identification information of the target printer. Kato teaches at least pages 3-4, [0042-0060] and Figs. 5-6 and 11 utilizing table 150 for associating a print plug in application comprising said print setting application as an application identified by an application identifier corresponding to identification information of the target printer, where the generic printer driver with the built-in plug ins are configured for generating and transmitting at least second PDF print data to a target printer which is one of the printers of further Fig. 1. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Aritomi in view of Kato to include wherein second print data is to be transmitted to a target printer which is one of the printers, and wherein the print setting application is an application identified by an application identifier corresponding to identification information of the target printer, as discussed above, as Aritomi in view of Kato are in the same of endeavor utilizing a generic printer driver in addition to pre-installed operating software to generate and transmit print data and user selected print settings printable by printers of a plurality of printer vendors, Kato’s combination of printing software and print plug-in extension further complements the universal printer driver of Aritomi, in a sense that when combined with the printing software and print plug-in extension combinations of Kato, it enables the system to directly map the target printers to a specific print plug-in extension thereby facilitating optimized printing security transmittal documents to the target printers according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARCELLUS AUGUSTIN whose telephone number is (571)270-3384. The examiner can normally be reached 9 AM- 5 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, BENNY TIEU can be reached at 571-272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 05/28/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 2 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 3 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 4 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 5 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 6 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 7 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 8 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 9 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 10 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 11 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 12 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 13 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 14 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 15 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 16 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 17 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 18 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 19 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 20 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 21 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 22 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 23 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 24 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 25 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 26 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 27 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 28 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 29 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 30 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 31 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 32 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 33 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 34 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 35 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 36 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 37 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 38 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 39 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 40 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 41 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 42 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 43 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 44 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 45 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 46 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 47 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 48 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 49 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 50 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 51 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 52 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 53 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 54 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 55 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 57 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 58 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 59 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/889,248 Page 60 Art Unit: 2682