DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Application filed on September 18, 2024, and Drawings filed on September 18, 2024.
2. Claims 1–13 are pending in this case. Claim 1, 12, 13 are independent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regard to claim 7, the prior arts do not disclose the aspect wherein detecting the first user input includes detecting a first portion of the first user input and detecting a second portion of the first user input following the first portion of the first user input, wherein the first portion of the first user input does not meet a first input threshold, and the second portion of the first input meets the first input threshold, and wherein the method includes: in response to detecting the first portion of the first user input, displaying a portion, less than all, of the first plurality of selectable options; and in response to detecting the second portion of the first user input, expanding the portion, less than all, of the first plurality of selectable options, to display an entirety of the first plurality of selectable options.
This claim is quite unique I the sense that the system detects a first portion of the first input to determine the input does not meet a first threshold and the second portion of the first input meets the same first input threshold and then expanding the portions less than all of the first plurality of selectable options based on the determination. These limitations in combination with the other limitations are not specifically taught by the prior arts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Patent no.: 10386942B2, in view of Westerman, Patent. NO.: 8059101 B2.
With regard to claim 1:
Kim discloses a method, comprising: at an electronic device with a display (See fig. 1, 5 and paragraph 30 column 4 line 47 to line 55 wherein the electronic device 100 includes a rotary member 101, a button 115, and a display 130. ) , and a first input region that is separate from the display (See fig. 1, 5 and paragraph 30 column 4 line 47 to line 55 wherein the electronic device 100 includes a rotary member 101, a button 115, and a display 130, wherein the first input region is outside of display 130), detecting, on the first input region that is separate from the display, a first user input that meets first criteria (See fig. 4B, and paragraph 52 column 6 liner 50 to linear 54 wherein the first input is press a button 115 which is separate from the display 130 ), wherein the first criteria require that the first user input selecting the region that is separate from the display (See fig. 4B, and paragraph 52 column 6 liner 50 to linear 54 wherein the first input is press a button 115 which is separate from the display 130 ); in response to detecting the first user input that meets the first criteria on the first input region that is separate from the display, displaying a first plurality of selectable options in a first region of a user interface that is shown on the display (see fig. 5 A and paragraph 52 to 55 column 6 liner 50 to column 7 line 3 for display a selectable menus after the first input); while displaying the first plurality of selectable options in the first region of the user interface that is shown on the display, detecting, on the first input region that is separate from the display, a second user input that meets second criteria, wherein the second criteria require that input threshold in order for the second criteria to be met (See paragraph 62 column 7 line 52 to line 57 wherein The control module 140 may determine a rotation direction and a rotation angle of a rotary member 101. For example, the control module 140 may control the display 130 to change an object group, displayed on the display 130, according to a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the rotary member 101.); and in response to detecting the second user input that meets the second criteria: in accordance with a determination that a movement of the second user input relative to the first input region has a first set of characteristic values, selecting a first selectable option from the first plurality of selectable options (see paragraph 64 column 7 line 64 column 8 line 7 wherein if the rotary member 101 rotates in a left direction (or a counterclockwise direction), the control module 140 may control the display 130 to display an object group prior to an object group displayed on the first layer 131.); and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the second user input relative to the first input region has a second set of characteristic values different from the first set of characteristic values, selecting a second selectable option, different from the first selectable option, from the first plurality of selectable options (see paragraph 64 column 7 line 64 column 8 line 7 wherein If the rotary member 101 rotates in a right direction (or a clockwise direction), the control module 140 may control the display 130 to display an object group subsequent to an object group displayed on the first layer 131).
Kim does not disclose the aspect wherein the first criteria require that the first user input includes less than a first threshold amount of movement relative to the first input region in a first amount of time in order for the first criteria to be met; wherein the second criteria require that the second user input includes more than the first threshold amount of movement relative to the first input region in the first amount of time in order for the second criteria to be met.
However Westerman discloses the aspect wherein the first criteria require that the first user input includes less than a first threshold amount of movement relative to the first input region in a first amount of time in order for the first criteria to be met ((See paragraph 37 and 38 wherein the system determine whether the first input is less than a minimum amount of distance and wherein the system also look at a first amount of time for the first input); wherein the second criteria require that the second user input includes more than the first threshold amount of movement relative to the first input region in the first amount of time in order for the second criteria to be met (see paragraph 40 column 8 line 55 to line 62 if the path has been determined to exceed the minimum length threshold for a swipe gesture (block 1007) and has been determined to be less than the maximum time threshold for a swipe threshold (block 1009), the path can be interpreted as a swipe event.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Westerman to Kim so the system can accurately determine the user’s intention with different threshold movement distance and provide the user with accurate output that matches input with different movement distances.
With regard to claim 2:
Kim and Westerman disclose the method of claim 1, including: while the second user input is detected on the first input region, detecting a change in one or more characteristic values of the movement of the second user input; and in response to detecting the change in the one or more characteristic values of the movement of the second user input (Kim See paragraph 68 where the user can rotate to 15 or 30 degree to select different group so if the user is rotating to 30 and not 15 it will select content correspond to 30 degree and not 15 degree ), switching from selecting the first selectable option to selecting the second selectable option from the first plurality of selectable options, while the second user input remains on the first input region (Kim See paragraph 68 where the user can rotate to 15 or 30 degree to select different group so if the user is rotating to 30 and not 15 it will select content correspond to 30 degree and not 15 degree ),
With regard to claim 3:
Kim and Westerman disclose The method of claim 1, wherein the first user input and the second user input are two separate inputs (Kim See fig. 4B, and paragraph 52 column 6 liner 50 to linear 54 wherein the first input is press a button 115 which is separate from the display 130 ), with a start of the second user input being detected on the first input region after a termination of the first user input has been detected and while display of the first plurality of selectable options is maintained (Kim see paragraph 64 column 7 line 64 column 8 line 7 wherein the second input is a rotational input).
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Patent no.: 10385942B2, in view of Westerman, and further in view of Flaherty, Pub. No.; 20190244429A1.
With regard to claim 4:
Kim and Westerman do not disclose the method of claim 1, including: while a respective selectable option of the first plurality of selectable options is selected, detecting a third input that meets confirmation criteria; and in response to detecting the third input that meets the confirmation criteria, performing a respective operation that corresponds to the respective selectable option.
However Flaherty discloses including: while a respective selectable option of the first plurality of selectable options is selected (See paragraph 96 the user may confirm the selection by using a second user input, such as a voice command (e.g., via the voice recognition system 418) or by pressing a button), detecting another input that meets confirmation criteria; and in response to detecting the another input that meets the confirmation criteria, performing a respective operation that corresponds to the respective selectable option (see paragraph 96 wherein In response, the processor 402 may update the stream of image data to include graphical content of an “ACTIVATE UAS” confirmation 1302 and output the updated stream of image data to the display 412.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Flaherty to Kim and Westerman so an additional user input can used to confirm the user input in order to avoid accidental inputs and to improve the accuracy of the user inputs.
Claims 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Patent no.: 10385942B2, in view of Westerman, and further in view of Kudurshian, Pub. No.; 20160259536.
With regard to claim 5:
Kim and Westerman do not disclose the method of claim 1, including: in response to detecting the first user input, generating a first tactile output in conjunction with displaying the first plurality of selectable options.
However Kudurshian discloses The method of claim 1, including: in response to detecting a first user input, generating a first tactile output in conjunction with displaying the first plurality of selectable options (See paragraph 9 in response to detecting a input, performing the first operation in conjunction with generating a first tactile output associated with the first operation.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Kudurshian to Kim and Westerman so the user is notified about the input through tactile cues that it is received by the system in order to facility better interaction between the user and the device to provide better feedback to the user.
With regard to claim 6:
Kim and Westerman and Kudurshian disclose the method of claim 1, including: in response to detecting the second user input, generating a second tactile output in conjunction with selecting a respective selectable option from the first plurality of selectable options (Kudurshian See paragraph 371 in response to detecting another input perform the second operation (e.g., operation performance unit 1118) in conjunction with generating a second tactile output).). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Kudurshian to Kim and Westerman so the user is notified about the input and that it is received to facility better interaction between the user and the device to provide better feedback to the user.
Claim 9, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Patent no.: 10385942B2, in view of Westerman, and further in view of Cho, Pub. No.: 20150082162A1.
With regard to claim 9:
Kim and Westerman do not disclose the aspect wherein the first input region is disposed adjacent a first edge of a display region provided by the display, and the first plurality of selectable options emerge from the first edge of the display region that is adjacent the first input region and move toward a second edge of the display opposite the first edge.
However Cho discloses the aspect wherein the first input region is disposed adjacent a first edge of a display region provided by the display, and the first plurality of selectable options emerge from the first edge of the display region that is adjacent the first input region and move toward a second edge of the display opposite the first edge (See fig. 1B paragraph 77, wherein in response to a user's touch input being made by a user object 200 on the corner area 40, a menu 45 is displayed on the screen. See wherein the menu options 47 moving toward to a second edge to the left). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Cho to Kim and Westerman so the user would be able to easily select on one edge of the display and view options come out near the selected area in order to make another selection quickly saving time and effort.
With regard to claim 10:
Kim and Westerman and Cho disclose the method of claim 9, wherein the movement of the second user input is in a direction along the first edge of the display region (Kim see fig. 6C, paragraph 77 column 9 line 42 to line 44 wherein the second input is a direction along a first edge of the display region by having the the rotary member 101 rotates in a right direction in a while the first and second object groups are displayed on the display.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Cho to Kim and Westerman so the user would be able to easily select on one edge of the display and view options come out near the selected area in order to make another selection quickly saving time and effort.
With regard to claim 11:
Kim and Westerman and Cho disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of selectable options are displayed concurrently with other content visible in the user interface (Cho see fig. 1B and paragraph 77wherein the first plurality of selectable options are displayed concurrently with the clock content visible in the user interface). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Cho to Kim and Westerman so system also display additional contents to the user that would provide additional context or other information to the user to keep the user informed such as displaying a clock to inform the user about the current time.
Pertinent Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sloo, Patent Number: 10747242 B2, discloses a user-friendly programmable thermostat is described that includes a body having a central electronic display surrounded by a ring that can be rotated and pressed inwardly to provide user input in a simple and elegant fashion.
Reilly, Pub. No.: US 20180232116 A1: discloses a method of receiving a second input from the user at the user interface element; and in response to the second input, confirming selection of the answer corresponding to the user interface element.
Conclusion
/DI XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178