DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (directed to claims 2-13) in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 09/18/2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “locking assembly” and “unlocking assembly” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (WO 2018161359 A1) with reference to the corresponding US Publication (US 20200121891 A1) for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches a locking apparatus (see Figs. 17-18 picturing appropriate-rotation control mechanism 3000) comprising:
a first body part (3100);
a second body part (3400) capable of a relative movement with respect to the first body part (see [0075]; handwheel 3100 drives the driving connector 3400 to rotate);
at least one locking assembly (3201) capable of moving within an interval between the first body part and the second body part and simultaneously contacting the first body part and the second body part (see Fig. 17; wherein locking assembly 3201 is disposed between first body part 3100 and second body part 3400 and moves within an interval 3130 between the first and second body parts while contacting the first and second body parts); and
at least one unlocking assembly (3130) disposed on a movement path of the at least one locking assembly (see Figs. 17-18) and capable of pushing the at least one locking assembly in a direction away from the second body part (see [0093]; the first sliding surface 3110 of the snap groove 3130 contacts the top-pressing member 3222 to drive motion of the elastic member 3222, which pushes the locking assembly in a direction away from the second body part),
wherein, when the at least one locking assembly (3201) simultaneously contacts the first body part (3100) and the second body part (3400), the movement of the second body part with respect to the first body part in at least one direction is prevented (see [0093]; when the handwheel 3100 is rotated in an opposite direction, the first stopping surface 3120 of the snap groove 3130 contacts the top-pressing member 3221 such that the elastic member 3222 does not contract and the top-pressing member does not move back, therefore keeping the second body part 3400 stationary),
wherein the at least one locking assembly comprises a locking main body part (3201), and
the locking main body part comprises:
a contact part (3221) disposed between the first body part and the second body part (see Figs. 17-18; top-pressing member 3221 disposed between first body part 3100 and second body part 3400); and
an elastic member (3222) connected to the first body part, having an elastic restoring force (see [0093]; elastic force of elastic member 3222), and
pushing the contact part in a direction opposite to the pushing direction of the at least one unlocking assembly (see [0093]; the elastic force of the elastic member 3222 is opposite to the pushing direction of the unlocking assembly 3130 such that when the rotation resistance is greater than the elastic force, the elastic member 3222 moved back), and
wherein the second body part is disposed inside the first body part (see Figs. 17-18 where second body part 3400 is disposed inside first body part 3100), and
the interval between inner circumferential surfaces of the first body part facing the second body part decreases in one direction (see Figs. 17-18 where the interval between the inner circumferential surface of the first body part 3100 and the second body part 3400 decreases in the clockwise direction when top-pressing member 3221 is disposed inside the snap groove 3130 and increases in the counterclockwise direction where top-pressing member 3221 is pushed past the first sliding surface 3110). See annotated Fig. 17 below.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the interval between the first body part (3100) and the second body part (3400) decreases in any one direction in a section where the first body part and the second body part face each other (see Fig. 18 where the interval between the inner circumferential surface of the first body part 3100 and the second body part 3400 decreases in either direction at the point where the sliding surface 3110 extends inward towards the second body part), and
when the at least one locking assembly simultaneously contacts the first body part and the second body part in the section (see Fig. 18 where top-pressing element 3221 continually contacts the first body part 3100 and the second body part 3400), the second body part is prevented from moving in the direction in which the interval with the first body part decreases (see [0093]; when the handwheel 3100 is rotated in an opposite direction, in this case clockwise, the first stopping surface 3120 of the snap groove 3130 contacts the top-pressing member 3221 with a force perpendicular to the elastic force of the elastic member 3222 such that the elastic member does not compress and therefore second body part 3400 is stationary).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one unlocking assembly (3130) pushes the at least one locking assembly (3201) in a direction in which the interval between one side of the first body part and one side of the second body part, which face each other, in the section increases (see annotated Fig. 18 below; where it can be appreciated that unlocking assembly 3110 pushes the contact member of the locking assembly in a direction toward a section where the interval between the first and second body is increased), so as to enable a relative movement between the first body part and the second body part, which is prevented by the at least one locking assembly (see annotated Fig. 18 below; where it can be appreciated that relative motion between the first and second body is prevented by the locking assembly because contact part 3221 cannot pass stopping surface 3120).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the interval between the first body part and the second body part decreases towards the pushing direction of the elastic member. See annotated Fig. 18 below.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein, as the contact part (3221) is pushed by the elastic member (3222) in the direction in which the interval between the first body part and the second body part decreases, a state in which the movement of the second body part with respect to the first body part in one or more directions is prevented is maintained (see Figs. 17 and 18; where it can be appreciated that the elastic member 3222 pushes the contact part in a direction outward, towards the first body part, and while the contact part is pushed outward by the spring, the locking mechanism remains in a state in which relative movement of the first and second body part is prevented because the contact part 3221 is positioned between adjacent unlocking assemblies).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the contact part has a ball shape or a cylindrical shape (see Figs. 17 and 18, [0089]; the top-pressing member 3221 is a steel bead).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 4, wherein the second body part (3400) is disposed inside the first body part (3100, see Fig. 17 where second body part 3400 is disposed inside first body part 3100), and one side of the second body part which faces the first body part forms the interval with the first body part decreasing in one direction, and the other side facing the one side contacts the first body part (see Figs. 15-18 where one side of the second body part 3400 which faces the first body part 3100 forms the interval with the first body part decreasing in one direction, wherein the sections where the interval between the first and second body parts decreases in one direction is formed by the slope of the snap grooves 3130, and where a second side of the second body part 3400 is in contact with the first body part 3100 at a section in between the snap grooves 3130).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second body part is flat (see Fig. 17 where at least one surface of second body part 3400 is flat) and is movable inside the first body part (see [0075]; handwheel 3100 drives the driving connector 3400 to rotate).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first body part (3100) extends to be symmetric toward both sides with respect to a center portion thereof (see Fig. 17 where the first body part has radial symmetry), the at least one locking assembly comprises a plurality of locking assemblies and is disposed at both sides of the center portion of the first body part (see Fig. 17 where locking assemblies 3201 are positioned with radial symmetry with respect to the first body part), the at least one unlocking assembly comprises a plurality of unlocking assemblies corresponding to the plurality of locking assemblies and is capable of pushing the plurality of locking assemblies (see Fig. 17 where a plurality of unlocking assemblies 3110/3120 are disposed about the first body part and are capable of pushing the plurality of locking assemblies), and when the plurality of locking assemblies simultaneously contact the first body part and the second body part, the first body part and the second body part are prevented from moving in two directions (see Figs. 17 and 18 where when the contact part 3221 of the locking assembly is in contact with the first body part and the second body part at a location between unlocking assemblies 3110 and 3120, the first and second body parts are prevented from moving in two directions).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second body part is flat (see Fig. 17 where at least one surface of second body part 3400 is flat), and the first body part is symmetrically formed with respect to a movement axis of the second body part as an axis of symmetry (see Fig. 17 where the first body part 3100 is symmetrically formed with respect to a movement axis of the second body part, wherein the second body part moved about an axis of rotation located in the center of the second body part).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one locking assembly (3201) and the at least one unlocking assembly (3130) respectively comprise a plurality of locking assemblies and a plurality of unlocking assemblies, which are disposed at both sides with respect to a movement axis of the second body part as an axis of symmetry. See annotated Fig. 17 below where the movement axis of the second body part is located in the center of the second body part and denoted with a dot and a plurality of locking assemblies, denoted with arrows, are disposed about the movement axis with radial symmetry.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches the locking apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first body part extends to be symmetric toward both sides with respect to a center portion thereof (see Fig. 17 where the first body part has radial symmetry), the plurality of locking assemblies are disposed at both sides with respect to the center portion of the first body part (see Fig. 17 where locking assemblies 3201 are positioned with radial symmetry with respect to the first body part), the plurality of unlocking assemblies corresponding to the plurality of locking assemblies are capable of pushing the plurality of locking assemblies (see Fig. 17 where a plurality of unlocking assemblies 3110/3120 are disposed about the first body part and are capable of pushing the plurality of locking assemblies), and when the plurality of locking assemblies simultaneously contact the first body part and the second body part, the first body part and the second body part are prevented from moving in two directions (see Figs. 17 and 18 where when the contact part 3221 of the locking assembly is in contact with the first body part and the second body part at a location between unlocking assemblies 3110 and 3120, the first and second body parts are prevented from moving in two directions).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-10, and 37 of U.S. Patent No. 12,12,252. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a locking apparatus comprising a first body part and a second body part capable of relative movement with respect to the first body part, at least one locking assembly capable of moving within an interval between the first body part and the second body part and simultaneously contacting the first body part and the second body part; and at least one unlocking assembly disposed on a movement path of the at least one locking assembly and capable of pushing the at least one locking assembly in a direction away from the first body part or the second body part, wherein, when the at least one locking assembly simultaneously contacts the first body part and the second body part, the movement of the second body part with respect to the first body part in at least one direction is prevented, wherein the at least one locking assembly comprises a locking main body part, and the locking main body part comprises: a contact part disposed between the first body part and the second body part; and an elastic member connected to the first body part, having an elastic restoring force, and pushing the contact part in a direction opposite to the pushing direction of the at least one unlocking assembly, and wherein the interval between the first body part and the second body part decreases towards the pushing direction of the elastic member.
A brief, but non-exhaustive matching of the pending claims and the issued claims is provided below.
Application No. 18/889,261
Pending Claims
US Patent No. 12,12,252
Issued Claims
2. A locking apparatus comprising: a first body part; a second body part capable of a relative movement with respect to the first body part; at least one locking assembly capable of moving within an interval between the first body part and the second body part and simultaneously contacting the first body part and the second body part; and at least one unlocking assembly disposed on a movement path of the at least one locking assembly and capable of pushing the at least one locking assembly in a direction away from the first body part or the second body part, wherein, when the at least one locking assembly simultaneously contacts the first body part and the second body part, the movement of the second body part with respect to the first body part in at least one direction is prevented, wherein the at least one locking assembly comprises a locking main body part, and the locking main body part comprises: a contact part disposed between the first body part and the second body part; and an elastic member connected to the first body part, having an elastic restoring force, and pushing the contact part in a direction opposite to the pushing direction of the at least one unlocking assembly, and wherein the second body part is disposed inside the first body part, and the interval between inner circumferential surfaces of the first body part facing the second body part decreases in one direction.
1. A locking apparatus comprising: a first body part; a second body part capable of a relative movement with respect to the first body part; at least one locking assembly capable of moving within an interval between the first body part and the second body part and simultaneously contacting the first body part and the second body part; and at least one unlocking assembly disposed on a movement path of the at least one locking assembly and capable of pushing the at least one locking assembly in a direction away from the first body part or the second body part, wherein, when the at least one locking assembly simultaneously contacts the first body part and the second body part, the movement of the second body part with respect to the first body part in at least one direction is prevented, wherein the at least one locking assembly comprises a locking main body part, and the locking main body part comprises: a contact part disposed between the first body part and the second body part; and an elastic member connected to the first body part, having an elastic restoring force, and pushing the contact part in a direction opposite to the pushing direction of the at least one unlocking assembly, and wherein the interval between the first body part and the second body part decreases towards the pushing direction of the elastic member.
3. The locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the interval between the first body part and the second body part decreases in any one direction in a section where the first body part and the second body part face each other, and when the at least one locking assembly simultaneously contacts the first body part and the second body part in the section, the second body part is prevented from moving in the direction in which the interval with the first body part decreases.
3. The locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one unlocking assembly pushes the at least one locking assembly in a direction in which the interval between one side of the first body part and one side of the second body part, which face each other, in the section increases, so as to enable a relative movement between the first body part and the second body part, which is prevented by the at least one locking assembly.
4. The locking apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one unlocking assembly pushes the at least one locking assembly in a direction in which the interval between one side of the first body part and one side of the second body part, which face each other, in the section increases, so as to enable a relative movement between the first body part and the second body part, which is prevented by the at least one locking assembly.
4. The locking apparatus of claim 3, wherein the second body part is disposed inside the first body part, and one side of the second body part which faces the first body part forms the interval with the first body part decreasing in one direction, and the other side facing the one side contacts the first body part.
5. The locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the interval between the first body part and the second body part decreases towards the pushing direction of the elastic member.
1. A locking apparatus comprising: a first body part; a second body part capable of a relative movement with respect to the first body part; at least one locking assembly capable of moving within an interval between the first body part and the second body part and simultaneously contacting the first body part and the second body part; and at least one unlocking assembly disposed on a movement path of the at least one locking assembly and capable of pushing the at least one locking assembly in a direction away from the first body part or the second body part, wherein, when the at least one locking assembly simultaneously contacts the first body part and the second body part, the movement of the second body part with respect to the first body part in at least one direction is prevented, wherein the at least one locking assembly comprises a locking main body part, and the locking main body part comprises: a contact part disposed between the first body part and the second body part; and an elastic member connected to the first body part, having an elastic restoring force, and pushing the contact part in a direction opposite to the pushing direction of the at least one unlocking assembly, and wherein the interval between the first body part and the second body part decreases towards the pushing direction of the elastic member.
6. The locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein, as the contact part is pushed by the elastic member in the direction in which the interval between the first body part and the second body part decreases, a state in which the movement of the second body part with respect to the first body part in one or more directions is prevented is maintained.
2. The locking apparatus of claim 1, wherein the interval between the first body part and the second body part decreases in any one direction in a section where the first body part and the second body part face each other, and when the at least one locking assembly simultaneously contacts the first body part and the second body part in the section, the second body part is prevented from moving in the direction in which the interval with the first body part decreases.
7. The locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the contact part has a ball shape or a cylindrical shape.
37. The locking apparatus of claim 1, wherein the contact part has a ball shape or a cylindrical shape.
8. The locking apparatus of claim 4, wherein the second body part is disposed inside the first body part, and one side of the second body part which faces the first body part forms the interval with the first body part decreasing in one direction, and the other side facing the one side contacts the first body part.
4. The locking apparatus of claim 3, wherein the second body part is disposed inside the first body part, and one side of the second body part which faces the first body part forms the interval with the first body part decreasing in one direction, and the other side facing the one side contacts the first body part.
9. The locking apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second body part is flat and is movable inside the first body part.
5. The locking apparatus of claim 4, wherein the second body part is flat and is movable inside the first body part.
10. The locking apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first body part extends to be symmetric toward both sides with respect to a center portion thereof, the at least one locking assembly comprises a plurality of locking assemblies and is disposed at both sides of the center portion of the first body part, the at least one unlocking assembly comprises a plurality of unlocking assemblies corresponding to the plurality of locking assemblies and is capable of pushing the plurality of locking assemblies, and when the plurality of locking assemblies simultaneously contact the first body part and the second body part, the first body part and the second body part are prevented from moving in two directions.
6. The locking apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first body part extends to be symmetric toward both sides with respect to a center portion thereof, the at least one locking assembly comprises a plurality of locking assemblies and is disposed at both sides of the center portion of the first body part, the at least one unlocking assembly comprises a plurality of unlocking assemblies corresponding to the plurality of locking assemblies and is capable of pushing the plurality of locking assemblies, and when the plurality of locking assemblies simultaneously contact the first body part and the second body part, the first body part and the second body part are prevented from moving in two directions.
11. The locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second body part is flat, and the first body part is symmetrically formed with respect to a movement axis of the second body part as an axis of symmetry.
8. The locking apparatus of claim 7, wherein the second body part is flat, and the first body part is symmetrically formed with respect to a movement axis of the second body part as an axis of symmetry.
12. The locking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one locking assembly and the at least one unlocking assembly respectively comprise a plurality of locking assemblies and a plurality of unlocking assemblies, which are disposed at both sides with respect to a movement axis of the second body part as an axis of symmetry.
9. The locking apparatus of claim 7, wherein the at least one locking assembly and the at least one unlocking assembly respectively comprise a plurality of locking assemblies and a plurality of unlocking assemblies, which are disposed at both sides with respect to a movement axis of the second body part as an axis of symmetry.
13. The locking apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first body part extends to be symmetric toward both sides with respect to a center portion thereof, the plurality of locking assemblies are disposed at both sides with respect to the center portion of the first body part, the plurality of unlocking assemblies corresponding to the plurality of locking assemblies are capable of pushing the plurality of locking assemblies, and when the plurality of locking assemblies simultaneously contact the first body part and the second body part, the first body part and the second body part are prevented from moving in two directions.
10. The locking apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first body part extends to be symmetric toward both sides with respect to a center portion thereof, the plurality of locking assemblies are disposed at both sides with respect to the center portion of the first body part, the plurality of unlocking assemblies corresponding to the plurality of locking assemblies are capable of pushing the plurality of locking assemblies, and when the plurality of locking assemblies simultaneously contact the first body part and the second body part, the first body part and the second body part are prevented from moving in two directions.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792