DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on September 18, 2024, claim 1-21 have been examined this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 9/18/2024 and 12/10/2024 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref et al (US 2023/0050047 A1) in view of Moeglein et al (US 2013/0017840 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Maaref teaches a system for processing GNSS signals, the system comprising [0012 for a GNSS receiver with an antenna to receiver GNSS signals]:
one or more GNSS antennas [0012];
one or more GNSS measurement engines coupled to the one or more GNSS antennas, the one or more GNSS measurement engines to correlate and process received GNSS signals in an L5 radio frequency band [0012 for processing system to measure L1 and L5 bands]
one or more processing systems coupled to a first memory which stores an application programming interface (API) [0012 and 0048].
Maaruf fails to explicitly teach stores an application programming interface (API) which includes one or more of parameters or instructions for processing GNSS signals, the one or more processing systems using the API to control operation of the one or more GNSS measurement engines.
Moeglein has systems for selecting and/or determining a strategy and/or approach for searching for signals at a mobile device (abstract) and teaches stores an application programming interface (API) which includes one or more of parameters or instructions for processing GNSS signals, the one or more processing systems using the API to control operation of the one or more GNSS measurement engines [0069-0070 for using a hybrid manager with an API for GNSS signal measurements and assistance data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the API calculations as taught by Moeglein for the purpose to obtaining sufficient information for satisfy a request for location information (Moeglein, 0069).
Regarding Claim 16, Maaref teaches a method of operating a GNSS receiver, the method comprising [0012 for a GNSS receiver with an antenna to receiver GNSS signals]:
receiving, through one or more GNSS antennas, GNSS signals from a set of GNSS SVs [0012];
correlating, in one or more GNSS measurement engines, the received GNSS signals to produce a set of one or more pseudoranges, the one or more GNSS measurement engines comprising a first GNSS measurement engine that correlates received GNSS signals in an L5 band to produce pseudoranges from the received GNSS signals in the L5 band [0012 for processing system to measure L1 and L5 bands].
computing, in one or more processing systems, one or more positions of the GNSS receiver [0009 for computing a position from GNSS signals].
Maaruf fails to explicitly teach controlling, through an application programming interface (API) which includes one or more of parameters or instructions for processing GNSS signals, operation of the first GNSS measurement engine.
Moeglein has systems for selecting and/or determining a strategy and/or approach for searching for signals at a mobile device (abstract) and teaches controlling, through an application programming interface (API) which includes one or more of parameters or instructions for processing GNSS signals, operation of the first GNSS measurement engine [0069-0070 for using a hybrid manager with an API for GNSS signal measurements and assistance data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the API calculations as taught by Moeglein for the purpose to obtaining sufficient information for satisfy a request for location information (Moeglein, 0069).
Claims 2-3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref et al (US 2023/0050047 A1) in view of Moeglein et al (US 2013/0017840 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Rudow et al (US 2014/0378171 A1).
Regarding Claim 2 and 17, Maaref teaches the one or more GNSS measurement engines comprises (2) a second GNSS measurement engine which correlates GNSS signals in an L5 radio frequency band to produce a second set of one or more pseudoranges from received GNSS signals in the L5 band [0012 for using the correlator to process the L5 signals].
Maaref fails to explicitly teach (1) first GNSS measurement engine which correlates GNSS signals in one or more of an L1 or L2 radio frequency bands to produce a first set of one or more pseudoranges from received GNSS signals in the one or more of the L1 or L2 bands.
Rudow has a first process and a second process are executed concurrently by one or more hardware processors located in the cellular device and outside of a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches a (1) first GNSS measurement engine which correlates GNSS signals in one or more of an L1 or L2 radio frequency bands to produce a first set of one or more pseudoranges from received GNSS signals in the one or more of the L1 or L2 bands [0241-0243 for GPS satellite generates different signal L1 and L2 signals and they are processed by different digital channel processors].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the API calculations as taught by Rudrow for the purpose to measurement of local reference time (Rudrow, 0241).
Regarding Claim 3, Maaref teaches the second GNSS measurement engine operates without aid from processing of GNSS signals in the L1 band [0009 for GNSS receiver does not receive and does not acquire L1 GNSS signals].
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref et al (US 2023/0050047 A1) in view of Moeglein et al (US 2013/0017840 A1) and Rudow et al (US 2014/0378171 A1) as applied to claims 3, and further in view of Stockmaster (US 7873095 B1).
Regarding Claim 4, Maaref fails to explicitly teach the one or more antennas comprises a controlled reception pattern antenna.
Stockmaster has an anti-jam receiver for coordinating with a frequency hop jammer includes a receiver assembly (abstract) and teaches the one or more antennas comprises a controlled reception pattern antenna [col 6, lines 25-45 for a controlled reception pattern antenna].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the pattern antenna calculations as taught by Stockmaster for the purpose to place a spatial null in the direction of the frequency hop jammer (Stockmaster, col 6, lines 35-40).
Regarding Claim 5 and 20, Maaref fails to explicitly teach the API includes one or more parameters or instructions to mitigate against jamming of GNSS signals.
Stockmaster has an anti-jam receiver for coordinating with a frequency hop jammer includes a receiver assembly (abstract) and the API includes one or more parameters or instructions to mitigate against jamming of GNSS signals [col 6, lines 10-20 for removing undesired signal and outputs to remove the CW jamming signal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the pattern antenna calculations as taught by Stockmaster for the purpose to place a spatial null in the direction of the frequency hop jammer (Stockmaster, col 6, lines 35-40).
Regarding Claim 6, Maaref fails to explicitly teach the API includes one or more parameters or instructions to spatially null signals in a direction of a jamming source.
Stockmaster has an anti-jam receiver for coordinating with a frequency hop jammer includes a receiver assembly (abstract) and teaches the API includes one or more parameters or instructions to spatially null signals in a direction of a jamming source [col 6, lines 10-20 for removing undesired signal and outputs to remove the CW jamming signal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the pattern antenna calculations as taught by Stockmaster for the purpose to place a spatial null in the direction of the frequency hop jammer (Stockmaster, col 6, lines 35-40).
Regarding Claim 7, Maaref fails to explicitly teach the first and second GNSS measurement engines operate concurrently.
Rudow has a first process and a second process are executed concurrently by one or more hardware processors located in the cellular device and outside of a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches the first and second GNSS measurement engines operate concurrently [0241-0243 for GPS satellite generates different signal L1 and L2 signals and they are processed by different digital channel processors using concurrent execution].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the API calculations as taught by Rudrow for the purpose to measurement of local reference time (Rudrow, 0241).
Regarding Claim 8, Maaref fails to explicitly teach the first GNSS measurement engine correlates received GNSS signals which include encrypted PRN codes.
Stockmaster has an anti-jam receiver for coordinating with a frequency hop jammer includes a receiver assembly (abstract) and teaches the first GNSS measurement engine correlates received GNSS signals which include encrypted PRN codes [col 6, lines 25-45 for a controlled reception pattern antenna and placing spatial null in the direction of the jammer].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the pattern antenna calculations as taught by Stockmaster for the purpose to place a spatial null in the direction of the frequency hop jammer (Stockmaster, col 6, lines 35-40).
Regarding Claim 9, Maaref teaches the second GNSS measurement engine correlates received GNSS signals which include PRN codes that are not encrypted [0064-0065 for GNSS L5 signal in each constellation that is also received and used by the DUT receiver].
Regarding Claim 10, Maaref teaches an inertial navigation system that comprises one or more inertial navigation sensors, the inertial navigation system coupled to the one or more processing systems to receive position outputs from one or more position solution engines that are coupled to the first and second measurement engines [0060 for using and INS].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref et al (US 2023/0050047 A1) in view of Moeglein et al (US 2013/0017840 A1), Rudow et al (US 2014/0378171 A1), and Stockmaster (US 7873095 B1) as applied to claims 4, and further in view of Paczan et al (US 2016/0378108 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Maaref fails to explicitly teach the system is contained in a drone which includes a propulsion system to move the drone, and wherein the inertial navigation system is coupled to the propulsion system.
Paczan has a collective UAV in which multiple UAVs may be coupled together to form the collective UAV (abstract) and teaches the system is contained in a drone which includes a propulsion system to move the drone, and wherein the inertial navigation system is coupled to the propulsion system [0088 for using navigation system and IMU for adjust the rotational speed of each lifting motor to stabilize the UAV and guide the UAV along a determined flight plan].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the UAV calculations as taught by Paczan for the purpose to navigate the UAV from one location to another (Paczan, 0088).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref et al (US 2023/0050047 A1) in view of Moeglein et al (US 2013/0017840 A1), Rudow et al (US 2014/0378171 A1), Stockmaster (US 7873095 B1) and Paczan et al (US 2016/0378108 A1) as applied to claims 11, and further in view of Dutta et al (US 2011/0254729 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Maaref teaches the first memory is non-volatile memory [0048 for using deep learning and CNN’s with the API (means to update) for the GNSS receivers pseudorange measurements (controlling operation)].
Maaref fails to explicitly teach that is electrically re-programmable, and the first memory stores firmware for controlling the operation of at least the second GNSS measurement engine, and the firmware receives calls through the API to configure operation of the second GNSS measurement engine and the firmware is re-programmable.
Dutta has a cross coupled position engine architecture for sensor integration in a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches that is electrically re-programmable, and the first memory stores firmware for controlling the operation of at least the second GNSS measurement engine, and the firmware receives calls through the API to configure operation of the second GNSS measurement engine and the firmware is re-programmable [0058 for using a reprogrammable memory for positional data for the GNSS system also claim 36].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the reprogrammable memory calculations as taught by Dutta for the purpose to remove erroneous components in the input in the sensor data and positioning data (Dutta, 0056).
Regarding Claim 13, Maaref fails to explicitly teach an updated firmware, updated when the first memory is re-programmed, includes an updated API.
Dutta has a cross coupled position engine architecture for sensor integration in a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches teach an updated firmware, updated when the first memory is re-programmed, includes an updated API [0058 for using a reprogrammable memory for positional data for the GNSS system also claim 36].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the reprogrammable memory calculations as taught by Dutta for the purpose to remove erroneous components in the input in the sensor data and positioning data (Dutta, 0056).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref et al (US 2023/0050047 A1) in view of Moeglein et al (US 2013/0017840 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dutta et al (US 2011/0254729 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Maaref fails to explicitly teach the API is used to select among different processing paths that are available for use in the second GNSS measurement engine.
Dutta has a cross coupled position engine architecture for sensor integration in a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches the API is used to select among different processing paths that are available for use in the second GNSS measurement engine [0058 for using a reprogrammable memory for positional data for the GNSS system also claim 36].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the reprogrammable memory calculations as taught by Dutta for the purpose to remove erroneous components in the input in the sensor data and positioning data (Dutta, 0056).
Claim 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref et al (US 2023/0050047 A1) in view of Moeglein et al (US 2013/0017840 A1), and Rudow et al (US 2014/0378171 A1), as applied to claims 1 am 16, and further in view of Paczan et al (US 2016/0378108 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Maaref teaches the one or more GNSS measurement engines comprises a GNSS measurement engine that acquires and determines pseudoranges from received GNSS signals in the L5 band without aid from processing or receipt of GNSS signals in the L1 band [0012 for using GNSS receiver to measure pseudorange using L5 band],
and wherein the system includes an inertial navigation system that comprises one or more inertial navigation sensors [0008 for using INS for accurate locations].
Maaref fails to explicitly each the inertial navigation system coupled to the one or more processing systems to receive position outputs from one or more position solution engines that are coupled to the first and second measurement engines.
Rudow has a first process and a second process are executed concurrently by one or more hardware processors located in the cellular device and outside of a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches the inertial navigation system coupled to the one or more processing systems to receive position outputs from one or more position solution engines that are coupled to the first and second measurement engines [0241-0243 for GPS satellite generates different signal L1 and L2 signals and they are processed by different digital channel processors].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the API calculations as taught by Rudrow for the purpose to measurement of local reference time (Rudrow, 0241).
Maaref fails to explicitly teach and wherein the system is contained in a drone which includes a propulsion system to move the drone, and wherein the inertial navigation system is coupled to the propulsion system.
Paczan has a collective UAV in which multiple UAVs may be coupled together to form the collective UAV (abstract) and teaches wherein the system is contained in a drone which includes a propulsion system to move the drone, and wherein the inertial navigation system is coupled to the propulsion system [0088 for using navigation system and IMU for adjust the rotational speed of each lifting motor to stabilize the UAV and guide the UAV along a determined flight plan].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the UAV calculations as taught by Paczan for the purpose to navigate the UAV from one location to another (Paczan, 0088).
Regarding Claim 18, Maaref fails to explicitly teach the method is performed in a drone which includes an inertial navigation system that is coupled to the first position solution engine.
Paczan has a collective UAV in which multiple UAVs may be coupled together to form the collective UAV (abstract) and teaches teach the method is performed in a drone which includes an inertial navigation system that is coupled to the first position solution engine [0088 for using navigation system and IMU for adjust the rotational speed of each lifting motor to stabilize the UAV and guide the UAV along a determined flight plan].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the UAV calculations as taught by Paczan for the purpose to navigate the UAV from one location to another (Paczan, 0088).
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref et al (US 2023/0050047 A1) in view of Moeglein et al (US 2013/0017840 A1), Rudow et al (US 2014/0378171 A1), and Paczan et al (US 2016/0378108 A1) as applied to claims 18, and further in view of Dutta et al (US 2011/0254729 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Maaref fails to explicitly teach wherein at least a portion of the API and firmware that receives calls through the API is stored in non-volatile memory which is re-programmable to allow for updating of the firmware.
Dutta has a cross coupled position engine architecture for sensor integration in a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches wherein at least a portion of the API and firmware that receives calls through the API is stored in non-volatile memory which is re-programmable to allow for updating of the firmware [0058 for using a reprogrammable memory for positional data for the GNSS system also claim 36].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the reprogrammable memory calculations as taught by Dutta for the purpose to remove erroneous components in the input in the sensor data and positioning data (Dutta, 0056).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref et al (US 2023/0050047 A1) in view of Moeglein et al (US 2013/0017840 A1), Rudow et al (US 2014/0378171 A1), Paczan et al (US 2016/0378108 A1) and Dutta et al (US 2011/0254729 A1) as applied to claims 19, and further in view of Stockmaster (US 7873095 B1).
Regarding Claim 20, Maaref fails to explicitly teach the API includes one or more parameters or instructions to mitigate the effects of jamming or spoofing.
Stockmaster has an anti-jam receiver for coordinating with a frequency hop jammer includes a receiver assembly (abstract) and the API includes one or more parameters or instructions to mitigate the effects of jamming or spoofing [col 6, lines 10-20 for removing undesired signal and outputs to remove the CW jamming signal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the pattern antenna calculations as taught by Stockmaster for the purpose to place a spatial null in the direction of the frequency hop jammer (Stockmaster, col 6, lines 35-40).
Regarding Claim 21, Maaref fails to explicitly teach the API is used by the first position solution engine to select among different processing paths that are available for use in the first GNSS measurement engine.
Dutta has a cross coupled position engine architecture for sensor integration in a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches the API is used by the first position solution engine to select among different processing paths that are available for use in the first GNSS measurement engine [0058 for using a reprogrammable memory for positional data for the GNSS system also claim 36].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Maaref, further including the reprogrammable memory calculations as taught by Dutta for the purpose to remove erroneous components in the input in the sensor data and positioning data (Dutta, 0056).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Loomis et al (US 20160036519 A1) has a method for capturing ionospheric data with a plurality of phase-coherent signals transmitted by at least one Global Navigation Satellite System.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648