DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/21/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas. Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S.___(2014).
Claims 1-12 are directed to a method, while claim 20 is also directed to a computer implemented system. As such, the claims are directed to statutory subject matter under Step 1 of the Alice flowchart as directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea); as evident by the claim 1, which recites “capturing one or more video frames of a game play of the video game controlled by a user; executing an artificial intelligence (AI) model to determine a context of a current point in the game play based on the one or more video frames that are captured; determining a query based on the context of the game play using the AI model; generating a response to the query using the AI model based on the context of the game play; and presenting the response to the query via a device of the user.”
Addressing the claims under Step 2A, the claims are held to be directed to concepts similar to those found to be abstract, either as outlined in the 2014 lEG/July 2015 Update to Subject matter eligibility, or, as compared to certain decisions rendered by the courts. The claims describe the steps of capturing one or more video frames of user-controlled video, execute using an AI model a determination and generate a response. Considered individually and in combination, these elements do not, integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, but merely aide in the description of the abstract idea and therefore do not render the claims any less abstract.
Finally, the concept of identifying and transmitting information to a user further represents ‘an idea itself’ (see July 2015 Update: Section III (C)) inasmuch as it is related to processes of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data. Several precedential cases have found concepts relating to processes of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data to be mere ideas in themselves. One example includes selecting/identifying displayed data, manipulating the data through encoding and decoding processes, and generating new outputs/displays (Recognicorp, LLC, v. Nintendo Co., Ltd., Nintendo of America, Inc., No. 2:12-cv-01873-RAJ (2017)). The courts have addressed other computerized processes for of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data including data collecting and comparing known information (Classen Immunotherapies Inc. v. Biogen IDEC 659 F.3d 1057(Fed. Cir. 2011)), collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom 830 F.3d 1350, 119 U.S.P.Q.2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016))] extracting, organizing, storing and transmitting data (Content Extraction and Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, National Ass'n. 776 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and obtaining and comparing intangible data (Cybersource Corp v. Retail Decisions, Inc. 654 F.3d 1366, 99 U.S.P.Q.2d 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2011)) (see July 2015 Update: Section III (C)).
Therefore, while it is understood that the claims in the current application are not verbatim recitations of the guidelines or case law, the detailed analysis provided above shows how the current claim limitations at issue closely parallel the concepts provided by the guidelines and the precedential case law, and are therefore considered to be directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A: YES).
Step 2A, Prong Two: Claims do not contain additional elements that integrate the abstract idea exception into a practical application because the additional elements are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea exception; MPEP § 2106.05(f). (2) generally link the judicial exception to a particular technological environment MPEP § 2106.05(h); (3) are insignificant extra solution activity; MPEP § 2106.05(g). The additional elements are limited to generic computer components. The additional elements are: a processor and storage hardware including instructions [“computer”], “memory”; instruction system [software], intelligence system [Ai], and a message data packet.
Therefore, the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer/computer components and is not a practical application. See MPEP §2106.05(f). The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea exception into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on the abstract idea exception. Accordingly, Claims 1-12 & 20 are directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2B, no element or combination of elements is sufficient to ensure the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more that the abstract idea itself. For example, the computer components generically claimed to enable the management of the game by performing the basic functions of: (i) receiving, processing, and storing data. The courts have recognized these functions to be well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner. Particularly, In re TLI Communications LLC (Fed Cir, 2016) held that adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible. As such, the recitation of the computer limitations in Claims 1-12 & 20 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Additionally, these limitations are merely generic recitations of computers and networks performing basic functions and the claims amount to nothing more than implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The limitations taken as a whole amount to nothing more than implementing the concept of collecting the input and output information to be evaluated and present the resulting answer; with routine, conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. When viewed either as individual limitations or as an ordered combination, the claims as a whole do not add significantly more to the abstract idea of identifying and transmitting information to a user.
Ultimately, the claimed machine(s) function solely as an obvious mechanism to achieve the claimed result, failing to impart a meaningful limit on the claim scope [see SiRF Tech., Inc. v. ITC (Fed. Cir. 2010)]. The claims at issue here do not rise to overriding the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily performed by the computer, nor do they set forth with any specificity the interactions of the machine itself. Conversely, the claims are only specific in how the computer is used to facilitate the abstract idea itself using routine and conventional operations of the generic machinery, and are silent as to any detail or property that would transform the otherwise generic machinery into a specialized or special purpose machine. Even when considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of applicant's method add nothing that is not already present when they are considered individually. Viewed as a whole, the claims simply convey the idea itself facilitated by generic computing components.
Thus, under Step 2B, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The claims provide minimal technical structure or components for further consideration either individually or as ordered combinations with the independent claims. As such, additional recited limitations in the dependent claims only refine the identified abstract idea further. Further refinement of an abstract idea does not convert an abstract idea into something concrete.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sundareson et al. (US Patent Pub. 20230128243; referred to hereinafter as Sundareson).
Claims 1 & 20: Sundareson disclose capturing one or more video frames of a game play of the video game controlled by a user (0071-0073), executing an artificial intelligence (AI) model (0147 & 0195), AI engine) to determine a context of a current point in the game play based on the one or more video frames that are captured (0071-0075 & 0112), determining a query based on the context of the game play using the AI model (0057-0063, predicting a query based on the context of game play), generating a response to the query using the AI model based on the context of the game play and presenting the response to the query via a device of the user (0068-0077, 0084 & 0092, dynamically generated response to anticipated in-game prediction).
Claim 2: Sundareson disclose capturing a plurality of video frames from a plurality of game plays of the video game (0071-0073), and training the AI model to identify a plurality of contexts of a plurality of points in the plurality of game plays based on the plurality of video frames that are captured (0163, Training Logic).
Claim 3: Sundareson disclose capturing a plurality of game state from a plurality of game plays of the video game (0071-0073), training the AI model to identify a plurality of in-game elements of the video game, and building a database including the plurality of in-game elements and a plurality of descriptions corresponding to the plurality of in-game elements for use by the AI model when generating the response (0076, 0088-0090 & 0163 Training logic).
Claim 4: Sundareson disclose the query is directed to a lore of or an object in the video game corresponding to an in-game element, wherein the response includes information for the in-game element accessed from the database (0057-0077).
Claims 5-6: Sundareson disclose monitoring over a channel a conversation between two or more players playing the video game, wherein in the conversation the user is one of the two or more players (0069-0074 capturing audio from the game, which includes conversation as well), translating the conversation to a format suitable for input into the AI model, and identifying the query using the AI model based on the conversation and the context (0069-0074).
Claim 7: Sundareson disclose receiving the query in a user interface presented on the device of the user (0071-0075).
Claim 8: Sundareson disclose automatically pausing execution of an instance of the video game for the game play while the query is being processed; and automatically restarting the execution of the instance of the video game for the game play after the response is presented (0069-0074).
Claims 9-10: Sundareson disclose broadcasting the response using a speaker of the device of the user, wherein the response is formatted in an audio format or text format (0057-0060).
Claim 12: Sundareson disclose receiving a tag for the response to the query via a user interface presented on the device of the user, providing the tag to the AI model as feedback for purposes of updating the AI model (0300).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Osman (10,870,057) refers to a method for assisting in game play. The method includes monitoring game play of the user playing a gaming application, wherein the user has a defined task to accomplish, wherein the task is associated with a task type. The method includes determining a task type proficiency rule for the task type based on results of a plurality of players taking on a plurality of tasks having the task type. The method includes determining a player proficiency score for accomplishing the task based on the task type proficiency rule. The method includes determining a user predictive rate of success in accomplishing the task based on the player proficiency score, the task type proficiency rule, and the task. The method includes determining a recommendation for the user based on the user predictive rate of success.
Van Welzen (11,617,951) refers to game summary may be produced using an event log of in-game events and corresponding game content based on game data associated with a gameplay session(s). The event log may include metadata that indicates times of in-game events and associations between in-game events and game content items that capture the in-game events. A user may interact with in-game events with temporal context, allowing for more informed selections and a better understanding of the gameplay session. Using the event log, a game summary may provide such features as a timeline to convey relative timing of in-game events, a list of in-game events, a map of a virtual environment of the game that is temporally annotated based on in-game events, game status information, and statistical and performance information. A game summary may show trends over time and/or game sessions and convey information for selected sets of players, such as teams.
The referenced citations made in the rejection(s) above are intended to exemplify areas in the prior art document(s) in which the examiner believed are the most relevant to the claimed subject matter. However, it is incumbent upon the applicant to analyze the prior art document(s) in its/their entirety since other areas of the document(s) may be relied upon at a later time to substantiate examiner's rationale of record. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). However, "the prior art's mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed ...." In re Fulton, 391F.3d 1195, 1201,73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Conclusion
/SUNIT PANDYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715