Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rebetez (US 2015/0016231).
With regard to claim 1 Rebetez discloses a mechanism for adjusting the endshake of a timepiece mobile unit for a timepiece, the mechanism comprising:
an axis (center figures 1, 2),
a first component (6 figure 2),
a second component (8 figure 4) intended to receive or to form at least one bearing (4),
interface elements collaborating with the first and second components (see incremental wedge pieces figures 1 and 2),
a return element (9) returning the first and second components into collaboration with the interface elements (figures 1, 2), and
at least first shaped portions of the first and second components which collaborate with the interface elements in order to move the interface elements relative to the axis in a plane perpendicular or near-perpendicular to the axis and thus move the second component translationally along the axis relative to the first component under the effect of a rotational movement about the axis of the first component or of the second component (abstract, paragraphs 10-12, 33, 34, 48).
With regard to claim 2 Rebetez discloses the mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the interface elements are rolling and/or sliding elements (the elements are capable of sliding – figures 1-4).
With regard to claim 3 Rebetez discloses the mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first component or the second component comprises at least second shaped portions to allow relative movement of the first component and of the second component in rotation about the axis (figures 1-4; abstract, paragraphs 10-12, 33, 34, 48; not the stepped shapes).
With regard to claim 4 Rebetez discloses the mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first component or the second component comprises, by way of first shaped portion, at least a first path specific to each interface element (figures 1-4; abstract, paragraphs 10-12, 33, 34, 48; not the stepped shapes).
With regard to claim 5 Rebetez discloses the mechanism as claimed in claim 4, wherein the at least one first path defines a pathway having a shape of a spiral around the axis, or a pathway that is substantially orthoradial with respect to the axis (figures 2-4 show a spiral shape; paragraphs 44, 45).
With regard to claim 6 Rebetez discloses the mechanism as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first component or the second component, distinct from the component comprising the at least one first path, comprises, by way of first shaped portion, at least one second groove intended to collaborate with an interface element and extending in a direction that is radial or near-radial relative to the axis (figures 2-4 the spiral shape it interrupted by grooves in the radial direction. Paragraphs 44, 45).
With regard to claim 7 Rebetez discloses the mechanism as claimed in claim 6, wherein the at least one second groove is formed on a washer that rotates as one with the first component or the second component distinct from the component comprising the at least one first path (figures 2-4 the components are distinct and at least one forms a washer such that they can rotate relative to each other and perform the spacing operation).
With regard to claim 9 Rebetez discloses the mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first and second components fit one into the other, the second component notably fitting into the first component (figures 3-4 the bearing or center portion extends into the center hole of 8).
With regard to claim 10 Rebetez discloses an assembled bearing comprising a mechanism as claimed in claim 1 (bearing 4, see figure 8).
With regard to claim 11 Rebetez discloses a mounted movement blank comprising a bearing (4 figure 8) as claimed in claim 10.
With regard to claim 12 Rebetez discloses an assembly comprising:
a bearing (4),
a movement blank (figure 11; movement line 1 claim 1), and
a mechanism as claimed in claim 1 arranged at the interface between the bearing and the movement blank (figures 1-11).
With regard to claim 13 Rebetez discloses a timepiece movement (100; movement claim 1) comprising:
an assembly (figures, abstract) as claimed in claim 12, and a mobile unit (2).
With regard to claim 14 Rebetez discloses a timepiece (title) comprising an assembly (figures, abstract) as claimed in claim 12.
With regard to claim 15 Rebetez discloses a method for adjusting the endshake of a timepiece mobile unit of a timepiece movement as claimed in claim 13, the method comprising: moving one component in rotation about the axis relative to the other component paragraph 48, abstract, figures 2, 3, 4).
With regard to claim 16 Rebetez discloses the mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one bearing is at least one damping bearing (see elastic element 8 in figure 8).
With regard to claim 18 Rebetez discloses the mechanism as claimed in claim 2, wherein the rolling and/or sliding elements are three or four rolling and/or sliding elements (figures 3, 4; there are at least three sliding surfaces).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebetez (US 2015/0016231) in view of Tschudin (US 2622948)
With regard to claim 8 (depends from claim 1) Rebetez does not disclose the claimed: wherein the first component or the second component comprises, by way of first shaped portion, a conical or frustoconical surface intended to collaborate with the interface elements.
Tshudin teach conical/frusticonical shapes to facilitate a bearing surface – figure 1.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Rebetez system to comprise the first component or the second component comprises, by way of first shaped portion, a conical or frustoconical surface intended to collaborate with the interface elements, as taught by Tschudin. The reason for doing so would have been to provide an engagement surface to bearing balls to facilitate easy rotation when the rotation is desirable, as well as to reduce friction with exterior surfaces, as taught by Tschudin.
With regard to claim 17 (depends from claim 2) Rebetez does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the rolling and/or sliding elements are balls.
Tshudin teaches conical/frustoconical shapes to facilitate a bearing surface including balls– figure 1.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Rebetez system to comprise wherein the rolling and/or sliding elements are balls as taught by Tshudin. The reason for doing so would have been to facilitate easy rotation when the rotation is desirable, as well as to reduce friction with exterior surfaces, as taught by Tschudin.
With regard to claim 19 (depends from claim 2) Rebetez does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the rolling and/or sliding elements are three or four balls.
Tshudin teach conical/frusticonical shapes to facilitate a bearing surface including balls– figure 1. The number being three or more figure 2.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Rebetez system to comprise wherein the rolling and/or sliding elements are three or four balls, as taught by Tshudin. The reason for doing so would have been to facilitate easy rotation when the rotation is desirable, as well as to reduce friction with exterior surfaces, as taught by Tschudin.
With regard to claim 20 (depends from claim 4) Rebetez does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the at least one first path is at least a first groove intended to collaborate with an interface element.In applicant’s figure 4 the interface element 4 is the ball bearing. See also applicant’s abstract.
Tshudin teach conical/frusticonical shapes to facilitate a bearing surface including balls– figure 1. The number being three or more figure 2.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Rebetez system to comprise wherein the at least one first path is at least a first groove intended to collaborate with an interface element, as taught by Tshudin. The reason for doing so would have been to facilitate easy rotation when the rotation is desirable, as well as to reduce friction with exterior surfaces, as taught by Tschudin.
Conclusion
/SEAN KAYES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831