Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/06/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 09/18/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation "most of the vortex disturbing structure is configured to be serrated shape is accommodated in the middle section." is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the vortex disturbing structure" in the flow guide member. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the corner" in the second housing. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the open" in the second housing. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo (US 2016/0187006), and Stadler (US 2016/265556).
Regarding claim 1, Koo teaches an air supply assembly (25 and 220 combined, Fig. 2, [0025]), comprising:
a fan (25, Fig. 2, [0025]); and
a flow guide member (220, Fig. 2, [0025]) having a flow guide channel (220, Fig. 5, [0025]);
wherein the flow guide member is sleeved outside of the fan and the fan is provided in the flow guide channel (Fig. 2, [0025]),
Koo does not teach the fan comprising at least one fan blade having a trailing edge and an outer edge; wherein the outer edge is located on a side of the fan blade that is away from a rotational axis of the fan, and the trailing edge is connected to the outer edge, the trailing edge locating at the rearside of the fan blade along the rotational direction of the fan, and having a vortex disturbing structure extending in a direction of the rotational axis; and
an inner wall of at least a part of the flow guide channel has a straight cylinder shape with a constant inner diameter, and has a preset gap with the outer edge; the preset gap is configured to define movement of an airflow formed on the fan blade in a radial direction of the flow guide channel;
wherein the flow guide channel further comprises at least one non cylindrical section located upstream or downstream of the straight cylinder-shaped part;
wherein at least 80% of an axial length of the vortex disturbing structure is accommodated within the straight cylinder-shaped part;
wherein the preset gap is defined between the vortex disturbing structure and the inner wall of the straight cylinder-shaped part; and
wherein the vortex disturbing structure and the preset gap cooperatively constrain radial expansion of airflow and induce controlled vortex shedding within the straight cylinder-shaped part, and the vortex disturbing structure is substantially absent from the non cylindrical section.
However, Stadler teaches a fan (20, Fig. 10, Fig. 15 being used as reference for impeller structure while using housing components of Fig. 10, [0092], [0113], “fan”) comprising at least one fan blade (58, Fig. 15, [0056], “fan blade”) having a trailing edge (72, Fig. 15, [0098]) and an outer edge (76, Fig. 15, [0113]); wherein the outer edge is located on a side of the fan blade that is away from a rotational axis (11, Fig. 2, [0140]) of the fan (Fig. 15), and the trailing edge is connected to the outer edge (Fig. 15), the trailing edge locating at the rearside of the fan blade along the rotational direction (24, Fig. 15, [0096]) of the fan (Fig. 15), and having a vortex disturbing structure (teeth on 72, Fig. 15, [0083], [0144]) extending in a direction of the rotational axis (Fig. 15); and
an inner wall of at least a part of the flow guide channel has a straight cylinder shape with a constant inner diameter (Fig. 11, [0094], a cylinder inherently has a constant inner diameter perpendicular to an axis), and has a preset gap (69, Fig. 10, [0113], [0135]) with the outer edge ([0113]); the preset gap is configured to define movement of an airflow formed on the fan blade in a radial direction of the flow guide channel (See MPEP 2114(II), "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does" and "A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim." In the instant case, the claimed invention is for a preset gap with a particular structure and function and using said preset gap to define movement of an airflow formed on the fan blade in a radial direction of the flow guide channel is only an intended use of that flow guide channel);
wherein the flow guide channel further comprises at least one non cylindrical section (top cone frustum shaped part of the venturi shape in Fig. 10 and Fig. 11 immediately above the cylindrical section) located upstream or downstream of the straight cylinder-shaped part (Fig. 10, Fig. 11);
wherein at least 80% of an axial length of the vortex disturbing structure is accommodated within the straight cylinder-shaped part (Fig. 10, all teeth of 72 is inside the straight cylinder-shaped part);
wherein the preset gap is defined between the vortex disturbing structure and the inner wall of the straight cylinder-shaped part (Fig. 15, as 76 extends further from 11 than 72, 76 is between 72 and 49; as 69 is between 76 and 49, 69 is also between 72 and 49); and
wherein the vortex disturbing structure and the preset gap cooperatively constrain radial expansion of airflow and induce controlled vortex shedding within the straight cylinder-shaped part (See MPEP 2114(II), "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does" and "A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim." In the instant case, the claimed invention is for a vortex disturbing structure and a preset gap with a particular structure and function and using said vortex disturbing structure and preset gap to constrain radial expansion of airflow and induce controlled vortex shedding within the straight cylinder-shaped part is only an intended use of that flow guide channel), and
the vortex disturbing structure is substantially absent from the non cylindrical section (Fig. 10, as the lowest part of 76 is shown substantially absent from the top cone frustum portion of the venturi shape, and highest part of 72 in Fig. 15 is shown lower than the highest part of 76, 72 is also absent from the top cone frustum portion of the venturi shape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply assembly (Koo: 25 and 220 combined, Fig. 2, [0025]) of Koo to use the fan (Stadler: 22, Fig. 10, Fig. 15, [0092]) of Stadler as it reduces the blade-passing noise, of which human hearing is particularly sensitive to (Stadler: [0003], [0007]), generated by fans (Stadler: [0017], [0083], [0095]) and shifts the frequency of the blade-passing noise into a range in which human hearing is less sensitive (Stadler: [0016]). Stadler recognizes the blade-passing noise as a problem in the art where reduction in the blade passing noise is very important (Stadler: [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Koo teaches the vortex disturbing structure comprises multiple concave portions and multiple convex portions (Stadler: 72, Fig. 15, including only serrated portions of the trailing edge inside the cylinder-shaped portion in the rotational axis direction); arranged alternately in an extending direction of the trailing edge (Stadler: 72, Fig. 15), the multiple concave portions and the multiple convex portions forming an asymmetric serrated profile (See annotated Fig. 15 below, 72 has a serrated profile that is also asymmetric as the page top convex portion of 72 shown has a relatively extended edge).
Regarding claim 3, modified Koo teaches in a direction of the rotational axis of the fan, the multiple concave portions and the multiple convex portions have a height difference (Stadler: 72, Fig. 15) to generate staggered vortex shedding (See MPEP 2114(II), "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does" and "A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim." In the instant case, the claimed invention is for a height difference and using said height difference to generate staggered vortex shedding is only an intended use of that height difference), and all of the multiple concave portions are accommodated in the part of the flow guide channel that has the straight cylinder shape (Stadler: 72, Fig. 15, see claim 2 rejection).
Regarding claim 4, modified Koo teaches the vortex disturbing structure is configured into a serrated shape (Stadler: 72, Fig. 15, [0083], [0144]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Koo teaches in a direction of the rotational axis of the fan, the length of the vortex disturbing structure is L1, and the length of the vortex disturbing structure accommodated in the part of the flow guide channel that has the straight cylinder shape is L2, wherein L2/L1 is equal to or larger than 0.8 (Fig. 10, all teeth of 72 is inside the straight cylinder-shaped part; therefore, L2/L1 is at least 1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Koo teaches the fan blade has
a first end and a second end in a direction of the rotational axis of the fan (Stadler: See annotated Fig. 15 below); and
the first end is located in an edge area at one end of the straight cylinder-shaped flow guide channel (Stadler: See annotated Fig. 15 below), and
the second end is located in an edge area at the other end of the straight cylinder-shaped flow guide channel (Stadler: See annotated Fig. 15 below).
Regarding claim 7, modified Koo does not teach the preset gap is any value between 5mm and 15mm.
However, adjusting the preset gap would have involved a mere change in the size of a device which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, and the device will still function property with the size modification.
Therefore, adjusting the preset gap is a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that such a modification is significant. (See re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955))
Regarding claim 8, modified Koo teaches the flow guide channel comprises
an inlet section, an outlet section, and a middle section (Stadler: 42, [0094]);
the middle section is located between the inlet section and the outlet section, and is configured into a straight cylinder shape (Stadler: 42, [0094], venturi-shaped throat) having a constant inner diameter (a cylinder inherently has a constant inner diameter perpendicular to an axis);
in a direction from the inlet section to the outlet section, an inner diameter of the outlet section gradually increases, and in the direction from the inlet section to the outlet section, an inner diameter of the inlet section gradually decreases.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo (US 2016/0187006), and Stadler (US 2016/265556) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chothave (US 2020/0248928).
Regarding claim 9, modified Koo teaches most of the vortex disturbing structure is configured to be serrated shape is accommodated in the middle section (Stadler: 72, Fig. 15; Stadler: 58 shown inside 42, Fig. 10).
Modified Koo does not teach the outlet section is provided with a first noise reduction structure.
However, Chothave teaches the outlet section is provided with a first noise reduction structure (104, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply assembly (Stadler: 22, Fig. 10, Fig. 15, [0092]) of modified Koo to use the acoustic shroud (Chothave: 104, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, [0049]) structure (Chothave: 116, 118, 120, Fig. 10A-10C, [0049], [0056]) of Chothave for the flow guide member (Stadler: 42, Fig. 11, [0094], housing) of Stadler to reduce noise from the fan (Chothave: [0048]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Koo teaches the inlet section is provided with a second noise reduction structure (Chothave: 104, Fig. 10B-C, [0056]).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo (US 2016/0187006), and Stadler (US 2016/265556) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of (Jang US 2020/088421).
Regarding claim 11, modified Koo does not teach an outer wall of the flow guide member is provided with reinforcing ribs.
However, Jang teaches an axial flow fan (30, Fig. 4, [0058]) inside a guide (50, Fig. 4, [0061]). The guide may include a reinforcing portion (88, Fig. 4, [0075]) on the outer surface that may improve the durability of the guide and prevent the guide from being thermally deformed by the temperature of air flowing through the guide ([0076]). The reinforcing portion may include horizontal reinforcing members (88a, Fig. 4, [0077]) and vertical reinforcing members (88b, Fig. 4, [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply assembly (Stadler: 22, Fig. 10, Fig. 15, [0092]) of modified Koo to use the reinforcing portion (Jang: 88, Fig. 4, [0075]) structure (Jang: 88a, 88b, Fig. 4, [0077]) of Jang to improve the durability of the housing (Stadler: 42, Fig. 11, [0094]) and prevent the housing from being thermally deformed by the temperature of air flowing through the housing (Jang: [0076]).
Regarding claim 12, further modified Koo teaches the reinforcing ribs comprise
multiple transverse ribs (Jang: 88a, Fig. 4, [0077]) and multiple longitudinal ribs (Jang: 88b, Fig. 4, [0077]);
the multiple transverse ribs are spaced apart in a direction of the rotational axis of the fan (Jang: 88a, Fig. 4, [0077]),
the multiple longitudinal ribs are spaced apart in a circumferential direction of the flow guide member (Jang: 88b, Fig. 4, [0077]), and
the transverse ribs and the longitudinal ribs intersect on the outer wall of the flow guide member (Jang: 88a and 88b, Fig. 4, [0077]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Koo teaches an air conditioner outdoor unit (Koo: 20, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0023], [0025]), comprising:
a first housing (Koo: See annotated Fig. 1 below), which is provided with
a first air outlet (Koo: 210a, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0025]) and a first air inlet (Koo: See annotated Fig. 2 below, [0025], 220 is vertically opened and guides discharge air to 210a; therefore, air flows from bottom of 220 to top of 220; first air inlet is portion of first housing where air can enter from below 220, or Stadler: 42),
the first air outlet being provided at the top of the housing (Koo: 210a, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0023], [0025]); and
the air supply assembly (Stadler: 22, Fig. 10, Fig. 15, [0092]) according to claim 1,
the air supply assembly being provided inside the first housing (Koo: See annotated Fig. 2 below for first housing, Stadler: 22, Fig. 11, replaces Koo: 25 and 220 combined, Fig. 2, [0025]) and having a rotational axis (Stadler: 11, Fig. 2, [0055], [0140]), and
the air supply assembly having an air outlet (Koo: 220, [0025], or Stadler: 42, opened top surface) that is arranged opposite to the first air outlet ([0025], 220 opened top surface is opposite to 210a) such that airflow discharged from the air supply assembly exhibits reduced vortex-induced noise due to the vortex disturbing structure and the preset gap (See MPEP 2115, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” The airflow being worked upon by the vortex disturbing structure and the preset gap does not impart patentability to the claim).
Regarding claim 14, modified Koo teaches the air conditioner outdoor unit further comprises
a heat exchanger assembly (Koo: 24, Fig. 3, [0031]) which is provided below the first housing (Koo: [0028], base pan 240 is the bottom surface of case 60, and 24 is provided on a top surface of the base pan; Koo: [0042], suction holes 772 may be uniformly defined over an entire area at which 24 is provided and may be defined in a lower portion of the side panel 71 except for an upper cover portion 771, at which 220 and 25 may be disposed; heat exchanger assembly is below first housing because 772 is defined over entire area of 24 and is not defined where 220 and 25 combined, or Stadler: 22, are disposed);
the heat exchanger assembly encloses a heat exchange air duct (Koo: See annotated Fig. 3 below, [0032], [0035]), and
the heat exchange air duct (Koo: See annotated Fig. 3 above, [0032], [0035]) is communicated with the first air inlet (See claim 13 rejection for first air inlet and annotated Fig. 2 of claim 13 rejection; Koo: 251, [0026], fan motor assembly 25 may include a blower fan 251; Koo: [0032], outdoor air forcibly passing through 24 via 251; therefore, the heat exchange air duct is communicated with the first air inlet because both the heat exchange air duct and the first air inlet is between 24 and 251).
Regarding claim 15, modified Koo teaches the air conditioner outdoor unit further comprises:
a second housing (Koo: See annotated Fig. 2 below), the heat exchanger assembly being provided inside the second housing (Koo: See annotated Fig. 2 below, [0042], suction defined over area at which 24 is provided; therefore, 24 is in the second housing shown in annotated Fig. 2) and arranged along at least a side circumferential wall of the second housing (Koo: 24, Fig. 3, [0034]) and
an opening the being provided at the corner of the second housing (Koo: Fig. 2, [0048], opening is front left side of case 60 where service panel 75 is shown); and
an electric control box assembly (Koo: 57 and 75 combined, Fig. 3, [0047], [0048]), being mounted at the opening (Koo: [0036], [0047]),
the electric control box assembly encloses the heat exchange air duct together with the heat exchanger assembly (Koo: See annotated Fig. 3 for claim 14 rejection above).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo (US 2016/0187006), and Stadler (US 2016/265556) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhan (US 2022/0252282).
Regarding claim 16, modified Koo teaches the air conditioner outdoor unit further comprises:
a mesh cover (Koo: 210, Fig. 2, [0024]), which is arranged at the first air outlet (Koo: 210, Fig. 2, [0025]) of the first housing (Koo: See annotated Fig. 2 of claim 13 rejection for first housing, [0025]), and which has a grille structure (Koo: 211, Fig. 2, [0024]) that is arranged opposite to the fan (Koo: 211 opposite of Koo: 25 and 220, with 25 and 220 replaced by Stadler: 22, Fig. 2);
Koo does not teach the air supply assembly further comprises a driving assembly, which is connected to the grille structure,
a driving shaft of the driving assembly being connected to the fan; wherein the vortex disturbing structure is located downstream of the grille structure in an airflow direction.
However, Zhan teaches the air supply assembly further comprises a driving assembly (120 and output shaft of 120, Fig. 9), which is connected to the grille structure (Fig. 9, 120 is shown attached to 900),
a driving shaft (output shaft of 120, Fig. 9, [0135]) of the driving assembly being connected to the fan (output shaft is connected to 300, Fig. 9);
wherein the vortex disturbing structure is located downstream of the grille structure in an airflow direction (See MPEP 2115, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” The airflow direction being worked upon by the air supply assembly does not impart patentability to the claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply assembly (Stadler: 22) of modified Koo to replace the air supply assembly (Stadler: 22, Fig. 10, Fig. 15, “fan,” which replaced Koo: 25 and 220 combined) with the wind guide ring (Zhan: 400) and two-stage fan blade ([0136]), having components (Zhan: 110, 120, 200, 300, 310, 320, Fig. 9 to Fig. 14) with their arrangements and connections. This modification is obvious because the two-stage fan blade provides enhanced motor performance (Zhan: [0137]), increased service life (Zhan: [0137]), reduced high strength requirement of the fan blade structure at high rotational speed (Zhan: [0137]), supercharged airflow greatly enhancing the exhaust ability (Zhan: [0137]), and reduced machine body vibration and noise, thereby improving user experience (Zhan: [0138]).
However, the fan (Stadler: 20, Fig. 15, “impeller”) structure of Stadler would be used instead of the first-stage fan blade (Zhan: 200) and the second-stage fan blade (Zhan: 300) because Stadler teaches the fan (Stadler: 20, “impeller”) has advantages of reducing noise, such as air guidance element to reduce the tip leakage vortex (Stadler: 70, [0113], “movement of an airflow formed on the fan blade in a radial direction” defined by the gap between the outer edge and inner wall when the fan of Stadler is used) and noise generated by the fan (Stadler: [0095]) and serration on the trailing edges to reduce the vortices that generate noise when they strike the fan webs (Stadler: [0083]).
Regarding claim 17, further modified Koo teaches the first housing comprises
a first side wall portion (Koo: 210 and 220 combined, with 220 replaced with Zhan: 400, Fig. 9, [0146], [0151]) arranged around the rotational axis (Zhan: Fig. 9, [0143], [0147]), which
is configured to be the inner wall of the flow guide channel with upper and lower openings along the rotational axis (Zhan: [0147], [0151]; Koo: [0025]);
the upper opening of the first side wall portion is configured as the air outlet (Zhan: [0151]; Koo: [0025]); and
the lower opening of the first side wall portion is configured to receive air (See MPEP 2114(II), "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does" and "A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim." In the instant case, the claimed invention is for a lower opening of the first side wall portion with a particular structure and function and using said lower opening to receive air after heat exchange with the heat exchanger assembly is only an intended use of that lower opening); and
the mesh cover is installed at the upper opening of the first side wall portion (Koo: Fig. 2, 210 is installed at upper opening of 210 and 220 combined, with 220 replaced by Zhan: 400),
a lower side of the mesh cover faces the flow guide channel defined by the first side wall portion (Koo: Fig. 2, lower side of mesh faces 220, with 220 replaced by Zhan: 400), and
the fan is installed on the lower side of the mesh cover (Zhan: Fig. 9, 300 and 120 combined, with 300 replaced by Stadler: 20, Fig. 15, is shown connected to 120, which is installed on lower side of 900), such that airflow passing through the mesh cover enters the flow guide channel and is constrained by the straight cylinder-shaped part in which the vortex disturbing structure is disposed (See MPEP 2115, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” The airflow being worked upon by the mesh, flow guide channel, and straight cylinder-shaped part does not impart patentability to the claim),
wherein the first side wall portion comprises multiple support portions (Zhan: See annotated Fig. 14 below),
which are arranged at the upper opening of the first side wall portion (Zhan: See annotated Fig. 14 below), and
which are configured to jointly support the mesh cover (Zhan: See annotated Fig. 14 below, support portions support the mesh cover through 120); and
the multiple support portions are located at a same first plane (Zhan: See annotated Fig. 14 below), which is perpendicular to the rotational axis (Zhan: See annotated Fig. 14 below, plane between support portions are parallel to top of 120, which is perpendicular to the rotational axis);
the first plane is lower than an upper edge of the first side wall portion to form a concave space (Koo: See annotated Fig. 2 below, concave space is vertically between support portions shown in Zhan: annotated Fig. 14 above and the upper edge shown in Koo: annotated Fig. 2 below), and
the grille structure is accommodated in the concave space (Koo: 211 is above support portions shown in Zhan: annotated Fig. 14 above and the upper edge shown in Koo: annotated Fig. 2 below) and fixedly installed on the multiple support portions (Zhan: See annotated Fig. 14 above, support portions are fixedly installed to 320; Zhan: [0169], 320 is integral to 900; 900 is above support portions in Fig. 9), and
wherein an inner wall of the flow guide member encloses the flow guide channel with upper (Koo: 220 opened top surface, Fig. 2, [0025], with 220 replaced by Zhan: 400) and lower openings (Koo: 220, with 220 replaced by Zhan: 400; Koo: [0032], outdoor air heat exchanged with the refrigerant while forcibly passing through the outdoor heat exchanger 24 via the blower fan 251, with 251 replaced by Stadler: 20; Koo: [0026], fan motor assembly 25 include the blower fan 251 and forcibly discharge air; 220 has a lower opening because 251 forces air to pass through 24 below), and
an edge of the upper opening of the flow guide member is formed with multiple upper installation portions (320, Fig. 14); and
the first side wall portion comprises multiple support portions (Zhan: See annotated Fig. 14 above), which are arranged at the upper opening of the first side wall portion (Zhan: See annotated Fig. 14 above);
lower sides of the multiple support portions are correspondingly fixed to the multiple upper installation portions respectively (Zhan: See annotated Fig. 14 above), and
upper sides of the multiple support portions are configured to jointly support the mesh cover (Zhan: See annotated Fig. 14 below, support portions support the mesh cover through 120).
Regarding claim 18, Koo (modified by Stadler and Zhan) teaches the second housing comprises
a second side wall portion arranged around the rotational axis (Koo: See annotated Fig. 2 below),
which is configured in a cannular configuration with upper and lower openings along the rotational axis (Koo: See annotated Fig. 2 below);
a bottom wall is installed at the lower opening of the second side wall portion (Koo: 240, Fig. 2, [0028]), and the bottom wall supports the heat exchanger assembly (Koo: 24 provided on top of 240, [0028]);
the upper opening of the second side wall portion corresponds to the lower opening of the first side wall portion (Koo: See annotated Fig. 2 below, second side wall portion is below first side wall portion; therefore, upper opening of the second side wall portion is below the lower opening of the first side wall portion),
wherein the second side wall portion has a ventilation side wall (Koo: 71, 72, and 77 combined, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0041], [0046]; [0043], 71 has 711 and 712),
which surrounds an outer side of the heat exchanger assembly (Koo: Fig. 3, 711, 712, 72, and 77 surrounds 24) and
which has multiple ventilation holes (Koo: 772, [0042]) corresponding to the heat exchanger assembly (Koo: [0042], 772 is defined over the entire area at which 24 is provided);
the air supply assembly drives external air to pass through the multiple ventilation holes and exchange heat with the heat exchanger assembly (Koo: [0032], outdoor air heat exchanged with the refrigerant while forcibly passing through the outdoor heat exchanger 24 via the blower fan 251, with 251 replaced by Stadler: 20; Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0042], suction holes 772 provided to allow air suctioned from a lateral direction to pass through the outdoor heat exchanger, Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 shows 711 and 712 outside of 24 and having 772; therefore, external air would pass through 772 before passing through 24 when air is driven by the fan), and
the air after heat exchange enters the air supply assembly and flows out from the air outlet (See MPEP 2115, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” The air flow being worked upon by the air supply assembly does not impart patentability to the claim), and
wherein the air conditioner outdoor unit further comprises the electric control box assembly (Koo: 57 and 75 combined, Fig. 3, [0047], [0048]), which comprises
a partition (Koo: 57, Fig. 4, [0055], 57 includes 61),
a circuit board (Koo: 62, Fig. 8, [0106], 62 shown installed on 64, which is part of 61) installed on the partition, and
a cover (Koo: 75, Fig. 2, [0047]) connected to the partition (Koo: [0114]) and covering the circuit board (Koo: [0048]); and
the ventilation side wall has a rectangular shape (Koo: 71, 72, and 77, Fig. 3) and forms an opening at the corner (Koo: Fig. 3, opening where 75 is);
the partition covers the opening of the ventilation side wall (Koo: Fig. 3, 75 covers opening), and
the cover and the ventilation side wall are configured into a complete rectangular shape (Koo: Fig. 3, 75 together with 71, 72, and 77 make a complete rectangular shape).
Regarding claim 19, modified Koo does not teach a housing wall of the first housing
is recessed toward the internal cylindrical space to form multiple groove portions,
each of the groove portions having a groove bottom wall along the recessed direction,
a first groove wall connected to a lower side of the groove bottom wall, and
a second groove wall connected to an upper side of the groove bottom wall; and
the first housing is installed onto the second housing from top to bottom, and
an upper end of the second housing is inserted into the lower opening of the first housing and
is configured as a bearing surface to bear the first groove walls of the multiple groove portions,
wherein a lower edge of the first housing is provided with multiple first fixing holes,
the upper end of the second housing is provided with multiple second fixing holes, and
the multiple first fixing holes are respectively fixed to the multiple second fixing holes in a one-to-one correspondence, and
wherein an inner wall of the flow guide member encloses the flow guide channel with upper and lower openings, and
an outer side of the flow guide member is provided with multiple side installation portions;
the groove bottom wall of each of the groove portions is correspondingly provided with at least one installation hole, and
the multiple side installation portions are respectively fixed to the multiple installation holes in a one-to-one correspondence.
However, modified Koo teaches the top and bottom of case (Koo: 60, see annotated Fig. 1 below) is one integral component to define an outer appearance of the outdoor device (20, [0023]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define an outer appearance of the outdoor device by having the top and bottom defined as one integral piece or as separate components joined together by fixing. Because either option would not have modified the function of the case, this modification would have been a design choice. (See reLarson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965))
Regarding claim 20, Koo teaches an air conditioner, which comprises
the air conditioner outdoor unit according to claim 14 and an indoor unit ([0022]), and
the indoor unit and the air conditioner outdoor unit are communicated through a gas pipe ([0031], pipe connecting 29 and indoor heat exchanger) and a liquid pipe (Koo: 30, [0022], [0039]) to form a refrigerant circulation system; and
the air conditioner outdoor unit comprises
a compressor (21, Fig. 3, [0029]), the heat exchanger assembly (24, Fig. 3, [0031]), and a gas-liquid separator (29, Fig. 3, [0031]);
one end of the heat exchanger assembly is connected to an exhaust port of the compressor ([0031], one end of 24 is connected to 23, which connects to 21, and 21 supplies discharged refrigerant to 24), and
the other end of the heat exchanger assembly is connected to the liquid pipe ([0022], [0039], 24 is connected to 30, and 30 is connected to the indoor device to supply refrigerant that is heat-exchanged with external air into the indoor device; if the air conditioner in a cooling mode, 24 would act as a condenser and supply liquid refrigerant to the indoor heat exchanger);
one end of the gas-liquid separator is connected to an air return port of the compressor ([0031], 29 is connected to 23 and the indoor heat exchanger; 29 supplies gas refrigerant to 21), and
the other end of the gas-liquid separator is connected to the gas pipe ([0031], 29 is connected to 23 and the indoor heat exchanger; 29 also separates introduced liquid refrigerant and the gaseous refrigerant and receives them from the indoor heat exchanger because they are connected and because one end of 29 supplies gas refrigerant to 21); wherein operation of the air supply assembly reduces airflow noise generated at blade passing frequency (See MPEP 2115, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” The airflow noise being worked upon by the air supply assembly does not impart patentability to the claim), by controlling vortex development within the flow guide channel (See MPEP 2114(II), "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does" and "A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim." In the instant case, the claimed invention is for a flow guide channel with a particular structure and function and using said flow guide channel to control vortex development is only an intended use of that flow guide channel).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763