DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Ouedraogo and Lee does not explicitly teach “wherein each of the M sub-slices is configured entirely within the first column of tiles.”
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Ouedraogo teaches FIG. 7 illustrates an example of the subpicture and the slice partitioning using the signalling of the embodiment/variant/further variant described above. In this example, the picture 700 is divided into 9 subpictures labelled (1) to (9) and a 4×5 tile grid (tile boundaries shown in thick solid lines). The slice partitioning (an area included in each slice is shown in thin solid line which is just inside the slice boundary) is the following for each subpicture: Subpicture (1): 3 slices which contain respectively 1 tile, 2 tiles and 3 tiles. The heights of the slices are equal to 1 tile and their widths are respectively 1, 2 and 3 in tile units (i.e. the 3 slices consisting of a row of tiles arranged in the horizontal direction). Subpicture (2): 2 slices of equal size, the size being 1 tile in width and 1 tile in height (i.e. each of the 2 slices consists of a single tile). Subpictures (3) to (6): 1 “tile-fraction” slice, i.e. a slice consisting of a single partial tile. Subpictures (7): 2 slices with sizes of columns of 2 tiles (i.e. each of the 2 slices consists of a column of 2 tiles arranged in the vertical direction). Subpictures (8): 1 slice of a row of 3 tiles. Subpictures (9): 2 slices having the size of a row of 1 tile and a row of 2 tiles For Subpicture (1), the width and height of the two first slices are coded while the size of the last slice is inferred. For Subpicture (2), the width and height of the two first slices are inferred since there are two slices for two tiles in the subpicture. For Subpicture (3) to (6), the number of slices in each subpicture is equal to 1 and the width and height of the slices are inferred to be equal to the subpicture size since each subpicture is a fraction of a tile. For subpicture (7), the width and height of the first slice and the width and height of last slice are inferred from the subpicture size. For subpicture (8), the width and height of the slice are inferred to be equal to the subpicture size since there is a single slice in the subpicture. For subpicture (9), the height of the slices is inferred to be equal to 1 (since the subpicture height in tile is equal to 1) and the width of the first slice is coded while the width of the last slice is equal to the width of the subpicture minus the width of the first slice. [0194] – [0206] and Fig. 7.
The FIG. 8 illustrates an example of the subpicture and the slice partitioning using the signalling of the embodiment/variant/further described above. In this example, the picture 800 is divided into 6 subpictures labelled (1) to (6) and a 4×5 tile grid (tile boundaries shown in thick solid lines). The slice partitioning (an area included in each slice is shown in thin solid line which is just inside the slice boundary) is the following for each subpicture: Subpicture (1): 3 slices with sizes of rows of 1 tile, 2 tiles and 3 tiles (i.e. the 3 slices consisting of a row of tiles arranged in the horizontal direction). Subpicture (2): 2 slices of equal size, the size being 1 tile (i.e. each of the 2 slices consists of a single tile). Subpictures (3): 4 “tile-fraction” slices, i.e. 4 slices each consisting of a single partial tile. Subpictures (4): 2 slices with sizes of columns of 2 tiles (i.e. each of the 2 slices consists of a column of 2 tiles arranged in the vertical direction). Subpictures (5): 1 slice of a row of 3 tiles. Subpictures (6): 2 slices having the size of a row of 1 tile and a row of 2 tiles. For Subpicture (3), the number of slices in the subpicture is equal to 4 and the subpicture contains only two tiles. The width of the slices is inferred to be equal to the subpicture width and the height of the slices are specified in CTU units. For Subpictures (1), (2), (4), and (5), the number of slices is lower than the tiles in the subpictures and thus the width and height are specified in tiles unit wherever necessary, i.e. where they cannot be inferred/derived/determined from other information. For subpicture (1), the width and height of the two first slices are coded while the size of the last slice is inferred. For Subpicture (2), the width and height of the two first slices are inferred since there are 2 slices for 2 tiles in the subpicture. For subpicture (4), the width and height of the first slices and the size of last slice are inferred from the subpicture size. For subpicture (5), the width and height are inferred to be equal to the subpicture size since there is a single slice in the subpicture. For subpicture (5), the height of the slices is inferred to be equal to 1 (since subpicture height in tile units is equal to 1) and the width of the first slice is coded while the width of the last slice is inferred to be equal to the width of the subpicture minus the size of the first slice. [0226] – [0239] and Fig. 8.
Subpicture (2) in Fig. 7 and 8 are considered to be the first column. Subpicture (2) contains two tiles and it is partitioned into two slices. Subpicture (3) in Fig. 8 also can be considered to be the first column as well. Subpicture (3) in Fig. 8 has two tiles and it is partitioned into four slices. Thus, each of the sub-slices Subpicture (2) in Fig. 7 and Subpicture (2) and Subpicture (3) are entirely configured within the first column of tiles (or within one of the Q column of tiles in claim 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouedraogo et al. (US 2023/0060709 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0341668 A1).
Consider claim 1, Ouedraogo teaches a method of decoding a picture frame from a bitstream, the method comprising: grouping N tiles of the picture frame into P sub-pictures (FIG. 7 illustrates an example of the subpicture and the slice partitioning using the signalling of the embodiment/variant/further variant described above. In this example, the picture 700 is divided into 9 subpictures labelled (1) to (9) and a 4×5 tile grid (tile boundaries shown in thick solid lines). The slice partitioning (an area included in each slice is shown in thin solid line which is just inside the slice boundary) is the following for each subpicture: Subpicture (1): 3 slices which contain respectively 1 tile, 2 tiles and 3 tiles. The heights of the slices are equal to 1 tile and their widths are respectively 1, 2 and 3 in tile units (i.e. the 3 slices consisting of a row of tiles arranged in the horizontal direction). Subpicture (2): 2 slices of equal size, the size being 1 tile in width and 1 tile in height (i.e. each of the 2 slices consists of a single tile). Subpictures (3) to (6): 1 “tile-fraction” slice, i.e. a slice consisting of a single partial tile. Subpictures (7): 2 slices with sizes of columns of 2 tiles (i.e. each of the 2 slices consists of a column of 2 tiles arranged in the vertical direction). Subpictures (8): 1 slice of a row of 3 tiles. Subpictures (9): 2 slices having the size of a row of 1 tile and a row of 2 tiles. [0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8), the P sub-pictures being non-overlapping with each other (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 show that the sub-pictures are non-overlapping with each other. [0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8), a first sub-picture of the P sub-pictures comprising Q columns of tiles, N being an integer exceeding 1, P, Q being positive integers (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 show a first sub-picture of the plurality of sub-pictures comprising columns of tiles. [0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8); partitioning a first column of tiles of the Q columns of tiles into M sub-slices, the M sub-slices being non-overlapping with each other, M being an integer exceeding 1, wherein each of the M sub-slices is configured entirely within the first column of tiles (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 show that a first column of tiles is partitioned into a plurality of slices (sub-slices). [0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8. Subpicture (2) in Fig. 7 and 8 are considered to be the first column. Subpicture (2) contains two tiles and it is partitioned into two slices. Subpicture (3) in Fig. 8 also can be considered to be the first column as well. Subpicture (3) in Fig. 8 has two tiles and it is partitioned into four slices. Thus, each of the sub-slices in Subpicture (2) in Fig. 7 and Subpicture (2) and Subpicture (3) are entirely configured within the first column of tiles); obtaining first tile information from a memory prior to decoding a current sub-slice of the M sub-slices (FIG. 5 illustrates the general decoding process of a slice according to an embodiment of the invention. For each VCL NAL unit, the decoder determines the PPS and the SPS that applies to the current slice. Typically, it determines the identifiers of the PPS and the SPS in use for the current picture. For example, the Picture Header of the slice signals the identifier of the PPS in use. The PPS associated with this PPS identifier then also refers to a SPS using another identifier (an identifier for a SPS). In a step 501 the decoder determines subpicture partition, e.g. determines the size of the subpictures of the picture/frame, typically its width and height by parsing the parameter sets that describes/indicates the subpicture layout. For VVC7 and the embodiments conforming to this part of VVC7, the parameter set including information for determining this subpicture partition is the SPS. In a second step 502, the decoder parses syntax elements of one parameter set NAL unit (or non VCL NAL unit) related to the partitioning of the Picture into tiles. For example, for a VVC7 conforming stream, tile partitioning signalling is in the PPS NAL unit. During this determination step, the decoder initialises a set of variables which describe/define the characteristics of the tiles present in each subpicture. For example, it may determine the following information for the i-th subpicture (see step 601 of FIG. 6): A flag that indicates if the subpicture contains a fraction of a tile, i.e. a partial tile (see step 603 of FIG. 6). An integer value that indicates the number of tiles in the subpicture (step 602 of FIG. 6). An integer value specifying the width of the subpicture in tiles units (step 604 of FIG. 6). An integer value specifying the height of the subpicture in tiles units (step 604 of FIG. 6). The list of the tile index present in the subpicture in a raster scan order (step 605 of FIG. 6). This FIG. 6 illustrates signalling of a slice partitioning according to an embodiment of the invention, which involves determination steps which can be used in both the encoding and decoding processes. In a step 503, the decoder relies on the signalling of the slice partition (in one non-VCL NAL unit, e.g. typically in the PPS for VVC7) and the previously determined information to infer (i.e. derive or determine) the slice partitioning for each subpicture. In particular, the decoder may infer (i.e. derive or determine) the number of slices, width and height of one or more of the slices. The decoder may also obtain information present in the slice header to determine the decoding location of the CTB present in the slice data. In a final step 504, the decoder decodes the slices of the subpictures forming the picture at the location determined in step 503. [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]); a first processor decoding the current sub-slice of the M sub-slices according to the first tile information (the decoder decodes the slices of the subpictures forming the picture at the location determined in step 503. [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
However, Ouedraogo does not explicitly teach storing second tile information in +the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice of the M sub-slices.
Lee teaches storing second tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice of the M sub-slices (According to the entropy encoding/decoding methods of FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, and 2B, when a dependent slice segment may be used in a current picture, after entropy encoding (decoding) of a last LCU of each slice segment is completed, a context variable may be stored. Accordingly, even when a previous slice segment is an independent slice segment, an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment may be obtained from a context variable of a last LCU of an independent slice segment that is previously encoded. [0154]; [0100], [0136], [0192], [0239], [0258]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of storing tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice because such incorporation would allow obtaining an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment. [0154].
Consider claim 2, Lee teaches searching N tile entry points of the N tiles from the bitstream (The video entropy decoding apparatus 20 may determine a position of each of the entry points by using an offset that is a number that is greater by 1 than a number indicated by fourth information about an offset according to each entry point that is obtained from the slice segment header of the bitstream. Accordingly, since the video entropy decoding apparatus 20 may accurately determine an entry point for each subset such as a column of slice segments, titles, or LCUs, an entropy synchronization point at which a context variable of a nearby LCU is to be obtained may be accurately determined. [0140] – [0141]), each of the N tiles comprising a plurality of largest coding units (LCUs) ([0143] – [0147]; [0157] – [0163]; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of storing tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice because such incorporation would allow obtaining an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment. [0154].
Consider claim 3, Ouedraogo teaches each of the P sub-pictures comprises tiles arranged in a rectangle (FIG. 7 illustrates an example of the subpicture and the slice partitioning using the signalling of the embodiment/variant/further variant described above. In this example, the picture 700 is divided into 9 subpictures labelled (1) to (9) and a 4×5 tile grid (tile boundaries shown in thick solid lines). The slice partitioning (an area included in each slice is shown in thin solid line which is just inside the slice boundary) is the following for each subpicture: Subpicture (1): 3 slices which contain respectively 1 tile, 2 tiles and 3 tiles. The heights of the slices are equal to 1 tile and their widths are respectively 1, 2 and 3 in tile units (i.e. the 3 slices consisting of a row of tiles arranged in the horizontal direction). Subpicture (2): 2 slices of equal size, the size being 1 tile in width and 1 tile in height (i.e. each of the 2 slices consists of a single tile). Subpictures (3) to (6): 1 “tile-fraction” slice, i.e. a slice consisting of a single partial tile. Subpictures (7): 2 slices with sizes of columns of 2 tiles (i.e. each of the 2 slices consists of a column of 2 tiles arranged in the vertical direction). Subpictures (8): 1 slice of a row of 3 tiles. Subpictures (9): 2 slices having the size of a row of 1 tile and a row of 2 tiles. [0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8).
Consider claim 5, Ouedraogo teaches each of the M sub-slices comprises largest coding units (LCUs) arranged in a rectangle ([0070] – [0075]; [0138] – [0139]; [0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8).
Consider claim 6, Lee teaches the rectangle has a height equal to a height of an LCU ([0157] – [0168]; Fig. 3 – Fig 4), and a width equal to a width of the first column of tiles of the Q columns of tiles ([0157] – [0168]; Fig. 3 – Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of storing tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice because such incorporation would allow obtaining an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment. [0154].
Consider claim 7, Lee teaches a sub-slice of the M sub-slices comprises LCUs arranged in a non-rectangular shape ([0157] – [0168]; Fig. 3 – Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of storing tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice because such incorporation would allow obtaining an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment. [0154].
Consider claim 9, Ouedraogo teaches a second sub-picture of the P sub-pictures comprises R columns of tiles, R being a positive integer (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 show a first sub-picture of the plurality of sub-pictures comprising columns of tiles. [0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8); and the method further comprises: partitioning a first column of tiles of the R columns of tiles into O sub-slices, the O sub-slices being non-overlapping with each other, O being an integer exceeding 1 (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 show that a first column of tiles is partitioned into a plurality of slices (sub-slices). [0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8); obtaining third tile information from the memory prior to decoding a current sub-slice of the O sub-slices (FIG. 5 illustrates the general decoding process of a slice according to an embodiment of the invention. For each VCL NAL unit, the decoder determines the PPS and the SPS that applies to the current slice. Typically, it determines the identifiers of the PPS and the SPS in use for the current picture. For example, the Picture Header of the slice signals the identifier of the PPS in use. The PPS associated with this PPS identifier then also refers to a SPS using another identifier (an identifier for a SPS). In a step 501 the decoder determines subpicture partition, e.g. determines the size of the subpictures of the picture/frame, typically its width and height by parsing the parameter sets that describes/indicates the subpicture layout. For VVC7 and the embodiments conforming to this part of VVC7, the parameter set including information for determining this subpicture partition is the SPS. In a second step 502, the decoder parses syntax elements of one parameter set NAL unit (or non VCL NAL unit) related to the partitioning of the Picture into tiles. For example, for a VVC7 conforming stream, tile partitioning signalling is in the PPS NAL unit. During this determination step, the decoder initialises a set of variables which describe/define the characteristics of the tiles present in each subpicture. For example, it may determine the following information for the i-th subpicture (see step 601 of FIG. 6): A flag that indicates if the subpicture contains a fraction of a tile, i.e. a partial tile (see step 603 of FIG. 6). An integer value that indicates the number of tiles in the subpicture (step 602 of FIG. 6). An integer value specifying the width of the subpicture in tiles units (step 604 of FIG. 6). An integer value specifying the height of the subpicture in tiles units (step 604 of FIG. 6). The list of the tile index present in the subpicture in a raster scan order (step 605 of FIG. 6). This FIG. 6 illustrates signalling of a slice partitioning according to an embodiment of the invention, which involves determination steps which can be used in both the encoding and decoding processes. In a step 503, the decoder relies on the signalling of the slice partition (in one non-VCL NAL unit, e.g. typically in the PPS for VVC7) and the previously determined information to infer (i.e. derive or determine) the slice partitioning for each subpicture. In particular, the decoder may infer (i.e. derive or determine) the number of slices, width and height of one or more of the slices. The decoder may also obtain information present in the slice header to determine the decoding location of the CTB present in the slice data. In a final step 504, the decoder decodes the slices of the subpictures forming the picture at the location determined in step 503. [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]); a second processor decoding the current sub-slice of the O sub-slices according to the third tile information (the decoder decodes the slices of the subpictures forming the picture at the location determined in step 503. [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Lee teaches storing fourth tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice of the O sub-slices (According to the entropy encoding/decoding methods of FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, and 2B, when a dependent slice segment may be used in a current picture, after entropy encoding (decoding) of a last LCU of each slice segment is completed, a context variable may be stored. Accordingly, even when a previous slice segment is an independent slice segment, an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment may be obtained from a context variable of a last LCU of an independent slice segment that is previously encoded. [0154]; [0100], [0136], [0192], [0239], [0258]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of storing tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice because such incorporation would allow obtaining an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment. [0154].
Consider claim 10, Ouedraogo teaches the M sub-slices contains k sets of Q sub-slices, and each set of Q sub-slices is partitioned in the Q columns, k being a positive integer ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]); and the method further comprises: a processor decoding each set of Q sub-slices from a sub-slice in a first column of tiles to a sub-slice in a Qth column of tiles sequentially ([0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Consider claim 11, Ouedraogo teaches the processor decodes the k sets of Q sub-slices from a set of Q sub-slices in a first row of tiles to a set of Q sub-slices in a last row of tiles sequentially ([0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Consider claim 12, Ouedraogo teaches the M sub-slices further contain r sub-slices in w columns of the Q columns, r>=w, r, w being positive integers ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8).
Consider claim 13, Ouedraogo teaches the processor decoding the r sub-slices after the k sets of Q sub-slices ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Consider claim 14, Ouedraogo teaches one of the M sub-slices occupies parts of two tiles in a same column of tiles ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8).
Consider claim 15, Ouedraogo teaches the first sub-picture comprises I tiles distributed in the Q columns of tiles, I being a positive integer ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]); the I tiles contains J1 sub-slices on an a-th row of the I tiles and J2 sub-slices on an (a+h)-th row of the I tiles, h, a, J1, J2 being positive integers; and the method further comprises: a processor decoding the J1 sub-slices before the J2 sub-slices ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Consider claim 16, Ouedraogo teaches the J1 sub-slices contains k1 sets of Q1 sub-slices, and the J2 sub-slices contains k2 sets of Q2 sub-slices, k1, k2, Q1, Q2 being positive integers less than or equal to Q ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]); and the processor decoding the J1 sub-slices before the J2 sub-slices comprises: the processor decoding each set of Q1 sub-slices from a sub-slice in a first column of tiles in the a-th row to a sub-slice in a Q1th column of tiles in the a-th row sequentially ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]); and the processor decoding each set of Q2 sub-slices from a sub-slice in a first column of tiles in the (a+h)-th row to a sub-slice in a Q2th column of tiles in the (a+h)-th row sequentially ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Consider claim 17, Ouedraogo teaches the J1 sub-slices further contain r1 sub-slices in w1 columns of the Q1 columns, r1>=w1, r1, w1 being integers ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]); and the J2 sub-slices further contain r2 sub-slices in w2 columns of the Q2 columns, r2>=w2, r2, w2 being integers ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Consider claim 18, Ouedraogo teaches the processor decoding the r1 sub-slices after the k1 sets of Q1 sub-slices ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]); and the processor decoding the r2 sub-slices after the k2 sets of Q2 sub-slices ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Consider claim 19, claim 19 recites the decoder that performs the method recited in claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 20, claim 20 recites the decoder that performs the method recited in claim 2. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 21, claim 21 recites the decoder that performs the method recited in claim 3. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 22, claim 22 recites the decoder that performs the method recited in claim 5. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 23, claim 23 recites the decoder that performs the method recited in claim 6. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 24, claim 24 recites the decoder that performs the method recited in claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 25, claim 25 recites the decoder that performs the method recited in claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 26, claim 26 recites the decoder that performs the method recited in claim 9. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 27, Ouedraogo teaches a method of decoding a picture frame from a bitstream, the method comprising: partitioning Q columns of tiles into S sub-slices (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 show that a first column of tiles is partitioned into a plurality of slices (sub-slices). [0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8), the S sub-slices containing k sets of Q sub-slices, each set of Q sub-slices being partitioned from a first column to a Qth column, the S sub-slices being non-overlapping with each other, Q, k being positive integers, S being an integer exceeding 1, wherein each of the S sub-slices is configured entirely within one of the Q column of tiles ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]. Subpicture (2) in Fig. 7 and 8 are considered to be the first column. Subpicture (2) contains two tiles and it is partitioned into two slices. Subpicture (3) in Fig. 8 also can be considered to be the first column as well. Subpicture (3) in Fig. 8 has two tiles and it is partitioned into four slices. Thus, each of the sub-slices in Subpicture (2) in Fig. 7 and Subpicture (2) and Subpicture (3) are entirely configured within one of the Q column of tiles); obtaining first tile information from a memory prior to decoding a current sub-slice of the S sub-slices (FIG. 5 illustrates the general decoding process of a slice according to an embodiment of the invention. For each VCL NAL unit, the decoder determines the PPS and the SPS that applies to the current slice. Typically, it determines the identifiers of the PPS and the SPS in use for the current picture. For example, the Picture Header of the slice signals the identifier of the PPS in use. The PPS associated with this PPS identifier then also refers to a SPS using another identifier (an identifier for a SPS). In a step 501 the decoder determines subpicture partition, e.g. determines the size of the subpictures of the picture/frame, typically its width and height by parsing the parameter sets that describes/indicates the subpicture layout. For VVC7 and the embodiments conforming to this part of VVC7, the parameter set including information for determining this subpicture partition is the SPS. In a second step 502, the decoder parses syntax elements of one parameter set NAL unit (or non VCL NAL unit) related to the partitioning of the Picture into tiles. For example, for a VVC7 conforming stream, tile partitioning signalling is in the PPS NAL unit. During this determination step, the decoder initialises a set of variables which describe/define the characteristics of the tiles present in each subpicture. For example, it may determine the following information for the i-th subpicture (see step 601 of FIG. 6): A flag that indicates if the subpicture contains a fraction of a tile, i.e. a partial tile (see step 603 of FIG. 6). An integer value that indicates the number of tiles in the subpicture (step 602 of FIG. 6). An integer value specifying the width of the subpicture in tiles units (step 604 of FIG. 6). An integer value specifying the height of the subpicture in tiles units (step 604 of FIG. 6). The list of the tile index present in the subpicture in a raster scan order (step 605 of FIG. 6). This FIG. 6 illustrates signalling of a slice partitioning according to an embodiment of the invention, which involves determination steps which can be used in both the encoding and decoding processes. In a step 503, the decoder relies on the signalling of the slice partition (in one non-VCL NAL unit, e.g. typically in the PPS for VVC7) and the previously determined information to infer (i.e. derive or determine) the slice partitioning for each subpicture. In particular, the decoder may infer (i.e. derive or determine) the number of slices, width and height of one or more of the slices. The decoder may also obtain information present in the slice header to determine the decoding location of the CTB present in the slice data. In a final step 504, the decoder decodes the slices of the subpictures forming the picture at the location determined in step 503. [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]); a processor decoding the current sub-slice of the S sub-slices according to the first tile information (the decoder decodes the slices of the subpictures forming the picture at the location determined in step 503. [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Lee teaches storing second tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice of the S sub-slices (According to the entropy encoding/decoding methods of FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, and 2B, when a dependent slice segment may be used in a current picture, after entropy encoding (decoding) of a last LCU of each slice segment is completed, a context variable may be stored. Accordingly, even when a previous slice segment is an independent slice segment, an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment may be obtained from a context variable of a last LCU of an independent slice segment that is previously encoded. [0154]; [0100], [0136], [0192], [0239], [0258]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of storing tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice because such incorporation would allow obtaining an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment. [0154].
Consider claim 28, Ouedraogo teaches the processor decodes each set of Q sub-slices from a sub-slice in a first column of tiles to a sub-slice in a Qth column of tiles sequentially ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Consider claim 29, Ouedraogo teaches the processor decodes the k sets of Q sub-slices from a set of Q sub-slices in a first row of tiles to a set of Q sub-slices in a last row of tiles sequentially ([0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Consider claim 30, Ouedraogo teaches the S sub-slices further contain r sub-slices in w columns of the Q columns, r>=w, r, w being positive integers ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8).
Consider claim 31, Ouedraogo teaches the processor decodes the r sub-slices after the k sets of Q sub-slices ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8; [0126] – [0135]; [0276] – [0279]).
Consider claim 32, Ouedraogo teaches some of the S sub-slices occupy parts of two tiles in a same column of tiles ([0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8).
Consider claim 33, Ouedraogo teaches each of the S sub-slices comprises LCUs arranged in a rectangle ([0070] – [0075]; [0138] – [0139]; [0194] – [0206]; [0226] – [0239]; Fig. 7-8).
Consider claim 34, Lee teaches the rectangle has a height equal to a height of an LCU, and a width equal to a width of a column of tiles ([0157] – [0168]; Fig. 3 – Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of storing tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice because such incorporation would allow obtaining an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment. [0154].
Consider claim 35, Lee teaches a sub-slice of the S sub-slices comprises LCUs arranged in a non-rectangular shape ([0157] – [0168]; Fig. 3 – Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of storing tile information in the memory upon completion of decoding the current sub-slice because such incorporation would allow obtaining an initial variable of a context variable that is necessary for a next dependent slice segment. [0154].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouedraogo et al. (US 2023/0060709 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0341668 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2022/0368899 A1).
Consider claim 4, the combination of Ouedraogo and Lee teaches all the limitations in claim 1 but does not explicitly teach a sub-picture of the P sub-pictures comprises tiles arranged in a non-rectangular shape.
Kim teaches a sub-picture of the P sub-pictures comprises tiles arranged in a non-rectangular shape ([0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of arranging the tiles in a non-rectangular shape because such incorporation would facilitate the implementation of raster-scan slice. [0094].
Claim(s) 8 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouedraogo et al. (US 2023/0060709 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0341668 A1) and Ikai et al. (US 2024/0007635 A1).
Consider claim 8, the combination of Ouedraogo and Lee teaches all the limitations in claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the first tile information comprises a first context, a first offset, a first range for arithmetic decoding, and a first quantity of decoded bits upon completion of decoding a previous sub-slice of the M sub-slices; and the second tile information comprises a second context, a second offset, a second range for arithmetic decoding, and a second quantity of decoded bits upon the completion of decoding the current sub-slice of the M sub-slices.
Ikai teaches the first tile information comprises a first context, a first offset, a first range for arithmetic decoding, and a first quantity of decoded bits upon completion of decoding a previous sub-slice of the M sub-slices ([0127] – [0134], [0263]); and the second tile information comprises a second context, a second offset, a second range for arithmetic decoding, and a second quantity of decoded bits upon the completion of decoding the current sub-slice of the M sub-slices ([0127] – [0134], [0263]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of including a first context, a first offset, a first range, and a first quantity of decoded bits upon completion of decoding a previous sub-slice because such incorporation would achieve an effect of improving the coding efficiency. [0093].
Consider claim 36, Ikai teaches the first tile information comprises a first context, a first offset, a first range for arithmetic decoding, and a first quantity of decoded bits upon completion of decoding a previous sub-slice of the S sub-slices ([0127] – [0134], [0263]); and the second tile information comprises a second context, a second offset, a second range for arithmetic decoding, and a second quantity of decoded bits upon the completion of decoding the current sub-slice of the S sub-slices ([0127] – [0134], [0263]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of including a first context, a first offset, a first range, and a first quantity of decoded bits upon completion of decoding a previous sub-slice because such incorporation would achieve an effect of improving the coding efficiency. [0093].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAT C CHIO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486