DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US patent US 12,133,347 B2 (called ‘347’ hereinafter) in view of Wang (US 2023/0049246 A1 ) (called “Wang” hereinafter)
Pertaining to claim 1, all of the limitations of claim 1 are found in claim 1 of ‘347 except
“wherein the cut-out structure comprises multiple elongated first cut-out holes and multiple elongated second cut-out hole” and
“in both the first direction and the second direction, the multiple first cut-out holes are alternately arranged with the multiple second cut-out holes”
But Wang teaches,
wherein the cut-out structure (110, 210 & 320, Fig. 2) comprises multiple elongated first cut-out holes (3111, Figs. 2-3) and multiple elongated second cut-out holes (3112);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘347 such that the cut-out structure comprises multiple elongated first cut-out holes and multiple elongated second cut-out holes and in both the first direction and the second direction, the multiple first cut-out holes are alternately arranged with the multiple second cut-out holes, according to teaching of Wang, in order to provide more flexibility in the bi-directional bending region of the flexible display module.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of US patent US 12,133,347 B2 in view of Wang (US 2023/0049246 A1)
Pertaining to claim 20, all of the limitations of claim 20 are found in claim 18 of ‘347 except
“wherein the cut-out structure comprises multiple elongated first cut-out holes and multiple elongated second cut-out hole” and
“in both the first direction and the second direction, the multiple first cut-out holes are alternately arranged with the multiple second cut-out holes”
But Wang teaches,
wherein the cut-out structure comprises multiple elongated first cut-out holes (3111, Figs. 2-3) and multiple elongated second cut-out holes (3112);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘347 such that the cut-out structure comprises multiple elongated first cut-out holes and multiple elongated second cut-out holes and in both the first direction and the second direction, the multiple first cut-out holes are alternately arranged with the multiple second cut-out holes, according to teaching of Wang, in order to provide more flexibility in the bi-directional bending region of the flexible display module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claim 1 (in lines 12-16) and claim 20 (in lines 15-19) recites, “the multiple first cut-out holes and the multiple second cut-out holes are arranged such that a length direction of each first cut-out hole is the first direction, and a length direction of each second cut-out hole is the second direction; in both the first direction and the second direction, the multiple first cut-out holes are alternately arranged with the multiple second cut-out holes”. It is not clear if the limitation “first cut-out holes” and “second cut-out holes” as underlined are referring to “elongated first cut-out holes” and “elongated second cut-out holes” as recited in claim 1 in lines 10-11 or different cut-out holes. For examination purpose, examiner is considering the entire limitation as “the multiple elongated first cut-out holes and the multiple elongated second cut-out holes are arranged such that a length direction of each elongated first cut-out hole of the multiple elongated first cut-out holes is the first direction, and a length direction of each elongated second cut-out hole of the multiple elongated second cut-out holes is the second direction; in both the first direction and the second direction, the multiple elongated first cut-out holes are alternately arranged with the multiple elongated second cut-out holes”.
Claims 2-19 are rejected being dependent on claim 1.
Claim 2 in line 3 further recites “…..the multiple first cut-out holes have same first contour, and the multiple second cut-out holes have same second contour”. It is not clear if the limitation “first cut-out holes” and “second cut-out holes” as underlined are referring to “elongated first cut-out holes” and “elongated second cut-out holes” as recited in claim 1 in lines 10-11 or different cut-out holes. For examination purpose, examiner is considering the limitation as “…..the multiple elongated first cut-out holes have same first contour, and the multiple elongated second cut-out holes have same second contour”.
Claims 3-9, 11-12, 14-15 are further rejected being dependent on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2023/0049246 A1) (called “Wang” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches,
A flexible display module, comprising
a first bending region(100, FIG. 1) extending in a first direction (direction X, see para [0032], “the first bending region 100 is provided with the first mesh pattern to enable bending of the support body 10 in the first direction X”),
a second bending region (200, FIG. 1) extending in a second direction (direction Y as marked, see para [0032], “the second bending region 200 is provided with the second mesh pattern to enable bending of the support body 10 in the second direction Y”, Para [0032]), and
at least one bidirectional bending region (“bidirectional bending region 300”, FIG.1, Para [0032]) located at an overlap position between the first bending region and the second bending region(“the bidirectional bending region 300 is located at a position where the first bending region 100 overlaps the second bending region 200”, Para [0032]),
wherein a predetermined included angle is formed between the first direction and the second direction(“The first bending region 100 is provided with the first mesh pattern to enable bending of the support body 10 in the first direction X; the second bending region 200 is provided with the second mesh pattern to enable bending of the support body 10 in the second direction Y”, Para. [0032]; i.e. first bending region 100 and the second bending region 200 form a 90 degree angle between these two bending regions);
wherein the flexible display module comprises a display panel (light emitting surface 21 of the display device , para [0064]) and a support layer (support layer, 10, Fig. 1, provided on the back side of the display device, para [0064]) disposed from a light emitting side of the display panel (see para [0063]-[0064], “ a display device includes a light-emitting surface and a back surface opposite to the light-emitting surface, and the folding displayer support is provided on the back surface of the display device…”,),
the support layer comprises a cut-out structure(110, 210, 320, Figs. 2-3), and the cut-out structure (311) is at least disposed in the bidirectional bending region(300) (FIGS. 1-3);
wherein the cut-out structure comprises multiple elongated first cut-out holes (3111, Figs. 2-3) and multiple elongated second cut-out holes (3112);
the multiple elongated first cut-out holes and the multiple elongated second cut-out holes are arranged such that a length direction of each elongated first cut-out hole of the multiple elongated first cut-out holes is the first direction (see para [0036] “a length extension direction of the first strip-shaped hole 3111 is the first direction X”) , and
a length direction of each elongated second cut-out hole of the multiple elongated second cut-out holes is the second direction (see para [0036] “a length extension direction of the second strip-shaped hole 3112 is the second direction Y”);
in both the first direction and the second direction, the multiple elongated first cut-out holes are alternately arranged with the multiple elongated second cut-out holes (FIG. 3, 3111 & 3112 are alternately arranged in both X and Y direction).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the cut-out structure in the support layer(10, Fig. 2) ; the multiple elongated first cut-out holes (3111) have same first contour, and the multiple elongated second cut-out holes (3112) have same second contour (as seen multiple 31111 having same first contour and multiple 31112 having same second contour) ,
with a shape of the first contour being the same as that of the second contour (as seen both contour of 3111 and contour of 3112 are wavy shape and hence the first contour and the second contour are of same shape ).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 1 and further teaches,
wherein the first contour and the second contour are both biaxially symmetrical (as seen) , the first contour (contour of 3111) has a longer axis of symmetry along the first direction (X) and a shorter axis of symmetry along the second direction (Y);
the second contour (contour of 3112) has a longer axis of symmetry along the second direction (Y) and a shorter axis of symmetry along the first direction (X);
both the first and second contours (contours of 3111 and 3112) protrude outwards at two opposite ends along the longer axis of symmetry (along direction X and Y respectively) and are concave towards the longer axis of symmetry in a middle part (as seen)
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 3 and further teaches (see Fig. 3 as annotated below), and further teaches,
wherein the first and second contours (contour of 3111 & 3112 respectively) both comprise first arc parts as marked) disposed on two opposite ends along the shorter axis of symmetry, and second arc parts (as marked) disposed on the two opposite ends along the longer axis of symmetry;
wherein the first arc part in each contour of the first and second contours is convex in a direction toward a center of the contour (center of 320), and the second arc part is convex in a direction away from the center (see as illustrated in Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 1 and further teaches , wherein a portion of the support layer (320, Fig. 3) formed with the cut-out structure is a mesh structure (mesh line portion 320, Fig. 3, para [0036]) , the mesh structure is composed of multiple wavy strips (wavy strips around 3111, Fig. 3) extending in the first direction (X) and multiple wavy strips (wavy strips around 3112, Fig. 3) extending in the second direction(Y).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 2 and further teaches, wherein a portion of the support layer (320, Fig. 3) formed with the cut-out structure is a mesh structure(mesh line portion 320, Fig. 3, para [0036]), the mesh structure is composed of multiple wavy strips (wavy strips around 3111, Fig. 3) extending in the first direction (X) and multiple wavy strips (wavy strips around 3112, Fig. 3) extending in the second direction.
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 3 and further teaches, wherein a portion of the support layer (320, Fig. 3) formed with the cut-out structure is a mesh structure(mesh line portion 320, Fig. 3, para [0036]), the mesh structure is composed of multiple wavy strips (way strips around 3111, Fig. 3) extending in the first direction (X) and multiple wavy strips (wavy strips around 3112, Fig. 3) extending in the second direction (Y).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 10 and further teaches ,wherein the mesh structure is arranged such that any two adjacent wavy strips (adjacent wavy strips around 3111) extending in the first direction (X) are axially symmetric about an axis parallel to the first direction (X) , and any two adjacent wavy strips (adjacent wavy strips around 3112) extending in the second direction (Y) are axially symmetric about an axis parallel to the second direction (Y).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 11 and further teaches , wherein the mesh structure is arranged such that any two adjacent wavy strips (adjacent wavy strips around 3111) extending in the first direction (X) are axially symmetric about an axis parallel to the first direction (X) , and any two adjacent wavy strips (adjacent wavy strips around 3112) extending in the second direction (Y) are axially symmetric about an axis parallel to the second direction (Y).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 12 and further teaches , wherein the mesh structure is arranged such that any two adjacent wavy strips (adjacent wavy strips around 3111) extending in the first direction (X) are axially symmetric about an axis parallel to the first direction (X) , and any two adjacent wavy strips (adjacent wavy strips around 3112) extending in the second direction (Y) are axially symmetric about an axis parallel to the second direction (Y).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein a material of the support layer is at least one of a manganese steel, a titanium alloy and a magnesium aluminum alloy(“ the support body 10 may be selected from a high Young's modulus metal material having a Young's modulus higher than a predetermined value, such as stainless steel, structural steel, and titanium alloy; metallic materials having a relatively low Young's modulus may also be selected, such as copper and copper alloys, aluminum alloys, and magnesium alloys”, Par. [0061]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches,
A mobile terminal, comprising a main terminal body (display device, Para [0063]-[0065]) and the flexible display module (folding displayer support provided on the back surface of the display device, Para [0063]-[0065]), wherein the main terminal body and the flexible display module are combined into one unit(“the display device and the folding displayer support may be assembled with an adhesive layer”, para [0063]-[0065].
wherein the flexible display module comprises a first bending region (100, FIG. 1) extending in a first direction (direction X, see para [0032], “the first bending region 100 is provided with the first mesh pattern to enable bending of the support body 10 in the first direction X”),
a second bending region (200, FIG. 1) extending in a second direction (direction Y as marked, see para [0032], “the second bending region 200 is provided with the second mesh pattern to enable bending of the support body 10 in the second direction Y”, Para [0032]), and
at least one bidirectional bending region (“bidirectional bending region 300”, FIG.1, Para [0032]) located at an overlap position between the first bending region and the second bending region (“the bidirectional bending region 300 is located at a position where the first bending region 100 overlaps the second bending region 200”, Para [0032]),
wherein a predetermined included angle is formed between the first direction and the second direction (“The first bending region 100 is provided with the first mesh pattern to enable bending of the support body 10 in the first direction X; the second bending region 200 is provided with the second mesh pattern to enable bending of the support body 10 in the second direction Y”, Para. [0032]; i.e. first bending region 100 and the second bending region 200 form a 90 degree angle between these two bending regions);
wherein the flexible display module comprises a display panel (light emitting surface 21 of the display device , para [0064]) and a support layer (support layer, 10, Fig. 1, provided on the back side of the display device, para [0064]) and a support layer (support layer, 10, Fig. 1, provided on the back side of the display device, para [0064]) disposed away from a light emitting side of the display panel, (see para [0063]-[0064], “ a display device includes a light-emitting surface and a back surface opposite to the light-emitting surface, and the folding displayer support is provided on the back surface of the display device…”,)
the support layer comprises a cut-out structure (110, 210, 320, Figs. 2-3), and the cut-out structure (320) is at least disposed in the bidirectional bending region (Figs. 1-3);
wherein the cut-out structure comprises multiple elongated first cut-out holes (3111, Figs. 2-3) and multiple elongated second cut-out holes (3112);
the multiple elongated first cut-out holes and the multiple elongated second cut-out holes are arranged such that a length direction of each first elongated cut-out hole of the multiple elongated first cut-out holes is the first direction (see para [0036] “a length extension direction of the first strip-shaped hole 3111 is the first direction X”), and
a length direction of each elongated second cut-out hole of the multiple elongated second cut-out holes is the second direction; in both the first direction and the second direction, the multiple elongated first cut-out holes are alternately arranged with the multiple elongated second cut-out holes (see para [0036] “a length extension direction of the second strip-shaped hole 3112 is the second direction Y”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Chen et al. (US 20220343809) (called “Chen” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the flexible display module as claimed in claim 4 but not explicitly teach wherein the cut-out hole further comprises a first inclined straight line segment, a second inclined straight line segment and a third arc part, wherein the first inclined straight line segment is connected to the second arc part and the third arc part, and the second inclined straight line segment is connected to the first arc part and the third arc part.
Meanwhile,
Chen teaches a support for a display panel comprising a cut-out hole (201, Figs. 4-5) wherein the cut-out hole further comprises a first inclined straight line segment (“first inclined straight line segment”, annotated fig. 6), a second inclined straight line segment (“second inclined straight line segment”, annotated fig. 6) and a third arc part (“third arc part”, annotated fig. 6), wherein the first inclined straight line segment is connected to the second arc part (“second arc part”, annotated fig. 6) and the third arc part (“third arc part”, annotated fig. 6), and the second inclined straight line segment is connected to a first arc part (“first arc part”, annotated fig. 6) and the third arc part (“third arc part”, annotated fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the display module of Wang to incorporate cut-out hole having a first inclined straight line segment, a second inclined straight line segment and a third arc part, wherein the first inclined straight line segment is connected to the second arc part and the third arc part, and the second inclined straight line segment is connected to the first arc part and the third arc part , according to teaching of Chen, in order to reduce maximum stress during bending, and improve the fatigue resistance performance of the support layer (Para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang & Chen teach the flexible display module according to claim 5 and further teaches, wherein each of the first arc part (“first arc part”, annotated fig. 6), the second arc part (“second arc part”, annotated fig. 6) and the third arc part (“third arc part”, annotated fig. 6) is a continuous arc having a uniform radius (annotated fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Wang & Chen teach the flexible display module as claimed in claim 6 but does not explicitly teach, wherein a ratio of a radius of the first arc part, a radius of the second arc part and a radius of the third arc part is M: N: Q, where M ranges from 0.5 mm to 6 mm, N ranges from 0.2 mm to 0.6 mm, and Q ranges from 0.2 mm to 0.6 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a ratio of a radius of the first arc part, a radius of the second arc part and a radius of the third arc part is M: N: Q, where M ranges from 0.5 mm to 6 mm, N ranges from 0.2 mm to 0.6 mm, and Q ranges from 0.2 mm to 0.6 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8, Wang & Chen teach the flexible display module according to claim 5 and further teaches, in any adjacent first and second cut-out holes, the first arc part of the contour of one of the first and second contours corresponds to the second arc part of the contour of the other one of the first and second contours(the first arc part of one of the cut-out holes 3111 corresponds to the second arc part of the adjacent cut-out hole 3111, Wang, figs 1-3 or the first arc part of one of the cut-out holes 201 corresponds to the second arc part of the adjacent cut-out hole 201, fig. 5, Chen), wherein an included angle between the second inclined straight line segments on two sides of the first arc part is equal to an included angle between the first inclined straight line segments on two sides of the second arc part (holes 201 are similar in shape are arranged parallel to each other, so if we draw an angle between the two second inclined straight line segments on two sides of the first arc part and an another angle between the first inclined straight line segments on two sides of the second arc part, they will be approximately same, fig. 5 and annotated fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 9, Wang & Chen teach the flexible display module according to claim 8 but does not explicitly teach wherein the included angle between the first inclined straight line segments on the two sides of the second arc part ranges from 1100 to 1500, and the included angle between the second inclined straight line segments on the two sides of the first arc part ranges from 1100 to 1500.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the range of the angle between the first inclined straight line segments on the two sides of the second arc part and the angle both to be in the range of 1100 to 1500, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jung et al. (US 20220103672; “Jung” hereinafter).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. and further in view of Wang et al (US 2023/0152864 A1) (called “Wang’864” hereinafter)
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches the flexible display module of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach , wherein a depth of the cut-out structure is smaller than a thickness of the support layer.
But Wang’864 teaches,
a depth of the cut-out structure (100, Fig. 1) is smaller than a thickness of the support layer (including region A1, A2, A3 & A4, para [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang’s support layer 10 such that a depth of the cut-out structure (320/100) is smaller than a thickness of the support layer (10/(A1, A2, A3 & A4)), according to teaching of Wang’864, in order to provide a fan-out region A2, a bonding circuit region A3 along with a bezel bending region A4 in the support layer (wang2, para [0030]), as taught by Wang’864.
Regarding claim 17, Wang & Wang’864 teach the flexible display module of claim 16 and further teaches , wherein the cut-out structure comprises a first cut-out structure (upper portion of 100, wang’864, Fig. 4) disposed on one side of the support layer near the display panel (10), and a second cut-out structure (lower portion of 100, Fig. 4) disposed on one side of the support layer away from the display panel (10).
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and further in view of Jung et al. (US 20220103672) (called “Jung” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches the flexible display device as claimed in claim 1 but does not explicitly teach, wherein the flexible display module further comprises a back panel and a heat dissipating film layer disposed between the display panel and the support layer, and a polarizer, a flexible substrate and a flexible cover plate disposed on one side of the display panel away from the support layer.
Jung teaches a flexible display (400) comprising a back panel (440) and a heat dissipating film layer (450) disposed between a display panel (430) and the support layer (470), and a polarizer (420), a flexible substrate (substrate of the display panel 430) and a cover plate (410) disposed on one side of the display panel (420) away from the support layer (470 (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s flexible display module to incorporate a back panel and a heat dissipating film layer disposed between the display panel and the support layer, and a polarizer, a substrate and a cover plate disposed on one side of the display panel away from the support layer as taught by Jung, in order to help reinforce rigidity, shield ambient noise and dissipate heat (para [0066]) as well as improve bending characteristics (para [00062]), as taught by Jung.
Conclusion
/K.A.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818