DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a separately filed document (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 September 2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is hereby considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the Abstract, line 1, “The present invention provides a” should be changed to --A-- (note: the language of the Abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "This disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "This disclosure describes," etc - see MPEP 608.01(b)).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
There are no limitations deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the term “large” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite since it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests changing “large number” to --plurality--. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 2-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuwahara et al. (US 12,318,666 - hereafter referred to a Kuwahara; foreign priority date of 30 November 2022).
The applied reference has a common assignee / applicant / joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In reference to claim 1 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Kuwahara discloses:
A multi-piece solid golf ball comprising a core (1), a surrounding layer (i.e., a radially inner layer of the plurality of layers forming intermediate layer 2 - see col.1:ll.64-66), an intermediate layer (i.e., a radially outer layer of the plurality of layers forming intermediate layer 2 - see col.1:ll.64-66), and a cover (3), wherein a large number of dimples (D)(note: large number is a relative term that is not defined by the disclosure) are formed on an outside surface of the cover, the core is formed of a single layer or a plurality of layers of a rubber composition (see col.6:ll.6-7), the surrounding layer is formed of a single layer or a plurality of layers of a resin composition (see col.4:ll.55-56), the intermediate layer and the cover are both formed of a single layer of a resin composition (see col.17:ll.18-19 and col.4:ll.55-56), and
a relationship between an initial velocity of an intermediate layer-encased sphere and an initial velocity of the ball satisfies the following condition (see values in Table 8):
(initial velocity of ball) < (initial velocity of intermediate layer-encased sphere), and
where a deflection when the ball is compressed under a final load of 1,275 N (130 kgf) from an initial load of 98 N (10 kgf) is not more than 3.0 mm (see col.2:ll.43-47),
a ratio CL1/CD1 of a lift coefficient CL1 at a Reynolds number of 218,000 and a spin rate of 2,800 rpm to a drag coefficient CD1 is denoted by A1, a ratio CL2/CD2 of a lift coefficient CL2 at a Reynolds number of 184,000 and a spin rate of 2,900 rpm to a drag coefficient CD2 is denoted by A2, and a ratio CL3/CD3 of a lift coefficient CL3 at a Reynolds number of 158,000 and a spin rate of 3,100 rpm to a drag coefficient CD3 is denoted by A3, the following two conditions are satisfied (see col.2:ln.58 through col.3:ln.3):
0.590 ≤ A1 ≤ 0.640 and (A2 + A3)/2 ≥ 0.670.
In reference to claim 2
Kuwahara discloses:
The multi-piece solid golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the value (see col.23:ll.47-56) of A1 is 0.590 to 0.613, the value (see col.23:ln.57 through col.24:ln.10) of A2 is 0.635 to 0.668, and the value (see col.24:ll.11-22) of A3 is 0.695 to 0.734.
In reference to claim 3
Kuwahara discloses:
The multi-piece solid golf ball according to claim 2, wherein the value (see col.23:ll.47-56) of A1 is 0.614 to 0.640, the value (see col.23:ln.57 through col.24:ln.10) of A2 is 0.669 to 0.750, and the value (see col.24:ll.11-22) of A3 is 0.735 to 0.815.
In reference to claim 4
Kuwahara discloses:
The multi-piece solid golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the value (see col.24:ll.23-28) of (A2 + A3)/2 is 0.670 to 0.783.
In reference to claim 10
Kuwahara discloses:
The multi-piece solid golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the resin composition of the intermediate layer contains a high-acid ionomer resin having an acid content of at least 16 wt% (see col.15:ll.4-6).
In reference to claim 12
Kuwahara discloses:
The multi-piece solid golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the core has a hardness profile in which, letting a Shore C hardness at a core center be Cc, a Shore C hardness at a midpoint M between the core center and the core surface be Cm, Shore C hardnesses at positions 2 mm, 4 mm, and 6 mm inward from the midpoint M be Cm-2, Cm-4, and Cm-6 respectively, Shore C hardnesses at positions 2 mm, 4 mm, and 6 mm outward from the midpoint M be Cm+2, Cm+4, and Cm+6 respectively, and a Shore C hardness at the core surface be Cs, and defining surface areas A to F as follows:
• surface area A: 1/2 × 2 × (Cm-4 - Cm-6)
• surface area B: 1/2 × 2 × (Cm-2 - Cm-4)
• surface area C: 1/2 × 2 × (Cm - Cm-2)
• surface area D: 1/2 × 2 × (Cm+2 - Cm)
• surface area E: 1/2 × 2 × (Cm+4 - Cm+2)
• surface area F: 1/2 × 2 × (Cm+6 - Cm+4)
the following condition is satisfied:
(surface area E + surface area F) - (surface area A + surface area B) ≥ 1.0 (see various Examples and/or Comparative Examples having values that satisfy the instant condition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara in view of Watanabe (US 6,702,694).
In reference to claim 8
Kuwahara discloses:
The multi-piece solid golf ball according to claim 1.
Kuwahara does not disclose:
the intermediate layer contains an inorganic particulate filler, and the resin material of the intermediate layer has a specific gravity of at least 1.05.
Watanabe discloses:
a golf ball comprising an intermediate layer formed of a resin material and comprising an inorganic particulate filler for imparting durability (see col.8:ll.54-62), and wherein the resin material has a specific gravity of at least 1.05 to imbue a desired balance of crack durability and resilience (see col.10:ll.10-16)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ball of Kuwahara to configure the intermediate layer to have an inorganic particulate filler and configure the resin material to have a specific gravity of at least 1.05, as disclosed by Watanabe, for the purpose of promoting sufficient durability and/or imbuing a desired balance of crack durability and resilience.
In reference to claim 9
Kuwahara discloses:
The multi-piece solid golf ball according to claim 1.
Kuwahara does not disclose:
a difference between the specific gravity of the cover and the specific gravity of the intermediate layer is not more than 0.15.
Watanabe discloses:
a golf ball comprising a cover / outer layer (3) and an intermediate layer (2), wherein a difference between the specific gravity of the cover and the specific gravity of the intermediate is not more than 0.15 (see corresponding values in Tables 2 and 3); the value of the specific gravity of the intermediate layer imbues a desired balance of crack durability and resilience (see col.10:ll.10-16); the value of the specific gravity of the outer layer imbues a desired balance of scuff resistance and resilience (see col.15:ll.9-17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ball of Kuwahara to configure the cover and the intermediate layer such that a difference in specific gravity therebetween is not more than 0.15, as disclosed by Watanabe, for the purpose of imbuing a desired balance of crack durability, resilience, and scuff resistance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 11, and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citations of Pertinent Art
The following art is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Watanabe ‘661 et al. (US 2016/0175661) discloses a golf ball in which the initial velocity of the intermediate layer-encased sphere is larger than the initial velocity of the core.
Kimura (US 2012/0157235) discloses a golf ball having deflection properties within the disclosed range under the same conditions of the instant application.
Watanabe ‘143 (US 2025/0010143) and Watanabe ‘673 (US 2025/0041673) each disclose a golf ball having aerodynamic properties within the disclosed ranges of the instant application.
Watanabe ‘597 (US 12,343,597) discloses a golf ball having surface area properties, hardness properties, and deflection properties within the disclosed range under the same conditions of the instant application.
Kuwahara ‘243 et al. (US 2025/0269243) is related to the applied reference Kuwahara.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711